East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust

01254 263555 Royal Blackburn Hospital, Haslingden Road , Blackburn, Lancashire, BB2 3HH
http://www.elht.nhs.uk/

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 25 ratings for this trust

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS.UK user rating
Based on 25 ratings for this trust

Reviews

35 total

Anonymous gave East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Endoscopy experience at Burnley General

I visited on 5th January 2019 at 8.00 am.
Very stressed on arrival. Met by Sister who stayed with me during my whole visit.
I was made to feel relaxed and able to cope.
The person carrying out the procedure explained in detail the sequence of events and responded to all questions.
The team worked very professionally together and at my departure I was completely at ease.
I would like my comments to be reported back to the team.

Visited in January 2019. Posted on 06 January 2019

Report as unsuitable

East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 07 January 2019

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent endoscopy procedure on 5th January 2019 at Burnley General Teaching Hospital.
It is lovely to receive such positive feedback regarding the care and service you received during your visit and we are delighted to pass this on to the staff who will very much appreciate your comments as they always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to provide us with further information about your experience then we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and using our services. You can either contact me (Sarah Ridehalgh) on 01254 734471 or by email at patientexperience@elht.nhs.uk.
Thank you again for commenting and best wishes.
Sarah Ridehalgh
Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Urology Dept at Blackburn, Burnley and Rawtenstall

Having attended appointments at Blackburn Burnley and Rawtenstall Urology Team
I was pleased with the efficient way I was seen on time and the treatment and advice I was given. Also the ultra sound scan at Blackburn again on time and very sound advice given.
and helpful staff.
Well done to all the teams involved
.
My wife also attended Accrington Victoria Hospital for a bone scan in out and Xray 10
minutes.

Visited in January 2019. Posted on 23 January 2019

Report as unsuitable

East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 23 January 2019

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent appointments within the Urology and Radiology Departments at Burnley General Teaching Hospital, Royal Blackburn Teaching Hospital and Rawtenstall.
It is lovely to receive such positive feedback regarding the care and service you received during your visits, and also when your wife attended Accrington Victoria Hospital for a bone scan and we are delighted to pass this on to the staff who will very much appreciate your comments as they always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to provide us with further information about your experience then we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and using our services. You can either contact me (Sarah Ridehalgh) on 01254 734471 or by email at patientexperience@elht.nhs.uk.
Thank you again for commenting and best wishes.
Sarah Ridehalgh
Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 1 stars

A patient

On the 31st of December I visited an elderly friend ,she has no family here only a son in California . He is in direct contact with us daily and has informed the hospital that we can speak to doctors for him given the time difference.this was recorded by the staff on the ward
After 2weeks on the ward we explained that she handed investigated and the outcome was to keep her comfortable and pain free.this was due to there findings with intensive investigation.whilst being on this ward we have spoken to doctor and staff that she had been investigated and explained what the doctors had found. At no time as this been looked into they are still looking attached doing the same procedures again why!!!
. When we came to the ward another consultant had been appointed who has to start again .as we were there we tried to. Explain what has gone on but he wouldn't speak to us because we were not family and he needed to know that it was ok to speak to us so needed confimrmation.not a problem the problem was he could or should I say would have no direct conversation with us and spoke to a third person .this is every rude in my view who does he think he is . I am trying to pass on important information that will be of a great help.he was a very rude pompous individual who needs to remember who pays his wages. Even the lovely staff on the ward said he dissent speak to anyone .he needs to be spoken to about his role as a doctor and communicator.I was very disappointed in his attitude towards us .if you do get back to memo will be glad to let you know his name unless his reputation goes before him . A very rude encounter

Visited in December 2018. Posted on 01 January 2019

Report as unsuitable

East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 09 January 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on NHS Website. I am very sorry to hear of the difficulties you have experienced when visiting your friend on the 31st December.
In order to ensure that your feedback is shared with the relevant ward team and consultant, it would be really helpful if you could contact us to provide more details.
If you would like to provide further information about your experience you can contact the Patient Experience team. You can contact me (Sarah Ridehalgh) on 01254 734471 or by email at patientexperience@elht.nhs.uk
Or if you prefer you can discuss further any concerns you may have about our services with our East Lancashire Hospitals Trust Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further.
Many thanks again for taking the time to provide your feedback.
Sarah Ridehalgh
Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

susan banks reviewed East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust

podiatry Department

31st October, had 2 toe nails removed by expert very friendly and efficient staff, especially one member of staff, was a painless procedure and i was well looked after.

7th November return visit to podiatrist for post check on tow nail removal a week ago, once again Staff, was efficient and friendly made you feel at ease.

thank you for ease of removal and care taken at all times

Visited in November 2018. Posted on 07 November 2018

Report as unsuitable

East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Triple AAA repair

Just got home yesterday after my operation nothing but praise for all the staff to do with my stay in hospital.Had epidural and never felt any pain while the surgeons performed the procedure.The after care was also examplary and would like to say a big thankyou to everyone involved Kind regards Robert Bennett.

