Skip to main content

Barnsley Hospital

Gawber Road, Barnsley, Yorkshire, S75 2EP

Contact details and Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS)

Patient ratings and reviews

Leave a review

Help others by sharing your thoughts and experiences about Barnsley Hospital.


Reviews

Displaying 1 to 10 of 128

  1. Review titled Very poor service

    Rated 1 star out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 14 June 2024

    I was referred to dermatology under a 2ww referral for a lesion on my face. Upon seeing someone in dermatology I was told it looked like bcc but could be scc. This lady went off to get a 2nd opinion but could not as they were in surgery. I was told it would be quicker to just put on the the list for surgery within 4 week and a letter confirmed 4 week. All was well until I chased up for an appointment date today. I have now been told that I am under a bcc list, regardless of the doubt on diagnosis and will have to wait a minimum of 4 month for removal. This lesion is growing rapidly and is now affecting nerve sensation on my face, including below my eye. I'm quite disgusted at being left like this with very poor communication. Being told in person and by letter that surgery was 4 week, to then be told it will be at least 4 month is not acceptable practice.

    Visited Dermatology on June 2024

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Barnsley Hospital

    Replied on 14 June 2024

    We're very sorry to hear about your experience. Please talk to our Patient Advice and Complaints team. They will support you if you wish to make a complaint or leave feedback about the hospital. You can call the team on 01226 432571 or e mail bhnftcomplaints@nhs.net. Kind Regards Barnsley Hospital

    Report as unsuitable


  2. Review titled |Wow couldn't have had better care

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Gillian - Posted on 14 May 2024

    Mum aged 92 fell out of bed and had many injuries. Every member of staff on Accident and Emergency were superb, she was treated with great care, dignity and she felt safe. She was transferred to ward 33 (orthopedic trauma) and had a hip operation the day after. Sadly she got post operative pneumonia which we had been told may be the case and 48hrs later was placed on end of life care. We were offered 2 'put up beds' to be with her in a side room and spent 4 days and nights there. Every single member of staff without exception were kind, caring and professional, not only with Mum but the rest of the family. We were fed and watered throughout our stay. It made a traumatic experience less so and at the end staff made sure Mum was pain free, warm and safe. Well done all, you are under so much pressure and are run off your feet but you do an amazing job. I wanted to name each and every one of you but I believe my review won't pass Artificial Intelligence screening if I do. You know who you are. You are all fab. Gillian

    Visited Major trauma on May 2024

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Barnsley Hospital

    Replied on 15 May 2024

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted that you have had a positive experience and we will pass on these comments to the relevant staff. Kind Regards Barnsley Hospital

    Report as unsuitable


  3. Review titled Paediatric A/E

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 16 May 2024

    Have unfortunately had to use the paediatric A/E at BDGH twice now in the last couple of months, due to injuries obtained at school. Both times, the nurses, radiologists, and nurse practitioners and orthopaedic surgeons were extremely efficient, kind, prompt and delivered timely care and diagnosis. I haven't got a bad word to say. Faultless service. So grateful for the NHS. Barnsley paediatrics are getting this right! Well done!

    Visited Accident and emergency services on May 2024

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Barnsley Hospital

    Replied on 17 May 2024

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted that you have had a positive experience and we will pass on these comments to the relevant staff. Kind Regards Barnsley Hospital

    Report as unsuitable


  4. Review titled Great practice

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Wendy - Posted on 09 May 2024

    Took my little boy to children's a&e on the 8rh of May. The cate he received was brilliant and rhe staff went above and beyond to help us all as a family.

    Visited Accident and emergency services on May 2024

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Barnsley Hospital

    Replied on 10 May 2024

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted that you have had a positive experience and we will pass on these comments to the relevant staff. Kind Regards Barnsley Hospital

    Report as unsuitable


  5. Review titled Amazing staff

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Stacey Harper - Posted on 29 May 2024

    My 8 month old daughter was rushed in a few nights ago after having a seizure, the staff were absolutely amazing with her and all their help, I really cannot thank them enough ♥️

    Visited Children's & Adolescent Services on May 2024

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Barnsley Hospital

    Replied on 30 May 2024

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted that you have had a positive experience and we will pass on these comments to the relevant staff. Kind Regards Barnsley Hospital

    Report as unsuitable


  6. Review titled Excellent endoscopy staff and Consulant Endoscopist

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Syed Shah - Posted on 20 May 2024

    I wish to express my gartitude for excellent service provided to me by hospital and endoscopy staff. They dealt each stage of my care with dedication, respect and professionalism. Everything was explained at each step and full information provided from initial appointment to follow up call, greeting, consent, the resception, endsocpy staff in the unit and endocpy room. I was very impressed with endoscopy Consultant's explanation, care and experties. I would like to thank and congratulate all for their kindness and care.

    Visited Diagnostic Endoscopy on May 2024

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Barnsley Hospital

    Replied on 21 May 2024

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted that you have had a positive experience and we will pass on these comments to the relevant staff. Kind Regards Barnsley Hospital

    Report as unsuitable


  7. Review titled AMU staff

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 26 April 2024

    Brilliant care off the amu staff, on what was the worst day of mine and my families lives. Couldn’t do enough for us. Never rushed us out, gave us all the time we needed to say our goodbyes

    Visited Don't know on April 2024

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Barnsley Hospital

    Replied on 26 April 2024

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted that you have had a positive experience and we will pass on these comments to the relevant staff. Kind Regards Barnsley Hospital

    Report as unsuitable


  8. Review titled Care Taken

    Rated 4 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 09 April 2024

    Quick fast response,caring staff,they took the time to comunicate with myse m lf and my husband.The inital speed was unfotrtunetly slowed down due to the bed waiting time. The catering department catered to a point

    Visited Accident and emergency services on April 2024

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Barnsley Hospital

    Replied on 10 April 2024

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted that you have had a positive experience and we will pass on these comments to the relevant staff. Kind Regards Barnsley Hospital

    Report as unsuitable


  9. Review titled System failure?

    Rated 4 stars out of 5

    by James Hewitson - Posted on 15 April 2024

    After referral from my optician, I was invited to the department surprisingly quickly for a timed anppointment and was seen for vision test and pressures test very quickly. But then I had to wait over two hours before being seen by a doctor. The department was very busy and I expected to be patient but it was only when I suggested to a member of staff that I thought I’d been forgotten that I was seen immediately by a doctor, when the examination and treatment was excellent. I wonder if there was a system failure that resulted in my having to wait so long for this treatment after arriving for a specifically timed appointment? It seems more a problem than just running late.

    Visited Ophthalmology on April 2024

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Barnsley Hospital

    Replied on 16 April 2024

    We're very sorry to hear about your experience. Please talk to our Patient Advice and Complaints team. They will support you if you wish to make a complaint or leave feedback about the hospital. You can call the team on 01226 432571 or e mail bhnftcomplaints@nhs.net. Kind Regards Barnsley Hospital

    Report as unsuitable


  10. Review titled Great care

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Ian - Posted on 01 May 2024

    Referred by GP to en&t because of concern over potential throat tumour. Appointment was offered within a week and consultant was kind, caring and very informative. Outcome was much less serious than feared.

    Visited Ear, Nose & Throat on April 2024

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Barnsley Hospital

    Replied on 02 May 2024

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted that you have had a positive experience and we will pass on these comments to the relevant staff. Kind Regards Barnsley Hospital

    Report as unsuitable




Information supplied by Barnsley Hospital NHS Foundation Trust