Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust

01905 763 333 Worcestershire Royal Hospital, Charles Hastings Way , Worcester, Worcestershire, WR5 1DD
http://www.worcsacute.nhs.uk

3.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 16 ratings for this trust

3.5 Stars

3.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 16 ratings for this trust

Reviews

16 total

Anonymous gave Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Ambulatory Care Unit

Today I have received outstanding service at the ACU in Worcester and the main reason that this part of the hospital differs from other areas I've experienced is the communication.

I knew from the moment I was seen exactly what tests would be done, when and what to expect next as a result of those tests. I was also given an expected timeframe of how long i would be there. I was constantly updated which made my time there so much better.

Well done

Visited in September 2017. Posted on 01 September 2017

Report as unsuitable

Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust has not yet replied.

Tara gave Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Thank you for the speed and care of my treatment

I was sent by my gp's to MAU after nearly collapsing at work. The nurse practioner was concerned about a clot on my lung. Within about two hours I had been diagnosed with heart failure at the age of 46!
I was then sent onto Laurel Suite for six days.
The staff there were absolutely amazing. They went the extra mile to look after me and the other patients in their care. They helped to explain things to me and took the time to care even though they were rushed off their feet.
Whilst there for the six days I lost one stone in weight (fluid build up in my lungs and legs). I was also once again able to breathe whilst talking and walk from one room to another without having to stop!
I am now waiting to have a pacemaker fitted and looking forward to being able to walk my huskies again!
Thank you to everyone involved, the nurses, the dr's, the volunteer and the scanning people (and anyone else I'm missing out) You got me through a very scary situation easily and really did take care of me xxx

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 11 September 2017

Report as unsuitable

Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust has not yet replied.

Mrs B gave Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Physio

Just finished another round of physio and hydro + acupuncture.The team have kept me ticking over after a sequence of surgeries for hips, foot, ankle and helped with my rheumatoid and osteoarthritis, they do it with patience, humour kindness and professionalism, fantastic, thank you all.

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 06 October 2017

Report as unsuitable

Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust has not yet replied.

Tom Blumer gave Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

A&E and beyond.

I was admitted to A&E by arrangement with Tenbury Hospital, on Friday 14/07/2017 at approx. 22.00 hrs, following a series of heavy nosebleeds which showed no signs of stopping.

I was treated. by medical staff and was temporarily discharged after bloods had been taken and the bleeding had stopped at approx. 2.15 hrs.
I was advised that I would be contacted by a member of ENT dept the following day.

The doctor rang am on Saturday and arranged for me to be re-admitted on Sunday at 11.00hrs. when they carried out cauterisation procedures which appear to have solved the problem.

Everything happened efficiently and seamlessly and I would like to express my sincere gratitude for the quality of service and care which I received and the high level of professionalism with which my case was progressed.
Particular thanks to my doctor from ENT who explained what the4y were doing and why in terms which I could understand.

Please pass on my comments and sincere thanks to all concerned.

Kind regards

Tom Blumer

Visited in July 2017. Posted on 18 July 2017

Report as unsuitable

Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Cardiac Catherterisation Suite

I am posting this review on behalf of my husband who had an angiogram at Worcester Hospital today. He would like to say that the care and attention he received was fantastic and the staff were brilliant

Visited in June 2017. Posted on 05 June 2017

Report as unsuitable

Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust has not yet replied.

Susan smith gave at Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 4 stars

4 day stay on Beech ward

Admitted to Beech ward via A&E and I can't fault the nurses who cared for me - very attentive. Staff Nurse was very caring and happy to listen to my worries and re-assured me - all nurses made a scary horrible experience very bearable

Visited in June 2017. Posted on 27 June 2017

Report as unsuitable

Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 2 stars

A & E experience with our special needs grandson

We recently attended the A&E dept with our 5 year old grandson after he'd sustained a facial injury as he was coming out of school. He has cerebral palsy and autism - I have no doubt that this should be fully obvious from his medical notes. Because he struggles with strange places, noises and people our daughter asked us to meet to them there as he is prone to outbursts resulting in him running away (then falling because of his mobility problems) He can also appear unresponsive to requests so it's often easier for her to have someone else on hand to help.
I accompanied my g/son and daughter to see the triage nurse soon after we arrived, the nurse appeared to think that he was being naughty because he wouldn't let them take the plaster off and his practice of touching items in the room (part of his autistic behavour) seemed to annoy them further even though my daughter took the plaster off herself and I sat with him on my lap so they could examine the injury and apply another plaster. We were asked to go back into a play area/waiting room for children which I was actually really impressed with - the wall activities, books, games etc were a great distraction for the children waiting to be seen and both doors were securely locked for their safety. I do wonder though that once we were shut away in there we were forgotten about - this seemed to be the general feeling of the other parents and grandparents in the room. After another 2 1/2 hours I went to reception to ask how much longer we might have to wait. The staff member seemed unconcerned about the length of our waiting time - I wasn't rude when I asked and when I explained that he had special needs they just shrugged their shoulders! They did say he would be seen next but didn't know how long that would be. Eventually, he was seen by a pediatric nurse - this time my husband went into the treatment room with my daughter and g/son who by now was feeling very sore, tired, hungry and fed up ( it was 9.20pm!) . The nurse seemed abrupt, unsympathetic and when our g/son refused to let them look at the injury snapped at my daughter "well if he doesn't show me now you'll just have to come back again tomorrow!" Not the kind of caring attitude they were expecting. Eventually they did manage to change the plaster yet again stating that they thought it would be okay but to come back tomorrow if they were
worried (about what if it was deemed to be okay!!). As they were leaving the room the nurse was heard to say out loud "oh my oh my." This was just the last straw of un -professional behavour witnessed that night. Busy and overstretched the staff may be yet a huddle of several staff were seen by us all in that department, that night chatting and laughing together for more than a few minutes! So different to how it used to be a few years ago I'm sorry to say.

Visited in June 2017. Posted on 27 June 2017

Report as unsuitable

Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Bariatric team Worcester

Fantastic bariatric nurses and dietician specialists. A real credit to the NHS Worcester. Very very caring and professional.

Visited in June 2017. Posted on 06 July 2017

Report as unsuitable

Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 5 stars

Breast surgery team

All of the staff at the Worcester Haven and in the surgical ward at Kidderminster have been very caring and helpful through the time I have been going since my diagnosis in January. In particular, I would like to thank the breast care nurse, who always goes out of their way to be informative, helpful and supportive.

Visited in April 2017. Posted on 24 April 2017

Report as unsuitable

Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust replied on 24 May 2017

Thank you so much for your kind comments; we're really pleased to hear about your positive experience of the care you are receiving. We will share this with the staff concerned. Your feedback will be greatly appreciated.
Best wishes

Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust a rating of 1 stars

Never again

Saw two practitioners today neither of whom could contribute any diagnostic information. Although I had bloods done before appt they were not back so could not inform consultation. A good idea that could work with a bit more organisation,

Next appt in 5 months. Unbelieveable. I'll donate that appt to someone else.

Dissatisfaction compounded by abrupt attitude on part of one of the practioners.

Visited in March 2017. Posted on 30 March 2017

Report as unsuitable

Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust has not yet replied.