Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust

01473 712233 Heath Road , Ipswich, Suffolk, IP4 5PD
http://www.ipswichhospital.nhs.uk

4.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 18 ratings for this trust

4.5 Stars

4.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 18 ratings for this trust

Reviews

26 total

Elizabeth gave Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Knee replacement in Martlesham ward

I would like to say thank you to all the staff on Martlesham ward for their kindness and patience day and night! And to the physios who get you back on your feet.Also a big thank you to the surgical team who did the operation.

Visited in April 2018. Posted on 18 April 2018

Report as unsuitable

Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust replied on 18 April 2018

Thank you for leaving your kind comments about your recent experience on Martlesham ward. I will pass your comments on to all teams concerned who will be thrilled to see how they have had such a positive impact to your care. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

fifigrace reviewed Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust

Helpful staff

I attended the hospital on a day the snow caused so many problems. I had an appointment at 10. 10 with an ENT consultant but also had to have blood tests and an x-ray for an unrelated matter. Despite my best efforts it took me until 9. 20 to reach the hospital and I did not expect to be able to have everything done or even that my consultant would have made it into work. I can honestly say that everyone I encountered that day was helpful and efficient. I checked in for my ENT appointment using your computer system, I completed my x ray by 9. 35 and had my blood taken by a trainee (who was very good as was her trainer) and was in the waiting room for my appointment my 10. 05. Everyone was courteous and kind, helpfully pointed out where I should go for each department and were very patient! I appreciate that the queues for xray and bloods were short due to the snow, but that doesn't detract from the support from the staff. More often than not people will write to complain, I wanted to thank your team for being so positive under difficult circumstances.

Visited in February 2018. Posted on 15 March 2018 using Care Opinion

Report as unsuitable

Review provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Steve Bruce, Patient Experience Manager, The Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust replied on 20 March 2018

Thank you for your kind words and understanding during the recent bad weather. It is great to hear that the staff looked after you and your treatment was carried out in as efficiently as possible. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Jane KH gave Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Excellent A&E staff

My experience at Ipswich A &E last Thursday evening was very efficient and as fast as I could expect . The member of staff was very impressive and had a reassuring manner and a professional one too. Thank you so much to such hard working staff. There was a high police presence which was reassuring as doctors had to cope with screaming ,violent patients.Total admiration for you all.

Visited in January 2018. Posted on 31 January 2018

Report as unsuitable

Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust replied on 02 February 2018

Thank you for your kind words, I will pass on your comments to the team in ED who will be thrilled to see how they made such a positive impact on your care. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

Susan Hill gave Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Impressed & reassured!!

Over the last few months my husband and I have been seen in three separate outpatient clinics. I am writing this review as we have been so impressed by the treatment we have received. Appointments have been on time; consultants have been articulate, caring and, in our view, well informed and professional. The system has been efficient and streamlined with nurses (all very pleasant) taking blood pressure and weight before we have been seen by the consultant. Results of blood tests done about a week before the outpatient appointments were all on the system. In the current climate of the NHS being in crisis? we feel very fortunate and reassured by our experience at Ipswich Hospital.

Thank you and best wishes
Susan & David Hill

Visited in January 2018. Posted on 05 February 2018

Report as unsuitable

Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust replied on 06 February 2018

Thank you for leaving your kind words regarding your care and treatment you have received during your visits to outpatients at Ipswich Hospital. I will make sure that the team see your kind words and how they had made such a positive in your experience. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

Wickham meerkat reviewed Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust

my experience as an inpatient

Very speedy, extensive, efficient, friendly, appropriate and successful treatment after midnight emergency admission -a week before Christmas. Thank you. And well done. But I thought the food was truly awful!

Visited in December 2017. Posted on 25 December 2017 using Care Opinion

Report as unsuitable

Review provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Steve Bruce, Patient Experience Manager, The Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust replied on 02 January 2018

Many thanks for your comments, I will make sure that they are passed on to the departments concerned. I hope you are continuing to make a speedy recovery.

