Hull Royal Infirmary

01482 875875 Anlaby Road , Hull, HU3 2JZ
http://www.hey.nhs.uk/

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 262 ratings for this hospital

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 262 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(252 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(259 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(260 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(258 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(205 ratings)

Reviews

291 total | 9 found in Children's & Adolescent Services Show all reviews

  • Page 1 of 1

Tess gave Children's & Adolescent Services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Wonderful hospital

My 2 year old son has additional needs so we are at Hull Royal every few weeks. All of the consultants, doctors, nurses and staff we see are fantastic! The Physio dept is great, and also the friendly porters and car park attendants. We are 9 times out of 10 seen on time, and always greeted with a smile. My son recently had a hip and leg operation and the care was brilliant. Also my son has been taken in by ambulance whilst having severe seizures, the paramedics are wonderful! Making sure we are seen and waiting with us until we are sorted. The emergency staff too are great, treating my son as fast as they can, reassuring us and making us feel at ease. I honestly think the care at this hospital is brilliant, along with all the staff!

Visited in April 2017. Posted on 20 April 2017

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary replied on 21 April 2017

Dear Tess,

Thank you for taking the time to add your comments to the NHS Choices website. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from patients and their families. We will ensure your kind comments are shared with the Paediatric team.

If you need to discuss our services further, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and they can be contacted on:

• Telephone: (01482) 623065
• Email: pals@hey.nhs.uk
• Online: https://www.hey.nhs.uk/patients-and-visitors/feedback/

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Department
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Children's & Adolescent Services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 1 stars

Children's ward

My son has complex needs and needs hospital care on a regular basis. But we find the care he receives on ward 130 at Hull Royal Infirmary is far from acceptable. Even down to the simplest of tasks the staff are not trained or not interested. The only thing they seem good at is making excuses for there mistakes.

Visited in March 2017. Posted on 19 March 2017

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Children's & Adolescent Services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Daughter had day surgery

Took my daughter for day surgery on the acorn ward, amazing staff, the Consultant explained everything in fine detail but in lay man's terms, so did the anethetist couldn't fault them. Thank you

Visited in January 2017. Posted on 27 January 2017

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Melbell gave Children's & Adolescent Services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Wonderful

Looked after my son after falling of his scooter. Cannot fault all emergency, ward & theatre staff. Thank you

Visited in October 2016. Posted on 31 October 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

BrianNB gave Children's & Adolescent Services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 1 stars

Left waiting, lots of staff seeming to do very little

My partner and I had a baby girl two weeks ago, the care, support and friendliness of all the staff in the women's and children hospital was outstanding. Yesterday, unfortunately, we had a very different experience.

Our midwife referred us to the paediatrics assessment ward for our baby girl to have a blood test as a precautionary measure as her jaundice had not yet completely cleared. After making our way up to the 13th floor, we were left waiting in a sparse, small room for over three hours. We were seen by three different members of staff over the three hour period, these preceded to all ask us the same questions about how our daughter was feeding, the consistency of her poos, our personal details - all information the midwife had asked us before making the referral.

After nearly four hours we were taken to the procedure room to have two nurses struggle to take her blood. What should have just been a ten minute procedure was so drawn out and stressful from the moment of arriving at the hospital. We were left for hours at a time without anyone explaining what was happening and there were so many staff who seemed to just be sitting at the reception desk. After the bloods were taken we were asked to go back to our room as the nurse wanted to speak to the registrar to see if we could leave. they never returned. We asked another nurse if we could leave. This nurse also didn't return. We were told we would get the results before we left. They didn't have them. We were told they would ring us with the results before 9pm. They didn't. We rang them from home to be told they would ring us back. They didn't.

At the end of the experience were were two very tired, worried and unhappy parents. Luckily the results from the blood tests, after us ringing to request them again, came back all clear. It certainly does not inspire confidence should anything serious have been found.

