Skip to main content

Modality Partnership - Newland Group Practice

Reviews

Displaying 1 to 10 of 40

  1. Review titled Concerning practices

    1 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 09 February 2020

    As a current patient at this GP practice, I have several concerns about its current practice. These are as follows: (I) My patient Fitness to Work certificate is always renewed over the telephone by a receptionist. Each time I ask for a face-to-face consultation with a GP, the receptionists says that this is not necessary as he/she informs me that they have read the GP's case notes on system 1. There are 2 issues here. Firstly, these notes are out-of-date. Secondly, the receptionist is not a qualified medic of any description. Decisions as to fitness to work are being made by unqualified staff. I am a person of integrity. Not everyone is of course. This current system is therefore wide open to abuse. Fitness to work must be decided by a GP or nurse, not a mere administrator. Another problem is being able to get a face-to-face consultation with a GP. Each time I end up having to make do with a telephone conversation. This means that the doctor cannot see or examine me. Whenever I go into this surgery I am struck by the demoralised, apathetic attitude of the admin staff. They all appear so fed up. You can't park at this surgery. That is stressful.

    Visited February 2020

    Report as unsuitable

    Modality Partnership - Newland Group Practice has not yet replied.


  2. Review titled Excellent Service

    5 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 14 January 2020

    My husband and I both had suspected chest infections. Due to the new triage system being used on the ‘phone we were both directed to the most appropriate person to help us - my husband was seen just over an hour after the call, and I was seen an hour later. We both think this is an excellent system which should always mean a doctor/nurse will always be available to those who need them, when they need them.

    Visited January 2020

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Modality Partnership - Newland Group Practice

    Replied on 05 February 2020

    Good morning, please accept our apologies for the delayed response to your comment. We’re pleased you’ve had a positive experience with your care and treatment at Newland Group Practice, and thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. Many thanks, Patient Liaison Officer

    Report as unsuitable


  3. Review titled Ridiculously poor service

    5 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 17 January 2020

    The poor service has been common place here for a good few years. If you call any later than 8am (and queue for 30 mins) there will be no appointments left, neither phone or physical appointments. When requesting simple information from receptionists, they confirm that you need to speak to the doctor but that there are no appointments left (if you have called later than 8am) and when you try and arrange a different day to do this, they advise that you have to call again on the next available day at 8am and hope an appointment is available then. Due to work commitments, arranging to call at 8am is never convenient so as other reviewers have said, the service at this place is so poor. I'm not actually sure what staff at this place do beyond 8:30am when there are no longer any appointments available to be booked. I could put up with this level of service when I rarely needed to use it but now I actually have an issue that needs resolving it has highlighted how poor a surgery this really is. I will be looking to switch surgeries soon and I would advise anybody else do do the same.

    Visited January 2020

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Modality Partnership - Newland Group Practice

    Replied on 07 February 2020

    Good morning, please accept our apologies for the delay in responding to your comment. We're very sorry to hear you’ve been finding it difficult to arrange an appointment, and that you feel the service is poor. You are welcome to contact the surgery, either on the phone or in person, so we can look into the concerns you've raised and try to find a resolution. Many thanks, Patient Liaison Officer

    Report as unsuitable


  4. Review titled Surgery can't cope

    1 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 02 February 2020

    I can never get an appointment. Every time I try to phone up at 8am it takes me 10 or more minutes to get through. When I do, I'm told that all of the appointments have gone. When I try and book in advance I'm told, by a mere admin worker, that I can't do that as my condition is not serious enough. I have 2 serious life threatening conditions. When I attend in person I'm made to share my medical conditions with a non-medical staff member. He or she, much to my embarrassment, then repeats this back to me at the top of their voice. Everyone present hears my confidential information. I feel so humiliated. This is 2 surgeries squashed into one. You never see the same doctor twice. Most of the doctors are locums who come and go. You can never park. The toilets stink. There are always long queues. This surgery is not fit for purpose.