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

RZM reviewed Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust

Automated appointments system

Your automated appointments system keeps phoning up until the phone is answered. It also phones in the evening when I get a lot of nuisance phone calls. This is actually very annoying, especially as the calling number is withheld. This means I can't use the phone to screen out nuisance phone calls simply by not answering them. Please stop your automated system from making repeated phone calls.

Visited in December 2017. Posted on 06 December 2017 using Care Opinion

Report as unsuitable

Review provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust replied on 13 December 2017

Thank you for your comments regarding the issues you have encountered with the automated appointments system, and I am sorry if this has caused you any inconvenience. I have passed your concerns onto the team who have taken them on board. At present they are looking at ways to ensure that the number is shown, therefore reducing the number of patients who don't take the call as they do not want nuisance calls. The system at present will call a patient 5 times if their is no answer. The team are reviewing if this is an acceptable number of times to call and your comments will used as part of the decision making process. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

KayM gave Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust a rating of 4 stars

Spinal surgery

My 82 year old mother had excellent care from the surgical team from her initial assessments to the operation and post op medical care. She was cared for excellently on ITU post op by caring staff.
However once she was transferred to martlesham Ward she was left in pain and given poor treatment by some unsympathetic nursing staff, who did not treat her well at all and caused her to become upset, she wanted to complain at the time but waited til she was discharged to let me know about it. This marred her experience and ought not to have done. I do not think the nursing staff in question would have liked their loved ones to be treated the way my mother was and it just isn’t good enough.

Visited in November 2017. Posted on 15 December 2017

Report as unsuitable

Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust replied on 19 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, I have spoken to the ward staff who would like to look into this further. For them to gain some more information can you please give me a call on 01473 702101 so I can pass your contact details onto the correct person. Many thanks Steve Bruce - Patient Experience Team.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Raedwald Day Surgery Unit

My husband recieved a root nerve injection today on Raedwald day surgery unit. From start to finish the service was seamless.
The receptionist, HCA, nurses, anaesthetist & consultant all made us feel welcome, comforted and well informed.
The unit is extremely clean and it is clear to see that it is well run.
I have to particularly praise the student nurse who was very competent and friendly, a great pleasure to see such a promising healthcare professional developing.
many thanks again and keep up the good work.
Date 10/11/17 (AM list).

Visited in November 2017. Posted on 10 November 2017

Report as unsuitable

Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust replied on 13 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind words about your husbands care and treatment on Raedwald Ward. I have passed your comment onto the team who will be thrilled to hear how they made such a positive impact for you both. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

nina gave Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Treatment after T.I.A

my husband lost power of speech earlier this month. from the paramedic who came to our home , the A&E dept and the rapid assessment unit he received the best care possible
being reassured at all times. after all tests we discovered he had experienced a minor stroke.
The doctors took time to explain what to look out for and what to do if any symptoms appeared,they answered all questions and made sure we understood what had happened.
At every department we visited for scans etc the staff were cheerful and friendly explaining what each test consisted of.
Although my husband has many more visits to the cardiac clinic as they keep track of his condition we are certain that we will get the best possible treatment from the doctor and their team and because of the friendliness of all staff we will not dread coming to the Ipswich Hospital

Visited in November 2017. Posted on 27 November 2017

Report as unsuitable

Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust replied on 29 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind words regarding your husbands treatment and care after a T.I.A. I will make sure that all departments concerned see your comments and I know they will be pleased to see how their actions had such a positive impact for both of you. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

john booth reviewed Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust

Going for a CT scan

Dear Chief Executive
I feel compelled to write to you to express my appreciation when l visited the Hospital CT Scanning Department. This Diagnostics Imaging Department has a very young nursing staff whom l found to be extremely pleasent, caring and friendly. They were also keen to explain the procedure taking place. This put my mind at ease and took away any anxiety l had.
I also found the cleanliness of the department was exceptional
I cannot praise these excellent young recruits enough providing excellent service in a very high tech department. Well done

Visited in September 2017. Posted on 26 September 2017 using Care Opinion

Report as unsuitable

Review provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust replied on 29 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your CT scan and the treatment you received. I will pass on your kind words to all mentioned and they will be thrilled to see how they made a difference to the experience and care you received. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable