Skip to main content

Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

Reviews

Displaying 1 to 10 of 19

  1. Review titled Appalled and dismayed

    1 star rating

    by PHJ - Posted on 23 October 2019

    At the request of his GP, I took my partner to A&E at Eastbourne DGH as he was experiencing a mental health crisis. I have sufficient experience of these services to know that I should keep my expectations low. I did not keep them low enough. The attitude and behaviour of the mental health staff (they didn't introduce themselves or give us their names) towards not only my partner, but towards me as well, was unprofessional, rude, uncaring, lacking in any empathy or kindness, and deeply shocking. I cannot recommend this service to anyone.

    Visited October 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

    Replied on 14 November 2019

    Dear PHJ Firstly I want to apologise for the delay in replying - the NHS Choices update to this website meant that we could not respond to comments temporarily. I was so disappointed to hear your feedback regarding the response of our team and would very much like to talk to you so that we can learn from your experience. I would also hope to be able to work toward reassuring you that this falls very short of representing the values and aspirations of our team. I urge you to contact me on 01323 438279 to further discuss your experience so as to guide the team’s learning. Best wishes Bev Beverley Davies Service Manager Urgent Care Services - Eastbourne

    Report as unsuitable


  2. Review titled Appalling treatment

    2 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 08 November 2019

    Visited an ATS for initial assessment! Appalling, the Practitioner didn’t introduce herself and did not have correct facts and made hurtful remarks right at the start of the session so I could not continue and left I was not treated with dignity and respect and felt let down by the service at Ifield . I have written to head office and the centre with what I would expect at my next appt.

    Visited October 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

    Replied on 14 November 2019

    Dear Sir or Madam Thank you for taking the time to make your comments - I have passed your comments on to the service at Ifield but have not asked them for a separate response to post as you have indicated that you have already contacted them and our Head office directly. kind regard Rachael Kenny Participation Team Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

    Report as unsuitable


  3. Review titled would not recommend it

    1 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 14 October 2019

    I have dealt with this body many times in the past and also recently in relation to its "ATS" branch. The administration is unresponsive whilst some of the front of line staff behave defensively, if not rudely, and also in extreme ways in my opinion. I would not have dealt with them unless I had to because my GP sent a referral through to them. In all likelihood I would do my best to avoid them in any circumstance. Just a pain to deal with really.

    Visited September 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

    Replied on 14 November 2019

    Dear Sir or Madam Firstly I apologise for the delay in replying - NHS choices has updated its website and I was temporaryily unable to see or respond to comments. I'm very sorry that you had this experience of an ATS - we have several ATS teams in the organisation and in order to look into your concerns we need to know in what area the ATS about which you are complaining is based. If you would like to share this information so that we can respond more specifically please would you get in touch with me Rachael.kenny@sussexpartnership.nhs.uk and I will be able to help. Kind regards Rachael Kenny Participation Team Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

    Report as unsuitable


  4. Review titled They fail my son badly

    by Ines - Posted on 12 July 2019

    He only had four therapy sessions for a serious issue, ready to be discharged as they said he does not want to get better...with only four therapy sessions (and sporadic ones to accommodate leave), no chance to get to a route cause of the problem. I feel like from session two the therapist wanted to discharge him my son.

    Visited July 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Provided by Care Opinion

    Review titled Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

    Replied on 12 July 2019

    Dear Ines I am very sorry that you and your son have had this experience. We would like to talk with you about what has happened and what might be done to change the situation. If this feels like an option for you please would you let me know and I will put you in touch with the right people within the trust to speak with. My contact details are below my signature and it would be very helpful if you would, if you get in touch, let me know the CAMHS service and area that you and your son used. kind regards Rachael Kenny Participation Team Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust Rachael.kenny@sussexpartnership.nhs.uk 07738 757565

