Colchester General Hospital

01206 747474 Turner Road , Colchester, Essex, CO4 5JL
https://www.esneft.nhs.uk/

4.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 284 ratings for this hospital

4.5 Stars

4.5 out of 5 stars

NHS.UK user rating
Based on 284 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(282 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(282 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4.5 out of 5 stars

(282 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4.5 out of 5 stars

(280 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(235 ratings)

Reviews

307 total | 93 found in Accident and emergency services Show all reviews

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Colchester General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Thank you children’s A&E Department

I would like to thank the team at Colchester a and E Department who took such good care of my daughter Sunday evening (2nd December). The department was extremely busy, so much so that many parents had to sit on the floor in the waiting room. My only complaint was that the seating was inadequate that evening. Some parents commented that the vending machines were all empty. However , the staff were friendly, polite ,respectful and treated my daughter efficiently and professionally. I thought that the treatment that we got was excellent. I am a staff member at the hospital, and I’m proud to say I work here.

Visited in December 2018. Posted on 03 December 2018

Report as unsuitable

Colchester General Hospital replied on 12 December 2018

Thank you for leaving your kind words regarding your daughters treatment in A&E. I am sorry that you may have had to sit on the floor and the vending machines were empty. It is great to heat that the care your daughter received great care and I hope that she is making a good recovery. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Colchester General Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Exemplary Care

My daughter was admitted to EAU for 2 days severely I'll with Sepsis, Gastroenteritis and Pneumonia. As an ex nurse I can say that the care she received was excellent, they did everything they could and should have done and more to ensure she recovered. I cannot fault her care and she had all the correct treatments and investigations. All staff were very attentive and polite and explained everything fully to us. It is amazing considering the huge strain the NHS is under as the department was packed with acutely ill patients. The only fault was that the cleanliness of the hospital is not the best and needs improving. Please pass on our deep gratitude to the dedicated staff who cared for her.

Visited in November 2018. Posted on 28 November 2018

Report as unsuitable

Colchester General Hospital replied on 12 December 2018

Thank you letting us know about the care and treatment your daughter received at Colchester hospital. It is great to hear that the information and care you all received has had such a positive impact and I hope your daughter is continuing to make a swift recovery. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Colchester General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

A&E great experience

I had a ‘bad turn’ whilst working as a volunteer guide. Within a short time I ended up in the resuscitation Ward where l received so much care and reassurement - in particular from the staff from the Stroke Unit..everything was explained to me and it ensured that my experience was not in any way an anxious time. Thankyou to you all.

Visited in November 2018. Posted on 29 November 2018

Report as unsuitable

Colchester General Hospital replied on 07 December 2018

Many thanks for your comments regarding your treatment in A&E and the Stroke Unit, I will make sure that your comments are passed on to the teams concerned. Thank you

Report as unsuitable

Graham S gave Accident and emergency services at Colchester General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

I feel good

Very recently I attended A&E with an ongoing cardiac problem, which for me was no longer self manageable. I was physically challenged all the time trying to complete everyday tasks in which we all have.

From admission time10am until discharge time 6pm I received excellent, first class care and attention and I could not ask for better support. Following my review of treatment and observation I was feeling much better, and able to go home.

The medical and nursing staff whom I met, I was very impressed with and are excellent ambassadors to the hospital.

Visited in November 2018. Posted on 10 November 2018

Report as unsuitable

Colchester General Hospital replied on 12 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind words, I will make sure they are passed onto the team in A&E. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Colchester General Hospital a rating of 3 stars

Unprofessional office staff

(9.11.18) Attending A & E with my partner, was appalled at the unprofessionalism by the staff at reception. They were clearly enjoying their personal conversations more and were very loud about it. They complained about patients, not something one wants to hear whilst waiting to be attended to and in pain.
These receptionists should attend a course on how to remain professional at all times and not act like they were sitting on a bus and talking so loudly that all could hear what they were talking about. People attend A&E because they need help, not to catch up on the hospital gossip or any other gossip for that matter.

Visited in November 2018. Posted on 10 November 2018

Report as unsuitable

Colchester General Hospital replied on 12 November 2018

Thank you for leaving your comments regarding the reception staff in A&E. I will make sure that your observations are passed to the appropriate people and I am sorry for any inconvenience that this may have caused. Thank you

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Colchester General Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Ambulance staff amazing

I just had to leave a review to thank the amazing ambulance crew who attended my daughter. She had a number of convulsions and as her mother I was worried out of my mind. They arrived really quickly, were friendly and professional and quickly calmed me down.

It an extremely stressful situation they were brilliant.

Once at the hospital we didn’t have to wait long to be assessed, and a decision was made for us to see the in house GP to recieve a quick assessment from a DR. The GP was brilliant with my daughter who was exhausted and tired by this point. He gave my daughter a through examination, she had fully recovered by this point. He gave as advice to follow up with our own GP. All in all brilliant care received by all.

Visited in November 2018. Posted on 07 November 2018

Report as unsuitable

Colchester General Hospital replied on 15 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, I will pass them onto both the team in A & E and the ambulance service. I hope you daughter has continued to make a good recovery. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

Lawrence Parker gave Accident and emergency services at Colchester General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Visit to Colchester A & E

I had to attend Colchester A & E yesterday 16/10/18. Booked in and saw a nurse within 30 minutes. X-rayed. Plastered, re X-rayed and seen by two Doctors.
All staff introduced themseleves to me and explained to me what was going on.
All staff appeared cheerful.
I was not the easiest of patients as I fainted twice (dont like needles).
The porter sorted out my prescription and got me a cup of tea. Do not think I could have got a better service.
Very impressed.

Visited in October 2018. Posted on 17 October 2018

Report as unsuitable

Colchester General Hospital replied on 19 November 2018

Thank you for leaving your kind words regarding your recent experience at Colchester hospital. I a will make sure that your comments are passed onto the team in A&E, and I know they will be thrilled to see how they all had such a positive impact on your care. I hope you are continuing to make a good recovery. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Colchester General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Quick and thourough

In the space of 1,30hrs I was seen to by a nurse, had an X-ray taken and examined, seen by a nurse practionner and was referred to a specialist at a later date. Feel happy as good thorough job done with a high level of respect and care. A positive A&E experience and giving credit where it’s due.

Visited in October 2018. Posted on 15 October 2018

Report as unsuitable

Colchester General Hospital replied on 15 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, I will pass them onto the team in A & E and I know they will be thrilled to read them. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

Sarah gave Accident and emergency services at Colchester General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Daughter came into hospital on Friday

I brought my daughter to A and E on Friday afternoon with a badly broken arm . We were seen straight away , I would like say huge thank you to the nurse and doctor in children’s A and E that day who were amazing with my little girl . Thank you to amazing surgeon who put her arm back together that night . We stayed one night in children’s ward came home Saturday evening huge thank you to the amazing nurses who looked after both mysel and my daughter

Visited in October 2018. Posted on 08 October 2018

Report as unsuitable

Colchester General Hospital replied on 09 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your great comments. It is great to hear when the care a patient and family members have had a great care, I will pass your comments onto the teams. I hope your daughters arm is healing well. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Colchester General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

A&E admission

I would like to say a big thank you to the doctor's and staff who treated me on my admission to A&E early on Sunday 14th October. Also thank you to the ambulance crew who brought me in, they were so caring after such a long shift. Many thanks.

Visited in October 2018. Posted on 15 October 2018

Report as unsuitable

Colchester General Hospital replied on 30 October 2018

Thank you for leaving your comments, I will make sure they are passed onto the team in A&E and the Ambulance service. I hope you are continuing to make a good recovery. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable