Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust

01473 712233 Heath Road , Ipswich, Suffolk, IP4 5PD
http://www.ipswichhospital.nhs.uk

5 out of 5 stars

Based on 18 ratings for this trust

5 Stars

5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 18 ratings for this trust

Reviews

26 total

Liz gave Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Knee replacement

I had a knee replacement on May 18th and today had a follow up appointment with my surgeon today.The operation was very successful and my recovery has been very good. I cannot thank the surgeon and the hospital enough.THAANK YOU ALL

Visited in July 2018. Posted on 03 July 2018

Report as unsuitable

Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust replied on 04 July 2018

Thank you for leaving your feedback. I will pass your kind words onto the appropriate teams who will be thrilled to see how their have had such a positive impact. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

Johnson gave Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Arrival of twins

Just want to say a massive thank you to all of the midwives and doctors who helped deliver my two little girls, you all did an excellent job from the consulting as this was not an easy pregnancy to deal with to the surgeons who got them out safely and all this is with a smile, Thank you!

Visited in June 2018. Posted on 20 June 2018

Report as unsuitable

Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust replied on 20 June 2018

Thank you for leaving your comments at what must be a busy time. I have passed your comments onto the maternity team and I hope you are all settling in well. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

Patricia Kemsley gave Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Broken Femur

I broke my femur on May 25th and was taken from East Bergholt to A and E at Ipswich. The ambulance men were excellent and reassuring. After about an hour I was taken to Saxmundham Ward. Although, I had to wait for four days before I had my operation on Tuesday May 29th, I had excellent service from all the staff, whether they were consultants, doctors, nurses, cleaning or catering employees. Physiotherapists and Occupational therapists visited regularly and the whole support system seemed well coordinated. As I was making good progress, I was able to be moved into a side ward,where I could be more independent and get to the toilet and wash myself. Now I am home, the follow up by nurses and physiotherapists has been efficient and reliable. I would like to express my sincere thanks for the treatment I have received in what I know are challenging times for the NHS.
Patricia Kemsley. June 21st 2018
,

Visited in May 2018. Posted on 21 June 2018

Report as unsuitable

Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust replied on 22 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, I will make sure that all the teams concerned with your care and treatment are aware of your kind words. I hope that you are continuing to make a good recovery. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

Elizabeth gave Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Knee replacement in Martlesham ward

I would like to say thank you to all the staff on Martlesham ward for their kindness and patience day and night! And to the physios who get you back on your feet.Also a big thank you to the surgical team who did the operation.

Visited in April 2018. Posted on 18 April 2018

Report as unsuitable

Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust replied on 18 April 2018

Thank you for leaving your kind comments about your recent experience on Martlesham ward. I will pass your comments on to all teams concerned who will be thrilled to see how they have had such a positive impact to your care. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

fifigrace reviewed Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust

Helpful staff

I attended the hospital on a day the snow caused so many problems. I had an appointment at 10. 10 with an ENT consultant but also had to have blood tests and an x-ray for an unrelated matter. Despite my best efforts it took me until 9. 20 to reach the hospital and I did not expect to be able to have everything done or even that my consultant would have made it into work. I can honestly say that everyone I encountered that day was helpful and efficient. I checked in for my ENT appointment using your computer system, I completed my x ray by 9. 35 and had my blood taken by a trainee (who was very good as was her trainer) and was in the waiting room for my appointment my 10. 05. Everyone was courteous and kind, helpfully pointed out where I should go for each department and were very patient! I appreciate that the queues for xray and bloods were short due to the snow, but that doesn't detract from the support from the staff. More often than not people will write to complain, I wanted to thank your team for being so positive under difficult circumstances.

Visited in February 2018. Posted on 15 March 2018 using Care Opinion

Report as unsuitable

Review provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Steve Bruce, Patient Experience Manager, The Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust replied on 20 March 2018

Thank you for your kind words and understanding during the recent bad weather. It is great to hear that the staff looked after you and your treatment was carried out in as efficiently as possible. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Jane KH gave Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Excellent A&E staff

My experience at Ipswich A &E last Thursday evening was very efficient and as fast as I could expect . The member of staff was very impressive and had a reassuring manner and a professional one too. Thank you so much to such hard working staff. There was a high police presence which was reassuring as doctors had to cope with screaming ,violent patients.Total admiration for you all.

Visited in January 2018. Posted on 31 January 2018

Report as unsuitable

Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust replied on 02 February 2018

Thank you for your kind words, I will pass on your comments to the team in ED who will be thrilled to see how they made such a positive impact on your care. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

Susan Hill gave Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Impressed & reassured!!

Over the last few months my husband and I have been seen in three separate outpatient clinics. I am writing this review as we have been so impressed by the treatment we have received. Appointments have been on time; consultants have been articulate, caring and, in our view, well informed and professional. The system has been efficient and streamlined with nurses (all very pleasant) taking blood pressure and weight before we have been seen by the consultant. Results of blood tests done about a week before the outpatient appointments were all on the system. In the current climate of the NHS being in crisis? we feel very fortunate and reassured by our experience at Ipswich Hospital.

Thank you and best wishes
Susan & David Hill

Visited in January 2018. Posted on 05 February 2018

Report as unsuitable

Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust replied on 06 February 2018

Thank you for leaving your kind words regarding your care and treatment you have received during your visits to outpatients at Ipswich Hospital. I will make sure that the team see your kind words and how they had made such a positive in your experience. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

RZM reviewed Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust

Automated appointments system

Your automated appointments system keeps phoning up until the phone is answered. It also phones in the evening when I get a lot of nuisance phone calls. This is actually very annoying, especially as the calling number is withheld. This means I can't use the phone to screen out nuisance phone calls simply by not answering them. Please stop your automated system from making repeated phone calls.

Visited in December 2017. Posted on 06 December 2017 using Care Opinion

Report as unsuitable

Review provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust replied on 13 December 2017

Thank you for your comments regarding the issues you have encountered with the automated appointments system, and I am sorry if this has caused you any inconvenience. I have passed your concerns onto the team who have taken them on board. At present they are looking at ways to ensure that the number is shown, therefore reducing the number of patients who don't take the call as they do not want nuisance calls. The system at present will call a patient 5 times if their is no answer. The team are reviewing if this is an acceptable number of times to call and your comments will used as part of the decision making process. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

Wickham meerkat reviewed Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust

my experience as an inpatient

Very speedy, extensive, efficient, friendly, appropriate and successful treatment after midnight emergency admission -a week before Christmas. Thank you. And well done. But I thought the food was truly awful!

Visited in December 2017. Posted on 25 December 2017 using Care Opinion

Report as unsuitable

Review provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Steve Bruce, Patient Experience Manager, The Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust replied on 02 January 2018

Many thanks for your comments, I will make sure that they are passed on to the departments concerned. I hope you are continuing to make a speedy recovery.

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

KayM gave Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust a rating of 4 stars

Spinal surgery

My 82 year old mother had excellent care from the surgical team from her initial assessments to the operation and post op medical care. She was cared for excellently on ITU post op by caring staff.
However once she was transferred to martlesham Ward she was left in pain and given poor treatment by some unsympathetic nursing staff, who did not treat her well at all and caused her to become upset, she wanted to complain at the time but waited til she was discharged to let me know about it. This marred her experience and ought not to have done. I do not think the nursing staff in question would have liked their loved ones to be treated the way my mother was and it just isn’t good enough.

Visited in November 2017. Posted on 15 December 2017

Report as unsuitable

Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust replied on 19 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, I have spoken to the ward staff who would like to look into this further. For them to gain some more information can you please give me a call on 01473 702101 so I can pass your contact details onto the correct person. Many thanks Steve Bruce - Patient Experience Team.

Report as unsuitable