Hull Royal Infirmary

01482 875875 Anlaby Road , Hull, HU3 2JZ
http://www.hey.nhs.uk/

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 272 ratings for this hospital

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 272 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(263 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(270 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(271 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(269 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(214 ratings)

Reviews

302 total | 12 found in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Show all reviews

Gail gave Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Big thank you

Arrived at ward 120 7th august 2017, to have a Arthrocentesis on my jaw joint due to TMJD, . Would like to give a big thank you to the auxiliary nurses who looked after me, the nurse who let me home, the anaesthetist who was brilliant; The staff from recovery who walked me down for my op and for seeing to me afterwards. The registrar and the consultant. And of course the other 3 patients in the room.
To say i was nervous wasn't the word but the Staff where brilliant and so friendly thank you all so much for the care you gave me will never be nervous about going in again.

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 08 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary replied on 11 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to add your comments to the NHS Choices website. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from patients and their families. We will ensure your kind comments are shared with ward 120.

If you need to discuss our services further, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and they can be contacted on:

• Telephone: (01482) 623065
• Email: pals@hey.nhs.uk
• Online: https://www.hey.nhs.uk/patients-and-visitors/feedback/

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Department
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous reviewed Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at Hull Royal Infirmary

still waiting

after over a year ago and told to wait 8 months after treatment by my dentist .I have been referred back to this department at my own request as my dentist had left and now have a new dentist who was unaware of my previous refferal to the maxilofacial department.Anyhoo it is nearly 3 months and still nothing about any appointment.I have phoned twice and in the 2nd phone call was told to visit in person and maybe the person on reception might be able to help.Popped in 2 weeks ago and wasted my time even bothering going as the person's answers were the same as the people on the phone.No doubt if and when I ever get an appointment it will be even more months away .Why is it so obsfucated to get an appointment ?

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 16 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Wayne gave Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Professional, friendly and polite.

Visited to have a small lesion removed from the inside of my mouth. The surgeon and nurses were simply awesome, professional, friendly, polite and caring. A shining example of how awesome and amazing our National Health Service is and why we should cherish, support and invest in it instead of taking it for granted as so many do.

Thank you again to the awesome team who helped me :)

Visited in May 2017. Posted on 03 May 2017

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary replied on 26 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to add your comments to the NHS Choices website. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from patients and their families. Our deepest condolences go to you and your family for the loss of your (insert name or relation) but we will ensure your kind comments are shared with the Maxillofacial department.

If you need to discuss our services further, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and they can be contacted on:

• Telephone: (01482) 623065
• Email: pals@hey.nhs.uk
• Online: https://www.hey.nhs.uk/patients-and-visitors/feedback/

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Department
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Report as unsuitable

Jc gave Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery

I attended my appointment at 9 am on the 20/4/2017 andi have never in my life been so scared about having my biopsy on my tongue well the staff who saw to me really did settle my nerves and the doctor who did my biospy was absolutely lovely, really understood my fears and the two nurses who was in the room with me was absolutely fantastic and I really dont know why I was so scared because there is nothing to be scared of if I had to have another I would no problem because you dont feel a thing and I thank the doctor and the 2 nurses for understanding me they was lovely I cant thank you enough

Visited in April 2017. Posted on 20 April 2017

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary replied on 26 April 2017

Thank you for taking the time to add your comments to the NHS Choices website. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from patients and their families. We will ensure your kind comments are shared with the Oral and Maxillofacial team.

If you need to discuss our services further, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and they can be contacted on:

• Telephone: (01482) 623065
• Email: pals@hey.nhs.uk
• Online: https://www.hey.nhs.uk/patients-and-visitors/feedback/

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Department
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Incredible Care and Treatment

I was in today for an extraction and I'm very nervous. The staff who cared for me were incredible- caring, sympathetic, professional and brilliant at their jobs. No pain, loads of support, perfect job well explained and they let me play my music throughout to help me relax (think it's the first time the surgeon had ever heard Guns n Roses!!)

Couldn't fault the whole experience- should be very highly praised for all the do

Visited in February 2017. Posted on 21 February 2017

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Steven Cooper gave Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Really impressed! Fantastic service! Removal of wisdom teeth

On Tuesday 8th November I had my 2 lower wisdom teeth removed and couldn't of been happier with the service and after-care! Although, right now I am in a lot of pain obviously, the service I received was fantastic! The staff were so relaxing and this really helped me as I had been worried about the extractions! They reassured me throughout and went through every step of the way to keep me calm! After the extraction, I had to go for a chest x-ray as part of the tooth went down my throat and again the staff were great! After everything was finished the staff discharged me after going through all the after care and warned me of the pain I am now having! Thanks Steven

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 10 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Maza gave Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Removal of wisdom teeth.

Today friday the 28th i Had to have all four wisdom teeth removed, three of them were impacted, I was absolutely petrified, crying shaking ect ,I suffer from severe health anxiety so even making it there was hard, and I'm so glad I did everyone was lovely and caring and helped me so much,the anethitist was amazing they understood my worries and was constantly putting me at ease,thanks guys for all your help , in absolutely agony at the min but won't be long before im back to normal :) xxx ohh they even gave me a diazapam to calm me down and suggested my partner stay with me from gona sleep an be there after recovery :) amazing staff xx

Visited in October 2016. Posted on 29 October 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Cheryl glynn reviewed Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at Hull Royal Infirmary

I still waiting for my appointment not heard anything yet

Still waiting for an appointment to have some teeth out iwas there in august not heard anything yet need to see some one soon thankyou

Visited in August 2016. Posted on 05 December 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Julia gave Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Floor 12: ward 120 would recommend 10/10

I had skin cancer and had a recon done on ward 120. I did not like the mixed wards and think both males and females deserve some privacy and respect for personal safety and well being. Mixed wards are not a good thing.
This was my first time at Hull Royal. I was very impressed with all the staff, consultants, nurses, auxcillary and catering. All showed concern, compassion and professionalism
All the staff were cheery and concerned with my care. I would give 10/10 for care and communication. I felt safe and well cared for. I think ward 120 12th floor are all brilliant.

Visited in April 2016. Posted on 29 April 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary replied on 12 May 2016

Thank you for taking the time to add your comments to the NHS Choices website. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from patients and their families. We will ensure your kind comments are shared with the team on ward 120.

If you need to discuss our services further, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) on (01482) 623065 or email pals@hey.nhs.uk.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Department
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Report as unsuitable

Jill M gave Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Fantastic staff and department

I came to the hospital to get 3 teeth out after a referral by my dentist.To say i was terrified was putting it mildly i cannot cope with having any teeth out and would have quite happily turned round and gone home before i got through the department door. My appointment time was 2 pm and my husband and i arrived a few minutes early, we were only there a few minutes when i was called through to the treatment room my husband was allowed to go in with me.We were greeted by four people who explained who and why they were there all the time carefully making sure i was okay and reassuring me that they would be going at the pace i wanted to.
When i was ready they injected me and i can honestly say that i hardly felt anything as they really made me feel so relaxed
They even let me listen (via headphones)to some music which i took with me, while they took out my teeth all the time making 100% sure that i was alright throughout the procedure and before i realised it the teeth were out and they had finished. I was so chilled that i was quite happy to stay there listening to my music for the rest of the day.

I cannot thank or praise everyone involved enough for the efficient,understanding,friendliness and most of all caring way they looked after me i am so glad now that i went through with it.

If anyone is frightened like i was don't worry you could not be in any more caring or safer hands.

Visited in March 2016. Posted on 08 March 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary replied on 11 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to add your comments to the NHS Choices website. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from patients and their families. We will ensure your kind comments are shared with the staff in the Oral and Maxillofacial department.

If you would like to discuss our services further, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) on (01482) 623065 or email pals@hey.nhs.uk.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Department
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Report as unsuitable