University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust

0300 303 1573 University Hospitals of Leicester Headquarters, Level 3, Balmoral Building, Leicester Royal Infirmary, Infirmary Square , Leicester, Leicestershire, LE1 5WW
http://www.leicestershospitals.nhs.uk

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 20 ratings for this trust

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 20 ratings for this trust

Reviews

25 total

Anonymous reviewed University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust

Apauling service

We took my grandson who is 17 months of age to the A and E department at the LRI because we were concerned about his breathing and the noises he was making. We waited 3 hours to then be seen by a locum doctor that showed no interest to our concerns and without even checking him over or doing any observations said to my daughter it was viral. the doctor then asked her if she was a first time mum. Yes she is but I am a mum to 3 grown up children so I would like to think i have the experience to know when my grandson needs to be looked at as a matter of urgency. However the best was still yet to come and I nearly fell through the floor when the doctor asked my daughter where they could get takeaway food from? The doctor then sat at their computer and brought up the Just Eat website. I was absolutely disgusted. We then took my grandson to our gp service the following where he was diagnosed with croupe however he is still not well and once again we have tried to seek medical help without any satisfaction. If a locum doctor needs to find out where the nearest takeaway is they should be asking a colleague not a patient.

Visited in November 2017. Posted on 28 November 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust replied on 06 December 2017

Dear reviewer, thank you for tasking the time to leave a review for Children's Accident & Emergency at Leicester Royal Infirmary. We are most concerned with your comments and would be grateful if you would email communcations@uhl-tr.nhs.uk with your grandson's name, address, date of birth and we will forward your details and comments to the management team in that area in order that they can fully investigate and contact you directly with a response.

Your assistance will help improve our service to our patients. Your co-operation in this matter would be appreciated and we would like to apologise for the distress this incidence has caused. Best wishes, Communications Team, Leicester's Hospitals.

Report as unsuitable

Angry gave at University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust a rating of 1 stars

Horrendous treatment

My 70 year old mothers (whom has liver & bowel cancer) treatment on ward 8 was terrible. Her surgical team & a nurse being the exception in what was a traumatic visit. Not taken to the toilet even though she can not walk unaided. Left covered in masses of blood & my 70 old father told to clean her up. A bowl of urine was left in the toilet for two days which made the patients wretch. When asked for it to be cleared the response "not my job".My mother was left scared & felt she lost so much dignity. We saw staff smoking in the consulting room. When my father asked a member of staff for help they sat on their hands & swung around on their wheeled chair & did nothing . We will be taking this further.

Visited in November 2017. Posted on 30 November 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust has not yet replied.

Alisonegypt gave University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

THE PURELY AMAZING MR B

I recently had my Gall Bladder removed at Glenfield Hospital Ward 24.
My Surgeon was purely brilliant, i cannot thank them enough.
At every Out Patients Appointments i managed to see My Consultant.
They even turned up to do My ERCP Procedure, and removal of Bilary stent as well.
All the Nursing Staff on ward 24 at Glenfield Hospital were totally amazing.
Thank you also day case unit i and 2 at LGH for your wonderful care over the past 6 months.
Cannot leave without thanking the surgeon's Secretary, you are truly amazing as well.

Visited in October 2017. Posted on 12 October 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust replied on 13 October 2017

Dear Alison,

Thank you for sending in your review. We are delighted to hear that you are pleased with your experiences at both Glenfield Hospital and Leicester General Hospital. We hope that you are continuing to recover well following your procedures. Your kind messages will be sent on to the teams involved in your care and they will be thrilled to read them.

We would like to wish you all the very best.

Kind regards,
Communications Team
Leicester’s Hospitals

Report as unsuitable

Ann Williamson gave University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Was admmite in June with eonsinphilic asthma

The treatment I received whilst on the resporatory ward in June 2017 was excellent all the staff worked well as a team. I would give your hospital a 5 star rating. Yesterday I went to see the doctor who explained everything in detail and was so caring and professional. Their whole department run excellently as a team, again I would give them a 5 star rating. As far as I am concerned Glenfield hospital is the best in the country.

Visited in October 2017. Posted on 19 October 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust replied on 23 October 2017

Dear Ann,

Thank you very much for posting your comment. We are delighted to hear about the care provided to you by the team on the respiratory ward. We will pass on your feedback to the team where it will be much appreciated, especially the comment that they are the best in the country. We hope you are doing well.

Kind regards,

Communications Team
Leicester's Hospitals

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

thank you

just like to send a note to all the staff at the .a.e dept and doctors ect that came to Carole,s aid on Monday morning if it was not for the Ambulance team and staff Carole would not have made it and also the staff on ward 16 that then took over with her care.you are al very wonderful people.she has since been moved to Glenfeield hospital and is doing very well, there was so many of you saying wish you well and hope all goes well.now you know she is so much better after the care you gave her .Thank you all once again.
roger.carole also says thank you all xxxxxxxx
thank you all at the Glenfeild hospital wards 16 and hdu for the care that you are giving Carole so as to aid her recovery.

Visited in September 2017. Posted on 06 September 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust replied on 14 September 2017

Dear Roger,

Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback. We are sorry to hear that Carole has been admitted to hospital but are happy to hear you are pleased with the care Carole has received at Leicester Royal Infirmary Accident & Emergency and Ward 16; and subsequently HDU at Glenfield Hospital. We would like to pass on our very best to both Carole and yourself and we will make sure to send your message of thanks to all of the relevant departments who will be delighted to receive it.

