Colchester General Hospital

01206 747474 Turner Road , Colchester, Essex, CO4 5JL
https://www.esneft.nhs.uk/

4.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 271 ratings for this hospital

4.5 Stars

4.5 out of 5 stars

NHS.UK user rating
Based on 271 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(269 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(269 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4.5 out of 5 stars

(269 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4.5 out of 5 stars

(267 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(221 ratings)

Reviews

291 total

Nancy Eachus gave Respiratory Medicine at Colchester General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Layer Marney Ward

This was my fourth stay on the ward and once again I can not fault the care I have received on this ward. Every member of staff made me feel nothing was too much trouble to aid my recovery or make my time on the ward as comfortable as possible, including making sure my garlic allergy was catered for. The team, even when under pressure, will make sure that you are ok. I hope I won’t have to visit the ward again, but if I do have to, I know that I will be in safe, caring hands. Thank you to all the staff, from the matron to the hostess and everyone in between.

Visited in January 2019. Posted on 05 January 2019

Report as unsuitable

Colchester General Hospital replied on 09 January 2019

I will pass on your comments to the team on Layer Marney ward who will be thrilled to read how they all had a positive impact on your care. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave at Colchester General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Hip Replacement

I found the staff on the ward extremley nice and helpful.
I also chatted to cleaning and the porters and they were nice friendly people who also help the running of the wards.

Visited in January 2019. Posted on 03 January 2019

Report as unsuitable

Colchester General Hospital replied on 11 January 2019

Many thanks for your kind words, I have passed them onto the wards concerned and the facilities team for their attention. Thank you

Report as unsuitable

Alan Poole gave Urology at Colchester General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Excellent care

I had a TURP operation on the Friday before Christmas. I cannot praise the cardinals received too highly. All the staff I came in contact with were extremely friendly, caring and efficient. They talked me through everything. Well done Colchester General!

Visited in December 2018. Posted on 07 January 2019

Report as unsuitable

Colchester General Hospital has not yet replied.

Kath Wright gave Diagnostic Imaging at Colchester General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Nuclear Medicine

Had two visits to nuclear medicine department,. 31 December & 7 January.
firstly staff very reassuring and explained procedure in depth. Then during test / procedure were just so good, as I was feeling rather uncomfortable ,. Then again after telling me the recovery time is short. To rest ,eat and drink before scan,.
Made very comfy for scan,. Again staff were great,.
Would be happy to reassure anyone going there that they will be well looked after

Visited in December 2018. Posted on 09 January 2019

Report as unsuitable

Colchester General Hospital replied on 17 January 2019

Thank you for your leaving your comments, it is great to hear the staff put you at ease and informed of what was happening and how to prepare for the scan. Your reassurance to other patients is invaluable and I hope that your kind words are found helpful and reassuring by others. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

David Degnan gave General Surgery at Colchester General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Compliment & suggestion

I attended Colchester Hospital for an inguinal hernia operation, it is difficult to select just one person worthy of compliments, they all work well as a team in their own fields.
Could I make just one observation, NOT a complaint, whilst waiting to 'go down' I was without water for some seven hours , probably due to logistics, but perhaps something that could be assessed.

Visited in December 2018. Posted on 10 December 2018

Report as unsuitable

Colchester General Hospital replied on 18 December 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments, I will make sure they are passed onto the Team who will be thrilled to see how they all contributed to your care. I will raise your observation about lack of fluids while you were waiting for your operation. I hope you are making a good recovery. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

Brian Edwards gave General Medicine at Colchester General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

ENT

Visited E N T today, excellent service and information, can't fault it. Thanks to you all. God bless you all and merry Christmas. Brian Edwards.

Visited in December 2018. Posted on 13 December 2018

Report as unsuitable

Colchester General Hospital replied on 21 December 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your great comments, I will pass them onto the team in ENT who will be thrilled to read them. I hope your visit was a success and we wish you a healthy Christmas and New Year

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Colchester General Hospital a rating of 2 stars

Visit to A&E

Visited A&E due spraining my ankle and was not sure whether it was fractured. The receptionist and nurse were really helpful and informative, however the doctor lacked empathy and understanding and said that he thought I should be brought in wheelchair if I am iusing an A&E - it was an arrogant comment. I think some medical staff could benefit from further trainings to enhance their people skills and to move away from medical model of treatment and instead using holistic approach. Doctors Please make sure you listen to your patient because one day you are going to be a patient yourself!!!

Visited in December 2018. Posted on 14 December 2018

Report as unsuitable

Colchester General Hospital replied on 24 December 2018

Thank you for leaving your comments and I am sorry that the care you received was not as expected from everyone who came into contact with. I have passed your comments onto the A&E team for their attention. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

Mark Beagles gave Colchester General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Happy with my stay can not fault the hospital thank you

Been here on Langham ward for3 days waiting afor a move to East Thorpe watd, not sure how long I'm going to be here, been made to feel welcome staff very friendly and helpful attentive when needed, food has been great with a reasonable choice and sensible portion sizes always hot when served (not the salad) plenty of hot drinks during the day loved the biscuit treats as well. Bed was comfortable but pillows could have been plumper but was given extra so fine. All in all I must commend the hospital and staff for the treatment I have received Thank You.

Visited in December 2018. Posted on 03 December 2018

Report as unsuitable

Colchester General Hospital replied on 12 December 2018

Thank you for leaving your comments regarding your treatment on Langham ward. I will make sure that your comments are passed onto the ward and the catering department for their attention. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Colchester General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Thank you children’s A&E Department

I would like to thank the team at Colchester a and E Department who took such good care of my daughter Sunday evening (2nd December). The department was extremely busy, so much so that many parents had to sit on the floor in the waiting room. My only complaint was that the seating was inadequate that evening. Some parents commented that the vending machines were all empty. However , the staff were friendly, polite ,respectful and treated my daughter efficiently and professionally. I thought that the treatment that we got was excellent. I am a staff member at the hospital, and I’m proud to say I work here.

Visited in December 2018. Posted on 03 December 2018

Report as unsuitable

Colchester General Hospital replied on 12 December 2018

Thank you for leaving your kind words regarding your daughters treatment in A&E. I am sorry that you may have had to sit on the floor and the vending machines were empty. It is great to heat that the care your daughter received great care and I hope that she is making a good recovery. Many thanks

Report as unsuitable

Sue gave Accident and emergency services at Colchester General Hospital a rating of 5 stars

A&E

My husband had ECG done two weeks before Christmas the GP told him to go A&E for a second opinion. When we go there it was a Friday about 1 o’clock we saw a lovely lady on the desk who was very helpful. But before that when we was waiting to be see a lady was shouting at her the staff member told her politely to sit down. Anyway he got to see the doctor he had to have blood test etc after he was told to go and sit outside waiting for his results. Then the same lady who was shouting her partner went up to the desk and was really shouting at this staff member who politely told him to sit down and he will be see. I have worked with the public all my life but your staff needs a glass protector on that desk we are living in a age people can do anything that desk is to open it’s not fair on those ladies who sit there day after day without nothing. First time in the A&E from doctor’s to the nurses and the desk staff it was brilliant experience very caring very professional. But please reconsider about your lovely ladies on that desk because they are the first port of call to the public.

Visited in December 2018. Posted on 01 January 2019

Report as unsuitable

Colchester General Hospital replied on 02 January 2019

Thank you for leaving your comments, it is great to hear about the care you received and how the staff were caring and professional. I have passed all your comments onto the team in A&E who will be thrilled to read them. I have also forwarded your comments onto the security advisor for his attention regarding the reception staff. Many thanks.

Report as unsuitable