West Berkshire Community Hospital

01635 273300 London Road, Benham Hill , Thatcham, Berkshire, RG18 3AS
Website address not added

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 48 ratings for this hospital

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 48 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(43 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(44 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4.5 out of 5 stars

(42 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(39 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(30 ratings)

Reviews

62 total

Angie Thumwood gave West Berkshire Community Hospital a rating of 5 stars

A big thank you

I would like to say a big thank you to all the staff at the Day Surgery Unit. From the moment i arrived and throughout my visit for all there kindness and reassurance. The phone call i received from them the day before just to go through everything with me, again was so reassuring. Thank you all

Visited in August 2016. Posted on 21 August 2016

Report as unsuitable

West Berkshire Community Hospital has not yet replied.

Miss Sargeant gave End of life care services at West Berkshire Community Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Rainbow rooms

My grandad has just passed away in the rainbow rooms in the hospital. We were reluctant to let him go to the hospice facilities but it was the right decision. He was made comfortable and all needs addressed. We could look out on to the gardens and this was enjoyed by both my grandad and my family. We we're involved in everything and fully assisted when needed. In what was a horrible time, it was made as best as possible and we were all with him! Being only 63 the staff addressed that he wasn't old and really emphasised with our family. Nothing will ever bring him back but we cannot thank the Sue Ryder nurse and the staff who supported us enough. Thank you so much! X

Visited in July 2016. Posted on 16 July 2016

Report as unsuitable

West Berkshire Community Hospital replied on 26 July 2016

Hello,
Thank you for your posting and please accept my condolences following the passing of your Grandad. We are pleased to see that you and your family were able to spend quality time with your Grandad and that his final days were comfortable and dignified. I have shared your feedback with staff concerned including The Newbury and District Cancer Care Trust. I am sure that they will appreciate this greatly.
Yours Sincerely,
Trevor Lyalle
Patient Advice & Liaison Service
Berkshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
Tel: 0118 9605027 e mail: bht@berkshire.nhs.uk

Report as unsuitable

Alex gave Minor injuries unit at West Berkshire Community Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Best service of any hospital I have visited anywhere!

For reference: Although I have lived in the UK most of my life, I have also spent about 15 years living overseas in Europe and further afield and so have had occasion to seek medical advice and or attention in some of these places.

After hurting my friend a few days ago, a friend of mine recommended I visit the Minor injuries clinic in Newbury. Checking with their website, I realised that the open clinic was open between 8am and 10am each day; it may be open at other times however I made sure I got there before 830am.

I honestly don't know where to start with how totally impressed I am with the service and care I received.

From the staff at the main reception, to the person at the minor injuries reception, to the doctor who examined me, the staff on the x-ray reception to the doctor to did my x-ray - every one of them was very warm, friendly, human, interested, caring - not one single even slightly disinterested or grumpy person. I have never experienced such ubiquitous care anywhere; even when I had occasion to see private practices or hospitals. Every one of the people i interacted with at the minor injuries unit was fabulous.

On top of that: I was seen by the first doctor within 5 minutes of arriving, I was (my hand) was x-rayed 10 minutes later and ten minutes after that I was back in with the first doctor again who talked me through the results and advised what I should do next - hand wasn't broken incidentally.

Given everything was so quick and fab, I decided to have a full breakfast in the canteen - even that was delicious and the staff there were lovely.

A completely unexpected experience - anywhere, never mind a hospital.

I can assure anyone reading this I am not particularly easy to impress and have less than a handful of times been impressed with anything enough to take "pen" to paper to say so.

Not sure who reads this blog/reviews/whatever, but if any of the staff from the minor injuries until do read this, I can't thank you or be impressed enough. You guys are amazing.

I look forward to having another minor injury just so I can visit again! Ok, that last line isn't true :-) but if ever I or anyone else I know does have a minor injury, I would encourage them to go to you if possible.

I think your unit should/could be used as a case study for how things can be.

Wonderful, thank you,
Alex

Visited in June 2016. Posted on 29 June 2016

Report as unsuitable

West Berkshire Community Hospital replied on 26 July 2016

Dear Alex,
Thank you for your posting and your kind and generous comments. I have shared your feedback with the relevant staff. I am sure that they will be very pleased to receive it.
Yours Sincerely,
Trevor Lyalle
Patient Advice & Liaison Service
Berkshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
Tel: 0118 9605027 e mail: bht@berkshire.nhs.uk

Report as unsuitable

John Stevenson gave Phlebotomy services at West Berkshire Community Hospital a rating of 3 stars

