Skip to main content

Ratings and reviews

Colchester General Hospital

Reviews

Displaying 1 to 10 of 177

  1. Review titled Terrible

    Rated 1 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 08 November 2020

    I phoned 111 and was advised to go to A&E.. When i arrived i had to stand outside for 25 mins.( due to covid i accept that) When i entered i was temp checked and went to booking desk I then sat for over two hours.. after seeing many people being called that came in a lot later than myself. I went back to desk to ask how long it would be... It was only then, i found out i wasnt even on the system. Someone “forgot” to enter my name If entering one at a time..HOW could that happen.. i the had to wait a further 40 mins Sat 20 mins more for X Ray And a further 20 mins to be told I hadn’t broken my foot and can go home, rest, ice and elevate An absolute disgraceful service

    Visited Accident and emergency services on November 2020

    Report review titled Terrible as unsuitable

    Review titled Colchester General Hospital

    Replied on 13 November 2020

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. I am sorry that on this occasion the service and care you received was not as expected and for any unnecessary stress that this caused. If you would like us to look into this further please give our PALS team a call on 0800 783 7328 who will be able to look into this further.

    Report review titled as unsuitable

    Provided by Care opinion


  2. Review titled Wonderful service

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 14 November 2020

    I wish to thank all the staff, nurses, doctors, ambulance staff, who cared for me on my recent emergency visit to the hospital. They were very busy but the treatment I received was excellent. Everyone was very caring and considerate and I cannot praise you enough for the help and treatment you gave me. We are so fortunate to have in our town a wonderful hospital with caring and dedicated staff who are there to help us when we need them. Thank you all.

    Visited Accident and emergency services on November 2020

    Report review titled Wonderful service as unsuitable

    Review titled Colchester General Hospital

    Replied on 16 November 2020

    Many thanks for your kind words, I will make sure they are passed onto the team in A&E who will be thrilled to read them. I hope you are continuing to make a good recovery. Thank you

    Report review titled as unsuitable

    Provided by Care opinion


  3. Review titled Great teamwork

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Louise - Posted on 19 October 2020

    I attended A and E a couple of weeks ago with what turned out to be a Hernia which required repair ASAP. The staff were great especially John and the other staff on the night I attended. From triage to the porter who took me to the ward I was very impressed and thank them all. I also say I have had a lot of issues with another local hospital but Colchester general are great.

    Visited Accident and emergency services on October 2020

    Report review titled Great teamwork as unsuitable

    Review titled Colchester General Hospital

    Replied on 23 October 2020

    Many thanks for letting us know about your recent experience at Colchester Hospital, I will make sure that your comments are passed onto the team in A&E. Thank you.

    Report review titled as unsuitable

    Provided by Care opinion


  4. Review titled Just like private health care

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Luckiebenz - Posted on 08 October 2020

    I have been so impressed by the speed of being referred by my doctor to getting an appointment. Staff were very friendly and extremely thorough. 5 star to the Gainsborough Unit!

    Visited Breast cancer services on October 2020

    Report review titled Just like private health care as unsuitable

    Review titled Colchester General Hospital

    Replied on 14 October 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind words, it is great to hear your experience was beyond expectations. Many thanks

    Report review titled as unsuitable

    Provided by Care opinion


  5. Review titled Superb, speedy, professional & kind

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 07 November 2020

    I was referred to the breast clinic. I was very worried at first however I needn’t have been. It felt covid19 safe. Every member of staff I encountered was unfailingly kind, explained everything and were so knowledgeable & professional. The clinic is a one stop shop. This is a fantastic service as investigations and decisions are all completed in one visit. I then had surgery. The ward staff, surgeon, anaesthetist, theatre staff & Porter were all so kind, friendly and reassuring. Thank you. I’m so grateful. In my view you are outstanding.

