Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust

01273 696955 Royal Sussex County Hospital, Eastern Road , Brighton, East Sussex, BN2 5BE

4.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 14 ratings for this trust


Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals (BSUH) is an acute teaching hospital working across two main sites:

  • Royal Sussex County Hospital in Brighton
  • Princess Royal Hospital in Haywards Heath.

The Brighton campus includes the Royal Alexandra Children’s Hospital and the Sussex Eye Hospital and is also the Major Trauma Centre for the region.

We provide district general hospital services to our local populations in and around the Brighton and Hove, Mid Sussex and the western part of East Sussex and more specialised and tertiary services for patients across Sussex and the south east of England.

Both hospitals provide many of the same acute services for their local populations. In addition, the Princess Royal is our centre for elective surgery and the Royal Sussex County Hospital is our centre for emergency and tertiary care. Our specialised and tertiary services include neurosciences, arterial vascular surgery, neonatal, paediatrics, cardiac, cancer, renal, infectious diseases and HIV medicine. 

In addition to our two main hospitals sites we also provide services at Brighton General Hospital, Hove Polyclinic, Lewes Victoria Hospital, the Park Centre for Breast Care, Bexhill Haemodialysis Satellite Unit, Worthing Dialysis Satellite Unit, Newhaven Ward  and Eastbourne Radiotherapy Unit.


Latest reviews of this trust

Exemplary care levels in an extremely busy hospital

I was admitted to the Royal Sussex back in February following a traumatic fall from my horse that resulted in the partial degloving of my...

31 May 2019


Good morning I would like this email to go to the Senior Management team and also the Brighton Cancer Centre. I begun to have some c...

15 January 2019

Thank you for saving my life

I was brought in to the Cardiac Unit by emergency ambulance at 85 mph with full blues and twos in the afternoon of Sunday 11 November. M...

15 November 2018

Bad communication between the MHT while partner was admitted

Cannot go into the specifics but I’m in the process of marking a formal complaint. Bad communication. Relevant information wasn’t a...

10 November 2018

eurosurgery consultant

This morning I had a consultation with a consultant from the Dept of Neurosurgery. Over the last decade I have had very many consultatio...

14 September 2018

Last updated on 09 April 2019.

Information supplied by Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust