Skip to main content

Ratings and reviews

Barts Health NHS Trust

Reviews

Displaying 1 to 10 of 14

  1. Review titled Great staff, friendly and quick.

    Rated 4 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 01 September 2020

    Went to the Newham nhs as my little one had a fractured arm. The treatment was very quick with us being seen by the nurse, doctor and had the X-Ray done all within an hour or so. Very pleased with the level of care.

    Visited September 2020

    Report review titled Great staff, friendly and quick. as unsuitable

    Review titled Barts Health NHS Trust

    Replied on 02 September 2020

    Thank you for taking time to contact us with feedback. We are pleased that you are happy with the care provided at Newham University Hospital. We value your feedback as its confirmation to staff and the organization of the excellent care provided at Barts Health. We would like to share your kind words with the team that took care of you and would like to request that you email your details to nuhpals.bartshealth@nhs.net We look forward to hearing from you and hope little one is doing well Kind Regards Traci Central Complaints Officer

    Report review titled as unsuitable


  2. Review titled Thank you

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Display name - Posted on 10 August 2020

    I am Jagdev Singh Bhamra and I had a by pass on 25 th June 2020. I would like to thank the surgeon ,his team, nurses at ICU, HDU ward , and nurses at 4B ward. They were very friendly Doctors and other staff

    Visited June 2020

    Report review titled Thank you as unsuitable

    Barts Health NHS Trust has not yet replied.


  3. Review titled Attentive & Caring

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Christina - Posted on 08 April 2020

    Having Covid-19 & pneumonia was frightening for me but the care I received was heartwarming. I also had a personal issue & a Nurse supported me with her own personal supplies, which was so generous & thoughtful. Medically the care, support & attitude to making me well again was second to none. All staff on the wards, whatever their role, we’re dedicated & thorough & kind & I will be forever grateful. Thank you NHS! ❤️💙

    Visited March 2020

    Report review titled Attentive & Caring as unsuitable

    Review titled Barts Health NHS Trust

    Replied on 23 April 2020

    Dear Christina Thank you for this wonderful account of admission. We will ensure that we pass on your tribute on to the nurse the wider team in who took care of you. As you say, the personal touch and connection is key, and sometimes simple things which may not be immediately obvious when you are close to the situation, can make a huge difference. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment here. It will be a boost to all those involved in supporting you to reach your optimum. Please share with us the hospital you were admitted Thank you Central Complaints Team

    Report review titled as unsuitable


  4. Review titled When you hear someone is unlikely to pull through

    by Anonymous - Posted on 22 January 2020

    My brother was found unresponsive one morning and rushed into hospital. He already had advanced liver disease and had had several hospitalisations in recent months) In emergency, I asked the doctor to be as honest as possible and they said it was extremely unlikely my brother would be coming out of hospital this time. This is quite obvious to us too. I feel it is helpful for doctors to be honest when asked because it helps us to prepare mentally. However, because this information is not passed on to staff, they are in danger of being accused of insensitivity. My brother had lost contact with his daughters because of his alcoholism; but on hearing his poor prognosis, they have come from South London and Bath to see him. Because they have poor mental health themselves they have their support (partners) with them. Obviously, they needed time with him as do I, (as the sister), plus my 83 year old mother. We tried to stagger visits, but it has been difficult for us to know what to do as nobody has spoken to us about his diagnosis and treatment. My brother is quite confused, so he cannot relay this, and again, there are no notes anywhere for the myriad of staff to respond to this information. One member of staff told my mother to leave one evening while I was getting a drink, but she is very deaf and was upset by what was said. (She does mishear stuff and is very forgetful). We appreciated what the nurse was saying about visiting hours but the issue is this: we know he is unlikely to recover, no-one has sat down with the family to talk about what is happening and why. (I have to constantly reiterate that I am next of kin and to speak to me because of my mother's issues). Due to this lack of clarity of information available, poor communication issues, knowledge of his condition and prognosis and perceived lack of understanding from our point of view. - we are close to breakdowns and a desire to complain. My brother sounds plausible at times, but as his family, we see him muddling up familiar things and grasping for words he cannot express. We see him in terrible pain, but he is finding it hard to ask for pain relief. Knowing this means he cannot relay what the staff have said to him accurately either. As a close family member, I cannot tell you strongly enough how distressing this is. I am off work, initially for being with my brother, but also for stress. Families need to know much more than is shared. Keep us in the picture and share important knowledge please. It will help everyone in the long term. Finally, as the board around the hospital state, good palliative and end of life care are incredibly important. But, at what point does someone say, let's talk about it? It was clear from his stay in hospital over Christmas that his liver cannot repair itself and he was told he was not stable enough for a transplant. Surely, this places him in need of that chat?? He was out of hospital one day after the last event and got into difficulties immediately. He is a quiet person who does not trouble people for anything, but we can see he is not coping. What are we supposed to do? Who can we speak to for help? What is a whole room given over to cancer information, but nothing to advise families or patients in other ways.

