Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust

01273 696955 Royal Sussex County Hospital, Eastern Road , Brighton, East Sussex, BN2 5BE
http://www.bsuh.nhs.uk/

3.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 9 ratings for this trust

3.5 Stars

3.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 9 ratings for this trust

Reviews

9 total

  • Page 1 of 1

Anonymous gave at Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

To say a big thank you to all the staff at the Emerald Ward.

I would like to say a heartfelt thanks to all the staff including the doctors who have been looking after my friend Frank. when ever I visited the ward , I was made to feel welcome and usually offered a cup of tea. I was very impressed by how diligent and conscientious all the staff are and the extra work they do , well beyond their call of duty. Thank you once again for all the marvellous work you are doing.

Visited in September 2017. Posted on 19 September 2017

Report as unsuitable

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 20 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your very kind words regarding the care provided to your friend on Emerald ward. I will, of course, share your thanks with the team involved in his care - feedback such as yours is always greatly appreciated by our staff.

with best wishes
Jane Carmody
Head of Patient Experience, PALS and Complaints

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 1 stars

Pre op assement.

To start with the multi story car park is a joke not enough spaces, parking bays to close together, then very poor signage from car park into building, once inside building again very poor signage, most of the staff rude and unhelpfull, often giving wrong information, ie sent to a department for some tests only to be told these tests need to be done closer to the operation time, so it means another visit to that hospital, some staff tried to blame the wrong information on the building work going on, don't belive this the stsff just don't care.
Keep away from this hospital at all costs.

Visited in September 2017. Posted on 07 September 2017

Report as unsuitable

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 13 October 2017

I was very sorry to learn of your poor experience at our hospital and appreciate how frustrating this must have been for you.

Please do contact our PALS team either by telephone: 01273 664511 or by email: PALS@bsuh.nhs.uk if it would be helpful to further discuss any of the issues raised

with best wishes
Jane Carmody
Head of Patient Experience, PALS and Complaints

Report as unsuitable

Jane Groom gave Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

A&E

Sunday the 13 of August I spent in A&E for the fist time . We had been to Fierl vintage fair
Where collapsed and had a fit , this has never happened before . We arrived about 8-30 pm .Although we were there till just gone 1 am we were seen quickly .
All the staff , Nurses , HCAs and Drs I saw made me and my family very at ease . They were extremely thorough and did every thing possible to make me comfortable .
If I ever happen to be in that area again and in need of medical attion I would not hesitate to use your hospital again . I hope your departments get to here of these thanks as I'm sure you know people are always ready to complain but not always to sing there praises. Once again a very big thank you for looking after me .
Kind regards Jane Groom and family

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 14 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 16 August 2017

Dear Jane

Thank you for taking the time to contact us following your attendance to our Emergency Department. I was sorry to learn of your worrying experience, but was so please to learn that your time at our hospital was made comfortable for you. I will ensure that you comments are shared the team who I know ill be most grateful to read this.

Wishing you and your family well.

Kind regards

Hannah Pacifico
Patient Experience Team

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 1 stars

7 month delay in appointment

I was due to have an MRI and checkup in Sept 2017 following a craniotomy in Feb 2016. I have been sent an appointment for April 2018, 7 months past when it should happen. I am transferring in from private where scans are bad enough but now I cant even get a timely appointment. I have a rare genetic disease making me prone to cancer and currently have 2 types, and in three years I have had so much medically go wrong.
7 months delay in an appointment is appalling and I am sure not in NICE guidelines.

Visited in July 2017. Posted on 02 October 2017

Report as unsuitable

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 05 October 2017

I was very sorry to learn of your concerns and I appreciate this is an extremely difficult and worrying time for you. Please do contact our PALS team by telephone on 01273 664511 or by emailing pals@bsuh.nhs.uk so that we can discuss this matter with you.

with best wishes

Jane Carmody
Head of Patient Experience, PALS and Complaints

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 1 stars

Little or no empathy lack of any care or food when in ward

Partner in ccu with heart issues in pain only offered paracetamol .staff are rude and not understanding of his obvious fact he is scared.No hot food or drinks been given since the morning .....discusting basic care

Visited in April 2017. Posted on 16 April 2017

Report as unsuitable

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 13 June 2017

Thank you for your comments.

