Skip to main content

Helping Hands Home Care - Live In Care

Reviews

Displaying 1 to 10 of 41

  1. Review titled Wonderful support and peace of mind

    5 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 15 October 2019

    Our family have a combination of both hourly visiting carers and live in care from Helping Hands to look after my elderly sister. The teams have worked tirelessly, often going above and beyond to ensure that she is as comfortable as possible in what at times have been difficult and challenging circumstances. The services work well together and we have clear and regular communication with the relevant managers.We cannot thank them enough and would highly recommend Helping Hands to other families who find themselves in need of professional help and peace of mind.

    Visited October 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Helping Hands Home Care - Live In Care

    Replied on 17 October 2019

    Good morning, Thank you so much for these lovely comments about both of our care services. It really does mean a lot to us and we're extremely pleased that you would recommend us to others. If there's anything else we can do for your sister, please let us know. With very best wishes, Laura - Helping Hands

    Report as unsuitable


  2. Review titled Excellent care tailored to the individual

    5 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 07 October 2019

    My siblings and I were very pleased with the care provided by Helping Hands both as an organisation and in terms of the carers who looked after our parent. There was a comprehensive assessment both before my parent came out of hospital and on the day they returned home,when the care package started. The manager also kept in contact with us and the carers during the contract. I was impressed with their professionalism and with their courtesy, tact , compassion and hard work. We had 2 live in carers who alternated between them for several weeks at a time. They both worked hard to establish a good relationship with my parent and also to establish a good working routine. My parent's needs were quite considerable as they were bed bound and terminally ill. There were multiple medications to be administered daily both routinely and as required. They took care of all their physical needs and also provided good company to my parent which helped keep their spirits up at the most difficult time. The carers were helpful, responsive, sensitive and compassionate. They knew when to step up to the plate but also when to step back and allow family members to help. We did make sure that the carers had our phone numbers and that they would call one of us if they had any concerns, which they did, when they needed to. They were also professional in dealing with problems as they occurred and also in liasing with other health care professionals. My parent had many friends visiting during the final weeks of their life and the carers were always friendly and hospitable, many of the friends commented positively about the carers to us, and one couple asked for the name of the agency as they had been impressed and wanted to recommend them to someone. We really couldn't fault them, and I would not hesitate to recommend them.

    Visited December 2018

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Helping Hands Home Care - Live In Care

    Replied on 27 September 2019

    Good morning, This is a wonderful review - thank you so much for taking the time to write this. It would be great if the team that cared for your parents could be notified of your kind words. We would be grateful if you could send the details to marketing@helpinghands.co.uk Best wishes, Laura - Marketing Team

    Report as unsuitable


  3. Review titled Awful service

    1 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 12 October 2019

    As a current client I am not impressesd. My experiences match those negative reviews expressed on this site. I am very vulnerable, but this makes no difference to my local branch. The complaints process is very difficult to navigate, and nothing seems to get resolved. After 11 months with the service I can only say:expect confusion, expect no shows, different faces everyday, cancellations on the day and little concern about client views or needs.

    Visited October 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Helping Hands Home Care - Live In Care

    Replied on 14 October 2019

    Hello, Thank you for your feedback and I am devastated to hear that you are not happy with the service you have received from us. We don't aspire to this level of service at all and we take situations like this very seriously. If you are able to, may I kindly ask for you to forward some more details over to us so that we can investigate these issues with your branch as a matter of urgency. My direct email address is lauren.knowles@helpinghands.co.uk. With kind regards, Lauren Knowles

    Report as unsuitable


  4. Review titled Quality Care....

    5 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 28 September 2019

    My father has been a client of Helping Hands for almost Three years. All I can say is that everyone from the office staff, managers and most importantly our live in carers have been superb. We literally feel in ‘safe hands’ and there is always good communication between my father, family and Helping Hands particularly if my father’s care needs change or we have to swap carers for holiday periods. They are always thinking of my father’s needs and the personality of the carer to suit him. Our current permanent carer is outstanding and I believe this is the reason my father is still alive, the care is second to none. He is monitored all of the time to prevent a deterioration in his condition, nothing is too much trouble for the carer, my father is always their priority. Most of the carers from Helping hands have been amazing. The peace of mind this gives family knowing that a loved one is safe and extremely well looked after is priceless. We feel very fortunate to have this service and would recommend Helping Hands to all in need of care and support.

    Visited September 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Helping Hands Home Care - Live In Care

    Replied on 28 September 2019

    Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a five-star review. It is very much appreciated! We would love to be able to pass this on to the team that are for your father. If you could email their details to marketing@helpinghands.co.uk, we would be very grateful. Best wishes, Laura - Marketing Team

    Report as unsuitable


  5. Review titled My parents are in their 90s and needed extra care.

    5 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 12 August 2019

    I had researched several care companies as my parents are very fussy about who comes into their home and i especially liked the look of Helping Hands -they train their staff and look very professional and caring. I asked for someone to assess my parents needs and a lady went to see them within a few days. Mum and Dad the lady was lovely and very easy to talk to and within a week care had started on Wednesday and Friday. My parents feel very grateful that Helping Hands are now helping them to remain in their own home - mum feels she can talk to the carers about anything that is bothering her and enjoys the lunches that they make. Mum is effectively dad's carer so it is brilliant that she is also getting the help she so needs. If necessary she knows that she can ask for more care hours as she is aware that as time goes on things may become more difficult for them both. As a family we are so pleased that Helping Hands are helping our parents stay in their own home and we thank them for their professionalism.

