Skip to main content

Ratings and reviews

Blackfriars Medical Practice

Reviews

Displaying 1 to 8 of 8

  1. Review titled Awful and stressful

    Rated 1 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 14 April 2022

    The receptionists are really unhelpful at best, actively aggressive at worst. Don’t use this place if you can avoid it.

    Visited April 2022

    Report review titled Awful and stressful as unsuitable

    Blackfriars Medical Practice has not yet replied.


  2. Review titled Way too slow. Not recommended.

    Rated 1 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 21 May 2022

    Way too slow. Not recommended. Registered as a patient to the GP as a new comer to the UK, visited there in a month to check the NHS number. The answer was "it will take more than a month", still has not been responded since then until I move to a new town.

    Visited March 2022

    Report review titled Way too slow. Not recommended. as unsuitable

    Blackfriars Medical Practice has not yet replied.


  3. Review titled Awful Receptionist

    Rated 1 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 09 August 2021

    This receptionist is entirely unsuited to working in a GP clinic. Her attitude is appalling and quite frankly acts as a barrier to receiving the services provided by the doctors and nurses who do a great job at Blackfriars. Extremely rude and judges medical issues based on how relevant she believes them to be. For example, if trying to receive a prescription she will describe this as a ‘non life-threatening’ request and provides little help after. As far as I know, Blackfriars is not an A&E hospital, so none of the patients should be in life threatening conditions anyway. She argues back constantly and makes the entire experience incredibly awkward and unpleasant. I have seen lots of others complain about the attitude of receptionists here and hope something is done about it soon.

    Visited August 2021

    Report review titled Awful Receptionist as unsuitable

    Review titled Blackfriars Medical Practice

    Replied on 12 August 2021

    We are sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the service received at the practice. Please could you email us directly at souccg.blackfriars@nhs.net so that we may investigate further. We can then discuss this at our next team meeting. Staff are due to undertake further training at the next available opportunity. Best wishes Blackfriars Medical Practice

    Report review titled as unsuitable


  4. Review titled Service has been poor lately, staff not as helpful

    Rated 2 stars out of 5

    by Mohamed Tejan-Kella - Posted on 25 May 2021

    Service has been poor lately, staff not as helpful or straight forward as they once were. Been struggling with trying to get a health issue resolved for months

    Visited May 2021

    Report review titled Service has been poor lately, staff not as helpful as unsuitable

    Review titled Blackfriars Medical Practice

    Replied on 26 May 2021

    Dear Mr Tejan-Kella We are sorry to hear that you have been less than satisfied with our service. It has been and continues to be the most challenging environment for us all. Accessing services to assist you has been difficult due to lockdown. We hope that as we emerge from it and try to find a safe and effective way of returning the surgery and wider healthcare system to a new normal, that your health will improve. In the meantime, we shall continue to assist in your care to the best of our abilities. We thank you for bearing with us during the most difficult period in our nation's history for decades. Blackfriars Medical Practice

    Report review titled as unsuitable


  5. Review titled Admin staff are incredibly rude

    Rated 1 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 12 April 2021

    I have never not had issues with the receptionists. They are rude, dont listen, and frankly, dont care. The receptionists will act as obstacles to care at every oppertunity. They act as though they are clinically qualified to make judgements on if you can have access to the Gp services. The clinical staff on the other hand are very helpful. Honestly if you live in the area, do yourself a favour and avoid. The receptionists are not worth dealing with at this practice.

    Visited March 2021

    Report review titled Admin staff are incredibly rude as unsuitable

    Review titled Blackfriars Medical Practice

    Replied on 14 April 2021

    Dear Sir/Madam We are sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with the service received at the practice. Our staff are doing their best in very trying circumstances and with demand for appointments at an all time high. In line with recommendations from NHS England, the practice is utilising new tools like eConsult and video consultations to ensure patients safety and limit the spread of Coronavirus. We recognise that this change over the last year has not been easy and it does mean that reception staff must sometimes ask for some information so as to try to direct patients to the most suitable pathway to assist with their healthcare needs. We would be most happy to investigate your concerns if you would like to email us directly at souccg.blackfriars@nhs.net We wish you the best of health Blackfriars Medical Practice

    Report review titled as unsuitable


  6. Review titled online consultation

    Rated 3 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 18 March 2021

    I called the practice a week ago for my son to get a repeat prescription for his skin. They said the doctor couldn’t go be back until the following Thursday. The doctor called me on Thursday and I picked it up and she was gone I called straight back and the receptionist put me through and she said that the doctor was busy. I called back it said they was on training until 4 o’clock I called they said that the doctor had called me three times & she hadn’t .. that was a lie.. & she was going home..