Visited in November 2018. Posted on 25 November 2018

Report as unsuitable

East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 03 December 2018

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent operation for triple AAA repair at East Lancashire NHS Hospital Trust.
It is lovely to receive such positive feedback regarding the care and service you received during your stay and we are delighted to pass this on to the staff who will very much appreciate your comments as they always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to provide us with further information about your experience then we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and using our services. You can either contact me (Sarah Ridehalgh) on 01254 734471 or by email at patientexperience@elht.nhs.uk.
Thank you again for commenting and best wishes.
Sarah Ridehalgh
Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

ste gave East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 1 stars

my daughters visit to a and e

my daughter visited your a and e last week having trapped her hand in a car door she was told after her x ray she had two broken knuckles all she recieved in a form off treatment was two pieces off tape with some cotton wool in the middle at the least she should have been put in some kind off splint.you are celebrating 70 years off the nhs maybe you should concentrate on treating your patients profesionally and with care you should be ashamed off yourselves for the way you treat her she had not been drinking or is she a malingerer she works and pays her taxes so she should expect a better service than what you gave her.

Visited in October 2018. Posted on 10 October 2018

Report as unsuitable

East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 11 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on NHS Choices about your daughter's visit to the Emergency Department last week after trapping her hand in the car door.
I am sorry to hear of your daughter's recent experience and will ensure that your comments are brought to the attention of the senior staff for the department and shared with the team.
If you would like to provide further information about your experience you can contact the Patient Experience team. You can contact me (Sarah Ridehalgh) on 01254 734471 or by email at patientexperience@elht.nhs.uk
Or if you prefer you can discuss further any concerns you may have about our services with our East Lancashire Hospitals Trust Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further.
Many thanks again for taking the time to provide your feedback.
Sarah Ridehalgh
Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

J Pritchard gave East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

MRI Scan Royal Blackburn Hospital

I had an MRI scan of my lower back yesterday afternoon at Royal Blackburn Hospital. I have claustrophobia and, despite being booked onto the roomier scanner and given a slight sedative by my GP, was still nervous. All the staff I spoke with were friendly and professional. The Radiographer was kind and reassuring, making the experience much less worrying than I thought it would be. Many thanks to all staff involved.

Visited in October 2018. Posted on 25 October 2018

Report as unsuitable

East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 26 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit to Royal Blackburn Teaching Hospital for an MRI scan.

It is lovely to receive such positive feedback about your visit and in particular to hear how the Radiographer reassured you and made your experience much less worrying than you were expecting. We are delighted to pass your comments and thanks on to the staff who will very much appreciate your feedback as they always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.

If you would like to provide us with further information about your experience then we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient using our services. You can either contact me (Melissa Almond) on 01254 734087 or by email at patientexperience@elht.nhs.uk

Thank you again for commenting and best wishes.
Melissa Almond
Senior Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Main X-ray department team

Attend today, 28/8/18 with my daughter for an X-ray, she was so worried but honestly didn't need to be. Open clinic so no appointment time, arrived at 1.40pm & we were out with a copy of the reviewed X-ray by 2.10pm. Every patient called was greeted, as soon as they stood up, by the member of staff who gave their name. A couple of people were a little flustered & were told not to worry & to take their time. I thought that was a lovely touch.

In the X-ray room the radiographer was professional but so friendly too, as was the trainee with him. They all made a daunting experience so much better & let me stay I the room, behind the glass, with my daughter. First class care on every level, thank you!!!

Visited in August 2018. Posted on 28 August 2018

Report as unsuitable

East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 29 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit to the Main X-ray Department with your daughter.
It is lovely to receive such positive feedback regarding the care and service you and your daughter received during your visit and we are delighted to pass this on to the staff who will very much appreciate your comments as they always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to provide us with further information about your experience then we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and using our services. You can either contact me (Sarah Ridehalgh) on 01254 734471 or by email at patientexperience@elht.nhs.uk.
Thank you again for commenting and best wishes.
Sarah Ridehalgh
Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 1 stars

Unprofessional

You are instantly put off by staff who are between buildings moaning and discussing about people. They could be patients they could be staff but it does not look great when you see groups of staff crossing from main hospital to the old work house.

Visited in July 2018. Posted on 30 August 2018

Report as unsuitable

East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 30 August 2018

Thank you for providing your feedback on NHS Choices.

We value feedback from our service users and ensure that all feedback we receive is reviewed.

If you would like to provide us with further information in relation to your concerns then we would really value this. You can either contact me (Melissa Almond) on 01254 734087 or by email at patientexperience@elht.nhs.uk

Thank you again for commenting.

Melissa Almond
Senior Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Michelle gave East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

oncology Dr and the sister on duty

My Dr is amazing , lovely bed side manner and approachable.
The sister on duty today is also amazing. Kind, considerate and very professional but also amazing in every way.
Thank you both for being supportive and non judgemental in what i wanted to say x

You all deserve a medal
Thank you so much for all your care xxxxxx

Visited in April 2018. Posted on 24 April 2018

Report as unsuitable

East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 25 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience following treatment within oncology.
It is lovely to receive such positive feedback about our staff and we are delighted to pass this on to them. They will very much appreciate your feedback as they always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to provide us with further information about your experience then we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and using our services. You can either contact me (Sarah Ridehalgh) on 01254 734471 or by email at patientexperience@elht.nhs.uk.
Thank you again for commenting and best wishes.
Sarah Ridehalgh
Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable