Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - City Campus

0115 969 1169 Nottingham City Hospital, Hucknall Road , Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, NG5 1PB
http://www.nuh.nhs.uk

4.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 180 ratings for this hospital

4.5 Stars

4.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 180 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(178 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(179 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4.5 out of 5 stars

(178 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4.5 out of 5 stars

(178 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(144 ratings)

Reviews

256 total

Anonymous gave Cardiology at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - City Campus a rating of 5 stars

Fantastic visit to Clinic 2 Cardiology

On the 1st of November 2017 I visited Clinic 2 Cardiology for a follow up after an echo in early September. I am a severely visually impaired young man with Asperger's syndrome. I attended with my mother.

Obviously going to a cardiology clinic is not like going to ophthalmology....there is potential for much more serious consideration and discussion. Therefore, I did feel a certain amount of trepidation on the way there.

However, from the moment I arrived I was made to feel very welcome by the staff in the clinic. Soon after I was sent for an ECG. Before the procedure took place the nurse made sure I already knew what to expect (I've had loads done before so it didn't bother me). It was refreshing to have the easy to use stickers and electrodes, as I remember as a child having much more rudimentary apparatus attached to me; obviously keeping very still wasn't an issue this time due to my current age of maturity!!!!!

It was then a very short wait before I was called in to see my consultant. The level of communication between myself, my mother and the consultant was exemplary. I was made to understand everything very well and was given lots of opportunity to take an integral role in the discussion and examination. I am a mental health student and I know from research that if patients are provided an active participation in their own care plan, they are more likely to comply with medication/lifestyle protocols...so this was excellent.

I left feeling very much reassured! It was also nice to feel that there was a general interest by the staff in my particular case and this showed throughout my visit.

The level of good humour in the clinic also created much light relief and it appeared the staff really enjoyed their careers.

Once again, as I have said before in an Ophthalmology review, this particular visit does once again reinforce that the NHS is a national treasure and that those who work there deserve our upmost respect in these stressful times!!!! Also, my attendance yesterday has once again reinforced in my mind a desire to work in the NHS at some point following my course.

Visited in November 2017. Posted on 02 November 2017

Report as unsuitable

Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - City Campus replied on 03 November 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely detailed feedback what a great way to start the weekend. I am very happy to hear of your experience within our hospital. We really do have a great team here at NUH. I have shared your kind words with the team who all send their thanks and best wishes for the future.

Best wishes,

Sharon Clarke, Ward Sister, Clinic 2.

Report as unsuitable

James gave Urology at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - City Campus a rating of 5 stars

Excellent Care in Radiology Dept!

I attended City hospital’s Radiology dept yesterday for tests and received excellent care from the team. I arrived feeling anxious about the procedure, however the process of checking in, the actual procedure and after procedure care couldn’t have been better.
Both the radiologist and his assistant explained in depth what was happening before and during the test. The team’s manner was patient, kind, and totally professional and I’d like to thank them for this.
I’ve experienced both private and NHS care for my condition, and yesterday’s experience made me realise that the NHS can still deliver services that is equal or better that private care.
Keep up the excellent work!

Visited in November 2017. Posted on 03 November 2017

Report as unsuitable

Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - City Campus replied on 03 November 2017

This is lovely feedback, thank you for sharing it with us. I’m pleased we were able to alleviate your anxieties. I’ve shared this with the team who also appreciate you taking time to share your feedback.

Wishing you well,
Nicola Kennedy.
Head of Radiology Services.

Report as unsuitable

Annieash reviewed Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - City Campus

Oncology care

I visited my sister on SRU at the weekend. SRU is what it is...patients waiting for a bed & the staff work so hard to provide excellent care in that environment. My sister is my concern. She is very vulnerable and doesn't like to make a fuss. She is waiting for both chest & abdominal drains as she has, for the 5th time, the last one being 2 weeks ago, filled with fluid. She is gasping for breath & can hardly move. I cannot understand why she has been left to 'fill up' again. She is terrified & therefore does not tell us or the doctors what's happening to her. I feel that her team should realise this & put measures in place-sending her home after draining her is no good because she fills up again at speed. If you ask her -she's ok. She is not-we are one worried family & are at our whits end.

