Wiltshire IAPT

01380 731 200 Green Lane Hospital, Marshall Road , Devizes, Wiltshire, SN10 5DS
https://iapt-wilts.awp.nhs.uk/

2 out of 5 stars

Based on 15 ratings for this hospital

2 Stars

2 out of 5 stars

NHS.UK user rating
Based on 15 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

3 out of 5 stars

(13 ratings)

Staff co-operation

2 out of 5 stars

(14 ratings)

Dignity and respect

2.5 out of 5 stars

(14 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

2 out of 5 stars

(14 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

3.5 out of 5 stars

(11 ratings)

Reviews

14 total

Anonymous gave Primary care counselling service at Wiltshire IAPT a rating of 1 stars

Told no further help can be given

I waited on the high intensity theory list for nearly a year.finally I got my counsellor to have two sessions only to be told I need to join other list for one to one counselling and couldn’t get anymore help.im still suffering with anxiety depression and stress but I need to drag up my past now to get help.i come to get help for anxiety now I feel back to square one.whats the point.

Visited in September 2018. Posted on 14 September 2018

Report as unsuitable

Wiltshire IAPT has not yet replied.

Johnpaul64 gave Community mental health services at Wiltshire IAPT a rating of 1 stars

We have lost all faith in the management of this departme

My GP has tried to get me the necessary mental health treatment which i required from this hospital for the past three years and we have been met with nothing but constant mistakes and deliberate and contrived stalling by the management.

My carer and I met with them on many occasions to explain the situation, that I had been severely abused and still the abuse continued but still there was no progress made. Photographs were then provided to show the urgency of the situation so that we could get help.. Again nothing. Finally these were lost in their system. Even the people who were supposedly sorting out this mess were never told of the facts. Consequently I have been sent from one department to another. From one ‘manager’ to another. Appointments have been made with staff that don’t arrive or leave without notice, and i’ve seen so many interim people that I wonder just who is overseeing the actual care of patients at this hospital because it certainly has no structure or coordination.of care.

I wouldn’t ever recommend it at all or the staff there. It has been three years out of my life wasted by these people. I have never known such negligent and appalling healthcare anywhere.

Visited in February 2018. Posted on 20 February 2018

Report as unsuitable

Wiltshire IAPT replied on 21 February 2018

Thank you for leaving your comment, I am sorry that your experience has not been good. We would like to understand your concerns fully so would be grateful if you would contact the PALS team on 01225 362900 or 0800 073 1778 or by email at awp.pals@nhs.net

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Community mental health services at Wiltshire IAPT a rating of 5 stars

Very positive experience

I recently had to be taken to green lane during a very traumatic psychotic episode, the police took me in and they did their best but didn’t have the training or resources to deal with me. When I got to green lane I found a safe place and an amazing team who gave me such wonderful care. The after care was less good, during recovery back at home they didn’t understand that running my own business and having to work doesn’t mean I don’t need care and support still, but the experience at green lane was brilliant and has made a very positive difference to my life .

Visited in February 2018. Posted on 21 April 2018

Report as unsuitable

Wiltshire IAPT has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Inpatient mental health services at Wiltshire IAPT a rating of 2 stars

Many improvements needed

I stayed on poppy ward for a couple of months, and was very unimpressed. I have been on many wards, and green lane had by far the most mixed experience. There were a handful of wonderful staff who went out of their way to help, but the vast majority made it very clear that they did not care, to the point that I did not even learn half of the staff’s names because they were so disengaged. There was a higher proportion of agency staff than on most wards, meaning there was no consistency or opportunity to build any therapeutic relationship ships. The consultant was dismissive, rude and seemed to take pleasure in mocking me, making inappropriate jokes and comments when discussing sensitive and difficult topics. There was no discharge plan and no discharge warning.
I left feeling far worse than I went in, and disappointed that the efforts of the few great staff were overwhelmed by the many other issues.

