Tameside Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

0161 922 6000 Tameside General Hospital, Fountain Street , Ashton-under-Lyne, Lancashire, OL6 9RW
http://www.tamesidehospital.nhs.uk

4.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 46 ratings for this trust

4.5 Stars

4.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 46 ratings for this trust

Reviews

64 total

Rebecca obrien gave Tameside Hospital NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 5 stars

WOMENS HEALTH UNIT/ gynaecology

I would just like too mention EVERYONE who works on the women's Health unit. Also the nurses. You are all fabulous. The most caring loveliest group of people ever. We can't thank you enough for everything you have done to help us. We will forever be grateful. Your all amazing. And what you do is just incredible. You all deserve the world.

Thank you ALL so much. Xxx

Rebecca. X

Visited in October 2017. Posted on 11 October 2017

Report as unsuitable

Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust replied on 13 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post these lovely comments.
Please be assured these will be passed onto the Women’s health unit.

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Anonymous gave Tameside Hospital NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 2 stars

Urology clinic

I visited the urology clinic with my husband today who has cancer. We were expecting to see a particular Consultant however another doctor came in but didn't bother to introduce them self.During the consultation someone put their head through the door which we thought was very rude to tell the doctor their next patient was here at which time the doctor stood up to leave. We felt rushed --- we didn't realise that consultations were timed!!!Needless to say all our questions were not answered.

Visited in October 2017. Posted on 12 October 2017

Report as unsuitable

Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust replied on 17 October 2017

Thank you for your comments.
We are very sorry you have had cause to raise these concerns.
We would like to look into this issue further, therefore, we would be grateful if you could you contact the PALS and Complaints Team on 0161 922 4466 or email [palsandcomplaints@tgh.nhs.uk](mailto:palsandcomplaints@tgh.nhs.uk) so that we can discuss this further.
We will in the meantime ensure that the appropriate manager is made aware of your comments so they can address as necessary with staff in the department.

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Maggie Henderson gave Tameside Hospital NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 5 stars

My dad's appointment

Today I took my 90 year old dad to his out patient appointment. We had to wait 40 minutes but I really didn't mind because the doctor was so nice. The doctor spent a great deal of time going through all dad's investigations, explaining exactly what each result means. The doctor was so positive and spoke directly to dad in a loud clear voice. I am a nurse and I have worked in the NHS for 40 years, this doctor is a credit to Tameside and their profession.

Visited in October 2017. Posted on 16 October 2017

Report as unsuitable

Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust replied on 18 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post these positive comments around your dads care at the Trust.
We value your feedback and we will be delighted to pass on your remarks to the outpatients team.

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Anonymous gave Tameside Hospital NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 5 stars

Outstanding and professional

this is the second time I have been treated at Tameside hospital in the past month . I can only say that every one I met in the cardio respiratory investigations unit were absolutely lovely . Their professional, calm and friendly manner was excellent . i cannot praise them enough .

Visited in October 2017. Posted on 17 October 2017

Report as unsuitable

Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust replied on 19 October 2017

Thank you for sharing such lovely comments.
We value your feedback and we will be delighted to pass on your remarks to the team involved with your care.
It is gratifying to receive good news and we would once again like to thank you for taking the time to post these positive comments.

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Anonymous gave Tameside Hospital NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 2 stars

Fracture Clinic Administration

My appointment time at the fracture clinic had been changed once and cancelled twice at short notice - the day before. On the second occasion I complained and I received a call just before the clinic closed that the consultant was in and I could still have my appointment - if I wanted it - and I had to call to confirm my acceptance. I don't understand why my appointment was messed around with so much. When I arrived for my appointment, on 22/9/17, the clinic was full - were appointments cancelled / rebooked for all parients?! Had I not complained I don't know how many more times my appointment would have been moved.

Visited in September 2017. Posted on 23 September 2017

Report as unsuitable

Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust replied on 26 September 2017

We are really sorry that you have had cause to raise concerns and that your experience fell below the standards we aspire to.
Your comments have been shared with the Outpatient Department Manager for her to investigate this issue and address your concerns directly with the relevant members of staff.

