Drs Thorpe, Burgess, Jones & Stone

01406370265 MOULTON MEDICAL CENTRE, HIGH STREET, MOULTON , SPALDING, Lincolnshire, PE12 6QB
http://www.moultonmedicalcentre.nhs.uk

3 out of 5 stars

Based on 6 ratings for this GP surgery

3 Stars

3 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 6 ratings for this GP surgery

Telephone access

4 out of 5 stars

(6 ratings)

Appointments

3.5 out of 5 stars

(6 ratings)

Dignity and respect

3.5 out of 5 stars

(6 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

3.5 out of 5 stars

(6 ratings)

Providing accurate information

3.5 out of 5 stars

(6 ratings)

Reviews

5 total

  • Page 1 of 1

GEL gave Drs Thorpe, Burgess, Jones & Stone a rating of 1 stars

Stuck in a time warp

First I would like to say that the admin/reception staff, nurses and all the GP’s (bar one) have always shown the utmost respect and professionalism. Sadly, I found one GP to be rude, obnoxious and arrogant and completely unable to communicate in a dignified manner. On several occasions this GP has demonstrated his inability to converse in a respectful manner. Although this GP was my ‘named’ GP I sought consultation from another GP wherever possible. Unfortunately this was not always possible due to the poor appointments system operated at the practice. A walk-in surgery is in place each weekday morning but the wait can be horrendous unless you are prepared to queue outside from 7:30am and wait for the doors to open at 8am. Online appointment booking is available but ‘slots’ are very limited and have to be booked at least a week in advance. In my experience, the online appointment system only offers appointments at 17:20 with one or maybe two GP’s. Telephone booking is operated in the same manner and can only be booked one week in advance which is odd. For example, if I called on a Monday for an appointment, I would be offered an appointment for the following Monday. If non where available, I would be askef to call the following day for an appointment for the following Tuesday. This repetitive telephoning could go on for days meaning it could end up with you waiting almost two weeks for your appointment. You do have the option of standing outside at 7:30am or turning up after 8am and wait for 90 minutes or so. I don’t find any of these to be suitable. The practice has not yet caught up with other surgeries and started offering ‘out-of-working-hours’ appointments.
There is one reception window that offers little or no privacy (although a private room is available upon request). This one reception window caters for booking in and prescription collection and it is not uncommon to stand in a queue for 15 minutes before reaching the window. There is a redundant second window in the lobby which I feel could be utilised for prescription collections but for some reason the practice choose not to. I suspect this could be for space or staffing reasons.
I haven’t taken any pleasure writing this review as the practice could be up there among the best if tweaks were made (and maybe one GP attended ‘people skills’ training) but sadly it is stuck in a time warp and needs to be brought into the current era!

Visited in May 2018. Posted on 11 May 2018

Report as unsuitable

Drs Thorpe, Burgess, Jones & Stone replied on 15 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to comment, we would like the opportunity of discussing these areas with you directly so if you could contact us and ask to speak to the practice manager this can be arranged.

We are pleased you have found the majority of our staff professional and caring and are sorry to learn of your disappointment with one of our GP's.

We operate an Open Surgery between 8.00am and 10.30 am Mon-Friday which means patients do not have to book, but just turn up and wait to see a doctor of choice on the same day. We have overwhelming feedback from the majority of our patients who find this way of working as the most effective in their experience of attending a GP surgery. Most patients who arrive between 8.00 and 9.00am tend to wait between 10-20 mins, unfortunately the later patients arrive, the longer they will need to wait.

We currently have a limited no. of online appointments and are actively looking at how we can increase this. The reason we restrict booking appointments more than a week in advance is to keep patient DNA rates to a minimum as there is research which suggests the longer time in advance appointments are booked, the more people do not turn up for them.

We are unfortunately limited on space at our Practice and are working to increase privacy in our waiting room by installing a window and re-organising within our main office. With the imminent introduction of a patient auto booking in system, this will alleviate all patients needing to queue at our reception.