    Visited January 2020

    Report review titled When you hear someone is unlikely to pull through as unsuitable

    Provided by Care opinion

    Review titled Barts Health NHS Trust

    Replied on 22 January 2020

    Dear Gaigerhusky Thank you for taking time to contact us with feedback. We are very sorry to hear about your brother's medical condition and for the experiences yourself and your family have had in our hospital. We would like to help and request that you contact us on 0207 480 4776 at your earliest convenience so we can take this forward for local resolution. Our opening hours are 9:30 - 4:30pm Monday to Friday. Alternatively you could forward your message to us and include your brother's details to [BHNT.Centralcomplaints@nhs.net](mailto:BHNT.Centralcomplaints@nhs.net). We look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind regards Faith Central Complaints Team

    Report review titled as unsuitable

    Provided by Care opinion


  5. Review titled Waiting time unacceptable

    Rated 1 stars out of 5

    by Billy - Posted on 16 October 2019

    Every 6 months I have to take my elderly friend for cardiology review each appointments are delayed last one was 1 hour 40 minutes and today delayed again 1 hour 52 minutes.

    Visited October 2019

    Report review titled Waiting time unacceptable as unsuitable

    Review titled Barts Health NHS Trust

    Replied on 04 November 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to contact us with your feedback. We were very disappointed to learn that your experience did not match the expectation you had of us. We would like an opportunity to investigate the issues you have raised and the findings of our enquires will be shared with you. We would therefore like to request that you contact our PALS team on site with your details- [sbhpals.bartshealth@nhs.net or](mailto:sbhpals.bartshealth@nhs.net or) telephone 0203465 5919 Thank you Central Complaints Team

    Report review titled as unsuitable

    Provided by Care opinion


  6. Review titled Disappointing care for my daughter

    Rated 1 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 12 August 2019

    I write this review at 10:30pm on 12th August on the children's ward. My daughter (10 years old) arrived at 7:15pm and is still awaiting cannulation for fluids in readiness for her operation tomorrow. After speaking with several staff, we seem to be no further forward. I thought care, person centred care was at the heart of what you did? Absolutely not in this case. Very distressing and upset by the service my daughter has received thus far. This isn't how a young child should be treated.

    Visited August 2019

    Report review titled Disappointing care for my daughter as unsuitable

    Review titled Barts Health NHS Trust

    Replied on 12 August 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to contact us with your feedback. I am very sorry to learn of your daughters delays in treatment. We would like an opportunity to investigate the issues you have raised and the findings of our enquiries will be shared with you. We would therefore like to request that you contact our PALs team on the hospital site with your details, as we don't know what hospital site it is, I have listed all the hospitals pals teams. The Royal London - Telephone 0203 594 2040 or Email; rlhpals.bartshealth@nhs.net Newham University Telephone 0207 363 9292 or Email; nuhpals.bartshealth@nhs.net Whipps Cross Hospital Telephone 0208 535 6438 or Email; wxpals.bartshealth@nhs.net St Bartholomew's Hospital Telephone 0203 465 5919 or Email; sbhpals.bartshealth@nhs.net We appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve services. We look forward to hearing from you Kind Regards Traci Central Complaints officer

    Report review titled as unsuitable


  7. Review titled Completely disappointing and disrespectful

    Rated 1 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 21 July 2019

    Really distressing and unprofessional service been here for our first time for our first baby birth and zone 4 ground floor. It's been mixed experience of service here from midwife as some individuals are very friendly and professional but it's when the final day arrive and we were excited to meet our little angle but unfortunately by wife is in so much pain since morning 9 o'clock and doctor or one of the midwife check and said she is ready to go for labour upstairs 1st floor but we been told we will be called when bed is available and it's now een almost 14 hours and they still not able to arrange a bed for my wife who is in so much pain and getting week and sick in the mean time I had to go at list 5-6 time requesting the midwife to arrange a bed for her. But it's the same answer they been telling us all day long. How on earth they can't able to manage a bed in labour room in 12- 14 hours . I feel like screaming right now but have no option but bagging them for a bed for my wife. It's supposed to be a very exciting and happy feeling to have your baby but not its worrying and distressing seeing your wife getting sick and in so much pain. Can't trust this hospital for your best movement of life. They will ruin it for sure. I would have chose different hospitals I knew this place service is so bad and some many unprofessional and unfriendly people. Please think before you come here specially for your baby birth