    Visited December 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Modality Partnership - Newland Group Practice

    Replied on 07 February 2020

    Good morning, please accept our apologies for the delay in responding to your comment. We're sorry to hear you’ve struggled to make an appointment on the phone. Patient privacy is important to us, and we are always happy to provide a space away from the reception when requested. You are welcome to contact the surgery, or submit a feedback form, so we can look into the concerns you've raised and try to find a resolution. Many thanks, Patient Liaison Officer

    Report as unsuitable


  5. Review titled Terrible care

    1 star rating

    by Disgruntled patient - Posted on 06 December 2019

    Having been a patient at this practice for over 34 years ,I have noticed in the past few months how this practice as gone downhill since modality partners took over . it is impossible to get an appointment when you most need one ,they can take ,sometimes over an hour to answer the phone and when they eventually do you are told there are no appointment available the earliest one is in 3 weeks time what good is that? If you are fortunate to get an appointment ,you never get to see a doctor you get to see a nurse practioner. When I requested to see a doctor I was told that the np was more qualified than some doctor's, which I found appalling and disrespectful to ALL doctors who spend over 7 years training to care and treat patients .as I am still unwell I tried to get an appointment with the doctor only to be told I could have an appointment on Xmas eve .I was told by the np that because of my condition (copd)if I am not any better I had to ring and I would be seen the same day,when I explained this to the receptionist I was told she had no right in telling me this .however ,I am in the process of changing practices reluctantly after almost 35years there is no patient care there anymore since modality took over ,it used to be one of the best practice in the region but now it must be the worst.modality are a joke and the cqc need to investigate there appalling service and do something about it.after over 30 negative reviews surelysomething needs to be done.

    Visited November 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Modality Partnership - Newland Group Practice

    Replied on 05 February 2020

    Good morning, and apologies for our delayed response to your comment. We're very sorry to hear you're unhappy with being offered appointments with Nurse Practitioners, and the availability of appointments more generally. You're welcome to contact the surgery so we can look into the concerns you've raised, find out what has happened, and try to resolve this for you. Many thanks, Patient Liaison Officer

    Report as unsuitable


  6. Review titled Rubbish place with no available GP appointments

    1 star rating

    by BillytheB - Posted on 12 November 2019

    This place cannot go any further downhill. Used to be able to get a GP appointment easy online. Now no GPs are available, everything is health care assistants. I don't think there are any GPs actually at this place. Modality are taking public money and not giving a service, that is fraud.

    Visited November 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Modality Partnership - Newland Group Practice

    Replied on 13 November 2019

    Good afternoon Billy, we're very sorry to hear you're not satisfied with the availability of GP appointments. You are welcome to submit a feedback form so we can look into the concerns you've raised and see if we can resolve anything for you. You can also find alternative ways to access our GP services on our website. Many thanks, Patient Liaison Officer

    Report as unsuitable


  7. Review titled poor practice and care

    1 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 18 November 2019

    I am sorry to write this review, but since the practice has been taken the care provided is very poor. My husband has alot of health problems one of them is very uncommon. As a practice you have a duty of care towards each patient, my husband has been messed about alot. This has had a big impact on his life, our marriage and his work. His medication and the prescribed dose has been changed without consulting him. He saw a consultant at the hospital and he asked for one medication to be stopped and changed to something else. This was never discussed with him. What my husband was told by the consultant and what he wrote to the doctors wasn't completely wrong. When I contacted the surgery they could not help ,I was unable to book an appointment for my husband or to get a doctor to phone him until one week later. Prior to the surgery changing hands he was on the priority list due to his illnesses. We are going to change GPs because the service provided is poor and the duty of care to patients is nothing.

    Visited November 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Modality Partnership - Newland Group Practice

    Replied on 21 November 2019

    Good afternoon, we're very sorry to hear you’re unhappy about changes to your husband's medication, and problems you have experienced with making an appointment. You are welcome to submit a feedback form so we can look into the concerns you've raised, find out what has happened, and try to resolve this for you. Many thanks, Patient Liaison Officer

    Report as unsuitable


  8. Review titled Unhelpful

    1 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 15 October 2019

    I waited in a very long queue today at Alexandra Health Centre to book in for my appointment. So long in fact that I ended up, through no fault of my own, being late for my doctor's appointment. When I finally got to the head of the queue, after waiting close to 10 minutes, the receptionist told me I was too late to see my GP, my appointment being cancelled! When I explained that this was because I had been waiting in the queue, she replied, "Sorry, that's the rules, there's nowt I can do." She then told me that I could have used the electronic screen. I replied that I'm elderly, with poor eyesight. She responded, "Nothing I can do about that either." I asked to see the practice manager. I was told she was having her lunch, apparently, at 3 o'clock in the afternoon! She then told me to move out of the way for the next patient. I have to say the staff in this surgery are very, very unhelpful and disrespectful towards us patients. As well as long, long queues, no-one ever answers the phone when you ring the surgery. There's nowhere to park. You have to wait weeks for a GP appointment. This really is a lousy surgery. Isn't it about time the CQC inspected it?

    Visited October 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Modality Partnership - Newland Group Practice

    Replied on 18 October 2019

    Good morning, we're very sorry to hear about the experience you have had at Newland Group Practice. Please can you send us a direct message with your practice name, date of birth and phone number, or preferred contact method, and we’ll get someone to get in touch with you. We take all feedback and complaints seriously, and are always working to improve our service. You are also welcome to submit a feedback form at one of our sites and we can look into the concerns you've raised and find out what happened when you came to the surgery. Many thanks, Patient Liaison Officer

    Report as unsuitable


  9. Review titled Abbandoed

    2 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 07 November 2019

    8 weeks in pain tests bloods and urine no uti blood in urine lower tummy pain for 8 weeks now. Just been tild today urine borderline agaun from test done on 30th oct ... at my wits end getting no were no help no empathy no appointments no progress ... given up wull just have to deal with pain as l have for last 8 weeks.

    Visited October 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Modality Partnership - Newland Group Practice

    Replied on 08 November 2019

    Good afternoon, we're very sorry to hear you’re unhappy with your treatment, and the availability of appointments. Unfortunately we're not able to take action on issues when they are posted anonymously, so we would encourage you to contact us, then we can resolve your concerns for you as appropriately as possible. Many thanks, Patient Liaison Officer

    Report as unsuitable


  10. Review titled Obstacles to access, communication and do not listen

    1 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 16 July 2019

    I have been a patient at this practice for nearly 20 years and until the last few months I have had no problems. I enjoy good health and I have always been happy to wait for appointments and if necessary take time of work if needed to be seen sooner. At a time when the NHS is trying to make access to medical care more accessible this practice has brought in policies which make the service extremely difficult to access. I need to see a doctor and the choice I was offered was a telephone consultation, which is only available mid afternoon when I am at work or to call at 8am in the morning when I need to go to work and also cannot afford to be on hold 45 mins to then be told triage will call me back sometime during the day when again I am at work and cannot take the call or if i did take the call, as I am the only person working in the office most of the time I would have to take the call in front of people visiting the office. They would then decide if I can see the doctor. I already know that I need to see the doctor. The nurse nor the pharmacist cannot help with this. I have been messed about already over the last week because of ineffective communication. Apparently they can't possibly let you know that there is a problem with a request for repeat medication and discuss this with you. Instead they will expect you to go backwards and forwards to the pharmacist because they keep telling you to check the following day. In addition,my partner has had no end of trouble with his medication which should be on repeat as requested by a specialist. They reduced the dose without discussing it with him or the specialist. They will not put it on repeat and instead of prescribing 8 weeks at a time or even 4 weeks, as my similar medication is prescribed, my partner has to call every 2 weeks and practically beg for his medication which he really needs at the moment. He is only allowed a telephone consultation for this. Today i asked for an appointment for him in person so that I can come with him to the consultation. I was told he would have to call at 8am in the morning, wait for triage to call him during the day. As I am at work I cannot be present when triage calls him so that I can make it clear that we need this appointment. I am pretty sure that when they call him they will tell him he can only have a telephone appointment which is inappropriate at this time. My partner has a long term mental health problem I feel that he needs some one to be present and find out what the doctors are concerned about and also give them some insight into the problems he is having as I do not feel he is being listened to. He has had this problem for over 2 years now and waited over a year for his therapy to start. His therapy only started a few months ago and in the last 3 or 4 months he has only seen his psychiatrist about 3 times in the last 2 months but the doctors wanted to take the medication away the therapy started.

    Visited July 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Modality Partnership - Newland Group Practice has not yet replied.