Visited in June 2016. Posted on 14 June 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary replied on 22 June 2016

Thank you for placing your posting on the NHS Choices website. We are sorry to read of your recent experience at Hull Royal Infirmary. We will ensure your comments are shared with the Paediatrics team.

In order to address the concerns you have raised, we would like to invite you to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) on (01482) 623065 or email pals@hey.nhs.uk. They will be able to take further details and advise accordingly.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Department
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Children's & Adolescent Services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 1 stars

waited over 3hours and still not been even reviewed just sat

Over staffed with lots just standing around doing nothing I suppose only god will
help those who are really ill. Absolute rubbish service with no interest in patient care.

Visited in January 2016. Posted on 25 January 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary replied on 15 February 2016

Thank you for placing your posting on the NHS Choices website. We are sorry to read of your recent experience in Children and Adolescent Department. We will ensure your comments are shared with the Children and Adolescent team.

In order to address the concerns you have raised, we would like to invite you to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) on (01482) 623065 or email pals@hey.nhs.uk. They will be able to take further details and advise accordingly.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Department
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Children's & Adolescent Services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 1 stars

Awful

Left us on our own for a long time, didn't follow up at all any time Ive been to the hospital.
Speak to us like dirt on their shoes, absolutely awful hospital every time ive been

Visited in December 2015. Posted on 17 February 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary replied on 19 February 2016

Thank you for placing your posting on the NHS Choices website. We are sorry to read of your recent experience at Hull Royal Infirmary. We will ensure your comments are shared with the Paediatric team.

In order to address the concerns you have raised, we would like to invite you to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) on (01482) 623065 or email pals@hey.nhs.uk. They will be able to take further details and advise accordingly.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Department
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Report as unsuitable

CM gave Children's & Adolescent Services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Long wait but excellent care

We arrived at 6pm on Boxing Day. Not too many there and saw triage quite quickly but the wait to see a doctor was just over 5 hours. Given we had our 5 year old son with us, it was a long night but there were much smaller children there who I thought should have been seen before us but after that length of wait I wasn't going to give up our slot.
The doctor we saw was amazing, talking directly to my son, and being patient with his 'detailed' description as to what had happened. They were just lovely with him and their manner was calm, caring and warm. They put my mind at rest and gained the trust of my son. The triage nurse who seemed to be everywhere was also amazing and never seemed to stop.
The wait, I believe was excessive for children but. I imagine it was skeleton staff, lack of funding and short staffing that caused that not the fault of the staff we saw last night.

Visited in December 2015. Posted on 27 December 2015

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary replied on 29 December 2015

Thank you for adding your comment to the NHS Choices website. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and we will ensure that the staff concerned are made aware of these.

If you would like to become more involved in decisions about local healthcare, we are recruiting members. By becoming a member you receive our quarterly newsletter, find out more about your local NHS and help us improve local services. You can also attend our ‘medicine for members’ sessions and respond to questionnaires. You don’t need any special skills or experience to become a member; you just need an interest in local health services. There is no commitment, you can get involved as much or as little as you choose. For more information please either email foundation.trust@hey.nhs.uk or telephone the Corporate Affairs office on (01482) 675165.

If you need to discuss our services further, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service on (01482) 623065 or email on pals@hey.nhs.uk as we are always striving to improve our patients experience.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Department
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Children's & Adolescent Services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Child admitted to 120

My daughter was admitted to Hull Royal Infirmary in November 2015. I found that the staff were very polite and courteous and hard working. Play workers,catering staff, cleaners, nurses, doctors all wo ked so well together and helped my daughter to recover. They are the reason she has s here today.

Visited in November 2015. Posted on 25 April 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary replied on 28 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to add your comments to the NHS Choices website. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from patients and their families. We will ensure your kind comments are shared with the A&E team.

If you need to discuss our services further, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) on (01482) 623065 or email pals@hey.nhs.uk.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Department
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Report as unsuitable

  • Page 1 of 1