Skip to main content

Southern Health NHS Foundation Trust

Reviews

Displaying 1 to 8 of 8

  1. Review titled Not being listened to.

    2 star rating

    by Anil - Posted on 07 November 2019

    I have had care under southern health for over 15 years, College Keep clinic has some very good staff but the lack of proper work and listening to patients and their families by certain staff is not acceptable, making my life very difficult. Without the care I get at home I would be on the streets and certain staff members at college were ok with this? I have asked for my proper assessment but been waiting almost 5 years, because no one seems to know my history. So many gaps were left in my care including no handover notes by consultant. A long story! I was suppose to be sent to Rose road for homeless, by college keep, but only due to my ongoing care at home I’m stable now. Southern Health needs to look into these matters and please do something about it so that me and my elderly disabled parents do not have to suffer anymore. Can be a very good clinic but only if patients and their family are listened to, working together and keeping in mind the strategies set by Southern Health.

    Visited November 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Southern Health NHS Foundation Trust

    Replied on 13 December 2019

    I apologise for the delay in responding to your comment left for Southern Health NHS Trust. We have had some technical problems. I am sorry to read your experience was not positive, therefore we would like to invite you to contact the Complaints and Patient Experience Team on 02382311200 or email shft.patientexperience@nhs.net Your feedback will be shared with the Team if this has been specified. Many thanks Nikki Complaints and Patient Experience Team

    Report as unsuitable

    Provided by Care opinion


  2. Review titled Poor practice

    1 star rating

    by Safeguarding - Posted on 04 November 2019

    Very let down by health professionals at college keep, which is part of southern health. Not being able to get a basic risk assessment done for my mentally ill brother. Although all facts are there, still being denied help. Makes it hard when the person is living with elderly disabled parents with no care package in place. Would like to see big improvements.

    Visited November 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Southern Health NHS Foundation Trust

    Replied on 13 December 2019

    I apologise for the delay in responding to your comment left for Southern Health NHS Trust. We have had some technical problems. I am sorry to read your experience was not positive, therefore we would like to invite you to contact the Complaints and Patient Experience Team on 02382311200 or email shft.patientexperience@nhs.net Your feedback will be shared with the Team if this has been specified. Many thanks Nikki Complaints and Patient Experience Team

    Report as unsuitable

    Provided by Care opinion


  3. Review titled Southern Health is a failed service provider

    1 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 07 October 2019

    Following radical prostatectomy, I was referred by GP practice to continence service for pads. Years ago, when my father had the same problem, pads were available instantly from local district nurse. Not now. The GP practice claims that they don't have the "capacity" for it. Neither do Southern Health, it seems. There is a minimum 6 week wait following referral ( which is creatively extended by delaying recording receipt of referral). Then after returning the questionnaire, there is an indeterminate wait ( 1 month and waiting) until it is reviewed by a nurse. If they can't provide this service when required, they should admit it and give it up. This Trust seems to be a bucket for assorted services that nobody else wants and is failing at all of them, as per the local news recently, and other comments here.

    Visited July 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Southern Health NHS Foundation Trust

    Replied on 13 December 2019

    I apologise for the delay in responding to your comment left for Southern Health NHS Trust. We have had some technical problems. I am sorry to read your experience was not positive, therefore we would like to invite you to contact the Complaints and Patient Experience Team on 02382311200 or email shft.patientexperience@nhs.net Your feedback will be shared with the Team if this has been specified. Many thanks Nikki Complaints and Patient Experience Team

    Report as unsuitable

    Provided by Care opinion


  4. Review titled Waste of my time

    1 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 07 August 2019

    I approached iTalk back at the start of April, and was told I would be eligible for the highest level of support, considering the experience I was approaching them for help with. I asked the timescale I should expect, and they said around 8 weeks - which considering I needed help there and then, I thought was a bit rubbish. Fortunately I was able to seek private counselling, because I work and could afford a couple of sessions a month. As of the 7th August, I've not heard a word from the service - yes, I checked my email spam folder, I'm not an idiot - and I doubt I will now. Maybe the service is just there to give us hope that we'll get help while we sort ourselves out. I'm really unimpressed, and let down massively.

    Visited April 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Southern Health NHS Foundation Trust

    Replied on 07 August 2019

    Hi We are really sorry to read of the experience you have received from the ITalk Service. We would like the opportunity to look into this for you, therefore please can I ask that you phone the Complaints and Patient Experience Team on 02382311202 or email shft.patientexperience@nhs.net. Many thanks Nikki Patient Experience Team

    Report as unsuitable


  5. Review titled Poor response to medical problem.

    5 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 18 June 2018

    I have telephoned crisps team alot and they never answer always answer machine. Like this evening calling about someone who is clearly unwell. Police and ambulances won't do anything as it's mental health. Unfortunately this person wasn't in when shared care came to visit today. I totally understand services are busy. But when people are scared of this person then somthing needs to be done. He is obviously risk to himself and others

    Visited June 2018

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Southern Health NHS Foundation Trust

    Replied on 18 June 2018

    Hi I am so sorry to hear you are not having a response to your telephone calls. Are you able to give me a little more information as to exactly which Team you were trying to contact in which area and I would me more than happy to look into this for you. Our email address is: hp-tr.customerexperience.nhs.uk Kind Regards Nikki Patient Experience Team

