Hull Royal Infirmary

01482 875875 Anlaby Road , Hull, HU3 2JZ
http://www.hey.nhs.uk/

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 273 ratings for this hospital

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 273 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(264 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(271 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(272 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(270 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(214 ratings)

Reviews

303 total | 8 found in Gastrointestinal and Liver services Show all reviews

  • Page 1 of 1

Anonymous gave Gastrointestinal and Liver services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

100% care from admission to leaving ward 100

After being referred from the doctor with deranged Lft’s my son was admitted onto the acute assessment unit within minutes of arriving at the hospital he were given a bed & had bloods & appropriate observations done, I were reassured my son was in very good hands by the prompt treatment & attention he received, he waited a couple of hours and was transferred to ward 100 where they appeared equally attentive to the boy’s condition, spending 10 days at the ward having every test possible being done he were reassured throughout his stay he was in the very best of hands starting from the nurses to the doctors who were by his side continuously observing his condition & medical needs, the domestic team who thoroughly cleaned the room & always had a friendly smile, he enjoyed his sandwiches & was always offered an alternative drink such as milk or juice as he doesn’t drink tea or coffee, he didn’t eat much on the meal side as he’s a typical teenager but were encouraged to choose a healthy option, the staff in this ward work extremely hard to make the patients stay as comfortable as possible with 100% care & compassion
. What my son did find difficult was the 4 hr wait in the discharge room, I understand the pharmacy can only process so many prescriptions and have the whole hospital to deal with but a room full of elderly people really didn’t have the patience or understanding & the staff deserve a medal for having to listen to constant moaning, why is there such a long wait & is there another strategy in place for thought maybe a delivery system for some vulnerable & elderly patients. What I were surprised with was the cost of the tv system in place £27 for only 3 days which I think is a silly amount of money, I were disappointed in the parking available for the hospital & wasn’t aware the hospital did a parking pass for £10 the 1st week and I had spent £6 per day at the car park opposite the eye hospital which I now understand is private and not owned by the hospital, there were not enough spaces in the morning at the hospital car park people were driving round & round so I think a multi car park is now needed at Hull royal.

Visited in September 2017. Posted on 26 September 2017

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Gastrointestinal and Liver services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Absolute angels and all deserve medals!

A family Member has been in HRI long term and have to say that throughout his stay the nurses, doctors and all staff have treated him with the utmost dignity and respect. They have talked to him throughout to inform him and other family members of what is happening. I think all the staff are angels and deserve medals for all the hard work they do under immense pressure. I would like to say a big thank you from the bottom of my heart for the treatment they have given my family member. His last ward he was on was 100 and I cannot say anything bad about them. Many thanks for being stars and making a difficult situation a lot more bearable. xxxxxxx

Visited in May 2017. Posted on 25 May 2017

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary replied on 26 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to add your comments to the NHS Choices website. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from patients and their families. We will ensure your kind comments are shared with Ward 100.

If you need to discuss our services further, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) and they can be contacted on:

• Telephone: (01482) 623065
• Email: pals@hey.nhs.uk
• Online: https://www.hey.nhs.uk/patients-and-visitors/feedback/

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Department
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Report as unsuitable

Patricia Skelding gave Gastrointestinal and Liver services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 3 stars

Bad communication. after Biopsy .

After my biopsy I wanted to learn the results and was told a letter would be sent within two weeks but I rang many times to my Consultant's secretary who was very good but did not achieve anything like a letter arriving to me because it always had to signed off by the Consultant who did not seem to do the nescessary admin in the two or more months I was trying to get my results.. However, an excellent staff member managed to get me the results and an appointment immediately, as I had been waiting for so long. They were the best person I had ever dealt with and was a credit to the Hospital. They should be awarded a medal.

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 20 January 2017

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Rosamund A. JANE SEA gave Gastrointestinal and Liver services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 4 stars

A speedy service

Arriving a couple of minutes late for my procedure I was quickly reassured and prepared for the event. Without fail the staff were professional and friendly and my procedure went very smoothly once my blood pressure had settled. The staff obviously ascribe to the "My name is..." approach which is immensely comforting. Thankyou all. I like the new department, what an improvement. The windows will look better once cleaned!

