Chesterfield Royal Hospital

01246 277271 Calow, Top Road , Chesterfield, Derbyshire, S44 5BL
http://www.chesterfieldroyal.nhs.uk

4.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 223 ratings for this hospital

4.5 Stars

4.5 out of 5 stars

NHS.UK user rating
Based on 223 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(217 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(219 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4.5 out of 5 stars

(220 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(218 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(169 ratings)

Reviews

233 total

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Chesterfield Royal Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Consultant.

I would like to say a HUGE thank you to the consultant for his diligent care, carried with empathy and kindness. He is extremely down to earth and easy to speak to. A trait often lacking in other consultants who come across as cold and blunt.

I have been a patient of his for around 2 years now, treating chronic skin inflammation. I cannot thank him enough. I have since been discharged but hope if I have any issues again, that I will be referred to this same consultant.

Visited in September 2018. Posted on 17 September 2018

Report as unsuitable

Chesterfield Royal Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Ear, Nose & Throat at Chesterfield Royal Hospital a rating of 1 stars

dreadful ENT service

After visiting A and E was told to contact ENT for an emergency appointment which we did to then be told we had to go back to a and e to get an appointment which we did and despite the matter being urgent because it was still bleeding being told we had to wait 6 weeks for an appointment and that we just had to put up with the bleeding in the meantime ! dreadful service.
why did the ENT consultant inform us to go to a and e again if they could not do anything, as long as it is not wasting his money he clearly isn't bothered but wasting NHS time and money clearly is ok.
This is a disgraceful service and the doctor concerned should remember whilst he might deal with this every day patients do not and it is about putting them first and at ease not worrying about his own case load !

Visited in August 2018. Posted on 02 August 2018

Report as unsuitable

Chesterfield Royal Hospital has not yet replied.

Barry jakeman gave Accident and emergency services at Chesterfield Royal Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Absolutely fabulous

Having been admitted Saturday morning by ambulance which arrived in eight minutes from wife ringing .and then onto EMEU after assessment in A and E department , everything was great and not one hiccup.thanks to all the staff and ambulance staff.

Visited in August 2018. Posted on 06 August 2018

Report as unsuitable

Chesterfield Royal Hospital has not yet replied.

Babs gave Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at Chesterfield Royal Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Outpatient appointments to investigate lump found in neck.

I was seen very quickly and all the staff associated with my visits were excellent.

Visited in August 2018. Posted on 09 August 2018

Report as unsuitable

Chesterfield Royal Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Dermatology at Chesterfield Royal Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Dermatology. Smooth, efficient and treated with respect.

My appointment time was met, the doctor i saw was friendly, helpful, informative and made me feel totally at ease as i was nervous due to anxiety from having high functioning autism. I wasn't waiting long at all, about 5 minutes and the whole treatment consultation was as good as it can get when visiting a hospital. My only issue was with the pharmacy as the lady behind the counter was continually asking patients who were there to collect their prescriptions if they paid for their prescriptions and if not why they don't pay. I thought this was intrusive, unprofessional and embarrassing for patients when asking someone outright in a loud abrupt manner why they don't pay in front of lots of waiting patients. Perhaps simply asking patients to check the rear of the prescription and to fill in which box suits their situation quietly instead of asking someone why they don't pay for prescriptions in front of lots of other people would be professional and expected. Other than that though they were efficient and friendly. Overall my experience of this department was first class today. Thankyou and very much appreciated to them and those who run the hospital.

Visited in August 2018. Posted on 13 August 2018

Report as unsuitable

Chesterfield Royal Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Chesterfield Royal Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Totally ignored, no care or respect

I called an ambulance at 10pm on Wednesday 15th August. My knee had locked at a funny angle, I couldn't move and was screaming in agony. I was told I wasn't classed as an emergency, I explained that lived alone and couldn't move. No help given so I called 111 who said an ambulance would be with me two hours. Nine hours later an ambulance arrived. I was screaming and crying and desperate for the toilet. The ambulance men were lovely, they gave me gas and air but they still couldn't move me. They gave me morphine so were able to move me, they were great. On the way to hospital I started sweating profusely, shaking and being sick. I was told not to worry as it was a reaction to the morphine and I would be better within the hour. At hospital I was put in a room and left, I was constantly being sick and became delirious. Finally a Doctor said I was going down for an X-Ray. I was then brought back to my room and left alone again being sick, sweating and delirious. I kept asking nurses for the toilet, one said "Well it's just over there so go yourself" I explained that I couldn't move my leg so very reluctantly she fetched me a commode. She and her colleague made me feel like I was causing them trouble. The Doctor came to see me and said that I had damaged my cruciate ligament and would need a splint and crutches. I got to hospital at 8.30am and by now it was approximately 4pm and I was still being sick. A nurse came in and roughly grabbed my leg to put it in a splint, I squealed in pain but she said that I would just have to put up with it. She then literally ripped the cannula from my foot (the only place the ambulance men had managed to get it in). Despite me still being sick and sweating I was taken down to get crutches. On arrival the head of the department was disgusted to see the state I was in, at this point I came over faint and was very very sick. He got a nurse to return me to A & E. When we got there we were told I had been discharged so would have to wait in the waiting area despite me still being sick and dizzy. The man from the crutches department came down and saw me waiting and was not happy so said I needed to be seen immediately. Fortunately thanks to him I was taken into a small room, this room was very dirty with used gloves etc. on the side. I asked for a commode but was left waiting ages, by this point the location where my cannula had been ripped out was bleeding profusely all over the bed. I called a nurse who kindly cleaned me up, got a commode and changed the sheets. At about 6pm a Doctor came to see me and I said I wanted to go home. I didn't feel at all well but just could not bear to spend another minute in the place. I was given crutches and I left.

