University Hospital Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust

0121 627 2000 Trust Headquarters, University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust, Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham, Mindelsohn Way, Edgbaston , Birmingham, West Midlands, B15 2GW
http://www.uhb.nhs.uk

2.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 4 ratings for this trust

2.5 Stars

2.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 4 ratings for this trust

Reviews

7 total

  • Page 1 of 1

Anonymous gave University Hospital Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 2 stars

Unacceptable wait in Haematuria clinic of 1 1/2 hours

When you have an appointment at 9.45am you do not want to be waiting an hour and a half after the appointment time to be seen. Only 4 people were seen before me, and I only took 10 minutes to have bloods and urine and fiorm filled in, then was straight into scan.. Good help thise whose appointments were later in the day. Someone needs to organise this better. And there was no water available to drink, I was advised I could purchase some from a vending machine, I thought it was a basic right to drinking water especially in this unit were most people are having to supply urine samples!

Visited in September 2017. Posted on 04 September 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospital Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust replied on 05 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. We are sorry to hear about the concerns you have regarding your recent visit to the Haematuria Clinic. The senior staff responsible for the clinic are keen to listen to your concerns in more detail so that they can investigate what has gone wrong and take any necessary action. If you are happy to do this please make contact via the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS). PALS are here to help and can be contacted by phone 0121 371 4400, by email PALS@uhb.nhs.uk, via the hospital website www.uhb.nhs.uk/pals-form or in person by dropping in between 9am – 5pm (Mon-Fri) to the PALS office located near the Information Desk in the main entrance of the new Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham.

Report as unsuitable

Marion reviewed University Hospital Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust

Ambulatory Care Unit

All the staff have been professional and caring. They are a credit to the hospital and I can only speak highly of them. The hospital was always clean and staff followed "hygiene to the letter" Food excellent and plenty of choice. I cannot fault the care and attention I received on the Ambulatory Care Unit during my stay even when it was busy and the staff had so much to do standards was kept and they went that extra mile to make sure you were comfortable and supported. Thank you.

Visited in April 2017. Posted on 11 April 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospital Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust replied on 12 April 2017

Marion, thank you for taking the time to feedback about your experience of Ambulatory Care at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. We are delighted to hear that staff went that extra mile to make sure you were comfortable and supported. Your kind words have been forwarded to the senior staff so they can share with their teams. Feedback like this is greatly valued as staff love to hear they have made such a positive difference.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave University Hospital Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 1 stars

HIV testing

Disappointing to hear that the Trust has decided to stop funding postal hiv tests. If only the GUM facilities had the capacity and availability to deal with the volume of clients!

As a city with over 1 million residents I can't see how the Trust think that this small saving is going to be cost effective. Surely it's better that people test themselves than fail to test themselves. What a narrow and small minded view for a short term financial gain which will cost ten fold in the future on treatment rather than prevention.

Visited in February 2017. Posted on 27 February 2017

Report as unsuitable

University Hospital Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust replied on 03 March 2017

Thank you for sharing your concerns about the HIV postal testing service provided by the Umbrella Sexual Health Service (part of University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust). Your comments were forwarded to the senior team responsible for this service, they have provided this response:

Testing for HIV forms one of the core objectives of the Umbrella sexual health service and as part of this STI self-sampling kits are freely available to Birmingham and Solihull residents aged 16 or over.
Self-sampling kits can be ordered online at www.umbrellahealth.co.uk for delivery direct to your home address or to an Umbrella pharmacist for collection.
Umbrella is committed to reducing rates of late diagnosis of HIV and has put in place a series of robust measures to increase opportunities for testing both within its clinics, at GP surgeries, through pharmacies and through its website.


We hope this resolves your concerns, if you need further advice or information please make contact via the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS). PALS are here to help and can be contacted by phone 0121 371 4400, by email PALS@uhb.nhs.uk, via the hospital website www.uhb.nhs.uk/pals-form or in person by dropping in between 9am – 5pm (Mon-Fri) to the PALS office located near the Information Desk in the main entrance of the new Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous reviewed University Hospital Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust

Worst car parking facilities compared to any other hospital

Worst car parking. The hospital doesn't have enough spaces for staff and patients. We waited 2 hrs for a space and there were people in the queue who were doctors and nurses waiting to start shifts. Shows the amount of respect they have for staff.