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

John Stuart Schofiel reviewed Tameside Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Consultation 8/8/2017 and letter 15/8/2017.

Attended clinic after selecting Ashton Hospital following a doctor referral (GP).
Approx 6months ago I had to attend A&E in Oldham having consulted the 111 phone line ,the consultant on duty wrote to my GP recommending I should undertake an endoscopy at some stage in the future . I assume this consultation emminated from that initial contact , as I have not seen the referral letter . The symptoms were extreme vomiting , paramedics commented on " coffee grounds " appearance, consequence was hospital visit.

Attended Ashton clinic as instructed and given directions to clinic by an extremely friendly and helpful person on reception , weight and hight taken by a nurse in the clinic before being called through for the consultation on time.

Upon entering the room the Doctor was sat at their desk apparently looking at the computer ,they never made eye contact and nodded toward a chair ,I took this as an invitation to sit down . I only know their name because of the copy letter they sent to my GP, they did not bother to introduce themselves during the meeting !! The meeting went as follows :
Question 1 Why are you here ? I took this to require me to provide some history which I did , this included both instances of the condition and my thoughts on the causes .
Question 2: Why so long to come here . I was surprised that they did not understand the timescales involved but went through them anyway . You will note in their report to my GP they infers that I mentioned the 6months wait ,not true , and that this delay was my reason for declining the camera investigation ,equally untrue .
Question 3: do you want the camera ? At this point I declined purely because I had absolutely no intention of having any treatment from this person.

I found their whole demeanour to be rude and unprofessional . I intend to revisit my GP and ask to be referred to another hospital. Having been treated for cancer on 3 occasions I have already had cameras from either direction and have no fears of either the procedure or the results , however I do reserve the right to be treated courteously ,as I treat others .

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 22 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust replied on 24 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments.
Unfortunately it is not clear from your comments which service you have received care from.
The experience you have described falls below the standards we expect.
However, to investigate this further and to direct your comments to the right services please contact the PALs and Complaints team on 0161 922 4466 or email [palsandcomplaints@tgh.nhs.uk](mailto:palsandcomplaints@tgh.nhs.uk)

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Anonymous gave Tameside Hospital NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 5 stars

My stay at Tameside

I would just like to say how my stay at Tameside has been.
I have stayed in the POU ward.
The care I have received from the night staff has been outstanding.
Nothing has been too much trouble they have been so attentive not just to me but to everyone on the ward.
They have both been a real breath of fresh air.
Thank you Tameside for looking after me so very well!!!!

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 01 September 2017

Report as unsuitable

Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust replied on 04 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments.
Please be assured these will be shared with all the staff on POU ward.

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

slipdisc reviewed Tameside Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Issues witht he phone system

I have been using the District Nursing services for the last 4 years. In that time of all the calls I have made only 1 has been actually answered, all the other times which there have been many were left on the answer machine. Majority of the time I do get a call back but in the last 12 months the answer machine service has been terrible. At times it has took 3 days to actually speak to someone. On 2 occasions I was told there was a problem with the answer machine service and was apologised too. I was due a catheter change yesterday. Nobody turned up and today it took 3 calls to actually speak to a human who transfered me direct to the main office I believe and yet again another answer machine.

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 04 August 2017 using Care Opinion

Report as unsuitable

Review provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust replied on 07 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. Please accept our apologies on behalf of the District Nursing services.
Please be assured these comments will be passed onto the District Nursing team in order for them to address and take action to review their telephone and administration systems currently in place.
If you would like to discuss this further, please contact the PALS and Complaints Team on 0161 922 4466 or email palsandcomplaints@tgh.nhs.uk so that we can discuss this further.

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Anonymous gave Tameside Hospital NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 1 stars

Doctor had no skills to deal with child in pain

I was so shocked and disgusted at the way the doctor dealt with my child in your children's A and E department. The doctor was rude and unsympathetic to my family and in my opinion has no skills needed to care or treat a child in extreme pain or child in distress. My child's ear piercing had become infected the earring had become imbedded into the ear lobe on both ears. My child's earring were so swollen and painful. we were advised that the best thing to do would be to push the earring out. The doctor told my daughter that it would hurt but was the only way otherwise she would be sent to another hospital and it cut out. My daughter was in extreme pain and your doctor dealt with her in such a cold manner. We had to hold our child down while the doctor pushed the earrings through both lobes that was filled with pus with our child screaming and shaking in such pain with no option of pain relief. The cold spray that was spray hadn't don't anything which you could clearly tell by the way our child was screaming. Again because my daughter was in distress she was reminded it would be cut unless she stopped moving. Once this awful experience was over the doctor had suggested that I had left this infection and next time I should take the earrings out straight away even after me explaining this had happened overnight. To top off this experience the doctor simple walked out after without another word to us just for the nurse to give us antibiotics. The prescription was for tablets which again isn't appropriate for a child. Will not be returning to this department ever. I also had a text message to review the service but there was no link which is why I have left a review this way.

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 07 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust replied on 08 August 2017

Thank you for your comments. We are really sorry you have had cause to raise these concerns.
We would like to look into this issue further, therefore, we would be grateful if you could you contact the PALS and Complaints Team on 0161 922 4466 or email palsandcomplaints@tgh.nhs.uk so that we can discuss this further.
We will in the meantime ensure that the appropriate manager is made aware of your comments so they can address as necessary with staff in the department.

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Lisa gave Tameside Hospital NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 5 stars

Thank you North West Ambulance Service and Tameside A&E

I would like the Chief Executive to know how grateful I am to the NHS in general and every member of staff who helped me on Wednesday 2nd August 2017.
I had breathing problems for two weeks prior to finding myself in A&E. My asthma inhaler hadn't been helping, neither did the course of steroids that a GP gave to me. When I went back to the GP surgery for more help, I wasn't given anything and I was told to come back on 11th August for an asthma review. At this time, I was still very breathless, chest pains, tingling etc. but had no help. I was exhausted but was going to wait until the 11th and just try to cope until then.
My salbutamol inhaler, which I had been using a lot out of desperation, finished, and I called 111 on 2nd August at approx 8:30pm to ask for an inhaler. They were so helpful and realised I needed immediate assistance so they told me to phone an ambulance. I am so grateful to the 111 service for being my first lifeline that evening. The Ambulance Service were equally helpful and when the rapid response paramedic came at 9:15pm, they were so calming, friendly and thorough. They called for an ambulance to take me to A&E because the nebuliser hadn't improved my breathing much. The two paramedics in the large ambulance were so friendly and made me feel comfortable and at ease when I was worried about being another burden to an already busy hospital.
I think I arrived at approximately 10:30pm into A&E and think I was in bed 12, where I was eventually diagnosed with pneumonia.
I want to thank everyone who helped me in this department too. The staff are such a credit to Tameside Hospital. They were so busy but always had a smile to make me feel reassured. I watched them supporting each other too and I saw them constantly on the move, dedicating themselves to the patients, with barely a moment to sit down, including the staff who transport the beds to different departments and back again, and the staff who kept everywhere looking clean.
I would like to extend my heartfelt thanks and gratitude to the doctor and everyone who was involved in my care that night.
I feel a lot better now than before, since starting the treatment. I would never have known what was wrong with me and I was really suffering badly. I dread to think how much worse I would have got if I had waited for an asthma review on the 11th.
All of the staff that I saw are a real credit to Tameside Hospital and I am so glad to have this hospital in our Borough. Thank you for everything that you all do for us when we need help. Lisa

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 09 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

Tameside and Glossop Integrated Care NHS Foundation Trust replied on 14 August 2017

Lisa thank you for taking the time to post these comments regarding your recent attendance.
We value patient feedback and it is pleasing to hear of your experience and how everything was done quickly, professionally and prompted you to give us such feedback.
Please be assured we will pass these comments onto all the staff involved in your care.

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Care Opinion Logo