Visited in August 2018. Posted on 20 August 2018

Report as unsuitable

Chesterfield Royal Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Chesterfield Royal Hospital a rating of 2 stars

Gynecology appointment

I had an appointment today about me having endometriosis.. The gynecologist that i saw was extremely rude and had no care for me. Also couldnt wait to get rid of me and left me feeling let down and deflated.. I also didnt get told wether or not i needed to be seen again .. VERY poor care and goes against everything ive known the hospital to stand for.

Visited in August 2018. Posted on 21 August 2018

Report as unsuitable

Chesterfield Royal Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Ear, Nose & Throat at Chesterfield Royal Hospital a rating of 4 stars

ENT Appointment

Had an appointment today in the ENT department which appeared busy. I was seen quickly by a really friendly, helpful nurse who conducted an audiology assessment accurately and efficiently. I explained i was really anxious due to autism and she was really helpful and encouraging. Then i had to wait about 45 mins to an hour to see my ENT doctor which was difficult as i struggle with anxiety having to wait around in waiting areas. Any longer and i'd have had to leave. The ENT doctor was really friendly and helpful although perhaps could have explained things to me a little better as the appointment progressed. Having autism, i need to know exactly what is to happen to me and why before it does rather than assuming i know what and why something is happening and that i am happy to comply. Not a problem in the end though and i appreciate that staff are very busy and want to get to the bottom of things as quick as possible. I have no complaints about the health professionals i saw on the day. All very professional and understanding. My only slight complaint is the wait, especially when you have been given a specific appointment time. I'm sure if i had made them wait an hour before rocking up to my appointment they wouldn't have been happy about it but overall i recommend ENT based on my experience today.

Visited in August 2018. Posted on 23 August 2018

Report as unsuitable

Chesterfield Royal Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Chesterfield Royal Hospital a rating of 5 stars

A&E vist

Visited A&E couldn't fault the nursing staff who where very kind and the doctor who was great and the paramedics who brought me in.

Visited in August 2018. Posted on 30 August 2018

Report as unsuitable

Chesterfield Royal Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Chesterfield Royal Hospital a rating of 2 stars

Patient Review

I’m a current patient on the Murphy ward and these are my views of what I witnessed while being here so far. The involvement between patient and staff is ridiculous, I wasn’t made aware of any decisions being made about my wellbeing. Nurses were coming to tell me I’m being discharged and I didn’t even know, neither was I ready to be as I was still crying in pain and needing morphine injections. There was medication being took off of my prescription and they didn’t even make me aware, I was in need of a morphine injection as I was rolling in agony and they told me that it had been took off my prescription and the strongest thing I could have was paracetamol and codeine. Now personally I’m terrified of needles and don’t get any “buzz” from having it so when I ask for it I’m being serious that I need it for relief and not because I’m some drugged up person looking for a quick fix, I wasn’t having this type of relief regular either only as and when needed. I’ve struggled with my pain for a few years now and I’m on strong medication such as oxycodone and tramadol so I know that these types of prescription drugs aren’t a joke. Not only was the morphine removed without my acknowledgement but also my IV anti-sickness. The anti-sickness that was prescribed is the only one that works for me and for the past 3 days I’ve thrown up every dinner and tea I’ve had, along with having a temperature so I’m not just asking for the anti-sickness for a laugh. My stomach was in a lot of pain from constantly being sick but I don’t think one nurse took me seriously with me throwing up everything for the last 3 days nor do I think they even acknowledged it. Aren’t nurses supposed to be caring people because a lot of them, and many patients have agreed with me, are very rude and arrogant when all I’ve done is be kind and used manners while also being understandable if they can’t do something so their reaction wasn’t provoked in any way. This isn’t all nurse as a fair few have been very nice to me, trying to cheer me up, been polite and made me feel more at ease. I’ve been told constantly that the pain management were supposed to be coming to see me and I’ve not heard anything along with being told I’m supposed to be going for a scan which they haven’t mentioned anything about still just that they are trying to send me home when I am clearly not ready for. I can’t wait to get out of hospital as I’m not it’s biggest fan but I know when my health isn’t right, it just seems like they’re in a rush to get rid of me because they can’t solve my pain issues.

Visited in August 2018. Posted on 31 August 2018

Report as unsuitable

Chesterfield Royal Hospital has not yet replied.