Hull Royal Infirmary

01482 875875 Anlaby Road , Hull, HU3 2JZ
http://www.hey.nhs.uk/

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 273 ratings for this hospital

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 273 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(264 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(271 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(272 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(270 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(214 ratings)

Reviews

303 total | 52 found in Accident and emergency services Show all reviews

John Brooks gave Accident and emergency services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Absolutely fantastic

Been to A&E tonight after breaking my foot at home! They were brilliant! 7pm on a Friday night and I was seen with in half an hour. X rayed straight away, brief wait for the results , bandaged up and sent packing until Sunday for my appointment at the fracture clinic. Lovely friendly staff too

Visited in December 2016. Posted on 16 December 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

A&E comment

My wife was taken by ambulance to HRI with severe chest pains in the early hours of thursday the 29th of December. The treatment she received can only be described as first class.Many thanks to everyone involved.

Visited in December 2016. Posted on 31 December 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

A & E

In the past few months a friend of mine has been admitted to HRI A & E due to a locked knee joint, I have waited with her for an ambulance to arrive and stayed with her in A & E. From what I have seen the staff their (Para medics, Ambulance staff, all Doctors and Nurses have been brilliant). My lady friend was treated with respect, professionalism and in a friendly and caring manner. These people work under trying circumstances, with an ever increasing work-load, they are under pressure (most of the same it would seem). But credit where credit is due and they all deserve the highest praise. They certainly get that from this member of the local public who has witnessed their work.

Visited in December 2016. Posted on 31 December 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Hull Royal Infirmary - para medics, doctors and nurses

A lady friend of mine has been taken into the Hospital recently, once by ambulance. The two paramedics were fantastic, friendly, professional and caring. Then all the staff who gave her treatment did so in a caring, polite and professional manner. My friend has had a problem with her left knee for some time now and whilst at the local Transport Interchange her knee had locked. I would like to thank the paramedics (these people are the salt of the earth). The doctors and nurses were also brilliant. Now that we are approaching perhaps the busiest time of year for the NHS, just take a moment to reflect on the tremendous work that these people do on a daily basis, they deserve to be treated with respect and dignity that they show everyone else. Enough people complain about the NHS but from my own personal experience seeing these people work I have nothing but praise for them all.

Visited in December 2016. Posted on 06 December 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Jill Darcy gave Accident and emergency services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

A and E Hull Royal Infirmary

My husband visited A and E on 9th November 2016...he was taken in by ambulance (who also receive 5*) after a fall. He was assessed with 10 minutes of arriving with a hip problem. From there through to a cubicle where a lovey nurse looked after him . Then x ray with a really lovely porter who even came back to tell me there was a bit of a delay and he was next in ..he didn't have to do that but very thoughtful . Back to cubicle ..dr came in and said it wasn't broken (phew) . Not long afterwards a physio arrived with a zimmer . They showed him how to use it and then he was wheeled out to the front to our car by another nurse.. all in all 4 hours from ambulance arriving to back home...excellent excellent care .. couldn't be better ..thank you ..

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 10 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 1 stars

Uncaring, appalling treatment

My elderly parents were taken by ambulance (in response to an emergency call) to A&E. After taking a ridiculously long way round to the hospital, they finally arrived only to be dumped in A&E. My father was in severe rectal pain due to a blockage. He suffers ffrom chronic heart failure and is extremely frail. He was left in a wheelchair in his pyjamas among the walking wounded of Hull. There appeared to be no effort to prioritise cases (perhaps a way of making sure everyone is seen within target as opposed to those who need urgent treatment being seen first and minor injuries having to wait longer, possibly beyond target). The brusque, couldn't give a fig nurse told them that they would see a doctor within half an hour. After three hours, my Father could no longer bear the pain of sitting on a hard wheelchair and they left, paying £25 for a taxi. My Father's problem is not resolved and he now has a fear of having to attend A&E. Absolutely appalling!

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 14 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Annoyed gave Accident and emergency services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 2 stars

Rude and not caring

Leave patients in waiting rooms and corridors in pain. Very dismissive of concerns. Too busy talking about social life and eating to care aboutique patients. Why work in health care when you don't care about people

Visited in October 2016. Posted on 12 October 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 1 stars

Unhelpful and dismissive

We are still waiting after five hours to see a doctor having been rushed to the hospital by ambulance. My husband is in extreme pain and when I told a member of staff they just shrugged their shoulders. Is this what we pay are taxes for ?

Visited in October 2016. Posted on 17 October 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 1 stars

Uncaring and unprofessional

Urged via NHS111 number to attend A+E 'within the hour'. Did so. Then experienced a total of 11 and a half hours of total incompetence, before furiously discharging myself. Was not allowed to sleep, there were no in-place procedures for admission, I was left waiting for results unneccessarily, pushed aside whilst awaiting a CT scan and basically treated like an irrelevance. Disgusted.

Visited in October 2016. Posted on 20 October 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 1 stars

Unprofessionals

Not only waited for too many hours ..the worst of all was the wrong decision of the doctor.....it seems that everything is a virus there...they don t check the patient properly...probably not even the x ray was wrongly read.....

Visited in October 2016. Posted on 21 October 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.