Hull Royal Infirmary

01482 875875 Anlaby Road , Hull, HU3 2JZ
http://www.hey.nhs.uk/

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 272 ratings for this hospital

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 272 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(263 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(270 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(271 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(269 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(213 ratings)

Reviews

302 total | 9 found in General Surgery Show all reviews

  • Page 1 of 1

trevor galvin reviewed General Surgery at Hull Royal Infirmary

treatment for a dog bite 22 june 2017

admitted on 22 june with serious wound to right hand due to a dog bite, I arrived at plastic surgery iin the morning and was placed in the charge of the nurse. pity I can't name them because the nurse was amazing. The nurse accompanied me to the surgical ward and made sure that I was settled. The attention and care was truly out of this world. the good care was also continued on the 6th floor. I could not have had more detailed support anywhere, from the anaesthetist to the people who trollied me into theatre, and of course the amazing nurses. I have passed on my experience to all my family, friends and neighbours. the nhs gets a great deal of bad publicity, this is one of the many thousands of patients who cannot fault the treatment I was given

Visited in June 2017. Posted on 27 June 2017

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary replied on 28 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to add your comments to the NHS Choices website. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from patients and their families. We will ensure your kind comments are shared.

If you need to discuss our services further, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and they can be contacted on:

• Telephone: (01482) 623065
• Email: pals@hey.nhs.uk
• Online: https://www.hey.nhs.uk/patients-and-visitors/feedback/

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Department
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General Surgery at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Endoscopy

I attended the endoscopy department on the 9/02/2017 my appointment was at 3pm I was seen on time and I was so scared of having this done but with me being deaf and blind the staff was absolutely fantastic and treated me with dignity and explained everything to me and they really put my mind at rest but dr wong was outstanding and absolutely brilliant there was nothing to worry about it was all over in 5 mins then the Consultant explained everything to me and once its all over the room you go into for a drink and buscuits if wanted the staff was wonderful in there I just want to thank everyone in the endoscopy unit at hull royal infirmary on the second floor a big massive thankyou

Visited in February 2017. Posted on 09 February 2017

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave General Surgery at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

My Mum's stay on ward 60 - ten out of ten

I know HRI gets bad publicity when things don't go right, but I have nothing but praise for all of the staff who recently looked after my Mum. Mum had the need to attend A & E and was seen almost immediately by a Doctor and then by a Consultant before being admitted to Ward 60 for further tests and treatment. All of the staff in A & E were really kind and took the time to explain what they were doing and why to both myself and my Mum. Likewise, the nursing staff, cleaners, catering staff were all brilliant on ward 60. Professional, but friendly and very reassuring. My Mum was very worried about being admitted but all of your staff made her stay much more tolerable. Thank you for everything .

Visited in January 2017. Posted on 17 January 2017

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Dennis gave General Surgery at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Excellent care

I recently spent 6 days in ward 6, the care and attention i received was first class. I obviously was not very well but what i do remember was care & compassion from all levels in the delivery of the service. at points i was getting 24-7 attention and never felt overlooked or neglected. The staff were wonderful and i owe them a lot.

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 18 April 2017

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary replied on 19 April 2017


Thank you for taking the time to add your comments to the NHS Choices website. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from patients and their families. We will ensure your kind comments are shared with Ward 6.

If you need to discuss our services further, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and they can be contacted on:

• Telephone: (01482) 623065
• Email: pals@hey.nhs.uk
• Online: https://www.hey.nhs.uk/patients-and-visitors/feedback/

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Department
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General Surgery at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

My Mothers stay on Ward 60

I would just like to express my total gratitude to all of the members of staff on Ward 60 for the excellent care & concern regarding my mothers recent operation and stay on ward 60. Everyone excelled beyond comprehension. Thank you all once again you are all so kind and do such a wonderful job.

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 25 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Jan Rendell gave General Surgery at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

My stay on ward 60

11/5/2016 Went to A&E with abscess at 7am ,was on a ward by 11am came out 9 pm 12/5/2016 surgery done, All staff from nursing,auxilleries and cleaners were brilliant , any thing and everything you needed wasn't not a problem, Even though there were rushed of their feet ( bless em) they were always attentive,plenty of banter and interaction. Food was really good too,not that I had much haha due to being 'nil by mouth' .Thanks you to all of you xxx

Visited in May 2016. Posted on 13 May 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary replied on 17 May 2016

Thank you for taking the time to add your comments to the NHS Choices website. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from patients and their families. We will ensure your kind comments are shared with the General Surgery team and staff on Ward 60.

If you need to discuss our services further, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) on (01482) 623065 or email pals@hey.nhs.uk.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Department
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Report as unsuitable

Fergus0113 gave General Surgery at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 4 stars

Overnight stay

I had to stay overnight following surgery on a finger. I was very pleased with my care and everyone looked after me very well. I do have an issue with car parking. I live an hour away and had to attend two appointments followed by my collection. On each occasion all the car parks were full so my wife had no choice but to drop me off and return home to await the call to collect me. Forty miles times 6. Very stressful for my wife. She was unable therefore to visit me in the evening.

Visited in April 2016. Posted on 02 May 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary replied on 12 May 2016

Thank you for taking the time to add your comments to the NHS Choices website. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from patients and their families. We will ensure your kind comments are shared with the orthoapedic team.

We are sorry to read of your wifes difficulties trying to park and we will ensure your comments are shared with the esatates deaprtment.

If you need to discuss our services further, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) on (01482) 623065 or email pals@hey.nhs.uk.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Department
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General Surgery at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Excellent care by amazing staff

I stayed in ward 60 last week while I had surgery and I just want to say the nurses and doctors were fantastic, they went above and beyond, despite being so demanded their care for me was outstanding and they really couldn't have don't more, thankyou so much everyone

Visited in March 2016. Posted on 04 April 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary replied on 08 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to add your comments to the NHS Choices website. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from patients. We will ensure your kind comments are shared with the doctors and nurses who work on Ward 60 at Hull Royal Infirmary.

If you would like to discuss our services further, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) on (01482) 623065 or email pals@hey.nhs.uk.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Department
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Report as unsuitable

Gemma gave General Surgery at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Appendicitis

I was admitted to ward 60 though A&E on 23rd March 2016. I have terribly anxiety and they told me they wouldnt perform surgery until the following day even though it was my appendix (they were unsure at the time) and allowed me to go home and return at 8am the following morning but said if I got any more pain I must return immediately for emergancy surgery. I returned at 8am and the staff were lovely. I was in such a state I was given Diazapam to relax me, I am sure there was a head nurse, they were great and another nurse. All were great. I am 25 and hated to go onto a ward so they fixed me up a little side room and allowed my mum to stay with me and even made her a little bed on the chair and brought her meals. A traumatic experienced made 100% better by staff who care about patients feelings. Trolley staff was great too with their banter! :-) Had issues with A&E and porter to ultrasound and had to contact PALS but thats another story, this review is for ward 60 only :-) I wished that I had thanked the staff properly before I left as I know I must have been difficult with my anxiety and requests and only just discovered you can review! So here we are :-)

Visited in March 2016. Posted on 28 December 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

  • Page 1 of 1