Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust

01273 696955 Royal Sussex County Hospital, Eastern Road , Brighton, East Sussex, BN2 5BE
http://www.bsuh.nhs.uk/

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 10 ratings for this trust

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 10 ratings for this trust

Reviews

11 total

Ian Taylor gave at Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Emerald ward

My 86 year old mum was recently admitted to emerald ward after suffering a broken hip & pneumonia, she was there for approximately 2 weeks before she passed away.. the staff were amazing, care was second to none & cannot praise them highly enough.. they cared for my mum with kindness, patience & compassion, couldn’t have asked for more.. thank you so much ..

Visited in October 2017. Posted on 09 November 2017

Report as unsuitable

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 09 November 2017

Thank you, very much, for your kind and thoughtful feedback about your mother's care at our hospital. Clinical expertise and experience go without saying but kindness and compassion can never be overstated. I will, of course, share your kind words with the Emerald ward team, who I know will be touched by your message and pleased that their care made such a difference at what must have been a very difficult time for you all.

with best wishes
Jane Carmody
Head of Patient Experience, PALS and Complaints

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 1 stars

Pre op assement.

To start with the multi story car park is a joke not enough spaces, parking bays to close together, then very poor signage from car park into building, once inside building again very poor signage, most of the staff rude and unhelpfull, often giving wrong information, ie sent to a department for some tests only to be told these tests need to be done closer to the operation time, so it means another visit to that hospital, some staff tried to blame the wrong information on the building work going on, don't belive this the stsff just don't care.
Keep away from this hospital at all costs.

Visited in September 2017. Posted on 07 September 2017

Report as unsuitable

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 13 October 2017

I was very sorry to learn of your poor experience at our hospital and appreciate how frustrating this must have been for you.

Please do contact our PALS team either by telephone: 01273 664511 or by email: PALS@bsuh.nhs.uk if it would be helpful to further discuss any of the issues raised

with best wishes
Jane Carmody
Head of Patient Experience, PALS and Complaints

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave at Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

To say a big thank you to all the staff at the Emerald Ward.

I would like to say a heartfelt thanks to all the staff including the doctors who have been looking after my friend Frank. when ever I visited the ward , I was made to feel welcome and usually offered a cup of tea. I was very impressed by how diligent and conscientious all the staff are and the extra work they do , well beyond their call of duty. Thank you once again for all the marvellous work you are doing.

Visited in September 2017. Posted on 19 September 2017

Report as unsuitable

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 20 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your very kind words regarding the care provided to your friend on Emerald ward. I will, of course, share your thanks with the team involved in his care - feedback such as yours is always greatly appreciated by our staff.

with best wishes
Jane Carmody
Head of Patient Experience, PALS and Complaints

Report as unsuitable

Jane Groom gave Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

A&E

Sunday the 13 of August I spent in A&E for the fist time . We had been to Fierl vintage fair
Where collapsed and had a fit , this has never happened before . We arrived about 8-30 pm .Although we were there till just gone 1 am we were seen quickly .
All the staff , Nurses , HCAs and Drs I saw made me and my family very at ease . They were extremely thorough and did every thing possible to make me comfortable .
If I ever happen to be in that area again and in need of medical attion I would not hesitate to use your hospital again . I hope your departments get to here of these thanks as I'm sure you know people are always ready to complain but not always to sing there praises. Once again a very big thank you for looking after me .
Kind regards Jane Groom and family

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 14 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 16 August 2017

Dear Jane

Thank you for taking the time to contact us following your attendance to our Emergency Department. I was sorry to learn of your worrying experience, but was so please to learn that your time at our hospital was made comfortable for you. I will ensure that you comments are shared the team who I know ill be most grateful to read this.

Wishing you and your family well.

Kind regards

Hannah Pacifico
Patient Experience Team

Report as unsuitable

zie reviewed Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust

Brilliant Surgeon Scary lack of facilities and bed capacity

Decompression of spine Operation at last taken place 9 oct 6 months after recommendation by Hurstwood Park neuro surgeon. First date cancelled sent home 19 sept whilst in waiting room for bed on the day. Recommended for op by neurosurgeon on 26 /4 2017.

The neurosurgeon was most excellent as was the theatre staff team. Communication from this department was direct clear and respectful at all times instilling a feeling of safety and confidence.

However the constant mixed messages misinformation and chaos within the pre op admission and bed availability department was not conducive to creating trust and confidence in the wider team process. Communication between the departments was poor to the point of being frightening. Whist in the waiting area with other hopeful patients waiting for a 50% chance of a bed for 4 hours I observed a steady stream of staff from differing departments turning up asking and looking for lost ?? patients to conduct yet another pre op procedure that 50% would not go ahead.

After the bed availability manager arrived within the waiting room to say no bed yet available my daughter left to feed the meter and get a drink When The Theatre staff arrived unexpectedly to take me down to op. still no bed ..My daughter not being told where I was despite my request for staff to phone them on site. Finally the waiting room patients told them I had been taken down for surgery.

Again I say that the theatre staff nuerosurgeon registra and procedure did much to instill a sense of trust.

However after surgery on arriving in The ward it was again chaotic very noisy with blazing lights flashing into my face and eyes all night from the toilet door opening all night opposite. Where I developed a severe migraine. The bed mattress I was lying on was damaged beyond belief with a vast well in the centre just at the point where my spine op needed most support.