Visited in November 2017. Posted on 05 November 2017 using Care Opinion

Report as unsuitable

Review provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - City Campus replied on 09 November 2017

Thank you for getting in touch. I’m sorry to read your concerns regarding your sister’s care. It would be helpful to have some additional information so I can speak to your sister on the ward. Would you be able to get in touch with me so we can discuss further? You can reach me on 0115 363 1169 ext. 57495 or claire.smith@nuh.nhs.uk.

Best wishes,
Claire Smith.
Ward Manager, SRU.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Pain Management at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - City Campus a rating of 1 stars

Disgraceful

My partner has been waiting since April for nerveblock injections,a year since the last one,he is in extreme pain,so we were relieved that finally when the nurse rang from the pain clinic it would be good news.It was, we had a appointment for today at 8.30 am Sat Oct 14th.As it is Saturday we just assumed they were catching up,he even commented on tge date and their reply was "thats the nhs for you" we were delighted.Then we had another call last week the time had been changed to 9.30 ,not a problem and a letter would be sent,no letter has arrived and we have just sat outside the clinic from 8.35 to 9.40 the place is in darkness,what the hell is going on? I.ve walked around trying to find someone to ask for help the place is locked up.Shame on you for letting my partner down,I am so angry and upset that you have treated us so very badly and wonder what your excuse will be????????Can you imagine how it has felt to turn up respectfully early to find you so disrespectfully closed?

Visited in October 2017. Posted on 14 October 2017

Report as unsuitable

Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - City Campus replied on 16 October 2017

Your comments are noted. Thank you for getting in touch to share them. I am sorry to hear that the department was closed when you attended for your appointment. You can get in touch me with via 0115 924 9924 ext. 66623 or QMCPET@nuh.nhs.uk.

Best wishes,

Ashley Rolfe, Patient Experience Officer.

Report as unsuitable

John Cobley gave Cardiology at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - City Campus a rating of 5 stars

Coronary Care

Having been transferred from QMC after a heart attack I was welcomed on Morris Ward by a Team who were not only caring but extremely efficient & Professional. The procedures were carried out most effectively where I was fully consulted throughout & was provided with all the support & medication necessary. My wife & I cannot thank the Cardiac team enough outstanding actions & care throughout.

Visited in October 2017. Posted on 19 October 2017

Report as unsuitable

Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - City Campus replied on 20 October 2017

It’s good for us to end the week on a high – what superb feedback. Thank you John. I’ve shared your feedback with the team on Morris Ward.

Best wishes to you and your wife. Have a lovely weekend and we wish you well in your recovery.

Caroline Sheppard.

Cardiology Matron.

Report as unsuitable

Jean Dendle gave General Surgery at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - City Campus a rating of 4 stars

Theatre Admissions Lounge waiting time

On October 12th, 2017 I had an appointment at City Hospital and had to report to Theatre Admisssions Lounge at 12 noon. As I understood it, I was to have a proceedure which would take less than 12 minutes. Allowing time for certain routine matters and paper work, I quite expected to leave the hospital within two hours.
How wrong! I was taken into theatre at 4.30 p.m. No explanation was given nor was there any warning in the appointment letter that I would be kept waiting for this length of time. I finally left the admissions lounge at 5.0 p.m. feeling very hungry having missed lunch.
My 80+ year old husband who was waiting at home for my return was, needless to say, getting very anxious as I had been unable to use my phone since there was no signal in the waiting area. I would appreciate your comments and hope that this situation could be improved for other patients in the future.

Visited in October 2017. Posted on 21 October 2017

Report as unsuitable

Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - City Campus replied on 23 October 2017

I am so sorry to hear of your poor experience, including the excessively long wait for your procedure. We will review our patient letters and revise as appropriate so that information patients receive in advance of their operation helps to prepare them as best as possible. I have shared the details of your experience with colleagues in the department so that we can learn from this and make improvements for future patients.
Kind regards
Maria Shallow
Theatres Matron

Report as unsuitable

M Calladine gave Orthopaedics at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - City Campus a rating of 4 stars

Theatre Admissions Lounge City Hosppital

I was admitted today to the Theatre Admissions Lounge at the City hospital for a quick Orthopaedic procedure and I would like to say what a massive difference it was after having my last procedure in what was then the makeshift Vanguard Theatre. The department is fairly new and a 100% improvement from last time. The whole experience was much improved. The staff were efficient, professional and extremely kind throughout my whole day and the extra tea was much appreciated. Well done to everyone and thank you so much for making my experience a really good one.