Best wishes,
The Communications Team
Leicester’s Hospitals

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous reviewed University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust

ERCP UHL

I have had two ERCP at LGH .
The first procedure was aborted half way through due to patient distress .as the IV diazepam did not sedate me what so ever.
I had to return 6 weeks later for the same procedure to be done under profol.
I had a sphinectony and the placement of a plastic stent fitted into the bile duct.
7 weeks post Lapcholy I have to return to the hospital tomorrow for removal of stent via ercp but with liight sedation .
I have told them then that the procedure will be aborted again due to the sedation not being enough to relax me I have rang at least 6 times to state that I will need the procedure done under profol but nobody is listening to the Patient in my case.
In this case patient centred care is just not happening no decisions made about me without me in my case nobody is listening.
But apart from this utterly excellent care .
But please listen to your Patients nobody knows their own body more but the patient themselves.

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 08 October 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust replied on 13 October 2017

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you have been having trouble receiving a response from the Gastroenterology department at Leicester General Hospital to your sedation query. In order for us to look into this for you, we will require some additional information from you. If you are happy to, please email communications@uhl-tr.nhs.uk with your full name, address, date of birth, hospital number, procedure date(s) and a brief summary of your query and we can investigate this further.

Kind regards,
Communications Team
Leicester’s Hospitals

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust a rating of 1 stars

Doctor forgot they had a clinic

Was visiting this hospital for my dysautonomia a few months ago and this place was terrible. My first few appointments were alwright and I felt like the doctor genuinely care. At my last appointment my doctor forgot they had a clinic and didn’t turn up for an hour and a half. There were ten patients waiting. Nurses couldn’t even seem to cary out the most basic tasks and seemed unable to communicate with each other. I was told they had done a echocardiogram which they hadn’t and when I said it hadn’t been done they didn’t believe me. Didn’t even get to see the doctor because the doctor forgot they had a clinic. So saw the registrar who said ‘the doctor wouldn’t leave me like this’ and then proceed to dismiss me despite the fact my blood pressure halves evey time a stand up and they had proof of this. Kept offering me mental help and even though I said I didn’t want any the doctor referred me!

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 20 October 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust replied on 24 October 2017

Dear Reviewer,

We're really sorry to hear about your recent experience. In order for us to investigate this further, please would you be able to email: communications@uhl-tr.nhs.uk with your name, address, date of birth and hospital number and let us know which clinic and which hospital you were seen at. This will help us look into your query in more detail.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards

Communications Team
Leicester's Hospitals

Report as unsuitable

Jan Smith reviewed University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust

Good when you can find it!

I transported a friend to emergency at LRI on Saturday last. The signage was dire - I followed the signs for A&E and saw a sign pointing back the way I had come on a one way street. I asked for help from a warden and drove round the block and had to cut across a bus lane to access the hospital. I was able to drop my friend at Emergency and she was dealt with very efficiently and extremely well but the nearest blue badge parking was Havelock Street which was much too far away for me to walk. Had I been on my own I don't know what I would have done.
I suggest the old signs should be removed and replaced with new ones which are early enough to be useful.
There should be some disabled parking at the new Emergency department.
It should be made clear that you can use the bus lane to access the hospital.

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 14 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust replied on 16 August 2017

Dear Jan,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.
We're really sorry to hear that you had difficulty finding out Emergency Department at the Royal Infirmary. Signage is still under review and we take on board your comments which will be forwarded on to the appropriate teams.
Thank you for raising this to our attention.
Kind regards
Communications Team
Leicester's Hospitals

Report as unsuitable

Response provided by:

Care Opinion Logo

Tanya gave Diabetic Medicine at University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

No wait time at all very efficient service

Was seen by a consultant for my initial consultation and an SHO for the follow up appointment; both times there was virtually no waiting. At the follow up appointment I was seen the moment I walked into the clinic. Highly efficient service with friendly staff and competent professionals, very impressed.

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 24 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust replied on 30 August 2017

Dear Tanya,

Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with your recent experience in Diabetic Medicine. You kind comments will be passed on to the department who will be very appreciative.

Best wishes,
Communications Team
Leicester's Hospitals

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Fine staff and good treatment

I was discharged last Sunday from Ward 22 at the LRI following major bowel surgery. I cannot speak too highly of the care I received from all the staff--medical, nursing and ancillary. They all coped with the extreme heat wave we had and kept us all as cool as possible. Yes, there were times when a few language problems occurred, and , yes, not all staff were equally as good, but overall I am more than pleased with the service I was given--save for one thing only! The quality of NHS cuisine remains appallingly low and poor in choice--why, for example the nasty yoghurts with no ice cream as an alternative, while much of the fish tastes as if it left the Ark before Noah! That apart, well done to one and all--you looked after me with patience and dignity and were there when needed--and I will admit I was not always an easy patient.

Visited in June 2017. Posted on 25 June 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospitals Of Leicester NHS Trust replied on 27 June 2017

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted to hear about the care you received. We are, however, sorry to hear about your concerns regarding the food. We will pass on your feedback to the teams involved who will take on board your comments so that we can improve our service for the future.

Kind regards,

Communications Team
Leicester's Hospitals

Report as unsuitable