Skip to main content

Ratings and reviews

Practice Plus Group Hospital, Plymouth

Reviews

Displaying 1 to 10 of 14

  1. Review titled excellent

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Ann Stoakes - Posted on 29 January 2021

    I had a total hip replacement in Dec and cannot praise enough the care I recieved. From the surgeon and his team ,the çaring nurses in outpatient and ward nurses and staff, admin and booking dept .everyone involved in my care were excellent. I had the operation on the Friday and was back home on Sunday. The constant pain and tiredness from lack of sleep before op has gone , such a relief .I can now walk pain free and with the exercises physio dept gave me I am getting stronger all the time. So thank you . You are all amazing. I highly recommend

    Visited Orthopaedics on December 2020

    Report review titled excellent as unsuitable

    Review titled Practice Plus Group Hospital, Plymouth

    Replied on 15 February 2021

    Thank you so much for taking the trouble to give feedback following your recent procedure. We take pride in ensuring that everything goes smoothly throughout the patient journey. We hope that you continue with the exercises and gain confidence with your new hip. Kind regards

    Report review titled as unsuitable


  2. Review titled Very disappointed

    Rated 3 stars out of 5

    by Nigella - Posted on 07 November 2020

    I was sent there for my keyhole surgery to remove my gallbladder, as due to covid it isn't being done at Derriford. The practice looks very modern. But the care isn't so great, or it was my bad luck. First of all, on my pre-op some bloods were supposed to be taken. I am a difficult bleeder, but they ended up not taking the bloods for some tests at all. The nurse wasnt able to do it and there was no one available to do so. So I had my op without the rest of the blood tests done. The anaesthetic team was great, they struggled with finding my veins, but managed to do so eventually. They were lovely and kind. I woke up to a really bad pain. I kept shaking in pain, the nurses injected me with some pain relief, but it didnt work at all. I couldnt help this shaking, I was in a really bad pain. They kept saying to calm down as I'm supposed not to feel the pain and that its self inflicted! At that moment I really couldnt control it. And the nurses reaction? Complete indifference. They said they have given me pain relief and my blood pressure is fine, which means Im fine. And I was still shaking in pain. They asked me one more time if I feel any less pain and saying no, they said its not possible and.....stopped paying attention to me at all. Then I was moved to the ward. By that time I learnt that there is no point of saying I am in a bad pain because no one will pay attention to that. I do know pain after an operation is a regular thing. But this kind of pain was just so strong and wouldnt react to any pain relief. But I stopped mentioning it to the nurses as they thought I was being a pain ferry or just making it up. Then it was time to move after the anesthesia. It looked so, the nurse made me sit on the chair. That's it. And then told me to use the toilet, where I had to go alone, barely being able to move, feeling like fainting. They were so busy sending me home, they didnt even tell me what to do with my wounds. Whether Im supposed to clean them or not or what to do in general. I didnt even know there was a tape on them, when to remove it, nothing. I was just being constantly told that I need to go home and if they give me any strong pain relief, then it will be difficult to send me home. And they kept repeating, that I have to go home now. When it was time to go home and I stood up and tried to walk, I was still in so much pain and I felt so dizzy, I couldnt even walk properly. I couldnt see properly because they put a tape on my eyes during the surgery and it badly irritated my right eye. It was tearing badly and it was very swollen and sore. I felt so much pain and so weak, I kept leaning on the wall to somehow walk. I am not sure if this is a good idea to send a patient home in such condition... I regret not having it in Derriford. I was never left alone there, never has my pain been neglected. And never did they send me home when I was in such a bad condition, not even after an endoscopic treatment which is nothing compared to an operation.

    Visited General Surgery on November 2020

    Report review titled Very disappointed as unsuitable

    Review titled Practice Plus Group Hospital, Plymouth

    Replied on 09 November 2020

    Good Morning, we are sorry to hear this comment left by yourself. Please can I ask you to ring Karen McGill PA to the Hospital Director on 01752 506005 with your NHS number and contact details. We can investigate this matter further and discuss with you. Thank you

    Report review titled as unsuitable


  3. Review titled Excellent

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Anil Koshti - Posted on 12 October 2020

    I had cataract surgery on Sunday 11th October. The friendliness & care shown must be commended & a huge thank you to the consultant & all the team.

    Visited Ophthalmology on October 2020

    Report review titled Excellent as unsuitable

    Review titled Practice Plus Group Hospital, Plymouth

    Replied on 21 October 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, we appreciate the feedback to our staff and wish you a speedy recovery from your operation.

    Report review titled as unsuitable


  4. Review titled Brilliant

    Rated 4 stars out of 5

    by Becky crocker - Posted on 29 October 2020

    before I had my laparoscopy I was so anxious, but the theatre team was amazing and helped me calm down instantly they made me feel in safe hands I can't thank them enough they also made me laugh a few times which cheered me up, also the 2 people working in recovery as soon as I woke up was amazing and full of smiles!!

