Countess Of Chester Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

01244 365 000 The Countess Of Chester Health Park , Chester, Cheshire, CH2 1UL
http://www.coch.nhs.uk

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 13 ratings for this trust

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 13 ratings for this trust

Reviews

14 total

Anonymous gave Countess Of Chester Hospital NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 5 stars

Stroke I thought was flu

I felt unwell and thought it was flu. My daughter rang 999 and a paramedic turned up 7-8 minutes later and took me straight to A&E where I was dealt with quickly and accurately, all the time being reassured by nurses and the paramedic. I was taken straight to a ward and all sorts of tests were done and I was told I had had a stroke. I was treated very well for several days with a cardiogram, an MRI and numerous other tests. At all times the nurses and Drs were professional, thoughtful and kind. They treated me but remembered I was someone who was normal and was experiencing something a little bit shocking. I appreciate that this is not a Nuffield or other drowning in money private place but with what they have they did a very good job.

Visited in November 2017. Posted on 27 November 2017

Report as unsuitable

Countess Of Chester Hospital NHS Foundation Trust has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Countess Of Chester Hospital NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 1 stars

Provision at A and E Chester countess

Having been advised by NHS direct to get my husband to a and E within 2 hours , I duly brought him to and e . He was booked in at 10.20 .
The waiting area was filthy and the toilet seats covered in excrement.
The staff were rude and dismissive and an embarrassment to public sector workers .
From 10.30 pm to 3.00 am 6 patients were seen whilst we sat and waited . The operational function of seeing both critical emergency and what is classed as minor injuries by the same teams is a ridiculous method and system causing enormous stress and anxiety . This service is appalling . I am totally shocked at such a huge shortage of staff or lack of urgency . I would and should be able to expect more from a public healthcare .
As a public sector worker myself , I would be appalled if this was the service we offered at a time of distress .
Staff need to take a course on customer comfort care and service , along with management and leadership addressing the woeful provision . The response that was given about being minor was offensive . If it was minor we would not have considered coming to A and E .

Visited in September 2017. Posted on 12 September 2017

Report as unsuitable

Countess Of Chester Hospital NHS Foundation Trust replied on 14 September 2017

I am really sorry that you have had this negative and clearly very upsetting experience at your visit to the Emergency Department at the Countess of Chester Hospital NHS FT. The Trust takes all feedback very seriously in order to learn lessons and ensure that our care and services are of the highest standard possible. If you would like to contact the Patient Experience Team on 01244 366066, we can take some more details from you in order to investigate the issues you have raised.

Report as unsuitable

Louisa Saunders gave Countess Of Chester Hospital NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 5 stars

Excellent Care

I attended the A&E Department at The Countess of Chester on Sat 19th August.
The department seemed exceptionally busy
The process from the nurse who initially saw me through to the Dr who assessed me was efficient and thorough and I was treated with kindness, courtesy and respect throughout my stay by everyone. I felt I was given skilled care in very difficult circumstances and would like to applaud the NHS and particularly those who were involved in my care. Thank you so much

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 26 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

Countess Of Chester Hospital NHS Foundation Trust replied on 14 September 2017

Thank you very much for your kind comments which will be shared with the staff in the Emergency Department.

Report as unsuitable

Mary F-S gave Countess Of Chester Hospital NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 5 stars

A&E/Stroke/Radiology teams worked together & saved my son

My 21 year old son suddenly became unwell and drifted into unconsciousness ... the paramedic car and ambulance arrived quickly and identified he was having some kind of stroke, he had all the signs, facial drooping, arm weakness, speech difficulties.
They got him to hospital quickly and when we got to COCH, we were met by the A&E & Stroke Unit teams who worked seamlessly with the Radiology department to diagnose a stroke caused by an incredibly rare Vertebral Artery Dissection. Its a flap-like tear in the inner lining of the vertebral artery, which is located in the neck and supplies blood to the brain. They were within the 4.5 hour window to give him thrombolysis.
Fortunately, his speech came back, slowly the movement of his head and arms came back (he had been paralysed from the neck down).
There are no words to express how incredibly grateful we are to them all.

Visited in July 2017. Posted on 04 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

Countess Of Chester Hospital NHS Foundation Trust replied on 14 September 2017

Thank you very much for such lovely feedback after what must have been a very frightening experience for you and your family. I will ensure this is shared with the staff in the department and I hope your son is continuing to make a good recovery

Report as unsuitable

Chloe gave Countess Of Chester Hospital NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 5 stars

Amazing care and compassion

I took my daughter to A&E as she had a rash that didn't disappear. I was taken to the children's ward on the 27th of June. My daughter had numerous blood tests and monitored so carefully with the amazing care given from all of the nurses and doctors. They have followed up with her after discharge and booked follow up appointments in the future. They were compassionate and cared for my emotional state as well as my daughter's health. Not enough positive feedback is given to the NHS and the amazing care that they provide. It says on here that I am not aloud to put individual names as I made sure I wrote all of your names down, but i can only say thank you too all staff on ward 30 children's unit at the Countess of Chester Hospital you are all amazing. Xxx

Visited in June 2017. Posted on 03 July 2017

Report as unsuitable

Countess Of Chester Hospital NHS Foundation Trust has not yet replied.

susan godfrey gave Countess Of Chester Hospital NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 1 stars

a disgusted patient

.I was sent by my doctor yesterday to the sac unit ward 46 with grumbling appendicitis at 11.30 I was assesed my obbs done we had to wait in a seated area I then saw a docter at 4 who said could I go back to the seated aeea they needed a second opinion we sat there another 5 hours no one came and gave us any information as to what was happening I had not eaten or drank anything for 25 hrs as I suffer with anxiety and depression this was appaling way to be treated so my husband and I walked out as did 3 other patience the system they have is very poor

Visited in March 2017. Posted on 08 March 2017

Report as unsuitable

Countess Of Chester Hospital NHS Foundation Trust has not yet replied.

Sharon steadman gave Countess Of Chester Hospital NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 5 stars

Breast care

Had a mid afternoon appointment,I was early but was seen straight away,receptionist was very friendly which makes you feel relaxed in an anxious mood.when I went in to see the consultant, who was so lovely warm and friendly. what started out as a nervous day ended up as a very reassured professional day.thank you so much to the consultant and your team and wonderful humour.

Visited in March 2017. Posted on 20 March 2017

Report as unsuitable

Countess Of Chester Hospital NHS Foundation Trust has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Countess Of Chester Hospital NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 5 stars

excellent care

Can't fault the service we received from maternity, outpatients and OOH Gp thank you

Visited in February 2017. Posted on 11 February 2017

Report as unsuitable

Countess Of Chester Hospital NHS Foundation Trust has not yet replied.

Anonymous reviewed Countess Of Chester Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Out of hours miss diagnosis.of an infant condition

On saturday 26th november .i took my 10 month old son shahan to be looked at. He had a terrible raised rash over his whole body. I was told by out of hours that it was a teething rash...today 28th i returned to my own doctor to be told its impetigo a highly contagious condition, both my self and other children have been put at risk .i am extremely unhappy with the service and the way myself and family have been put at risk unnessasarly.

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 28 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Countess Of Chester Hospital NHS Foundation Trust has not yet replied.

AndyS gave Countess Of Chester Hospital NHS Foundation Trust a rating of 5 stars

5 Star! Trip Advisor Review if possible.

Our daughter is a regular user of the NHS and we, in common with many families, I expect, fail to recognise or acknowledge the clinical excellence we receive. Our daughter, Hanna was admitted to the Countess Friday last on the advice of her rhumatologist. The team in acute medical assessment worked to diagnosed and stabilise her conditions for several hours and we apologies for her disproportionate use of resources. Daily medical practitioners and clinicians make life critical decisions and often their efforts are simply accepted as normal practice in the "West".
We are privileged in the UK to recieve top quality critical care and there's a reason why the Countess stands out in Hospital rankings, it's the staff. Many are over worked, some doubtless underpaid but daily we rely on them. Everyone acknowledges the great work of the Special Care Baby Unit but the Countess is a team, committed to delivering top quality critical care, for which we thank them. Please ensure all those associated with our daughters continued care receive the recognition they so richly deserve.
Andy Spencer
Father of Hanna Asanger

Visited in June 2016. Posted on 14 June 2016

Report as unsuitable

Countess Of Chester Hospital NHS Foundation Trust has not yet replied.