    Report as unsuitable


  5. Review titled Arun house my doctor and care- co

    5 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 12 July 2019

    I have been under Arun house from the change from the old site at WORTHING hospital, when ever I have meet with my doctor he has been one of the best psychiatrist I have ever seen I suffer with a life long condition bipolar which impacts my life greatly, he has always made me feel at ease when Iv been my most anxious , when I’m so depressed I can’t bare to even have people look at me he understands , he listen and taken on board what you are saying there are things in these appointments you don’t want to talk about you ashamed and embarrassed and humiliated but he had always made me feel comfortable and at ease I’m a situation that is so difficult, iv never felt dismissed patronised not heard I have never felt judged not listened to or none important, he listens to you like no other Dr I have known and takes into to consideration you! In the Iv been seeing him yes I still had bad episodes but I can say that my illness was managed The best it ever has been and I felt at my most ease talking about it to him he is truly an amazing psychiatrist, But what more then medication had kept me well I would say is my care-co who is worth her weight in gold this wonderful lady I have had the pleasure , of being my care coordinator for nearly 9 Years now ,has helped me more then anyone in my life she is the most caring kindest understanding supportive person I know, with out her and her help and always being there for me I don’t think I would coped, medication is good but support and understand and a great mental health team is Paramount and Iv had this with my doctor and care-co i have been very lucky in the treatment I have received with WORTHING adult mental health services by getting 2 of the best people to help me manage my condition with out them my life and quality of it would of been affected greatly and also of had a huge impact on my family, like it use to before I had either of them working in my care needs

    Visited July 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

    Replied on 12 July 2019

    Thank you very much for taking the time to describe and submit your experiences of working with the services at Arun House. Its great to hear that they have been so helpful to you but it will also help other readers to know that help is available. I will pass your message onto the team there who will be delighted to receive them kind regards Rachael Kenny Participation Team Sussex Partnership

    Report as unsuitable


  6. Review titled East Brighton ATS

    1 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 15 March 2019

    Extremely poor service and some of the staff appear to be quite work shy and would rather do more leisurely pursuits than the job they are paid to do. This lets down some of the staff that do an amazing job.

    Visited March 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

    Replied on 15 March 2019

    Dear Sir or Madam I sincerely regret that you came away from Brighton ATS with this impression of the services there. I would like to have a further discussion with you and would be grateful, if you feel that you want to, that you contact me via Fiona.blair@sussexpartnership.nhs.uk kind regards Fiona Blair General Manager East Brighton ATS Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

    Report as unsuitable


  7. Review titled Arbitrary detention

    1 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 23 November 2018

    taken into a section 136 suite by transport police when suicidal who did not call a mental health car instead of s136, or take me to an a and e a few miles away. I was told by the officer that he had contacted the triage s136 team who did not make any assessment or otherwise on need to be taken in under a section 136. The spft triage team left the decision with the officer such that police had to take me in under a section 136, as they aren’t medically trained and would be worried about me returning to try and end my life even though this wasn’t the case and a quick judgement by the 136 team would have revealed same. I was in detention for 17 hours. This is the third 136 admission, all of which I’ve been released from and It’s already been established I’m not required to have any treatment compulsorily. I consider that the incarceration amounts to unnecessary detention, arbitrary detention and false imprisonment and is unnecessary. This is very serious indeed. The whole period I was there was nothing more than punitive treatment. My mental health is considerably worse and suicide state is seriously elevated.

    Visited November 2018

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

    Replied on 23 November 2018

    Dear Sir or Madam Firstly I am sorry for delay in responding - the alert for your message came through today 3/12 while it appears that you posted it 10 days ago. The experience that you describe is a serious one and I would like to respond in kind. It would therefore be very helpful if you could contact me directly with some details about where and when this happened so that I can follow up. My email is rachael.kenny@sussexpartnership.nhs Kind regards Rachael Kenny Participation Team Sussex Partnership

    Report as unsuitable


  8. Review titled Department of Psychiatry - Degrading & Humiliating Care

    1 star rating

    by Sophie - Posted on 12 October 2018

    I was admitted on a 24 hour Section 136, after an attempt on taking my life. I had to wait 17 hours with the police in the General Hospital to wait for a bed to become available in the Psychiatric Ward. The police were fantastic - compassionate, caring and respectful throughout the whole experience bearing in mind the responsibility of my care really isn’t in their remit. Once a space became available on the Section 136 room on the ward I was admitted to NHS Mental Health ‘care’. I was advised the door to my room would be left open unless I showed any signs of aggression to staff which as a policy I completely agree with, I have no history of violence to others so this was no problem. I went to bed and woke to find the door closed and requested it was opened again, to be told no. I requested a glass of water, and was told no, the staff member couldn’t leave the room and leave me unattended to get one. She said ask again in 20 mins, I asked again an hour later to be told no again. I was left to drink out of the bathroom tap - completely unacceptable. I asked what the progress was on the NHS bed wait availability to be told I was awaiting for my assessment - I was very confused by this, and explained that I had already had my assessment, and was very aware of this as I had waited 17 hours for said assessment. Turns out the staff member had been given no handover whatsoever for my care and had no idea why I was there. Incredibly frustrating and speaks volumes at the lack of communication in the ward. I repeatedly requested throughout the entire 24 hours there for my paperwork/information/leaflet/protocol relating to a section 136 which correct is quite frankly appalling - I never got it until after the section 136 expired, by which point they put me on a section 2. There was a gap of 30 minutes between sections where I was unlawfully detained without any section in place. Staff were beyond rude, incompetent, belligerent and quite frankly managed to leave my mental health in the worst state it has ever been in. The most ironic part of my stay was that it was ‘World Mental Health Day’ - part of the reason I was sectioned was that I explained I felt let down by NHS care. My experience at Eastbourne Psychiatric Ward firmly sealed this. I appreciate there is a major lack of funding, but treating patients with dignity and respect costs nothing. I didn’t think my mental health could be in a worse position that that when I tried to take my life, but would like to congratulate the staff here on actually achieving this by the time I left. The saying ‘treat others how you would like to be treated’ might be a worthwhile training course for the staff. I think I would have been treated with more respect if I were a criminal in a prison cell. The room hadn’t been cleaned - there was urine all over the toilet seat from the past occupant, vomit stained duvet and what appeared to be blood stains on the units. I bet you won’t publish this.

    Visited October 2018

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

    Replied on 12 October 2018

    I am very sorry that you have had this experience with us and I have let Jenny Pickett the matron in charge of the service know what you have posted. She also apologises and would like to discuss what happened with you in more detail. Please if you feel confident to do so contact her on 01323 414943 or Jenny.Pickett@sussexpartnership.nhs.uk. if you would prefer to make a complaint formally there is information here about the organisations complaints process and also other sources of support to make a complaint https://www.sussexpartnership.nhs.uk/complaints-and-views Thank you very much for bring this to our attention Kind regards Rachael Kenny Participation Team Sussex Partnership

    Report as unsuitable


  9. Review titled Sent me away when I needed them

    1 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 05 September 2018

    Went to time to talk as I was referred by my gp since I was suffering with sever depression and needed help urgently. My weight had dropped 2 and a half stone within 3 months and I told them that this was due to the way I was feeling and I was worried about it. They told me that they could not help me and that I had to go back to my gp to sort out my weight before they would even think of helping me. Feeling very sad and as if no one wants to help me now. Terrible service for mental health

    Visited September 2018

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

    Replied on 05 September 2018

    Dear Sir or Madam I am very sorry that you had this experience - unfortunately I cannot help directly as it is another NHS organisation that runs the Time to Talk Service - Sussex Community Trust. You can either re- post your comments on their NHS Choices page or get in touch with their Patient Advice and Liaison Service details of which are here: https://www.sussexcommunity.nhs.uk/contact-us/comments.htm Please do try again and try and talk to someone that you trust about getting the help you need - it may be worth talking to your GP again or another organisation There are some that you could try here:https://www.sussexpartnership.nhs.uk/advice-and-support With best wishes Rachael Kenny Participation Team Sussex Partnership

    Report as unsuitable


  10. Review titled Negative experience

    by Iwab2b - Posted on 16 August 2018

    I came into a&e feeling low and having thoughts to kill myself. I was seen by a member of staff who I found to be really rude, aggressive and didn’t listen to what I had to say. It’s the first time I have ever spoken about how I feel and felt this nurse didn’t listen and spoke over me. In the end I gave up I found their attitude appalling. Would not ever recommend coming to a&e.

    Visited July 2018

    Report as unsuitable

    Provided by Care Opinion

    Review titled Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

    Replied on 16 August 2018

    Dear Iwab2b Sussex Patnership provides part of the A&E mental health service at Eastbourne General who have replied on the Care Opinion website ( www.Careopinion.org.uk ) if when following up with them you find that your concerns are about us please do not hesitate to contact me Bev Davies on 01323 438279 so that we can try and put things right for you and prevent similar experinces for other people I I am very sorry that you had the experince that you did and thank you for taking the time to tell us about it Best wishes Bev Beverley Davies Service Manager Urgent Care Services - Eastbourne Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust

    Report as unsuitable