    Report as unsuitable


  6. Review titled My opinion

    3 star rating

    by not impressed - Posted on 13 December 2017

    I contacted the Fareham Community Hospital on Friday 8th Dec. at 3.45 PM to book an appointment ,the recorded message kicked in with an announcement that the opening hours are from 8AM until 5Pm, as this was still within the opening hours i assumed the reception was busy ,however after a few attempts I realised they were closed. As there was no alternative number , i then discovered the Southern Health Trust number ,to see if they could give me another number . I was astounded to find the same recorded message ,with a different voice . I left a message and sent an email complaint about staff not working to their advertised hours. On Monday I had a phone call from a "Customer Experience ' team member ,or as I view an employee of NHS. They asked about my call and said that all of the department were at a 'team meeting' on Friday , which I said was not very good for a customers experience . When I explained about my call to the Community Hospital the staff member said that this was not under their umbrella , but then asked another colleague and discovered it actually was . They then said that they would contact F C H and they would call me . Shortly afterwards I did receive a call from a very nice staff member ,who explained that the whole of the reception at the Hospital is manned by volunteers , and without them the FCH would not be open as there is insufficient funding for staff ! this is unbelievable . So I don't feel anyone should complain about the reception volunteers , but at a system that allows it to be operated only by volunteers, under the NHS. As a further indication of inefficiency of the Foundation Trust (this website host ), the next day I had a phone call replying to my ansaphone message from Friday ,I explained that one of their colleagues had already called me and resolved the issue ,there is definitely an issue in their department with communication.

    Visited December 2017

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Southern Health NHS Foundation Trust

    Replied on 13 December 2017

    We are sorry to learn about your feedback about Fareham Community Hospital and communication in the Trust and thank you for taking the time to post it. Our staff endeavour to ensure that our patients have a positive experience when accessing the hospital and I am sorry that in this instance this was not the case. I would assure you that your feedback has been shared with the managers responsible for the hospital so that can look into your concerns. If you would like to discuss this further, please kindly contact the Complaints and Patient Experience team on 02380 874065 or by email: hp-tr.customerexperience@nhs.net. Kind regards Complaints and Patient Experience

    Report as unsuitable


  7. Review titled Extremely shocked

    1 star rating

    by Devshi - Posted on 06 November 2019

    Southern Health as a trust has some of the best facilities however there is a serious lack of coordination eg, elderly disabled couple waiting for almost 5 years no care for our son yet. We feel clinics like College Keep can do much better if proper communication and listening to carers of patient was in place. Alone care from such clinics is not enough for mentally ill people as our son would never be stable if it was not for the ongoing care given at home by his carer. We had no choice but was referred to this clinic for our son and trusted all staff but so much is lacking. Please do look into this so at least we can also do something to Make things better.

    Visited December 2017

    Report as unsuitable

    Southern Health NHS Foundation Trust has not yet replied.


  8. Review titled Poor support and treatment

    by Tob2018 - Posted on 15 March 2018

    I feel like Cannon House needs a review of the use of the psychiatrists and how they interact with patients. I found the psychiatrist i saw - Was a bit dismissive/condescending about my wish not to have pills in my house due to a recent suicide attempt - Had a preference to get me to make decisions quickly with no help info– I was given the option of two medications and expected to make a choice with only the minimal information about the side effects during the session. It was only once he sensed my hesitation that he suggested calling the service back or telling my GP my decision - Had a preference to get me to find out information myself – I was given a new diagnosis by the psychiatrist and told to look it up on the internet and also told to try a new type of therapy with no information about the need for a change - Rushed to get through appointments and wanted to discharge me ASAP - my 2nd appointment lasted less than 10 minutes and was a waste of time. The focus was to get me discharged – very brief or no discussion about points from previous session - Discrepancy between detail of the reports and the actual session – i.e. the report had more details and some assumptions - Lack of attention to the link to key previous and current events and their potential to trigger my anxiety and depressive symptoms e.g. move back to a home where childhood abuse had occurred. Whilst I understand that NHS is stretched, I feel that more care needs to be given to future patients. My GP, entrusted that a referral to this service would help what has been a long and difficult struggle for me. I’ve always found it hard to open up and ask for help, feeling as if I would be burdening and wasting people’s time. My time with the psychiatrist from Cannon House has helped to confirm this. I was left feeling stressed and overwhelmed with a new diagnosis and treatment I was unsure of and using the internet as suggested by the doctor just made things worse. I know that NHS mental health services are stretched, but I hope that future users of this service are given more time, care and detailed information by the doctors. On a positive note the nurse who assessed me was great, checking up on me whilst I waited to receive and attend my appointment with the psychiatrist.

    Visited December 2017

    Report as unsuitable

    Provided by Care Opinion

    Review titled Southern Health NHS Foundation Trust

    Replied on 15 March 2018

    Dear Tob2018 We are sorry to hear about your experience of our service and some of the concerns you have raised about your contact with the psychiatrist. Our aim is to ensure that all contact with service users is collaborative, supportive and recovery focused. We apologise that on this occasion we did not meet with the Trust standard that we would expect. I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and to assure you that your views and experience have been shared with the team, so they can review how they can further improve the services provided. Should you wish to make contact with the team manager, Brendan O’Reilly, he would be happy to meet with you. If you would like to accept the offer of a meeting, please contact the Complaints and Patient Experience Team on 023 80 874065 so we can organise this for you. Best wishes Julie Complaints and Patient Experience Team

    Report as unsuitable