Visited in August 2016. Posted on 21 September 2016

Report as unsuitable

University Hospital Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust replied on 30 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about car parking at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. We are very sorry that you experienced difficulty in parking and that this caused you a considerable delay. We work very closely with our car park provider Q-Park to ensure there are sufficient car parking spaces for visitors and patients. This includes monitoring patient activity to anticipate car parking demand and if necessary creating additional temporary visitor spaces, as well as making better use of available staff and visitor spaces throughout the day.

We also continue to review opportunities to create more staff parking and have recently invested in an off-site Park & Ride facility to ensure staff have access to sufficient car parking spaces. We also encourage staff, patients and visitors to use public transport where possible, although we fully appreciate this isn’t an option for everyone. If you need any further information or would like to discuss your concerns in more detail please get in touch via the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS). PALS are here to help and can be contacted by phone 0121 371 4400, by email PALS@uhb.nhs.uk, via the hospital website www.uhb.nhs.uk/pals-form or in person by dropping in between 9am – 5pm (Mon-Fri) to the PALS office located near the Information Desk in the main entrance of the new Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave at University Hospital Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 5 stars

Day surgery

One of the nicest experiences I've had. Staff really made a huge effort super friendly. I felt really comfortable from start to finish and listened to which is rare in my experience.
Great staff!

Visited in May 2016. Posted on 20 May 2016

Report as unsuitable

University Hospital Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust replied on 26 May 2016

Thank you for taking the time to feedback about the care and treatment you have received at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. We are delighted to hear that you had such a positive experience which made you feel comfortable and listened to . We have shared your kind words directly with the teams who have cared for you as it is very satisfying for staff to hear they have made such a difference to patients.

If you would like to provide any further feedback about your experience please visit the hospital webpage www.uhb.nhs.uk/yourviews

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave at University Hospital Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 2 stars

Not happy how they dealt with my daughter

My daughter out of character got drunk on Friday evening and was not treated with any compassion by a nurse - she had split her head open and felt very dizzy but that did not matter to the nurse concerned they told her to get of the bed and sit in reception - surely when someone has a head injury the nurse should have made sure she was safe but no not this nurse - we all understand that the NHS is under pressure but surely the nurse should have put my daughters safety first but NO they did not.

Visited in October 2015. Posted on 03 November 2015

Report as unsuitable

University Hospital Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust replied on 19 November 2015

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your daughters experience at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. Please accept our apologies for the delay in responding to you. We are very sorry to hear about her experience as we aim to treat all patients with compassion. The Senior Sister responsible for the area that treated your daughter is keen to discuss what happened in more detail to establish what happened and take any necessary action.

If you are happy to discuss your concerns with us directly please make contact via the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) who will be pleased to arrange this. PALS can be contacted by phone 0121 371 3280, by email PALS@uhb.nhs.uk, via the hospital website www.uhb.nhs.uk/pals-form or in person by dropping in between 9am – 5pm (Mon-Fri) to the PALS office located near the Information Desk in the main entrance of the new Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave University Hospital Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 2 stars

I couldn't go in with my partner

My partner went to have her breasts examined by a doctor and to have an ultrasound and she wanted me to go with her but they said that no males are aloud in the room when the patient is having an exam. Why cant a male go in with his partner while she is being examined by a male doctor.

Visited in August 2015. Posted on 05 January 2016

Report as unsuitable

University Hospital Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust replied on 22 January 2016

We are very sorry to hear that you and your partner experienced problems whilst attending the Breast Clinic at the Birmingham Women’s Hospital, we are responding to your post as this clinic is managed by the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. We understand how frustrating this must have been for you and senior staff responsible for this area are keen to speak to you directly to understand more about what happened. If you are happy to discuss this with us directly please make contact as soon as possible via the Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) who will be pleased to put you in touch with the relevant senior staff.

PALS can be contacted by phone 0121 371 3280, by email PALS@uhb.nhs.uk, via the hospital website www.uhb.nhs.uk/pals-form or in person by dropping in between 9am – 5pm (Mon-Fri) to the PALS office located near the Information Desk in the main entrance of the new Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham

Report as unsuitable

  • Page 1 of 1