Visited in October 2016. Posted on 10 October 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Gastrointestinal and Liver services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Impressed

From A&E to AAU to ICU to ward 100 I was impressed with the care, compassion and professionalism in my treatment Thank you everyone.

Visited in March 2016. Posted on 09 March 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary replied on 11 March 2016

Thank you for taking the time to add your comments to the NHS Choices website. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. We will ensure your kind comments are shared with the staff in A & E, ICU and Ward 100 at Hull Royal Infirmary.

If you would like to discuss our services further, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) on (01482) 623065 or email pals@hey.nhs.uk.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Department
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Report as unsuitable

Christine Yates gave Gastrointestinal and Liver services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Excellent caring staff

I have just had a combined endoscopy and colonoscopy.Never having had these procedures and feeling a little apprehensive I received care of the highest standard.Every single member of staff was polite,caring and very professional.Every aspect of the procedures was explained to me and I can honestly say that there was absolutely nothing to worry about and the procedures went really smoothly and without discomfort.My grateful thanks to all staff.

Visited in February 2016. Posted on 05 February 2016

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary replied on 16 February 2016

Thank you for taking the time to add your comments to the NHS Choices website. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback from patients and their families. We will ensure your kind comments are shared with the Endoscopy team.

If you need to discuss our services further, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service (PALS) on (01482) 623065 or email pals@hey.nhs.uk.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Department
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Report as unsuitable

peter sage gave Gastrointestinal and Liver services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 4 stars

8 day stay in ward 100

Following a colonoscopy examination at Castle Hill I was quickly transferred to Ward 100 in HRI. I was giving a single room a brief explanation by the doctor on the suspected diagnosis and what treatment I would be receiving over the next few days. I was in time for a hot meal and tea. My stay lasted 8 days in which all members of the staff from doctors, nurses cleaners caterers were friendly and helpful. I saw the same doctor for all 8 days which gave my good continuity on my condition and progress. I was impressed when the treatment did not seem to be going in the right direction an internal examination, xray and a slight change in medication was quicky made. Even when I had a set back on the forecast discharge date I was kept in for an extra day which turned out to be the correct decison. Food was excellent, something I would not have expected to say about hospital meals. I only have one negative point: I was discharged by the doctor at 11am and had to sit in the "Quite Room" from 1pm to 6.15 pm before my medication was ready. The "Quite room on ward 100 seats only 3 people, no windows or TV. Worst part of my stay.

Visited in November 2015. Posted on 26 November 2015

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary replied on 01 December 2015

Thank you for adding you comment to the NHS Choices website. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and we will ensure that the staff concerned are made aware of these and your comments regarding the quiet room are used to help improve the services provided by the hospital.

If you would like to become more involved in decisions about local healthcare, we are recruiting members. By becoming a member you receive our quarterly newsletter, find out more about your local NHS and help us improve local services. You can also attend our ‘medicine for members’ sessions and respond to questionnaires. You don’t need any special skills or experience to become a member; you just need an interest in local health services. There is no commitment, you can get involved as much or as little as you choose. For more information please either email foundation.trust@hey.nhs.uk or telephone the Corporate Affairs office on (01482) 675165.

If you need to discuss our services further, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service on (01482) 623065 or email on pals@hey.nhs.uk as we are always striving to improve our patients experience.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Department
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Report as unsuitable

Andy gave Gastrointestinal and Liver services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 2 stars

Badly run and filthy

I am not very happy about the after care,one You have had an operation.People need to be given a little more respect,some of the staff are uncaring and treat You like something they have just tread on.I could go on for an hour but not well enough to type

Visited in May 2014. Posted on 11 November 2015

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary replied on 20 November 2015

Thank you for placing your posting on the NHS Choices website. We are sorry to read of your recent experience and we will ensure that the staff concerned are made aware. If you would like to discuss this matter further with us, please do not hesitate to contact our Patient Advice & Liaison Service on (01482) 623065 or email on pals@hey.nhs.uk .

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your views on local NHS services.

Kind regards,

Patient Experience Department
Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust.

Report as unsuitable

  • Page 1 of 1