    Visited March 2021

    Report review titled online consultation as unsuitable

    Review titled Blackfriars Medical Practice

    Replied on 23 March 2021

    We are very sorry to hear about this issue and would like to be able to investigate further. Please could you email us directly at souccg.blackfriars@nhs.net with your son's name and any more information that you can provide so that we can discuss with all concerned. Hopefully, this will enable us to understand where the process may have broken down. Best wishes Blackfriars Medical Practice

    Report review titled as unsuitable


  7. Review titled Doctors are fine, receptionists are dreadful

    Rated 1 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 25 October 2020

    Dealing with the receptionists at this practice is so stressful. You practically have to battle to get to the point where you are given an appointment with a doctor. When I tried to book an appointment I was repeatedly told to look online even though I kept telling them my symptoms were not on the online tool and I needed to speak to a doctor over the phone. I was then asked what I wanted to speak to the doctor about and I said I’d prefer not to go into detail and they said I had to if I wanted the appointment. I said there is no rule or NHS stipulation that I needed to do that. The receptionist then said if I wouldn’t explain the reason I would not be given an appointment to speak to a doctor and would need to use the website. The phone call and way I was treated was distressing and puts me off contacting this practice as it’s just too much hard work and stressful to get past the receptionists to access treatment

    Visited September 2020

    Report review titled Doctors are fine, receptionists are dreadful as unsuitable

    Review titled Blackfriars Medical Practice

    Replied on 27 October 2020

    We are sorry to hear that your experience using our services was not satisfactory. It would appear that the receptionist you spoke with did not explain the online eConsult system in enough detail. There is no need to use the symptom checker if you do not wish to manage the issue yourself. To submit an eConsult, a patient simply clicks on the tab "I want advice general advice" - this then directs you to type in the details of your current issue and answer some further questions regarding how long the problem has been ongoing and what you may have already tried to do to resolve it. All of this means that you do not have to describe your details to a receptionist. When completed, your eConsult is sent directly to us and reviewed by a doctor who will then give you the necessary advice or indeed offer you a telephone, online or face to face consultation. In order for us to investigate this more fully, please could you email us at souccg.blackfriars@nhs.net with the approximate date and time of your call. We will then be able to listen back and use it as a learning exercise for our reception team. We wish you the best of health and look forwards to resolving this matter for you. Blackfriars Medical Practice

    Report review titled as unsuitable


  8. Review titled Dr's great...receptionists need firing!

    Rated 2 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 19 June 2020

    Basically this isn't my first dealing with the receptionists that have left me unhappy, but during the covid lockdown I contacted them via the email for my regular prescription, after a whole week, I emailed against inquire in which they responded same day to ask which pharmacy they should send it to, I responded with a pharmacy address and request to be contacted when it was done. Almost 3 days later I called the pharmacy and that's how I knew my prescription had been sent. Absolutely abismal reception work, they're very unprofessional and nosey (want to know all your business before being given an appointment). And only a few of the Dr's do I actually like visiting with after 15 years of being registered at practice.

    Visited May 2020

    Report review titled Dr's great...receptionists need firing! as unsuitable

    Review titled Blackfriars Medical Practice

    Replied on 24 June 2020

    We are very sorry to hear that you have been dissatisfied with the service received at the practice. In order for us to investigate the issue with your prescription request, it is much easier if you contact us directly. We can then look into it and get back to you. Our reception staff only routinely ask the reason for an appointment with a nurse since the appointment length varies according to the reason for treatment. We do not routinely ask patients why they need to see a doctor. In the most recent National Patient Survey, 92% of respondents said that they find the receptionist at this practice to be helpful. This was above both the Southwark and National averages. Nevertheless, there is always room for improvement and the current Pandemic has taught us all a great deal about how well we can work under pressure. We would welcome the opportunity to investigate your concerns in more detail. Please feel free to email us at souccg.blackfriars@nhs.net if you would like us to do so. We wish you the best of health. Blackfriars Medical Practice

    Report review titled as unsuitable