Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre

0117 906 1801 The Brooms, Emersons Green , Bristol, Avon, BS16 7FH
http://www.emersonsgreentreatmentcentre.nhs.uk/

4.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 94 ratings for this hospital

4.5 Stars

4.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 94 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

5 out of 5 stars

(95 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(95 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4.5 out of 5 stars

(95 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4.5 out of 5 stars

(95 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(76 ratings)

Reviews

95 total

Kat gave Dentistry and Orthodontics at Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre a rating of 5 stars

Very pleasent experience

I came to Emerson green hospital to have an extraction of a back molar last week. And was naturally abit nervous; but the nurse's put me at ease. And the actual surgeon was great and before I knew it the procedure was over and was in recovery room. Where I was cared for constantly. I have nothing but praise for the whole team in the dental department at Emerson Green hospital.

Visited in September 2017. Posted on 18 September 2017

Report as unsuitable

Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre replied on 19 September 2017

Thanks very much for posting your comments. We really appreciate the feedback we get from our patients and it's great to hear that you felt so well cared for on your recent visit. It will be a pleasure to pass on your praise to the dental team.
Best wishes
Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Diagnostic Endoscopy at Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre a rating of 4 stars

Gastroscopy procedure

I would like to start by saying that the staff were brilliant, courteous and informative and treated me with utter respect. I was extremely nervous but was put at ease. The only gripe I have is that I had opted for a sedation during the procedure which was fine. However, I don't think it is an appropriate time to be given an online survey to complete when your in the recovery area! For one the questions I was answering I couldn't make sense of as still felt sedated. I also felt a little rushed out after the procedure. My only other gripe is that I wanted to check some aftercare advice later at home so looked at the leaflet that was given to me, only to find this was for a colonoscopy and not gastroscopy I did try and ring. the aftercare line but gave up as no answer. Overall I would say treatment was brilliant but just some little improvements to consider to make this a great service.

Visited in September 2017. Posted on 27 September 2017

Report as unsuitable

Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre replied on 28 September 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. We value honest patient feedback as it helps us to understand what we are doing well and where improvements need to be made. Please be assured that the points you have raised will be fed back to the departments and teams involved in your care to allow staff to reflect upon your experience. Many thanks for your kind words for the staff and the care they provided, it will be a pleasure to pass them on.
Best wishes
Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre

Report as unsuitable

jason lanchbury gave General Surgery at Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre a rating of 5 stars

fantastic hospital

im not very good with hospitals and was so nervous of my operation, when got dropped off at the front of the hospital it looked really nice and really thought it looked liked a private medical centre which was nice to see, once I was in the place was so clean going to my pre-op,the nurses were really friendly and professional and explained every thing i needed to know, even in the operating theatre the guys were so nice and made me feel so relaxed and I then thought, what was I worried about, coming round in the recovery room there was a nurse by my side and asked how I was,tea and biscuits went down a treat followed by sandwiches ,so just want to say a massive thank you to every one involved for looking after me and a lovely place, the best hospital I've ever had treatment in, keep up the good work.

Visited in September 2017. Posted on 28 September 2017

Report as unsuitable

Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre replied on 03 October 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback following treatment. Our staff strive to provide top quality service and first class care and it's lovely for them to receive such praise. It will be a pleasure to pass on your comments to all involved in your care.
Best wishes
Emersons Green NHS treatment Centre

Report as unsuitable

Mrs ellans gave Gynaecology at Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre a rating of 1 stars

Hysterectomy

I come in to have hysterectomy booked done all the pre op test which was on 14 august then waited till last Friday 29 September to say that they were unable to fund my operation I felt very disappointed at this now have to wait for sounthmead on the waiting so it not a short waiting time at all

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 01 October 2017

Report as unsuitable

Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre replied on 03 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we apologise for your experience, we understand your local Clinical Commissioning Group has been in contact regarding the funding. We are more than happy to discuss this further, if you would like to talk to one of the team please contact our Operations Manager at Ann.brewin@careuk.com / 0117 906 1826
Best wishes
Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre

Report as unsuitable

Gary gave Orthopaedics at Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre a rating of 5 stars

Excellent Experience at Emersons Green

I am a Wiltshire CCG patient and in late May (2017), went to my GP seeking referral to a consultant orthopaedic surgeon for a total knee replacement of my left knee. Within a few weeks I had seen a consultant (at Devizes) and been referred for surgery at Emerson's Green. Within 9 weeks of my GP appointment, I have had the knee replaced and throughout the process, have nothing but praise for Care UK staff at both Devizes and Emerson's Green.

Apart from the significantly shorter waiting time for the operation compared to, say, GWH, (and which could have been even shorter had I opted for the first available slot), as Emerson's Green only does elective surgery, I also had a very high degree of certainty that the operation would happen at the planned time, on the planned day, which greatly helps to reduce any stress or anxiety felt about the operation.

The facility at Emerson's Green itself is modern and clean, with free parking, free wifi, and free TV. The food is good, and the staffing ratios appear to be very good.

I met with the consultant orthopaedic surgeon and the anaesthetist before the operation, and both again, twice afterwards, either during the planned twice-daily ward rounds or at other times. I always felt that all of the staff had sufficient time to ensure that my treatment and recovery was as good as it could be. Post-operatively, the nursing and physio support was excellent, the staff friendly, professional, and attentive. I couldn't fault it.

I was discharged two days after the operation and now, 12 days further on, feel I am making excellent progress. I also find the Care UK 'Pocket Physio' app is useful for supplementing the information and exercise guidelines given to me by Emerson's Green staff.

