Essex County Hospital

01206 747474 Lexden Road , Colchester, Essex, CO3 3NB
http://www.colchesterhospital.nhs.uk

3.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 38 ratings for this hospital

3.5 Stars

3.5 out of 5 stars

NHS.UK user rating
Based on 38 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4 out of 5 stars

(34 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(34 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(34 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(33 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(19 ratings)

Reviews

44 total

Anonymous gave Essex County Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Sunday before Xmas to the AandE assessment ward

I had been suffering with the popular cold going it’s rounds, dosed myself up and kept warm in bed. However when I woke up on Sunday teatime I was having a job to get my breath. I realised I needed help and dialled 999. Within 5 mins the paramedics were there giving me immediate relief. They contacted my sons and took me off to Colchester Hospital. They were absolute gentleman and I was so grateful for their kindness. In A and E I met with the same. I received thorough checks and consideration for me,
I was able to go home to one of my sons, with the necessary pills to clear my infection and a check that I had transport available. Thank you every one of you

Visited in December 2018. Posted on 04 January 2019

Report as unsuitable

Essex County Hospital replied on 09 January 2019

Thank you for leaving your kind words, I will make sure that your kind words are passed onto the all teams concerned who will be thrilled to read how they had such a positive impact on your care. I hope you are continuing to make a good recovery. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

Tony Gale gave Ophthalmology at Essex County Hospital a rating of 5 stars

EXCELLENT EYE CLINIC

I have had two operations for a detached retina plus a further operation for the consequential cataract. I am now just waiting for the cataract operation on the other eye. I would just like to say that the professionalism and friendliness of the whole team at the Essex County Hospital Eye Clinic is second to none. They work seamlessly as a team to provide the care their patients need and to save the precious sight of those patients. I cannot thank them enough.

In the move to the Colchester Primary Care Unit, I hope that they are keeping this amazing team together and that they are getting the very best of up to date facilities so that they can continue the legacy of excellence from when they were operating at Essex County Hospital.

My sincere thanks to the whole team.

Visited in November 2018. Posted on 09 January 2019

Report as unsuitable

Essex County Hospital replied on 10 January 2019

Many thanks for your kind words, I will make sure they are passed onto the Ophthalmology team who will be providing the same level of service from their new home. Many thanks.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Ophthalmology at Essex County Hospital a rating of 1 stars

British Medicine is below standard

Went for an eye appt, actually spent hardly 12 minutes with some consultations , five for optometry, a minute each for vision test and scan ? Told picture , and seeing the clinician for five minutes but total time spent waiting over 90 minutes, clinician gave a warning as soon as I enter that if nothing abnormal found I will be discharged on next app. He quickly did see inside my eyes thro equipment and said at present no glaucoma , that’s it and nearer the time will get an appt , why my glaucoma was alright what was the pressure , optometry ? , scan ? no comment , never asked if I have any symptoms or indicated when will be my next appt, said I have cataracts but was it matured , how cataract looked , no comment , if I not happy then go to GP , I think part time consultants will be happy to see more pt.s in their private clinics, and hospital which has changed its name several times is not same as used to be, has more administrations , rtd consultants holding wise advisor posts but patient care is very bad, once read in the past if fall ill in USA go back to U.K. , now in U.K. best don’t fall ill. But no prevention measures for glaucoma. Didn’t see many patients in clinic , saw more nurses moving around avoiding eye contact looking special , more in number than patients,

Visited in October 2018. Posted on 31 October 2018

Report as unsuitable

Essex County Hospital replied on 05 November 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, I will make sure they are passed onto the ophthalmology team for their attention. I am sorry that the care you received was not as expected and we would like to look into your comments further but require some more information, could you please give me a call at your convenience on 01473 702101. Many thanks Steve Bruce Patient Experience Team

Report as unsuitable

Pete Phillips gave Ophthalmology at Essex County Hospital a rating of 5 stars

I would recomend it

I had a cataract extraction along with an intraocular lens implant and a Human Iris Optic Iris implant and I can't praise the skills of the surgeon and the care I received highly enough. It was all done under local anesthetic and I was in and out in less than half a day. Both me and my optician have been amazed at the improvement in my vision.

In the run up to the operation there were a number of appointments and quite a bit of waiting around and being moved from one place to another but I think that is part and parcel of the large of resouces that the NHS currently have rather then lack of dedication or care of all those involved.

I can't in all honesty say that the operation itself was not an uncomfortable experience but given the improvement in my sight I would do it all again it needed.

Visited in October 2018. Posted on 22 November 2018

Report as unsuitable

Essex County Hospital replied on 30 November 2018

Thank you for leaving your kind words, I will make sure they are passed onto the team Ophthalmology team who will be thrilled to see who their actions has had such a positive impact on your sight. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

Ivan Joseph gave Ophthalmology at Essex County Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Cataract Surgery

I attended Essex County Hospital Ophthalmology department for Cataract Surgery yesterday, I cannot praise highly enough the professionalism, efficiency and care of the nursing staff and the skill of the surgeon, they worked seamlessly as a team and the whole experience was made virtually stress free and painless. I received my follow up appointment the very next day in the post which would put most commercial enterprises to shame. My wife and I have had cause to attend a number of department in the Colchester Hospital's over the years and never had cause for complaint, the moaners always get the publicity which they seek, most of whom would find a reason to complain even if they won the lottery!