    Visited July 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Helping Hands Home Care - Live In Care

    Replied on 12 August 2019

    Good morning, Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review of our service. We really appreciate your kind words and if we can do anything else for you or your parents, just let us know. Best wishes, Laura - Marketing Team

    Report as unsuitable


  6. Review titled shambolic service

    1 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 04 November 2018

    We have used the hourly visit care for 16 months and have been very happy with it for our mum, 93 years old with dementia - we moved to live in care in July and out of seven occasions of a carer turning up it has failed 5 times now. The upset to our mum and the inconvenience to our family has had a huge impact. Last night we were due to handover to another carer and yet again a no show - it is now 945 am and no communication yet! We have lost all confidence that the company has the ability to provide a safe caring efficient service.

    Visited November 2018

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Helping Hands Home Care - Live In Care

    Replied on 04 November 2018

    Hello, We are truly very sorry to hear about the negative experience you have had with our live in care service. This does not reflect our usual high standards of care and support that is seen across the rest of the company. Your local live in care manager is coming out to meet with you today to rectify this situation, and provide any further support that is needed regarding this incident. It is extremely important to us that all of our customers are extremely satisfied with the care they are receiving. Our Head of Homecare Keeley will be very happy to speak with you if you would like any further contact or support. You can email her at keeley.mitchell@helpinghands.co.uk Kindest regards, Faye

    Report as unsuitable


  7. Review titled Excellent service and care.

    5 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 04 June 2018

    Overnight stay and full days care. All very satisfactory.

    Visited June 2018

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Helping Hands Home Care - Live In Care

    Replied on 04 June 2018

    Thanks for your sharing your feedback and personal recommendation! We're pleased to hear that you've been satisfied with our services.

    Report as unsuitable


  8. Review titled New client Early impressions of delivery of care.

    4 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 27 April 2018

    Barely 2 months since care started. All the carers have been polite and show that they care.I am grateful that they are mature and they do not rush the patient, this is very important. Most of them are very careful and attentive to how the family care for the patient and try to do the same. They are all good at putting family at ease when they are involved with care and they do not seem to mind family"interfering" but appreciate the input. There is a difficulty in that the patients ability and condition to move and talk varies quite a bit. This is why it is important that the same team care for him to achieve the consistency needed and to be able understand patients speech and the needs he is trying to communicate.As the conditions progress this is becoming increasingly important and if sufficient rapport and communications signals have developed within the patient carer system this will enable the inevitable frustration on both sides to be reduced. When staff were on holiday and it looked like patient would be visited by 3-4 new carers in 1 week,I contacted Helping Hands and the number of new carers was reduced. I very much appreciated that when I made the request this was acted on immediately. The staff are getting to know Patient and individually they each tend to offer something different but particular to him.e.g. combing his mustache, and identifying songs, one is very gentle and careful. Each needs to develop their own relationship with patient. One is good with Patient's wife and appreciates the family situation. When the patient has had difficulties e.g. changes in his movement and ability, changes in mood and skin eruptions the main carer in particular has noted this, expressed concern when there was quite a mood change and appropriately sought out the family so that she "got it right" There is only 1 carer who " fusses" and has not fully latched on, who tends to want to do it their own way, the patient can be irritated by this. The carer means to be very caring. Up to now Helping Hands has been the most consistent, competent, mature and caring agency that we have experienced. I hope this can continue. THE PATIENT RATES THE CARE AS GOOD.

    Visited February 2018

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Helping Hands Home Care - Live In Care

    Replied on 27 April 2018

    Thank you so much for sharing your first impressions of care with us. We're so pleased to hear how attentive and responsive our team has been, and we look forward to it continuing in this way. Please do let us know if there's anything more we can do. With best wishes.

    Report as unsuitable


  9. Review titled Helping Hands Solihull

    5 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 25 January 2018

    Helping Hands carers have visited Mum (Hilda 91yrs) three times a day for nearly a year. The carers have dealt with Mums reduced ability to look after herself as well as her dementia in a professional manner and have always been friendly, caring and reliable. The carers we see and the team at Solihull branch have helped and supported me with issues that have arisen. My sister and I would definitely recommend Helping Hands to any family whose relative needs are and support in their own home, Many thanks to all the lovely ladies who visited Mum Chris

    Visited January 2018

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Helping Hands Home Care - Live In Care

    Replied on 25 January 2018

    Hi Chris, Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback about the support your Mum has been receiving from our team in Solihull. We're so pleased that our carers have made such a big difference to you and your family. Best wishes, Victoria

    Report as unsuitable


  10. Review titled Excellent Carers

    5 star rating

    by Russell - Posted on 10 December 2017

    I have used two other agencies for care provision for other relatives - with very mixed success. When my uncle needed a live-in carer we tried Helping Hands. They have been absolutely outstanding - well organised, communicative and understanding. What stands out, however, has been the quality of their carers: these have been tremendous, often having to work in difficult circumstances as my uncle has fallen ill several times. They have really gone the extra mile, and given my uncle great support. Very highly recommended.

    Visited December 2017

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Helping Hands Home Care - Live In Care

    Replied on 10 December 2017

    Hello Russell, Thanks for sharing your lovely feedback about the support your uncle is receiving from Helping Hands. We're so pleased to hear that we're making such a difference to your family. Kind regards, Victoria

    Report as unsuitable