If patients are able to make the journey to/from Emerson's Green, then I highly recommend it, all the more so given my experiences of a previous knee replacement at a different hospital.

Overall, this was an excellent experience at Emerson's Green.

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 15 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre replied on 16 August 2017

Thank you so much for your extensive review Gary - we are delighted that your experience of both Devizes and Emersons Green were positive. We would love to share your experience and use some of your comments on our website and other materials if possible, if you would be interested please email Holly Wale, Marketing Executive on holly.wale@careuk.com to discuss. We look forward to hearing from you. Many thanks, Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre

Report as unsuitable

Carole gave Ophthalmology at Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre a rating of 5 stars

Fantastic experience

Just had my second cataract removed, again excellent hospital can not fault the treatment I received the staff could not have been anymore caring from reception through to surgeons I was treated as an individual and not just another patient. So once again my thanks go to all the people involved in my care and WELL DONE EMERSON GREEN xxxx

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 22 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre replied on 23 August 2017

Thank you for your review on our ophthalmology service - we will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the team. Our staff pride themselves on treating patients as individuals therefore it is great to hear you felt you were well looked after during your visit.
Kind regards,
Holly

Report as unsuitable

Marion gave Dentistry and Orthodontics at Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre a rating of 5 stars

Excellent care from start to finish

I went today 26th aug 2017 to have wisdom tooth out .i can honestly say would go back any time careing friendly made to feel relaxed never knew it was over .Excellant Thank You

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 25 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre replied on 29 August 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review for us. We really appreciate the comments made by our patients and it's great to hear your praise for the staff who looked after you so well on your recent visit. It will be a pleasure to pass your kind words on to the dental team.
Best wishes
Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre

Report as unsuitable

Benji gave General Surgery at Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre a rating of 5 stars

Excellent nursing and surgical care. Booking tricky..

I was given the option of Emersons Green treatment centre, alongside other options including a private hospital and South Bristol Community hospital. I was referred for surgical repair of an umbilical hernia.
So glad I chose EG as the day couldn't have gone any more smoothly, from reception and clerking all the way through to recovery and discharge. The nurses, HCAs, anaesthetist and surgeon were all really nice and had time to talk and establish a good rapport. Plenty of humour thrown in too, which put me at ease.

My only gripe is the booking system as it seemed to be very uncoordinated. I had been told at the pre-op assessment that I would be contacted and informed of available dates for the procedure. However after 3wks I hadn't heard anything and needed to phone up to check it was still going ahead. Apparently my letter hadn't been sent out. I booked a day over the phone but with very limited choices available to me as I had dropped off the radar. I wasn't given a time for the op which is normal (but no letter was later sent out to confirm this, as had been promised) and again I needed to phone up to check this, 3 days before the op. Couldn't get through on booking line, no one answered and so I spent about an hour trying different numbers via reception to eventually get through to someone who didn't really sound like she knew what was going on. I was told a time but then also told I needed to "come in urgently today" for an MRSA nasal swab, something that I had already provided at the pre-op assessment. Apparently this one had expired and the op wouldn't happen unless I had another one done! After trying rearrange my work and kids I then got a phone call saying I didn't need to have another one. I double checked this as I didn't want to arrive for op to be turned away.
I work for the NHS and so I can appreciate what can happen during periods of change, but the booking system just seemed completely disjointed, which is a shame as the actual day couldn't have gone better. Thank you so much to all the brilliant clinical staff I came into contact with, during pre-op assessment and on the actual day.??

Visited in July 2017. Posted on 15 July 2017

Report as unsuitable

Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre replied on 17 July 2017

Thank you for leaving a review, we are delighted that your experience was positive on the day and you were put at ease by the staff at the centre. We are sorry to hear that the booking process did not go smoothly, please be assured that we are looking into this to ensure that any problems can be addressed.
Kind regards,
Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General Surgery at Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre a rating of 5 stars

My heria surgery

I have nothing but praise for the care and treatment l received from every member of staff involved on the day of my heria surgery. I was impressed by their professionalism. Each person had checked my medical history going through my notes with me. I found it reassuring to be told exactly what would be done and what to expect. I felt priviledged and lucky to receive treatment on our NHS and at this hospital. I didnt get the chance to thank those who operated on me personally, but hope they read this! You did a great job.

Visited in July 2017. Posted on 20 July 2017

Report as unsuitable

Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre replied on 21 July 2017

Thank you very much for your kind comments. Our staff pride themselves on their thoroughness, care and attention to every patient. We will certainly pass you comments on to the team.
Kind regards,
Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Ophthalmology at Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre a rating of 5 stars

2nd Cataract Surgery

When I was offered cataract surgery at Emmerson Green for the second time on my left eye after right eye surgery last year, I jumped at the opportunity. I cannot praise the surgeons and staff enough, I would highly recommend this hospital and would have no hesitation in returning again if needs be for any other procedure and have already extolled the virtues of the hospital to family and friends. Thank you for your patience and care, it is truly appreciated from a most grateful and happy patient.

Visited in June 2017. Posted on 16 June 2017

Report as unsuitable

Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre replied on 16 June 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review of your cataract surgery. We are thrilled to hear that you jumped at the chance to return to us for your second procedure. The staff strive to provide first class treatment and service to our patients so it will be a real pleasure to pass on your comments to all the teams involved in your care.
Best wishes
Emersons Green NHS Treatment Centre

Report as unsuitable