    Visited July 2019

    Report review titled Completely disappointing and disrespectful as unsuitable

    Review titled Barts Health NHS Trust

    Replied on 21 July 2019

    Thank you for taking time to contact us with feedback. We are very disappointed to hear about your experience and how this marred what was meant to be a joyous occasion - the birth of your first baby. Your feedback clearly falls short of the standards of care we expect at Bart's health and we would like an opportunity to investigate the concerns you have raised. Would you please contact ours PALS team on 0207 363 9292 or email nuhpals.bartshealth@nhs.net with more details. Kind regards Faith PALS & Complaints

    Report review titled as unsuitable


  8. Review titled Execeptional care

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Patricia East - Posted on 28 July 2019

    I was recently diagnosed with lung cancer and was operated on successfully in June.The care I received from both the team at Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery and the Department of Respiratory Medicine was excellent. It was always a pleasure to see my consultants and registrar. They listened to my concerns, and gave considerable time to explaining the details of the procedure. Having the same members of each team at consultations was helpful as it allowed a very supportive relationship to develop. I would also to thank all the other staff at Barts that I encountered. They were unfailingly helpful and professional. It made the whole Barts experience as positive as it could possibly be. I cannot recommend the hospital highly enough.

    Visited June 2019

    Report review titled Execeptional care as unsuitable

    Review titled Barts Health NHS Trust

    Replied on 28 July 2019

    Dear Patricia Thank you for taking time to contact us with feedback. We are pleased that you are happy with the care provided at Barts Heart Centre. We value your feedback as its confirmation to staff and the organization of the excellent care provided at Barts Health. Your kind words have been shared with the team that took care of you and I would like to take this opportunity to wish you all the best Kind regards Central Complaints Team

    Report review titled as unsuitable


  9. Review titled Wonderful hearts ar Barts

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Jennymtb - Posted on 24 April 2019

    I cannot praise the cardio team at Barts enough. Kind, skilled ,excellent communication in explaining everything to me. Everyone was helpful and compassionate. I was really scared and they made me feel confident and well informed. I was looked after and treated with dignity and respect. I was listened to and no question was too much trouble to answer. Thank you Barts. Thank you Cardio team including the Cardio imagining team You have given my body a second chance.. You are all fantastic people.

    Visited April 2019

    Report review titled Wonderful hearts ar Barts as unsuitable

    Review titled Barts Health NHS Trust

    Replied on 24 April 2019

    Thank you for taking time to contact us with feedback. We are pleased that you are happy with the care provided at Barts Health Centre. We value your feedback as its confirmation to staff and the organization of the excellent care provided at Barts Health. We would like to share your kind words with the team that took care of you and would like to request that you email your details to SBHPals@bartshealth.nhs.uk We look forward to hearing from you Kind regards Central Complaints Team

    Report review titled as unsuitable


  10. Review titled PALS no help

    Rated 1 stars out of 5

    by Paul Devine - Posted on 15 May 2019

    I have had a lot of re cent outpatient treatment at Barts which has been problematic. The one clear outcome has been the futility of the Pals service. Despite being anxious and concerned, not once has anyone contacted me. Moreover at a time of great stress I received a link which was ineffective . PALS reflect how a hospital operates and it seems to me that as a worried patient, PAls cant help me..rather they cause me more stress. Pals have no power. Maybe Barts is just not good at considering patient needs in the round. Maybe its too big and ineffective despite the huge investment. All I want is my test results, and for all I know, i could have a cardiac issue but noone seems able to pick up the phone and let me know.

    Visited April 2019

    Report review titled PALS no help as unsuitable

    Review titled Barts Health NHS Trust

    Replied on 15 May 2019

    Dear Mr Devine Thank you for taking time to contact us with feedback. We are sorry to hear about your experiences and would like an opportunity to discuss this with you further to avoid a recurrence in future and to also improve our PALS service. Would you please contact us on 0207 480 4776 or email BHNT.centralcomplaints@nhs.net so we can discuss this in more detail. We look forward to hearing from you Kind regards Faith PALS & Complaints Team

    Report review titled as unsuitable