Skip to main content

Ratings and reviews

Helping Hands Home Care - Live In Care

Reviews

Displaying 1 to 9 of 9

  1. Review titled Lack of choices over care across board

    Rated 2 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 02 August 2022

    I am leaving a review based not on scores but what I think of the service as a whole. Reserved, bias and uncaring agency, who put profits before all else. It starts off seemingly well, then as they realise dementia has set in,(and not just some idle talk), thats where the problems are left to unfold, strait jackets by them start,(without the humour) and temperaments start to change due to decline in an older persons state of health maybe because of a need for regular medication being dispensed quite late. Instead of passing on just a few comments, instead its fired back at family members who do the best job they can already. The cost of this agency, doesn't reflect adequate respectable choices chosen, for anyone. The costs have also gone up, shame the care quality has gone back down. I think I'm dealing with people who expect someone who has a progressive mental illness, to live on their own through their own independent means, and thinks they do, which is not like that at all, as they have to constantly lean on us for everything and family support for years and years. I haven't had a follow up diagnosis for him, because gps say its not needed, but I would have to say its moving more to advanced stage, and its not family members ''who need to get on top of this'', drawing up scenarios and implications, it should be the unbiased nature of the carers, who stop and think before writing up cruel portal comments out of disrespect and poor lack of training initiative for members viewing progress. I don’t have to paint the scene with poor sentences, and create imaginary scenarios, used like they choose to do. A persons behaviour changes with dementia, that’s a sorry fact of life and a common story. We already know what’s needed and who’s not, and are aware enough of the stress, this so called family run agency set up by the founder who thought he has the right idea in mind to help people, but is implementing the wrong strategy now in how to tackle a shortage. I have read that no experience is needed in a lot of cases, so more hours and tired carers are what drive this workforce then? What’s more, when the time comes to act swiftly on changing to a better care supplier, most likely NHS, that will be sped up quite quickly with or without choices because although recently understaffed, have been issued out before to us, and understand that their is a concept of care driven motives and responses, that are not to be taken lightly. A duty of care is spelled out, right across the board, and not just what suits the few at the top.

    Visited July 2022

    Report review titled Lack of choices over care across board as unsuitable

    Helping Hands Home Care - Live In Care has not yet replied.


  2. Review titled Poor service and overcharge

    Rated 1 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 09 August 2022

    When I arranged care for my mother I was promised continuity with the same carer. In the event they sent 5 different carers in the first 4 weeks. There was absolutely no communication to explain why this had happened and on one occasion they also changed the time agreed without any communication. To add insult to injury they put on additional charges without any prior agreement and the promised refund did not materialise. Whereas all the carers have been fine as individuals the organisation overcharges and does not provide the level of service to justify the additional cost. This organisation sends who they want, when they want and charges what they want. Go elsewhere.

    Visited March 2022

    Report review titled Poor service and overcharge as unsuitable

    Helping Hands Home Care - Live In Care has not yet replied.


  3. Review titled Never turned up

    Rated 1 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 17 February 2022

    Organised an initial meeting, family members took time off work etc to be there. Grandad was having a bad day but got up and ready only for them to be a no show. No contact to cancel or anything. How can they be trusted if they can't even turn up for the initial meeting?? Then had the cheek to send a survey via sms to rate our experience! Very poor

    Visited February 2022

    Report review titled Never turned up as unsuitable

    Review titled Helping Hands Home Care - Live In Care

    Replied on 18 February 2022

    Good afternoon, Thank you for leaving a feedback of your experience with us. We're really sorry to hear of the inconveniences caused to yourself, family members and your grandad, as that isn't the type of service we would usually deliver. We'd like to look into what happened here, so we'd be really grateful if you could provide some further information about the team you were expecting to come and visit you and who you spoke to to arrange your meeting. Please send across any details to joel.wright@helpinghands.co.uk and I will look into this matter for you. With very best wishes, Joel

    Report review titled as unsuitable


  4. Review titled Absolutely appalling

    Rated 1 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 12 December 2021

    We booked an assessment for a terminally ill lady and explained what we needed. We were very clear that the patient was unable to even sit up on her own and that we had no equipment in place. A carer turned up at the appointed time but did not have a clue what to do and said they were unable to do any 'caring' as we had no equipment. They rang the office, who then rang us and said they were unable to help as we had no equipment. There was no apology for their mistake and they actually made us feel as though we'd done something wrong. The carer ended up pushing the vacuum round for an hour before leaving. I have no idea why they did not say at the assessment they could not help rather than wasting everyone's time. To add insult to injury we were then invoiced for 5 hours [£115!] instead of the 1 hour. It seems to us very much all about the money. A despicable way to treat anyone, let alone the dying.

    Visited November 2021

    Report review titled Absolutely appalling as unsuitable

    Review titled Helping Hands Home Care - Live In Care

    Replied on 14 December 2021

    Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback which is essential to improving our service. Firstly, I would like to offer my sincere condolences to you and the lady cited in your review. This is undoubtedly a perturbing situation for all involved and we will do our utmost to make amends if you are willing to discuss this further. I sincerely apologise on behalf of the company for any distress caused during and following this assessment. It is our prerogative to treat every recipient of our care with kindness above all else. If you can provide more details about this incident to my email, I will investigate your experience with the branch in question and also ensure that you are invoiced correctly: joel.wright@helpinghands.co.uk Best wishes, Joel - Helping Hands

    Report review titled as unsuitable


  5. Review titled No longer recommended

    Rated 1 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 30 November 2021

    When helping hands first started providing care for my parent 2018 there was a terrific management team and brilliant carers. That changed in 2021 we have now terminated their service after many disappointing mistakes . Carers turned up very late or sometimes not at all. Concerns about their abilities , no common sense. Cleaning below average standard. One carer who shall be missed had been full time last year and gave exceptional service . We now have started with an alternative agency.

    Visited November 2021

    Report review titled No longer recommended as unsuitable

    Review titled Helping Hands Home Care - Live In Care

    Replied on 02 December 2021

    Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Your feedback is essential to helping us improve our service; I'd like to apologise on behalf of Helping Hands for the poor service you received, especially after such a great initial experience. I hope the new agency providing your care are doing their utmost to cater to your needs. Please could you provide me with further details about the branch you're referring to and the issues encountered? My email is: joel.wright@helpinghands.co.uk Best wishes, Joel - Helping Hands

    Report review titled as unsuitable


  6. Review titled Care

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Mr shutt - Posted on 13 October 2021

    My wife has helping hands twice a day you could not ask for better cares Caring considerat always smartly dressed and some go above and beyond 😊

    Visited September 2021

    Report review titled Care as unsuitable

    Review titled Helping Hands Home Care - Live In Care

    Replied on 14 October 2021

    Good afternoon, Thank you for the excellent feedback. We're very pleased to hear how happy you are with your wife's carers! Best wishes, Joel Wright - Helping Hands

    Report review titled as unsuitable


  7. Review titled Initially great, and then withdrew all care at short notice

    Rated 1 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 28 July 2021

    Helping Hands provided care for my father for over 1 year. I would like to start by saying that the carers themselves have been consistently great and lovely people. The problem is the management. My father has a terminal illness which everyone knew would get worse and require more care as time went on. Initially, when caring was fairly uncomplicated, there were no major issues. However, as the care became more complicated, some small cracks in the management started to appear. It was all reactionary instead of proactive. Finally (and recently), lots of regular (very good) carers started leaving. I have my suspicions as to why, but I do not know, so I won't guess on this review. However, as more and more left, the timings of care became more eratic and then on some occasions family members were requested to fill in for lack of double up care availability. Finally we were given a months notice of care withdrawal, but after only a week and half of getting notice, care was removed completely with around 24 hours notice. I feel very let down and it sits squarely with the management. The area manager is obviously unorganized. If they have a manager above them, then they must be even worse, because I could see issues months before it came to crisis point. Given they are charging top prices and paying the carers half of what they are charging, I would have thought the management should be top class. This is not the case. They are obviously a company that cannot retain staff and one that reward poor management, at the cost of vulnerable people and their families. I would advise looking elsewhere for your care needs.

    Visited July 2021

    Report review titled Initially great, and then withdrew all care at short notice as unsuitable

    Review titled Helping Hands Home Care - Live In Care

    Replied on 15 September 2021

    Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Your feedback is essential to helping us improve our service; I'd like to apologise on behalf of the company for your poor experience with us. Please could you provide me with further details about the branch you're referring to and the issues encountered? My email is: joel.wright@helpinghands.co.uk Best wishes, Joel - Helping Hands

    Report review titled as unsuitable


  8. Review titled Couldn’t deliver any Care

    Rated 2 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 11 November 2020

    After initial home visit all seemed fine. Hour long visit with needs discussed. Informed representative how many hours of care was needed for my parents. Told they would be in touch. Didn’t hear anything further and had to continually phone them for an update on whether or not they could provide the care needed. Didn’t get any where with this company. Terrible service and would therefore not recommend from my experience with them.

    Visited October 2020

    Report review titled Couldn’t deliver any Care as unsuitable

    Review titled Helping Hands Home Care - Live In Care

    Replied on 12 November 2020

    Good morning, We're sorry to hear that you're unhappy with the service you received from us. Please could you email further details of the team you were in contact with to kathryn.wilson@helpinghands.co.uk so that we can take a look into this. Best wishes, Kathryn - Helping Hands

    Report review titled as unsuitable


  9. Review titled Very disappointed

    Rated 2 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 09 November 2020

    This care provider said they could provide care for us but sadly didnt deliver. I feel very let down by them. They shouldn't of taken on my care package as it were above what they could deliver.. instead I were just strung along week after week.

    Visited September 2020

    Report review titled Very disappointed as unsuitable

    Review titled Helping Hands Home Care - Live In Care

    Replied on 09 November 2020

    Good afternoon, We're sorry to hear that you're disappointed with the service you have received from us. If you could provide further details to us at kathryn.wilson@helpinghands.co.uk, we can take a further look into this for you. Best wishes, Kathryn - Helping Hands

    Report review titled as unsuitable