North Laine Medical Centre

01273601112 12-14 Gloucester Street , Brighton, East Sussex, BN1 4EW
Website address not added

3 out of 5 stars

Based on 6 ratings for this GP surgery

3 Stars

3 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 6 ratings for this GP surgery

Telephone access

3.5 out of 5 stars

(7 ratings)

Appointments

2.5 out of 5 stars

(7 ratings)

Dignity and respect

3.5 out of 5 stars

(7 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(7 ratings)

Providing accurate information

4 out of 5 stars

(7 ratings)

Reviews

5 total

  • Page 1 of 1

Anonymous gave North Laine Medical Centre a rating of 1 stars

Reception Staff Incredibly Rude & Condescending

I have used North Laine Medical Centre for in excess of 10 years in the past I have found the staff very helpful and polite recently the trend seems to be for the Receptionist(s) to treat the patients with as much disdain as possible. It may only be one member of staff I have the misfortune to speak to each time I ring but the response is absolutely shocking to the request for booking a routine appointment. They are rude discourteous, dismissive and impatient. Like most I fully understand the pressures on GP's and i am grateful for the NHS but to have a daily scrum of dialling through each time you need an appointment in excess of 3-5 times only to be met with rude staff who deny you an appointment is beyond frustrating. Like another poster said those of us who work and have a family life are not at all supported by the surgery the hoops they make you jump through just to get an appointment is shocking. You can only get an appointment if you ring at exactly 8.30am obviously as this is the same instruction given to everybody when you do the lines are engaged so when after numerous attempts you eventually get through you are either denied an appointment as they are all booked for the day or told you need to wait up to 3 weeks. Shocking. The Gp's are on the whole good one particular doctor is one of the most kind and conscientious Gp's i've come across but something has to give with how they handle bookings and their front desk staff need to be reconsidered or have some retraining in communication skills to treat their patients with a little more compassion. In short if you want to be made to feel like a pleb and a nuisance give them a call!

Visited in February 2018. Posted on 25 April 2018

Report as unsuitable

North Laine Medical Centre has not yet replied.

Fallon gave North Laine Medical Centre a rating of 5 stars

North Laine medical centre review.

This is a wonderful family doctors, I’ve been with my doctor for years, the staff kind and friendly most of the reception staff are helpful.

Visited in November 2017. Posted on 13 November 2017

Report as unsuitable

North Laine Medical Centre has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave North Laine Medical Centre a rating of 1 stars

Very Disappointing

I havent ever written a review before but I feel so incensed at this surgery. I have been using this surgery for years. It used to be very efficient with polite and professional reception staff. However, whilst the doctors are still dedicated and professional, the reception staff are intolerant, condescending and rude. When asking for an appointment it appears to be asking for a pot of gold. To ask a question for a simple answer I receive a snarky comment. This is just not good enough especially when the reception staff are dealing with unwell people! I appreciate that they may be extremely busy - Is this an excuse for such unpleasantness.

Visited in November 2017. Posted on 20 November 2017

Report as unsuitable

North Laine Medical Centre has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave North Laine Medical Centre a rating of 2 stars

Can't get nurse appointment

Always difficult to get through on the phones - only appears to be 1 phone line so takes an average of 5 calls to actually get through to someone and there is no online appointment booking facility.

Trying to book a nurse appointment is nearly impossible and when you do manage to book they get cancelled (has now happened twice to me due to an unexpected prolonged bout of absence). If the nurse is off for a prolonged period then a locum should be employed. The nurse also doesn't work every day which makes booking an appointment if you work tricky.

The surgery is also closed over lunch so fitting an appointment in around juggling a family and working can be tricky. Also if you are only able to make phone calls at lunch time as is the case in my job then even booking an appointment can prove difficult.

When you do manage to get an appointment the GPs are usually very good, have excellent patient communication skills, are empathetic and are very knowledgable. There are often locum gps though and the standard of these can be variable. I have no experience of the other professionals working in the gp practice.

Visited in June 2017. Posted on 12 September 2017

Report as unsuitable

North Laine Medical Centre has not yet replied.

Anonymous reviewed North Laine Medical Centre

Shockingly rude

It seems to be common practice from the staff at North Laine Medical Practice to be unable to treat their patients with any kind of understanding that they have a life outside the practice and that comes first. The staff need to be aware that it is not ok to expect patients to always be able to bend their lives around the practice as much as the receptionists, for instance, would like. The doctors have misprescribed medication before and I was almost sent away when I had shingles with no diagnosis until I asked the doctor if they'd look at my rash. They have a terrible complaint procedure and their practice manager just does everything they can to avoid addressing problems and pass the blame on to the patient. Avoid if you can.

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 10 December 2016

Report as unsuitable

North Laine Medical Centre has not yet replied.

  • Page 1 of 1