All our staff do their best to ensure all our patients are treated with care and compassion at all times. We value patient feedback and appreciate people taking the time to provide this for us although we do prefer this to be face to face so we can identify and fix specific queries patients may have. We do not wish to lose any patients from our list, however all patients do have a choice of whether to be registered with us or not.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Drs Thorpe, Burgess, Jones & Stone a rating of 5 stars

Excellent Service

I have had cause to visit the surgery twice in recent weeks concerning the care of my elderly Father. The two doctors that I have seen have been extremely helpful and offered excellent advice. I did not feel rushed in any way, and they both took their time to listen to the issues we have as a family regarding Dad's care. All in all a really positive experience.

Visited in January 2018. Posted on 10 January 2018

Report as unsuitable

Drs Thorpe, Burgess, Jones & Stone replied on 15 May 2018

Many thanks for your feedback. We are delighted that you were pleased with the service you received from us.

Our aim at all times is to provide our all our patients with the care and support they need at often difficult and challenging times.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Drs Thorpe, Burgess, Jones & Stone a rating of 5 stars

Best GP surgery by far!

Went to see Gp today all done and dusted after an hour, very good .
Only thing that is ridiculous is care standards posters etc everywhere and the seating plan making it like a train station.
It was fine as it was before around the walls, we had more privacy that way also now if you go in without a cold you are likely to come out with one! This is because people are all coughing on each other from behind now, it is awful and very impersonal. Put them around the outside the room again. Care standards appear to change for changes sake!
Please use your time on failing surgery and leave our wonderful surgery as it is /was.
Well done Moulton you are a beacon of light in an oversubscribed over stretched infrastructure!

Visited in June 2017. Posted on 27 June 2017

Report as unsuitable

Drs Thorpe, Burgess, Jones & Stone replied on 27 June 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted that we have met your expectations. We are structuring the posters in the waiting room so we have more targeted communication - making it easier for our patients to locate information e.g. Practice specific info, patient feedback, support and carers information, keeping yourself healthy etc. We have a duty to keep our patients informed when new services or care standards are introduced but we try to keep these controlled.

The chairs are situated in a position which ensures more confidentiality than when they were around the room and it also enables more chairs to be provided.

We value feedback from our patients which enables us to review what we do and how we do it and ultimately improve the experience for our patients.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Drs Thorpe, Burgess, Jones & Stone a rating of 1 stars

What a joke the new doctor is...

What sort of doctors have a go at someone who booked an appointment and whilst she was there she mentioned a couple of other things that she had concerns at and was told off by the new doctor that she should've booked a longer appointment... not amused to be told that by my mum... not happy at all.

Visited in April 2017. Posted on 12 April 2017

Report as unsuitable

Drs Thorpe, Burgess, Jones & Stone replied on 03 May 2017

Medical appointments are generally for 10 minutes and where there are multiple medical concerns a patient wishes to discuss with the doctor, it can be helpful for the patient to request a longer appointment which can be arranged. Alternatively, patients can come along to our daily open surgery where no appointment is needed and where doctors can spend as long as is needed with patients.

Our aim is to provide all our patients with the care and attention they need and we are sorry to learn you feel disappointed that not all your concerns could be raised in one appointment.

We value feedback from our patients which enables us to review what we do and how we do it and ultimately improve the experience of our patients.

Report as unsuitable

Lisa gave Drs Thorpe, Burgess, Jones & Stone a rating of 1 stars

Absolutely appalled by the service with gps

Absolutely disgusted, prescribed my 9 week old baby something he shouldn't be having and also never booked me in for his injections when said they did. Fuming

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 22 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Drs Thorpe, Burgess, Jones & Stone replied on 03 May 2017

Our aim is to provide all our patients with the care and attention they need and we are sorry to learn you were unhappy in this situation.

The medication prescribed was correct for a limited period and there appears to have been a misunderstanding about the date your baby was booked in for his injections.

We value feedback from our patients which enables us to review what we do and how we do it and ultimately improve the experience of our patients.

Report as unsuitable

  • Page 1 of 1