    Visited Breast cancer services on October 2020

    Report review titled Superb, speedy, professional & kind as unsuitable

    Review titled Colchester General Hospital

    Replied on 13 November 2020

    Many thanks for your kind words, regarding your recent care and treatment. I hope you are continuing to make a good recovery at home. Thank you

    Report review titled as unsuitable

    Provided by Care opinion


  6. Review titled Good outcome

    Rated 4 stars out of 5

    by Pam Corsar - Posted on 17 September 2020

    I attended Elmstead Surgical Ward yesterday for a Temporal Artery Biopsy. All of the staff were welcoming and efficient. I did not require 'looking after' but I could see that those who did received very good care. My own surgery proceeded efficiently, I was kept informed at very step and it was done with very good humour; we had a few laughs, which made an unpleasant 40mins easier to bear. My hat off to all of the staff for their care and expertise carried out under these difficult times. Thank you

    Visited Vascular surgery on September 2020

    Report review titled Good outcome as unsuitable

    Review titled Colchester General Hospital

    Replied on 26 October 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind comments, it is great to hear that you had such a positive experience and outcome. I will pass on your kind words to the Elmstead team who will be thrilled to read them. Many thanks

    Report review titled as unsuitable

    Provided by Care opinion


  7. Review titled Life Changing

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Brian Waterman - Posted on 01 October 2020

    After a what seems a lifetime living with an enlarged prostate and all the problems and embarrassment it brings with it. I am overjoyed at the outcome of your kindness and care which I received from all the staff in Copford ward , we are all so lucky to have such Angels at our disposal. Thankyou so much .

    Visited Urology on September 2020

    Report review titled Life Changing as unsuitable

    Review titled Colchester General Hospital

    Replied on 06 October 2020

    Thank you letting us know about the outcome of your care. I will make sure your comments are passed onto the team on Copford ward for their attention. Many thanks

    Report review titled as unsuitable

    Provided by Care opinion


  8. Review titled First Class Emergency Service

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Raymond Phipp. - Posted on 10 September 2020

    I cannot thank the Doctors & Nursing staff enough. I and my wife are so grateful to you all including Surgeons who operated on me. Seeing the photograph of my problem without your professionalism and quick action I would not be here, and I realise that. I also thank you for your concern as to how we would manage with my wife getting over Chemotherapy, but we are fine, with good neighbours and our son would come up from Devon if necessary. Once again we thank you from the bottom of our hearts for a prompt & efficient service,this includes the Ambulance Service. Please keep safe, all of you. You have our deepest respect, thank you, Raymond & Maureen PHIPP.

    Visited Accident and emergency services on September 2020

    Report review titled First Class Emergency Service as unsuitable

    Review titled Colchester General Hospital

    Replied on 11 September 2020

    Thank you for leaving your kind words which I have passed onto the teams concerned and I know they interested to see how their swift actions have impacted on all your lives. I hope you are making a good recovery at home. Many thanks

    Report review titled as unsuitable

    Provided by Care opinion


  9. Review titled Brilliant Care

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Mark Hopkins - Posted on 22 September 2020

    I went to A&E after a fall and injuring myself, which turned out to be 2 broken ribs and fluid on my lung. From the moment I arrived, the care I received from nurses to Dr’s and Surgeons was second to none. I was taken straight into be seen and had numerous tests and scans to see what damage had been done. I would highly recommend this Hospital to anyone as the care you receive could not be better anywhere else even with the COVID hanging over their heads. Everything was kept spotlessly clean and I felt very safe. All too often all the staff get such a bad press but if it wasn’t for them lots of people would be a lot worse off. People need to remember you get the service for free so there’s no need for abusing the staff who are only trying to help you. I saw a few patients while I was there not being very nice to the staff and to be honest I was ashamed with their behaviour. Id like to thank them all for helping me and getting me back on my feet. First class service!

    Visited Accident and emergency services on September 2020

    Report review titled Brilliant Care as unsuitable

    Review titled Colchester General Hospital

    Replied on 06 October 2020

    I hope you are making a good recovery following your fall. I will make sure your kind words and thanks are passed onto the team and A&E. Thank you

    Report review titled as unsuitable

    Provided by Care opinion


  10. Review titled Test results

    Rated 3 stars out of 5

    by Andrea barton - Posted on 03 September 2020

    I had an emergency appointment with u last month due to bleeding 20yrs after menopause & I am still waiting 4 the results???? I was told of the possibility of cancer cells!!!! I've already had cervical cancer treatment bk in 1990??!! Y can I be left to wait till next Thursday 2 get results from my doctors, I could b walking around with CANCER!!?? I really don't have a clue what's going on!!!!

    Visited Gynaecology on September 2020

    Report review titled Test results as unsuitable

    Review titled Colchester General Hospital

    Replied on 04 September 2020

    I am sorry that you have not had your results and for any extra stress and worry that this has caused. If you would like us to look into this further please give our PALS team a call on 0800 783 7328 at your convenience. Many thanks

    Report review titled as unsuitable

    Provided by Care opinion