My discharge the day after op although very welcome was unexpected I had been told 3 days in hospital and I had much to do within the stress of trying to connect by phone and find someway of getting home and home support on recovery none being offered by hospital . Or my home area being Kent . Finally I managed to contact my daughter 3 1/2 hour drive away to collect me where I was transported at night wedged in with pillows on the back seat of a truck not being able to sit at the time.

In summation no I would never recommend anyone to have op or procedure at the Brighton Site. despite my having being blessed by the care skill and attention of a very talented and dedicated surgeon and theatre team.

Haywards Heath staff are in a very different league as are the Hove Polyclinic staff and team excellent..Why oh Why are the operations and interventions not conducted at Haywards Heath anymore and When is the Hove Polyclinic going to be ready for this??

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 24 October 2017

Report as unsuitable

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 24 October 2017

Thank you for your feedback and for your very kind words about the surgical team involved in your care.

I was, however, very sorry to learn of the events you describe during your admission and would very much like to discuss these with you in more detail. if this is something that you would find useful please do contact our PALS team either by email: pals@bsuh.nhs.uk or by telephone on 01273 664511

with best wishes
Jane Carmody
Head of Patient Experience, PALS and Complaints

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 1 stars

7 month delay in appointment

I was due to have an MRI and checkup in Sept 2017 following a craniotomy in Feb 2016. I have been sent an appointment for April 2018, 7 months past when it should happen. I am transferring in from private where scans are bad enough but now I cant even get a timely appointment. I have a rare genetic disease making me prone to cancer and currently have 2 types, and in three years I have had so much medically go wrong.
7 months delay in an appointment is appalling and I am sure not in NICE guidelines.

Visited in July 2017. Posted on 02 October 2017

Report as unsuitable

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 05 October 2017

I was very sorry to learn of your concerns and I appreciate this is an extremely difficult and worrying time for you. Please do contact our PALS team by telephone on 01273 664511 or by emailing pals@bsuh.nhs.uk so that we can discuss this matter with you.

with best wishes

Jane Carmody
Head of Patient Experience, PALS and Complaints

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 1 stars

Little or no empathy lack of any care or food when in ward

Partner in ccu with heart issues in pain only offered paracetamol .staff are rude and not understanding of his obvious fact he is scared.No hot food or drinks been given since the morning .....discusting basic care

Visited in April 2017. Posted on 16 April 2017

Report as unsuitable

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 13 June 2017

Thank you for your comments.

Should you wish to discuss this matter further, please contact our Patient Advice & liaison Service (PALS) at pals@bush.nhs.uk or on 01273 664973.

Kind regards

Patient Experience Team

Report as unsuitable

Mr. Allan Gordon gave Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Pleasant experience, which helped our fears to disappear.

My partner had oral and Maxillan surgery, initcially he was anxious about the operation because of the risk involved.
The whole prosess was explained fully, he felt all concerned was talking to him, and had his best interest at heart.
We are so greatful to all the staff, such a diverse cultral mix all working together, Beautiful.
Must also mention staff who took time out to literally show or direct us, when felt lost in parts of the hospital, due to the ongoing building works.
The time my partner spent on the Millennium Wing, Level 8 and Level 9a has been truly positive, could go as far as saying Life Changing. xxx

Visited in March 2017. Posted on 31 March 2017

Report as unsuitable

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 13 June 2017

Thank you very much for your kind comments expressing your gratitude to our hospital, it really is encouraging for our staff when they receive thanks from patients and relatives for the care they have provided, and it is always very much appreciated.

Thank you again for taking the time to contact us.

Best wishes

Hannah Pacifico
Patient Experience Team

Report as unsuitable

Debbie gave Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Howard 1 ward

The staff worked so well together making me comfortable and providing time to explain and keep me informed. I had breathing and blood complications when admitted. The Drs found the problem after lots of tests and discussions and treated me with drugs and transfusions and gently pursuaded me to try iv chemotherapy again. I trusted them and am so happy to report getting better, despite not being curable. I almost gave up so am grateful for the team getting me better and now I'm enjoying life with family and friends, come what may. The drs and nurses sat with me when I was low and helped me make some tough decisions. Thank you all so much.

Visited in May 2016. Posted on 09 August 2016

Report as unsuitable

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 15 August 2016

Dear Debbie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to feedback about your experience on Howard One Ward. I am delighted to hear that it was so positive and I have passed this onto the teams involved in your care, I know that they will really appreciate your kind words.

Best wishes,
Hannah Pacifico
Complaints & PALS Co-Ordinator

Report as unsuitable

Michele Small gave Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Recent in patient stay on gynae ward level 11

10 days ago I was a patient on the gynae ward on Level 11 of the Thomas Keep tower for cancer gynae surgery. I would like to commend the medical staff and the nursing staff; all of whom were caring and compassionate, and always introduced themselves to the patients. The catering and housekeeping staff were also kind and helpful. I always enjoyed the food and refreshments. Well done Michele Small

Visited in April 2016. Posted on 19 April 2016

Report as unsuitable

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 15 August 2016

Dear Michele,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments regarding your recent experience you had at our hospital. We have shared your comments with the department. Such positive praise is always well received and much appreciated.

I hope you are recovering well at home.

Best wishes,
Hannah Pacifico
Complaints & PALS Co-Ordinator

Report as unsuitable