Visited in February 2018. Posted on 14 May 2018

Report as unsuitable

Wiltshire IAPT replied on 27 June 2018

Thank you for letting us know about your time in hospital, I am really sorry to read that this was not a good experience for you. I will share this with the Matron and Ward Manager, if you would like us to follow this up for you and look into what happened please do contact the PALS team on 01225 362900 or 0800 0731778 or by email at awp.pals@nhs.net

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Inpatient mental health services at Wiltshire IAPT a rating of 1 stars

7 weeks as inpatient

In the first week of being admitted, I was told by a member of staff that I would be let down by the system. They were correct. After 7weeks as an inpatient and my mood becoming worse they decided to discharge me with out warning and with out plans out in place for me. I told them going home wasn’t an option, due to having children to look after. I was sectioned the day before my discharge due to being deemed unsafe due to an overdose I took. I was told by a doctor I was severely depressed and that my medication needed reviewing. 7 weeks as an inpatient with out improvement. Instead of looking at my medication I was discharged. They allowed me to leave the hospital with out my belongings. Knowing I was in a bad place mentally. I was in crisis. They didn’t care. My family told them not to allow me to leave until they arr9ved to collect me, due to their concerns for me. However I was still allowed to leave. Later to be found by the police and taken to hospital for treatment. Green lane is a shocking hospital. They do not do their hourly checks correctly. I was out on leave for 4 hours but I was written down as in by 2 different members of staff. They have no psychologist, no talking therapy at all. Most of the members of staff do not want to be there. I was having a bath on the day I was sectioned by the doctor, to over hear members of staff moaning about not being paid enough “for this" what ever that is spouse to mean. The few good members of staff were amazing, had the time to talk to you about your thoughts and worries. But most really didn’t have the time and didn’t care about keeping you safe. I’m now discharged in to the community feeling the same as I went in. Extremely suicidal. I’ve 3 children who I can not look after as well as I would like. I fear for my future. The crisis team do not work for me. Due to having anxiety I don’t like different people coming every day. I’ve lost all faith in the mental health team. I feel like all my hope of getting better has gone.
.

Visited in January 2018. Posted on 11 March 2018

Report as unsuitable

Wiltshire IAPT has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Psychosis services at Wiltshire IAPT a rating of 5 stars

Very respectful and attentive care, very thankful!!!!!!!!!!

I realised something was wrong when I had walked to the other-side of Salisbury at 4am and yet my neighbours voices were still being heard reverberating through the concrete belittling and threatening me- (my neighbours are 70 years old and are lovely)- I went to hospital, spent perhaps 10 hours there, i hadn't eaten or slept for 4 or 5 days, stank, threw away my clothes, i got so paranoid i ran away from hospital. Had no idea how to get home so ended up soiling myself with fright then ended up being handcuffed and put in a police van as I was sat by a roundabout looking in hindsight very mentally ill. For a good 3/4 days i had no idea what the hell was going on, but came too in Poppy Ward surrounded by very professional and caring staff, my short term memory popped back and I slowly regained my former self. Every staff member there was lovely, I hope i don't have to go back as others need that safe space more than I do, but it is fantastic that such a space exists for those experiencing trauma. Mental health workers in UK are fantastic, and also provide fantastic aftercare, I think the NHS Mental Health teams need more priority, funding and praise for sure. Terribly difficult job!!!!!!!!!

All I would say if you ever have an out of the blue psychotic episode is be careful with Olanzapine and antipsychotics and medication that Psychiatrists prescribe- a one time psychosis doesn't mean you should be stuck on really powerful drugs, particularly if it's drug induced psychosis (mine was Sertraline + Alchohol + Insomnia induced), Olanzapine worked wonders for my week long psychosis but I do not need it and the drug has terrible side effects, be careful with your prescriptions! At poppy ward their are lots of oppurtnities for occupation therapy and cbt and such, so I think the antipsychotic drugs should be a last resort. All together though 10/10. Sorted me right out!!! <3 xxx