Visited in September 2018. Posted on 21 September 2018

Report as unsuitable

Essex County Hospital replied on 26 September 2018

Many thanks for leaving your kind words, I will make sure they are passed onto the correct teams who will be thrilled to see how they had such a positive impact on your experience. Thank you

Report as unsuitable

Abs gave Ear, Nose & Throat at Essex County Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Ent doctor was very rude

I had severe swelling of throat painful ear and and massive migraine. I was checked out by ipswich hospital and was given liquid form antibiotics. And due to my ear issue my hearing impaired. All I heard was oncall ent doctor in colchester has been informed and all I have to do is give my name as front office of a&e. I drove to colchester gave my name. And then was taken to waiting room to have blood tests done. I saw a doctor come to the ward and she appeared unhappy and wanted to know why am I here. I explained my illness and also explained due to the pain and swelling I haven't had any food or fluids in two days and doctor did not seem interested in what I had to say instead kept hammering on about I should drink fluids little and often. After seeing how rude she is being I thought its best to go home and wait for my g.p as I can speak to him rather than being spoken down and belittled as if I was wasting this doctors time. I have a eating disorder and anxiety does not help the situation. After seeing I will not accept her view without listening to mine all she kept saying is she must admit me. I felt so unwelcome and on edge with my anxiety after the way she spoke to me I felt as I had no other choice but to refuse. I was tempted a while back seeing the way she was talking and telling me off and being rude to just get up and walk away drive home.but I did not want to come across rude or creat a scene. I was truly disappointed at the service I received it was not needed nor nice atmosphere. I am very tempted to contact cqc over my treatment. I still feel traumatised thinking what did I do to deserve such behaviour.

Visited in September 2018. Posted on 30 September 2018

Report as unsuitable

Essex County Hospital replied on 08 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent treatment, I am sorry that your experience was not as expected and if this caused you any inconvenience. We would like to look into this further but need further information. Could you please give our Complaints team a call on 01206 742881 at your convenience. Many thanks Steve Bruce - Patient Experience Team

Report as unsuitable

Dant2403 gave Ear, Nose & Throat at Essex County Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Iv had a sever infection in my nose ears and neck

I am disgustied with the way I have been treated admitted to hospital 2 with sepsis and then just sent home with antibiotics which are not working iv now been off work since November 2017 I get promised things are going to happen and they don’t had an ultra scale was told glands with very swollen and blocked and go see gp how will drain of doctor tells me they don’t do it at surgery so go back to hospital ya we will do another scan then drain them off for you then nurse tells me no I’m not doing it after pleading with her I run my own business and it’s suffering people work for us please can you do it she said no and walked out and I was close to tears more nights of 1-2 hours sleep

Visited in June 2018. Posted on 11 June 2018

Report as unsuitable

Essex County Hospital has not yet replied.

Mal V. gave Ophthalmology at Essex County Hospital a rating of 1 stars

TORTURE

My Mother attended the eye clinic on 12th June 2018 for a cataract procedure. She says that the she wasn't given any painkilling injections, only drops in her eye in the morning. The surgeon commenced the procedure and my mother commenced screaming with pain. My mother screamed all the way through the procedure and says she had never felt such excruciating pain. At the end of the procedure she says that the surgeon left the room without a word of apology.

I advised my mother, who is 87, to write a strong letter of complaint to the hospital's PALS department, which she did on the 18 June 2018. To date she has not had a reply or even a courtesy letter to confirm receipt of her complaint.

My mother does not have access to the internet, which is why I am writing this review in the hope that it may illicit a response from the hospital.

Visited in June 2018. Posted on 15 July 2018

Report as unsuitable

Essex County Hospital replied on 17 August 2018

Thank you for taking to the time to leave your comments, I am sorry that we have not replied earlier and that you are experiencing issues with the PALS process. For me to look into this further I need some more information. Could you give our complaints team a call on 01206 742 881. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

Mal V. gave Ophthalmology at Essex County Hospital a rating of 1 stars

TORTURE 2

I am absolutely disgusted that your hospital has not had the decency or common courtesy to address my earlier complaint. This is compounded by a phone call to my mother, who said that your hospital PALS department has denied receiving her own letter of complaint. I also note that other complaints made are not being addressed. Your patients are people and their concerns should be addressed as a matter of priority.

I have very little faith that this review/complaint will be commented on.

Would you like to prove me wrong?

Visited in May 2018. Posted on 30 July 2018

Report as unsuitable

Essex County Hospital replied on 17 August 2018

Thank you for taking to the time to leave your comments, I am sorry that we have not replied earlier and that you are experiencing issues with the PALS process. For me to look into this further I need some more information. Could you give our complaints team a call on 01206 742 881. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Ophthalmology at Essex County Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Second successful cataract operation

The care and attention shown by all the staff was as excellent as at the first operation. I was made very comfortable before, during and after the operation. Thank you to everyone involved. The standard of this department is superb.

Visited in May 2018. Posted on 10 July 2018

Report as unsuitable

Essex County Hospital replied on 24 August 2018

Thank you taking the time to leave your kind words, it is great to hear that the treatment and care you received has had such a positive impact. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable