Skip to main content

Akerman Medical Practice

Reviews

Displaying 1 to 10 of 26

  1. Review titled Worst Receptionists!

    1 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 16 October 2019

    I'd rather pull my teeth out one by one than speak to another ill mannered, disrespectful, foul mouthered receptionist from this practice! You'd think their objective is to frustrate and serious harm their patients with their negligence and unprofessionalism, Its disgusting that any patient should be spoken to the way these horrible staff members do! Luckily I have no long term conditions or mental health issues or urgent matters that require this practice to manage my care urgently. Luckily this was routine! The occasions though far between I'm always reminded I need to register at another practice! All the reception members need intense training on their roles in the GPS, and also training in as basic as just speaking! Please if you need to register at a gp, stay far away from this gp to avoid the bad countless experiences. There's never been not ONE time I had a pleasant experience, not even with the doctors who care only about their lunch breaks and finishing times! ABSOLUTELY DREADFUL!

    Visited October 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Akerman Medical Practice

    Replied on 19 October 2019

    I am sorry to hear of your experience could you please contact Mrs Sam Roberts practice manager who can investigate and address any customer service training needs our staff may have .

    Report as unsuitable


  2. Review titled Fast efficient service

    5 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 24 October 2019

    I suffer with Asthma and the practice were quick to act by treating me appropriately and efficiently. I have been given medication and shown how to use my inhalers properly which I have never been shown before by my previous practice and empowered me to take control of my condition.

    Visited October 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Akerman Medical Practice has not yet replied.


  3. Review titled The worst practice

    1 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 16 October 2019

    I'm extremely overwhelmed with the distasteful treatment of the reception staff. They were very rude and abrupt and alot of sighing could be heard. It makes the whole process of calling the surgery an anxious one, as your wondering what kind of conversation your going to have to confront, especially whilst not feeling very well. Yes GPS work very hard, however it takes three weeks to get an appointment and then not only that it was cancelled to then take another 3 weeks for quite a dire skin condition. There has been many issues over the years, but because of the location on the surgery that is the reason why I have remained a patient - to my own detriment. Its such a shame. Highly disappointing and unacceptable.

    Visited October 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Akerman Medical Practice

    Replied on 19 October 2019

    I am sorry to hear of your experience at the practice could you please email the practice manager Mrs Samantha Roberts and she will investigate further and help us improve the care we provide and address any training issues with our frontline staff. Usually we return all clinical calls within 48 hours and then face to face appts are booked within 48 hrs , I am sorry you had to wait for 3 weeks please contact us so we can investigate this matter and see how our service can be improved for our patients .

    Report as unsuitable


  4. Review titled Quality of care significantly declined

    1 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 07 October 2019

    I have been a patient at Akerman for the past several years and have noticed a significant decline in care. The reception team is often very rude when you call, and it is nearly impossible to receive a timely response from a doctor or pharmacist. As a patient, you have to often call or email multiple times before you receive care and, even then, scripts are often written incorrectly. I have had to return 3x for a script to be corrected. The facilities have also not been kept up, with their blood pressure machine often not working. It is a real shame, because this surgery used to be wonderful. It seems that the support staff and reception are trained poorly, and the GPs are hardly available. Their phone consultation process also is fairly inefficient. For instance, if you need a phone consultation (they refuse to book a face-to-face appointment until you have had a phone call, just adding extra layers to an already stressed NHS), you have to call at 8am or 12pm. I made the mistake of calling at 11:20 and was quite literally hung up on and told to call back in 40 minutes to simply request a call back. All in all, this surgery ought to be reviewed, as patient care has declined dramatically in a short period of time.

    Visited August 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Akerman Medical Practice

    Replied on 19 October 2019

    I am sorry to hear of your recent experience at the practice please do contact our practice manager Mrs Sam Roberts who can investigate your complain. Akerman medical practice has been working hard to establish a patient participation group to engage with service users so issues like the one highlighted by yourself could be tackled early on . I hope you will join our PPG and work with us to improve our service

    Report as unsuitable


  5. Review titled Rude staff, never got to see a doctor when I needed one

    1 star rating

    by KateSzabo - Posted on 10 June 2019

    Unfortunately I have never see a doctos when I needed as they always too busy. The staff is ver unwelcoming and rude the ways thwy talked ro me, rolli g eyes and unfriendly tone was very bad. Unfortunately it gave me the worst experience from NHS so far

    Visited June 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Akerman Medical Practice has not yet replied.


  6. Review titled You have to be on your last legs

    1 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 10 June 2019

    If you are a young adult you are better off googling your problem. You have a better chance of diagnosing yourself than being seen to, in a timely manner. I have been suffering from an undiagnosed gastric issue which has been a nightmare to investigate. I have resorted to using natural methods I have found online because the GP just waste your time. When I was seen, they booked me multiple tests but with no follow-up or any results. I still have no idea what my issue is exactly and is coming on 4 years now, in that time I have been prescribed medication that clearly has no effect. Really poor service, not fit for purpose considering people with various types of illnesses have to use the service.

