South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust

01392 261500 Westcountry House, Abbey Court, Eagle Way, Sowton Industrial Estate , Exeter, Devon, EX2 7HY
http://www.swast.nhs.uk/

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 24 ratings for this trust

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 24 ratings for this trust

Reviews

58 total

Comedinewithme reviewed South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust

Superb, professional, caring & reassuring.

I collapsed off the settee onto the floor and my wife could not get me to my feet so she called 111. The Paramedic Paul arrived and took over. He was superb, very professional, caring and reassuring. We can't thank him enough and are extremely grateful for the care that was given.

Visited in October 2017. Posted on 15 October 2017 using Care Opinion

Report as unsuitable

Review provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Sharifa Hashem, Patient Engagement Manager, South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust replied on 17 October 2017

Dear Comedinewithme,
Thank you for taking the time to share your story and I hope you are recovering well.
It is always rewarding to hear stories of how our staff are delivering care and support to patients and those around them when they need it most.
We would be happy to share your story with the ambulance staff involved in your care, however, to do so we will need some specific information. If you would like us to do this, please may I ask you to contact us on either plaudits@swast.nhs.uk or 01392 453 831 and a member of the Patient Engagement Team will be happy to help you further.
Thank you, again, for taking the time to provide us with feedback.
Kind regards,
Sharifa

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Holly19 reviewed South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust

The best paramedics

I had to have paramedics out and got the best two people I could of ever asked for! I was scared and upset and within minutes Joe & Cat had calmed me down and we even laughed together! They gave me all the treatment they could to make me comfortable before taking me to hospital, I felt safe and had the best care possible from them both.
Not only did they reassure me they reassured my husband and little boy, there was no rush even though there shift was over, they were patient and caring
We laughed a lot which really helped!
I can not praise them enough for the treatment they gave me medically and for the personal treatment, I was actually sad to be handed over to the hospital staff!
The world would be a better place with more Joe & Cat's!
Thank you for everything you did for me that day xxx

Visited in September 2017. Posted on 09 September 2017 using Care Opinion

Report as unsuitable

Review provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Sharifa Hashem, Patient Engagement Manager, South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust replied on 12 September 2017

Dear Holly19,
Thank you for taking the time to share your story and I hope you are recovering well.
It is always rewarding to hear stories of how our staff are delivering care and support to patients and those around them when they need it most.
We would be happy to share your story with the ambulance staff involved in your care, however, to do so we will need some specific information. If you would like us to do this, please may I ask you to contact us on either plaudits@swast.nhs.uk or 01392 453 831 and a member of the Patient Engagement Team will be happy to help you further.
Thank you, again, for taking the time to provide us with feedback.
Kind regards,
Sharifa

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

David Hadfield gave South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 5 stars

Paramedics 100%

Early morning call received immediate response from ambulance, paramedics were extremely thorough, and followed up taking me to Tyrrell Hospital then on to Medical Practice for prescription medication for chronic chest infection diagnosed by Practice Nurse. Whilst on holiday in Ilfracombe I felt very confident that a professional assessment of my severe attack had been dealt with. Thank you to all NHS staff involved.

Visited in September 2017. Posted on 11 September 2017

Report as unsuitable

South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust has not yet replied.

George Albert reviewed South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust

Left lying in the road for 2 hours waiting for ambulance

My 69 year old wife fell from her bicycle and injured her right hip and right elbow. An emergency 999 call was made for an ambulance, as my wife was in excruciating pain. We suspected she had fractured her hip and elbow. After 30 minutes a further 999 call was made to establish when the ambulance would arrive, we were told the ambulance had been diverted to a life threatening incident and no time could be given when an ambulance would arrive. After a further 30 minutes another 999 call was made, still there was no indication of when an ambulance would arrive. After a further 30 minutes a further 999 call was made and still no indication of when an ambulance would arrive.
Eventually after 2 hours the ambulance arrived, after administering morphine to ease the pain and gas and air, my wife was dispatched to Weston General Hospital.
She was x-rayed and it was confirmed that she had fractured her hip, this was later diagnosed as a triple fracture. She also had a triple fracture of her right elbow.
It is totally unacceptable that anyone should have to wait this long for an ambulance.

Visited in September 2017. Posted on 26 September 2017 using Care Opinion

Report as unsuitable

Review provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Sharifa Hashem, Patient Engagement Manager, South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust replied on 28 September 2017

Dear George Albert,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
The detail you have provided here has been anonymised so I am unable to locate the details of the 999 call you have made and I cannot directly comment on the event.
However, we would welcome the opportunity to look into the care provided to you and your wife; if you would like us to do this may I ask you to contact our Patient Experience Team on 01392 261 585 and a member of the team will be able to provide information on the next steps.
Thank you, again, for taking the time to share your story with us.
Kind regards,
Sharifa

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Manicgranny reviewed South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust

Ambulance crew were brilliant

Today I had too dial 111 for the first time, the responder was excellent, very clear in his questions, but also calming and reassuring, a ambulance was sent out, arrived within 20mins, the 2 young ladies Becky and I can't remember the ther girls name they were both amazing, brilliant, now I'm able to stay in my own home with pain relief and the gp has been informed. Thankyou girls, you were brilliant xx

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 31 August 2017 using Care Opinion

Report as unsuitable

Review provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Sharifa Hashem, Patient Engagement Manager, South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust replied on 01 September 2017

