SUTHERGREY HOUSE MEDICAL CENTRE

01923224424 37A St Johns Road , Watford, Hertfordshire, WD17 1LS
http://www.suthergrey.com

1.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 36 ratings for this GP surgery

1.5 Stars

1.5 out of 5 stars

NHS.UK user rating
Based on 36 ratings for this GP surgery

Telephone access

2 out of 5 stars

(36 ratings)

Appointments

1.5 out of 5 stars

(36 ratings)

Dignity and respect

2.5 out of 5 stars

(34 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

3 out of 5 stars

(33 ratings)

Providing accurate information

2.5 out of 5 stars

(34 ratings)

Reviews

34 total

C G Wilkinson gave SUTHERGREY HOUSE MEDICAL CENTRE a rating of 1 stars

Impossible to get an appointment

This surgery's system for appointments is absolutely atrocious. Whatever time you call it is almost impossible to get through without a very long wait on their call queuing system normally in excess of 30 minutes. That is assuming you can get in the queue as their telephone system only seems to allow a maximum of 5 calls to be queued after that you just get told to call back later. It is impossible to book appointments in advance you have to call at 08:00 every morning when a small nuber of new appointments are released and then it can take three or four hours of continuous calling to get through at which point it’s more than likely you are told there are no appointments left from those released that day. I had hoped the online access they introduced would help with booking appointments as their website clearly says you can book appointments online and via the app. However whenever you try and book an appointment online or via the app you are also told there are no appointments available it is no more help than trying to telephone. I really do pity the receptionists who must have to put up with a horrendous amount of complaints and more than likely verbal abuse as a result of the failure of this surgery to properly manage its medical practice. In fact I would go as far to say they are probably failing their duty of care as employers to their receptionists.

Visited in October 2018. Posted on 03 October 2018

Report as unsuitable

SUTHERGREY HOUSE MEDICAL CENTRE has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave SUTHERGREY HOUSE MEDICAL CENTRE a rating of 1 stars

Terrible

Impossible to make an appointment to see a doctor, reception staff seemed to be employed solely to block access. If you phone in the afternoon your told to call back in the morning and when you do the phones aren't answered.

Visited in October 2018. Posted on 09 October 2018

Report as unsuitable

SUTHERGREY HOUSE MEDICAL CENTRE has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave SUTHERGREY HOUSE MEDICAL CENTRE a rating of 1 stars

Terrible

Impossible to get an appointment, phones aren't answered or if they are you're told there are no appointments available. Disgusting. Staff are unhelpful to the point of rudeness.

Visited in September 2018. Posted on 10 October 2018

Report as unsuitable

SUTHERGREY HOUSE MEDICAL CENTRE has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave SUTHERGREY HOUSE MEDICAL CENTRE a rating of 1 stars

Difficulty in getting an appointment

You can ONLY get an appointment here if you call at 8am. When you call at 8am you get the engaged tone and you can ring and ring. Eventually you might get through at around 8:30 by which time all appointments are gone. This is the case for both urgent and non-urgent appointments. I have also had issues just cancelling appointments as I can't get through on the phone. If it was easy to cancel appointments it might be easier to get one. I have explained on a number of occasions that I have young children and cannot call at 8am but that's what has to be done apparently to get an appointment.
Can't fault the doctors when I have seen them but would leave the surgery in a heartbeat if there were one nearer

Visited in September 2018. Posted on 25 October 2018

Report as unsuitable

SUTHERGREY HOUSE MEDICAL CENTRE has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave SUTHERGREY HOUSE MEDICAL CENTRE a rating of 4 stars

All the staff are doing a good job

My whole family's experience with the GPs and with the nurses has been very positive.

Having to phone for an appointment first thing in the morning of the same day can be quite difficult and often involves hanging on for a long time. But the online appointment system normally works well for me, and the receptionists are always friendly and helpful if I do need to speak to them.

Visited in September 2018. Posted on 22 November 2018

Report as unsuitable

SUTHERGREY HOUSE MEDICAL CENTRE has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave SUTHERGREY HOUSE MEDICAL CENTRE a rating of 1 stars

poor service

trying to get an appointment is nigh near impossible the practice has gone downhill the last few years.

Visited in September 2018. Posted on 05 October 2018

Report as unsuitable

SUTHERGREY HOUSE MEDICAL CENTRE has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave SUTHERGREY HOUSE MEDICAL CENTRE a rating of 1 stars

Agree with everything below / Not a good surgery

This surgery is v.hard to reach. Even when you do reach them, you are never given a resolution to any issue. I've currently had 4 appointments with no diagnosis as to why I'm losing significant weight and whilst they've told me I am down for further consultation, I'm still yet to be contacted regarding next steps whilst my condition is progressively worse. I am not alone in this experience, my severely ill father has to attend walk-in's just to receive basic medical apt in regards to his progressive neurodegenerative disease.

Visited in August 2018. Posted on 03 September 2018

Report as unsuitable

SUTHERGREY HOUSE MEDICAL CENTRE has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave SUTHERGREY HOUSE MEDICAL CENTRE a rating of 2 stars

Appointments System

It is about time someone sorted out this surgery's telephone communication system. For anyone feeling ill it is wicked the delay one has to go through trying to speak to someone by telephone. I am convinced the office relies on people ringing off to keep the queues down.
The communication and appointments system at this surgery is an absolute disgrace.

Visited in August 2018. Posted on 20 September 2018

Report as unsuitable

SUTHERGREY HOUSE MEDICAL CENTRE has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave SUTHERGREY HOUSE MEDICAL CENTRE a rating of 1 stars

Oversubscribed

They've taken on far too many patients. When I first joined the practise in 2003 it was pretty busy, but I could usually get a convenient appointment with a doctor of my choice within a few days, or with another doctor on the day if it was urgent.

Some of the doctors are great, some are generally OK but in a rush so can miss details, which is not good when there are multiple long term conditions to consider. All are overworked, and there seems to be a regular turnover of doctors - not that it matters, as you usually can't see the same doctor again next time anyway...

It's nearly impossible to see any doctor the same day - if you call at 8am as advised the phones are usually engaged, and by the time you get through (even if it's only 8.02am) there may or may not be one or two appointments left that day (and if you do get one, it's a 5 minute 'emergency' appointment, so they are usually running late). Advance appointments (2 weeks away) are very scarce too.

Repeat prescriptions take ages to send through to the pharmacy. Reception staff are also overworked, and can be brusque verging on rude at times.


If you're looking for a new surgery, go elsewhere!

Visited in July 2018. Posted on 30 September 2018

Report as unsuitable

SUTHERGREY HOUSE MEDICAL CENTRE has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave SUTHERGREY HOUSE MEDICAL CENTRE a rating of 1 stars

TERRIBLE

TERRIBLE

This surgery is an absolute joke with appointments, where you ring the lines are busy. You are told to ring st 8.00 but never get through. By the time you do get through there are never any appointments left and you are told to call back the next day at 8.00. Or YOU GET CUT OF!!!! Very rarely get an appointment with your own doctor so what is the point of having your own doctor.
Reception staff are rude and abrupt.
The manager really needs to look at the appointments system and protocol because it REALLY IS NOT WORKING. Sadly I feel like have no choice but to change surgery or go private. I do not want to as generally when I do get the of chance to see my own doctor he is amazing one of the best doctors I have ever been to. So please please if the manager actually reads these comments please do something about the system as it really is disappointing.

Visited in July 2018. Posted on 16 July 2018

Report as unsuitable

SUTHERGREY HOUSE MEDICAL CENTRE has not yet replied.