    Visited June 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Akerman Medical Practice has not yet replied.


  7. Review titled Will be looking for different practice

    1 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 12 June 2019

    Very poor experience...sick feverish 2 year old who hasn't improved after appointment 3 days ago. No record of original consultation and not possible to see a doctor.

    Visited June 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Akerman Medical Practice has not yet replied.


  8. Review titled Terrible service and no 'care' at all

    1 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 05 April 2019

    After being patient with this practice for 3 years because I want to trust and value our the NHS I will finally be giving up after today. After 2 phone consultations regarding my 9mth olds pain and discomfort that was not improving, I was asked to bring her into the surgery for her "someone to look in her ears". We were kept waiting for 30mins after our appointment time, and only given the information that we were next to be seen after 20mins when I asked for it. When we finally went to the consultation room I found to my surprise that we were seeing a pharmacist and not a doctor. This enraged me as this is not the first time that a clever use of language has led me to believe that I would be seeing/speaking to a doctor when actually that is not the case. I do not object to seeing a competent pharmacist for issues that do not require the time of a doctor, but that this is not made clear to me when I make an appointment is unacceptable. Further more I could walk into any pharmacy close to my home and be seen in much less that 30mins. When we entered the room there was no apology for, or even acknowledgement of, the fact that we had been kept waiting for so long. With complete disinterest the pharmacist listened to me and looked in my child's ears, explaining to me what she saw only after I had asked. There was a mild inflammation and she suggested giving me a prescription for an ear spray that she wouldn't use if it continued to improve on its own, but that I could have in case. As I was leaving she mentioned that on the instructions of the ear spray it would say that children under 2 shouldn't use it, but that this is what is prescribed none-the-less. When I queried that perhaps it shouldn't be used if it wasn't meant to be she said that they just said that because they couldn't test it on children under 2. She then handed me the prescription and told me to hand it in at reception to be signed. When I did this the receptionist took the prescription to the doctor to get it signed, I'm sure interrupting an appointment, and we had to wait for another 10mins for this to happen. I left the practice feeling angry, quite confused about my child’s condition and unsure how to proceed. I would recommend the following so that this doesn’t happen to others: • Tell patients honestly what service/treatment to expect without alluding to the treatment they would like but will not get. • Treat patients with respect for their time, in the way that we have to respect the time of the practice. • When prescribing drugs explain why and when to use them so that patients feel confident in their usage. • Although a feel ridiculous writing this: Care about the people you see, it will go a long way to building the trust and respect that is essential to making a stressed system function and ensuring the health of all involved.

    Visited April 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Akerman Medical Practice

    Replied on 05 April 2019

    Thank you for your comment. Our practice pharmacist is fully trained to asses and treat minor ailments including ear problems . I am sorry that you had to wait long to be seen at the practice on the day. Clinicians work can be unpredictable and some patients do need more time that the allotted 14 minute slots we offer also sometime clinics get delayed when patient arrive late and this has knock n effect on the clinic's. I would expect front desk staff to keep patients waiting informed of the clinic running late unfortunately this did not happen in your case .. I have reminded staff again of informing patients if clinics are running more than 20 mins late . We as a practice see more than 95% of patients within 15 mins of there appointment time . In future we will be more clear with patients on the named clinican there appointment is booked with, especially with the national trend of increasing number of pharmacist being employed in GP practices to provide care for a variety of illness

    Report as unsuitable


  9. Review titled Impossible to get a meeting for critical sickness

    1 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 12 April 2019

    I am in early pregnancy and sugar level is 11 ( high) I need to start medication but the reception would not help getting an appointment. I called several times to book either a call or a real appointment but they keep telling me it is full. My condition is high risk but they dont seem to care or offer any advise. The worse GP ever, I am looking to change as soon as possible. Previously i complained about plain and long periods and they told me nothing to worry about, after going private they found that I had several Fibroid that I had to remove. GP to avoid

    Visited April 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Akerman Medical Practice

    Replied on 12 April 2019

    I am sorry to hear about your experience at the practice . Please contact send me your details via the Practice email LAMCCG.Akermanmedicalpractice@nhs .net so I can fully investigate your complaint and respond appropriately

    Report as unsuitable


  10. Review titled Rude reception staff and terrible system

    1 star rating

    by Anonymous - Posted on 11 March 2019

    I rarely need to go to the doctor but when I do I hope to be able to book an appointment without going through a long process. This surgery have extremely rude and unhelpful reception staff. Every time I call I get told I cannot make an appointment until a doctor has called me back - if I miss the call I do not get told and so I have to call back again to re book a consultation. The staff on reception give the impression they could not care less with no sympathy or kindness. All round very stressful process, which when you're feeling unwell calling a doctor is the last thing you need.

    Visited March 2019

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Akerman Medical Practice

    Replied on 11 March 2019

    I am sorry to hear about your experience at the practice . Please do contact the practice manager via LAMCCG.akermanmedicalpractice@nhs.net to discuss the matter so we can arrange appropriate training and support for our staff

    Report as unsuitable