    Visited General Surgery on October 2020

    Report review titled Brilliant as unsuitable

    Review titled Practice Plus Group Hospital, Plymouth

    Replied on 03 November 2020

    Thank you so much for your feedback and we will pass this on to our staff. We wish you a speedy recovery from your procedure.

    Report review titled as unsuitable


  5. Review titled thank you so much

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by sara - Posted on 19 August 2020

    i had not so straight forward hernia surgery.everyone , from the care staff, nurses,oda,surgeons and anaesthetists were amazing...i was extremely terrified but everyone put me at ease and did a fantastic job. things during and post surgery were not not as straight forward as they could have been..no ones fault just my body misbehaving,so i ended up being shipped out in the middle of the night to derriford...shame i was enjoying my single room and was looking forward to my breakfast..thank you

    Visited General Surgery on August 2020

    Report review titled thank you so much as unsuitable

    Review titled Practice Plus Group Hospital, Plymouth

    Replied on 07 September 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent visit to Peninsula. We do hope that by now you are on the road to recovery.

    Report review titled as unsuitable


  6. Review titled Top service...all round

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Robbie - Posted on 18 July 2020

    Went in for a hernia op. I could not fault the service from start to finish, it was excellent. They kept me informed of every step along the way. Every member of staff that I met was very pleasant. The place followed very strict hygiene rules, in these difficult times. I would recommend the Peninsula to anybody looking for a good standard of service.

    Visited General Surgery on July 2020

    Report review titled Top service...all round as unsuitable

    Review titled Practice Plus Group Hospital, Plymouth

    Replied on 22 July 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. We work hard to uphold our high levels of patient care and wish you a speedy recovery.

    Report review titled as unsuitable


  7. Review titled Great hospital

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Alan Shennan - Posted on 02 April 2020

    The staff were extremely helpful and reassuring when I went for an MRI and I found the hospital well protected from the current threat Thank you Peninsula

    Visited Don't know on April 2020

    Report review titled Great hospital as unsuitable

    Review titled Practice Plus Group Hospital, Plymouth

    Replied on 08 April 2020

    Thank you very much for your positive comment regarding our MRI service. We appreciate the time taken to provide feedback and we will pass this on to the staff concerned. Stay staff. Kind regards. Peninsula Team

    Report review titled as unsuitable


  8. Review titled Among the very best

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Michael Jordan - Posted on 11 April 2020

    I was admitted to the Peninsula for surgery to fuse bones in my foot at the ripe age of 78. The orthopaedic surgeon did a brilliant job, backed up by an operating theatre team that afforded me both professional skill and every personal consideration, including the specific type of local anaesthesia that I requested. During the procedure (I was wide awake) the theatre staff were chatty and reassuring. The ward nursing staff were equally lovely, including their attention to post-operative care 'phone calls when I had gone home. Three months on and I am out of both plastercast and my attractive orthopaedic aircast boot, with virtually no swelling to the foot and very limited localised discomfort. I have started walking our dog up the next-door field using only my hiking pole and I am doing a bit of easy lawn mowing. I am building up on my exercise bike. Ballet dancing and abseiling may take a bit longer. Grateful thanks to all you super people at Peninsula - you are my stars!

    Visited General Surgery on January 2020

    Report review titled Among the very best as unsuitable

    Review titled Practice Plus Group Hospital, Plymouth

    Replied on 15 April 2020

    Thank you so much for your comments on your recent procedure. We are delighted to learn that you are enjoying life again. Take care and keep safe.

    Report review titled as unsuitable


  9. Review titled Outstanding Service and Care

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 09 January 2020

    This is the 2nd time I have had to seek assistance from Peninsula the first was for a partial knee replacement and this time a total kr on the left side. The care I have received and continue to receive from EVERYONE at the hospital is exemplary. The consultant staff are amazing and I can't praise this hospital highly enough. If only more hospitals were like this!! Thankyou Peninsula for being awesome!

    Visited General Surgery on January 2020

    Report review titled Outstanding Service and Care as unsuitable

    Review titled Practice Plus Group Hospital, Plymouth

    Replied on 15 January 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to give us this positive feedback. We always value our patients comments and wish you a continued recovery from your operation.

    Report review titled as unsuitable


  10. Review titled Knee Replacement

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Marina Taylor - Posted on 04 March 2020

    Jewel in the NHS From Admission to Discharge the brilliant caring staff that helped in every way .Theatre staff that helped talk through the procedures making me feel completely at ease . Professionalism of my surgeon.I rate this hospital 100 /100 .I may have to return for another knee replacement returning to Peninsula Care will be highly on my list. Knee Repacement procedure 17thJanuary 2020.five weeks later walking completely pain free.Amazing! Marina Taylor

    Visited General Surgery on January 2020

    Report review titled Knee Replacement as unsuitable

    Review titled Practice Plus Group Hospital, Plymouth

    Replied on 09 March 2020

    Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are delighted that your patient experience went well, it means so much to the staff here and we wish you a good recovery. We look forward to seeing you back again for your other knee replacement when this is required.

    Report review titled as unsuitable