Visited in November 2017. Posted on 21 February 2018

Report as unsuitable

Wiltshire IAPT replied on 21 February 2018

Thank you for leaving your feedback, I am sorry to read that you were so unwell and I hope that you are doing well in your recovery. It really makes staff's day to receive messages such as yours so I have shared this with the ward manager and senior management team so that they can ensure all ward staff see this. Again, thank you for taking the time.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave at Wiltshire IAPT a rating of 1 stars

Iapt staff can’t read an email

My wife email after seeing her gp due to anxiety using the phone amongst other issues she hand an email back asking her to call the service which begs the question was the email read or just and auto reply

Visited in November 2017. Posted on 24 January 2018

Report as unsuitable

Wiltshire IAPT has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Inpatient mental health services at Wiltshire IAPT a rating of 2 stars

Made to feel like my illness was a choice

Usually have a really good experience with the intensive/crisis team and usually very helpful.
Today, I was made to feel as if my illness was a choice. By the time I came off the phone, I felt worse than what I started with. I felt pushed aside and the manner in which the person who spoke to me didn't feel like they knew how to deal with someone who was in a crisis!

Visited in July 2017. Posted on 27 July 2017

Report as unsuitable

Wiltshire IAPT replied on 24 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to read that your contact with the intensive team was not helpful for you. If you would like us to look into this further for you, or for us to be able to feedback to the member of staff that this is how they were perceived, please do contact the PALS team on 01249 468 261 or 0800 073 1778 or by email at awp.pals@nhs.net

Report as unsuitable

Chantelle gave Community mental health services at Wiltshire IAPT a rating of 4 stars

Felt very comfortable at green lane (poppy ward)

I was in green lane for 5 months
I was a mess when I first of all got there but the workers worked there bits of to try and help me
I wasent eating or sleeping properly and a certain member of the staff helped get my eating on track
I then turned into a tear away but they knew I was just rebelling as I felt I dident need to be there and once they talked me through my mental health problems I became aware of these

Certain members of staff was useless and blamed you for everything even when you dident do anything or they would just ignore you and your voice of concerns or pled for help
Whilst others bent over backwards to help you in any way they could
On change overs our care treatment was not always passed on which could of helped massively

Even after my discharge they was always there if I needed them

I felt very comfortable in my stay at green lane (poppy ward)

As for the intensive team I just think they are a joke. They don't want to talk to you and make you feel worse

I would still recommend green lane or as now called poppy ward

Visited in January 2017. Posted on 30 May 2017

Report as unsuitable

Wiltshire IAPT replied on 26 July 2017

I am sorry to read that your experience was so mixed on our ward, if you would like us to look into the issues you have raised please contact the PALS team. They can be contacted on 01249 468261 or 0800 073 1778 or by email at awp.pals@nhs.uk

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Wiltshire IAPT a rating of 1 stars

Appalling crisis support by Wiltshires Intensive Team

Absolutely disgusted by the appalling support or should I say no existent support offered to me when I rang the intensive service in the early hours of the morning. Was in crisis having cut tendons and hit breaking point. The staff member didn't have a clue about me or my situation despite them having access to my records. It appeared as if I was disturbing their evening and they were cutting me off within 2 minutes of the telephone call by telling me to go to sleep. This is not the level of support needed or expected when ringing that service. The decision to call was not taken lightly and was taken as a last resort as I feared for my life. The whole service needs to look at what it is there for as as far as I can see it is a severe failing on behalf of mental health services within Wiltshire and a disgrace. No wonder mental health services are in crisis if this is the treatment to go by. I wouldn't recommend anyone ringing them for support.

Visited in January 2017. Posted on 13 January 2017

Report as unsuitable

Wiltshire IAPT replied on 20 February 2017

I am really sorry to read of your experience of the Intensive Service and that you were feeling so unwell at the time. We would like to look into this properly for you so I would be grateful if you could call the PALS team on 01249 468261 or 0800 073 1778 or you can contact the team by email at awp.pals@nhs.net

Report as unsuitable