Hull Royal Infirmary

01482 875875 Anlaby Road , Hull, HU3 2JZ
https://www.hey.nhs.uk/

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 264 ratings for this hospital

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 264 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(253 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(259 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(257 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(258 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(207 ratings)

Reviews

288 total

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Praise for Cedar Ward

Came out of Cedar Ward after a total hysterectomy yesterday and can't praise the staff enough. Everyone was so helpful and made what could have been a traumatic experience bearable. Thank you.

Visited in July 2018. Posted on 12 July 2018

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 1 stars

Patient well fare

The hospital discharged an elderly patient because he he wanted to be discharged.. He was discharged at 8 pm and back in hospital at 7 am next day. A nurse told me he had as,inch mobility as a sixty year old he is 91 but he could not lift himself up in his bed when he got home my mother is frail and 85 and cannot lift hiss.

Visited in July 2018. Posted on 17 July 2018

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Gwen robinson gave Ophthalmology at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Excellant service

Had catatact removef 4 april 18 right eye hafleft eye done 17 july 18 eccellant results both eyes. Things so different now. Thanks very much to our wonderful NHS and all their staff. Staff all first rate thank you so very much gwen robinsom

Visited in July 2018. Posted on 18 July 2018

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 3 stars

A and e visit

Visited a and e today with my mum, ambulance staff were great although when we arrived into a and e we were pretty much ignored the whole time we were there. Lots of nurses stood around chatting and they say the nhs is understaffed!! With doctors yes not nurses! Plenty of those wandering aimlessly around. Mum could of been dead for a good hour or so and they wouldn’t have noticed. Also the toilets in a and e were disgusting!!! Looks like they haven’t been cleaned for weeks. Bins overflowing, bad smells and the floors covered in rubbish. Not impressed.

Visited in June 2018. Posted on 09 June 2018

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Amazing staff

My husband and myself arrived via ambulance , 2 lovely ladies took care of him , arrived at the hospital , within 30 mins he was seen by a nurse who informed us clearly what was going to happen , bloods taken , chest x ray completed , checked over thoroughly by a very nice dr , after all checks had been done we were allowed to go home...fabulous service , fabulous staff , thankyou so very much to all concerned .

Visited in June 2018. Posted on 13 June 2018

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Kate lindsey gave Accident and emergency services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Excellent and so caring

I can’t even begin to explain how wonderful all of the staff here are. I called 111, who were so thorough and helpful and wanted to send emergency services. I arrived with my mother who took me (not wanting to waste resources) and every member of staff was obliging. Did I have to wait a long time, yes, but that was only so that they would leave no stone unturned. The next morning I received a call asking me to come back because a doctor felt slightly uneasy about his diagnosis and came in on his day off to request further investigation. What a service! Upon arrival I was seen to immediately by what can only be described as the most caring and gentle people I have met. They are up against it with what they see everyday, but spent so much time making sure I didn’t have a life threatening injury. Did I have to wait again? Yes, but do what? They accomplished more in hours than most people realised. Not only this, but they sent out teams to discuss and took me through every single minute of decision making. I’m sorry I only remember today’s doctor, however to the other doctor that took the time to worry, know this, I will never forget such professionalism and genuine care for your work. May you all continue to practice for a long time because you make our community and our country better. Please never complain about waiting, because these people genuinely have your best interests at heart. I lived about a day watching and observing and my goodness you should be a proud bunch. Thank you for taking the time with me and for the care and attention you give to everyone. What a great place to live, I’m going to have a long sleep because of the blood tests, but a peaceful sleep knowing how much care you have taken in letting me know I’m ok. All the best to you there x

Visited in June 2018. Posted on 14 June 2018

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Endocrinology and Metabolic Medicine at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 1 stars

Great care great staff

This is my third time on ward 70 each time I’m in for over a week or more was in icu and critical care team carded for me.
The staff down to the house keeper and catering,were all very kind helpful,I got to know the, well been in a while I was very ill and depress, staff nurse and dr were fantastic,
R/ n was so kind and supportive,and the Auxiliary cheered me up
In fact I could name a lot of staf both junior sister were so professional ,good at there jobs and supportive,and nothing was any trouble to any of the staff,
Only tho g I would say is that this ward is very busy and short staff, and extremely hard on all of them, as they never stop running around ,on the night they had to get bank r/n
And the r/n from there long hours had to stay until someone arrived.
My care was outstanding and I would not hesitate to have my cares on this ward again.
As I have now been on there a few time it
Well done to all the staff and the team work keep it up.
But management need to look and Moore staff .and see that they will loss harder work staff and this is due to lack of been under pressure .
But we’ll don ward 70 to you all.

Visited in June 2018. Posted on 14 June 2018

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Joanne gave Accident and emergency services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

A and e

unfortunately I had to vist the a and e at hull royal infirmary on the 7 th june 2018 with a injury to my foot we checked in and was seen by a lovely gentleman in room 7 who sent me for a xray when we came back to the a and e department at 9 pm we was seen again by the same man who told me it was just a soft tissue damage he explained everything to us in detail he was wonderul and so very politeand I just want to say a big thankyou to that man we was in and out within 1 hour and 30 thankyou so very much you have really put my mine at ease

Visited in June 2018. Posted on 07 June 2018

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Sadie gave Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Excellent service: Plastic/trauma unit

Very impressed with the service I received today. Although I was in the hospital for approximately 4.5 hrs, I received fantastic care. All staff were friendly and professional, and I received excellent treatment by all. Thank you!

Visited in June 2018. Posted on 18 June 2018

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Children's & Adolescent Services at Hull Royal Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Excellent professional care

My 12 year old son was admitted to hospital via the children's A+E department and spent a night in Acorn Ward. He was cared for professionally and compassionately throughout his stay.both in A+E and on the ward.All staff where very thorough and ensured that investigations where carried out promptly. Myself and my son where kept up to date and every effort was made to make us both comfortable which was important to me as an anxious mum. Staff where always available to answer any questions , I can honestly say we received first class care , thank you so much.

Visited in June 2018. Posted on 18 June 2018

Report as unsuitable

Hull Royal Infirmary has not yet replied.