Dear Manicgranny,
Thank you for taking the time to share your story and I hope you are recovering well.
It is always rewarding to hear stories of how our staff are delivering care and support to patients and those around them when they need it most.
We would be happy to share your story with the ambulance staff involved in your care, however, to do so we will need some specific information. If you would like us to do this, please may I ask you to contact us on either plaudits@swast.nhs.uk or 01392 453 831 and a member of the Patient Engagement Team will be happy to help you further.
Thank you, again, for taking the time to provide us with feedback.
Kind regards,
Sharifa

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Manicgranny reviewed South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust

Ambulance crew were brilliant

Today I had too dial 111 for the first time, the responder was excellent, very clear in his questions, but also calming and reassuring, a ambulance was sent out, arrived within 20mins, the 2 young ladies Becky and I can't remember the ther girls name they were both amazing, brilliant, now I'm able to stay in my own home with pain relief and the gp has been informed. Thankyou girls, you were brilliant xx

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 31 August 2017 using Care Opinion

Report as unsuitable

Review provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Sharifa Hashem, Patient Engagement Manager, South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust replied on 01 September 2017

Dear Manicgranny,
Thank you for taking the time to share your story and I hope you are recovering well.
It is always rewarding to hear stories of how our staff are delivering care and support to patients and those around them when they need it most.
We would be happy to share your story with the ambulance staff involved in your care, however, to do so we will need some specific information. If you would like us to do this, please may I ask you to contact us on either plaudits@swast.nhs.uk or 01392 453 831 and a member of the Patient Engagement Team will be happy to help you further.
Thank you, again, for taking the time to provide us with feedback.
Kind regards,
Sharifa

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Lollewe reviewed South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust

The paramedics were excellent and put me straight at ease

As I'd had a stroke previously and had no feeling in my left side of my body, now I'd broke my ankle. I had been on the floor for 5 hours and the pain was severe. The paramedics were excellent and put me straight at ease. Took their time, explained every step of the way what was happening or going to happen. They got me downstairs with the aid of morphine. This helped because the pain was getting worse.
Once in the ambulance they made sure that I was secure and happy what was going on. All the way through they kept me informed and reassured me what was happening.
These people are a credit to the service. They made me feel totally safe whilst in their care
It is a shame that it went down hill from there nursing staff wise. I felt that once the operation had taken place they just wanted you out.
I was discharged made sure that I had an outpatient apt. As long as my bed was downstairs and had a commode I was good to go.

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 05 September 2017 using Care Opinion

Report as unsuitable

Review provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Sharifa Hashem, Patient Engagement Manager, South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust replied on 05 September 2017

Dear Lollewe,
Thank you for taking the time to share your story and I hope you are recovering well.
It is always rewarding to hear stories of how our staff are delivering care and support to patients and those around them when they need it most.
We would be happy to share your story with the ambulance staff involved in your care, however, to do so we will need some specific information. If you would like us to do this, please may I ask you to contact us on either plaudits@swast.nhs.uk or 01392 453 831 and a member of the Patient Engagement Team will be happy to help you further.
Thank you, again, for taking the time to provide us with feedback.
Kind regards,
Sharifa

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Amy Smith gave South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 1 stars

Poor service.

Extremely poor service by the emergency services, no show. A warning should be sent out to anyone in the Bodmin area - don't have an accident after 10pm because the local hospital is shut and the ambulance won't get to you.

Thanks for nothing.

Visited in July 2017. Posted on 26 July 2017

Report as unsuitable

South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust has not yet replied.

Ambulance Waiters reviewed South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust

My father's wait for an ambulance

My father who is in his 90's was left waiting in his driveway after falling for 3 hours for an ambulance, well past mid-night on a recent, particularly cool night. The ambulance was called around 22: 00 and it came just before 02: 00. He had a broken femur, and has a heart condition. We understand the ambulance service is busy, but what to the call centre constitutes an emergency? The paramedics themselves were fantastic, and even they said he was clearly the most urgent call of the evening they had had so far that night and they should have been sent sooner. Several calls were made to the centre and yet they did not send someone out for 3 hours.

Visited in July 2017. Posted on 04 August 2017 using Care Opinion

Report as unsuitable

Review provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Sharifa Hashem, Engagement Facilitator, South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust replied on 08 August 2017

Dear Ambulance Waiters,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
The detail you have provided here has been anonymised so I am unable to locate the details of the 999 call you have made and I cannot directly comment on the event.
However, we would welcome the opportunity to look into the care provided to you and your mother; if you would like us to do this may I ask you to contact our Patient Experience Team on 01392 261 585 and a member of the team will be able to provide information on the next steps.
Thank you, again, for taking the time to share your story with us.
Kind regards,
Sharifa

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Janice Horrigan gave South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 5 stars

Grateful

i want to say a big thankyou to the staff who turned up after my husband calling 111 early on 5th July and consequently dialing 999. I had woken around 6am feeling extremely hot and realised my face was soaking wet. Whilst attempting to sit up I had the sensation of the whole room spinning followed by nausea. I managed by holding on to the doors, walls etc. get into the bathroom and that's where I stayed on the floor literally hugging the toilet pan and unable to move or speak without wanting to be sick. The constant retching was giving me stomach ache and an uncontrolerble bladder. Within 20 minutes of the call the staff were here and after checks and questions they administered a 'magic potion ' which enabled me to stand up and get back to the bedroom and regain my dignity by changing into clean clothing. They then performed an ECG which was fine. They were polite talking me through everything they did, patient, professional and caring. I'm sure they told me their names but I was in no fit state to remember I'm afraid. I shall be eternally grateful.

Visited in July 2017. Posted on 13 July 2017

Report as unsuitable

South Western Ambulance Service NHS Foundation Trust has not yet replied.