Visited in October 2017. Posted on 25 October 2017

Report as unsuitable

Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - City Campus replied on 26 October 2017

Thanks for your kind feedback. It is nice to hear you had a good experience in our care. I have shared your comment with the team, who all send their best wishes.

Best wishes,

Jo Curtis, Ward Manager.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Maternity services at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - City Campus a rating of 5 stars

Very good

We're very accommodating the whole way through the process. If we were being picky we would say that we should have been moved down to the Labour suit earlier, it then we accept that things did happen very quickly. Hard to rest in the aftercare ward but again, you can accept that there are other babies on the ward too. Overall, very pleased with our experience and a big thank you to all of the excellent and caring staff. Would highly recommend to any future parents. Thanks ahain

Visited in October 2017. Posted on 28 October 2017

Report as unsuitable

Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - City Campus replied on 30 October 2017

Thanks for the feedback and many congratulations to both you and your family on the birth of your child. I have passed your comment onto the team who all send their best wishes for the future.

Best wishes,

Laura Rumsey, Deputy Head of Midwifery

Report as unsuitable

Debbie-lynn welbourn gave Orthopaedics at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - City Campus a rating of 5 stars

Attended theatre admissions unit

Well what can I say!!. From walking into the unit is felt relaxed. The receptionist was lovely and greeted everyone individually with a smile and a pleasent attitude. Next..... called in by a lovely staff nurse who was so nice and friendly. I was shown into a cubicle and they explained everything to me. Wow!!!
I then saw 2 anaesthetists who went through some paperwork and a doctor for consent. Another nurse filled in some more forms with me and we had a lovely chat and a bit of banter. The next thing I knew I was being taken into the anaesthetic room. I felt so at ease when I got in there. The staff were great. Next thing I was awake and in recovery. The after care from my op was brilliant. Everyone kept a good eye on me and brought me a tray of food and drinks. I cannot thank everyone enough for the way I was cared for. The professionalism shown by all the staff are a credit to the hospital. Sorry for waffling on a bit but I want people to know that the department deserves praise xxx
Thankyou
Debbie-lynn welbourn

Visited in September 2017. Posted on 26 September 2017

Report as unsuitable

Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - City Campus replied on 29 September 2017

Hi Debbie-Lynn. What great feedback. Thank you. I’m pleased to hear you are so happy with every aspect of your care. I’ll make sure every member of the team receives a copy of your feedback.

Thank you

Best wishes,

Joanna Curtis

Theatre Admissions Sister.

Report as unsuitable

Tony gave Cardiology at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - City Campus a rating of 5 stars

Could not fault the service, first class.

During our visit to my daughter in Nottingham (we are from Kent) I had a sever pain from my shoulder down to my finger tips on my left arm. For someone who considered himself fit and very healthy and rarely visited the doctor did not think for one moment that this could be something serious.

The pain got considerably worse and at that stage my daughter and wife decided I was going to A&E at the QMC Hospital. From the time I was registered through to being diagnosed with having a heart attack and waiting for an ambulance to take me to City Hospital where they have an acute cardiac unit was unbelievably quick and professional and I can’t thank the staff enough.

Having arrived at City Hospital in no time (ambulance blue light) I was whisked through to the cardiac unit where it was diagnosed I required two stents. Again the treatment was unbelievably professional, I’m just sorry I didn’t elaborate on the “Thanks” at the time.

I was moved to Morris ward where I spent my recovery time. The doctors, nurses and all staff on that ward could not do enough for me and my ‘heart’ felt thanks goes out to them all.

Kindest Regards
Tony Charlesworth

Visited in September 2017. Posted on 02 October 2017

Report as unsuitable

Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust - City Campus replied on 02 October 2017

Thanks Tony. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I’ve shared your ‘thank you’ message with the various wards and teams who cared for you.

We all wish you the best in your recovery.

Best wishes,

Caroline Sheppard.

Cardiology Matron.

Report as unsuitable