Should you wish to discuss this matter further, please contact our Patient Advice & liaison Service (PALS) at pals@bush.nhs.uk or on 01273 664973.

Kind regards

Patient Experience Team

Report as unsuitable

Mr. Allan Gordon gave Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Pleasant experience, which helped our fears to disappear.

My partner had oral and Maxillan surgery, initcially he was anxious about the operation because of the risk involved.
The whole prosess was explained fully, he felt all concerned was talking to him, and had his best interest at heart.
We are so greatful to all the staff, such a diverse cultral mix all working together, Beautiful.
Must also mention staff who took time out to literally show or direct us, when felt lost in parts of the hospital, due to the ongoing building works.
The time my partner spent on the Millennium Wing, Level 8 and Level 9a has been truly positive, could go as far as saying Life Changing. xxx

Visited in March 2017. Posted on 31 March 2017

Report as unsuitable

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 13 June 2017

Thank you very much for your kind comments expressing your gratitude to our hospital, it really is encouraging for our staff when they receive thanks from patients and relatives for the care they have provided, and it is always very much appreciated.

Thank you again for taking the time to contact us.

Best wishes

Hannah Pacifico
Patient Experience Team

Report as unsuitable

Debbie gave Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Howard 1 ward

The staff worked so well together making me comfortable and providing time to explain and keep me informed. I had breathing and blood complications when admitted. The Drs found the problem after lots of tests and discussions and treated me with drugs and transfusions and gently pursuaded me to try iv chemotherapy again. I trusted them and am so happy to report getting better, despite not being curable. I almost gave up so am grateful for the team getting me better and now I'm enjoying life with family and friends, come what may. The drs and nurses sat with me when I was low and helped me make some tough decisions. Thank you all so much.

Visited in May 2016. Posted on 09 August 2016

Report as unsuitable

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 15 August 2016

Dear Debbie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to feedback about your experience on Howard One Ward. I am delighted to hear that it was so positive and I have passed this onto the teams involved in your care, I know that they will really appreciate your kind words.

Best wishes,
Hannah Pacifico
Complaints & PALS Co-Ordinator

Report as unsuitable

Michele Small gave Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Recent in patient stay on gynae ward level 11

10 days ago I was a patient on the gynae ward on Level 11 of the Thomas Keep tower for cancer gynae surgery. I would like to commend the medical staff and the nursing staff; all of whom were caring and compassionate, and always introduced themselves to the patients. The catering and housekeeping staff were also kind and helpful. I always enjoyed the food and refreshments. Well done Michele Small

Visited in April 2016. Posted on 19 April 2016

Report as unsuitable

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 15 August 2016

Dear Michele,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments regarding your recent experience you had at our hospital. We have shared your comments with the department. Such positive praise is always well received and much appreciated.

I hope you are recovering well at home.

Best wishes,
Hannah Pacifico
Complaints & PALS Co-Ordinator

Report as unsuitable

Ian Butlin gave Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Haematology Department

My, very professional GP, referred me to this department following abnormal blood tests. I have been under their care for a year now and have had the most incredible service it is possible to receive - including being linked up to Guys hospital to ensure I have received the very best treatment. The consultants and their staff have been first rate in terms of knowledge, competence and care. I think I cannot praise this service enough. I feel truly humbled at the treatment I am receiving from our wonderful NHS. I am very happy for these comments to be shared. A very big and ongoing 'Thank You' to my GP and colleagues.

Visited in March 2015. Posted on 12 December 2015

Report as unsuitable

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust has not yet replied.

  • Page 1 of 1