Phlebotomy Feedback

I have used the Blood Sample system operated by Sangix since it started. I,m due Chemo on Wednesday 13th at 9.00am at RBH Reading. I live in Newbury and used the "old" card system for many years. The longest I had to wait would be 45 minutes. I can't get an appointment on the system until Tuesday 12th. Too late for me. I have encountered this before. I people have a fixed appointment why is there usually 12 people waiting? I don't mind waiting the RBH operates the old card system and they have never let me down. I travel to Reading from Newbury by choice and will do so tomorrow because I cannot get seen till Tuesday. Also the Sangix system is a nightmare. It is not user friendly. I have made an appointment for the 19th at Newbury at 11.55am along with 7 other appointments!!!. I cancelled these by phone today so as not to take up slots for others. Once you "Confirm" an appointment it does not show Green on the calendar. So you think you haven't made an appointment. The e-mail follows. Also it pops up a banner to refresh your computer. Once made I cannot cancel. I phoned the help no. at 3.00pm yesterday and was rung back at 10.30am today. Today I rang again for an e-mail address at 10.30am and was responded to at 2.45pm. As we speak the system chart does not register in red.. The other overbookings now appear as green availability. Stand and listen to comments made by the public especially the elderly. the bulk of your custom. I notice there is currently a software apology on the site. It will not do. Needs a fix urgent.

Visited in April 2016. Posted on 07 April 2016

Report as unsuitable

West Berkshire Community Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Phlebotomy services at West Berkshire Community Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Blood

Yesterday I kindly received a text to remind me of my blood appointment today. Unfortunately I had to cancel the appointment as I needed an emergency Doctors appointment. I tried to cancel on line but the system just does not work! If you put in Sangix it gives you lots of information about how wonderful the service is but no opportunity to cancel an appointment. This is strange as the text I had received said to go to site and cancel on line?
If the option to cancel on line was easy and clear then it would sure free up the staff on reception who have a very busy job to manage.
This new service, if it would work easily, would be very good. Who ever is operating it needs to have a re think and look at the on line system. Perhaps a direct link to cancellations on the text? Or a direct link to the telephone number on the text?

Visited in April 2016. Posted on 28 April 2016

Report as unsuitable

West Berkshire Community Hospital replied on 22 August 2016

Hello,
Thank you for your posting and please accept my apologies for the delay in responding.I’m sorry to hear you found it difficult to access the Blood Test Online Booking System, in order to cancel your blood test appointment. I have contacted staff concerned and I can now explain why you were not able to do this.
Sangix has a public website, advertising their system and if you search for this in google the first thing that appears is “Sangix appointment booking”- the website address being www.sangix.co.uk.

However, the website you need to access is wbch.sangix.co.uk. Typing this in to the URL bar at the top . You do not need to put www. in front of it. By entering this web address, it will transfer you to the correct page to be able to log in if you are already registered with the Blood Test Department. If you have not previously registered yourself on the Sangix System you need to do that before you can book, amend or cancel appointments. To register online you need an email address as this will be your username, as it is a unique identifier to yourself. You will then be asked to set a password. If you follow these instructions you should not have any further issues with regard to booking, cancelling or amending appointments.

With regard to your comment that you were sent a text reminding you of your blood appointment, we or the Sangix system are not set up to send out text reminders to your phone. However, the Sangix system is set up to send reminders by email. Is it an email that your received, rather than a text to remind you of your appointment? If it was a text then it would not be from the Blood Test department. We are sorry for any confusion which may have occurred.

I hope that the information in this response makes the process easier the next time you need to book a blood test. If you have any other queries please don’t hesitate to contact me. Alternatively, you could contact your local Healthwatch organisation for assistance. Contact details can be found on our website www.berkshirehealthcare.nhs.uk

Kind Regards,

Trevor Lyalle
Patient Advice & Liaison Service
Berkshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
Tel: 0118 9605027 e mail: trevor.lyalle@berkshire.nhs.uk

Report as unsuitable

Sally gave Minor injuries unit at West Berkshire Community Hospital a rating of 3 stars

Acessing Minor Injuries Clinis

Apparently before you go to the Unit you must call 111 first. As we had never needed to take our daughter there before we did not know this. Frustratingly we did check the website first and it does not tell you this anywhere on the website !
We were sent away and asked to come back 2 hours later.
It just would have been really really useful if it could be put on the website - Please! We were also told that ulcerated tonsils which is what she had was not a minor injury (which I understand) however it still needed treating quickly this being Easter Bank holiday and felt we shouldn't wait another 2 days for the infection to take further hold! Not really sure why a minor injury is different in terms of assessing and treating than a sever case of tonsilitus.

Visited in March 2016. Posted on 27 March 2016

Report as unsuitable

West Berkshire Community Hospital replied on 28 April 2016

Hello,
Thank you for your posting. I have been in touch with our Urgent Care and Adult Services Manager. She and our Minor Injuries Unit Matron have looked into this and we feel that there has been confusion between the MIU and Out Of Hours GP services. You and your daughter attended West Berkshire Community Hospital over the Easter Weekend. On arrival the receptionists would have asked if the problem was an injury. I understand that you told them that it was a sore throat. The receptionists would have explained that the MIU only sees people with injuries and your daughter needed to see the OOH GP. The receptionists do educate the patients that they should phone 111 if they need a GP appointment. MIU would not routinely see patients with tonsillitis but we would ensure that they are sent to the correct service for treatment.

As the patient is what we refer to as a 'walk in' they would have had a set of observations done to make sure they were safe to wait for the GP and then given the next available appointment which in this case was 2 hours. You could have waited but most people would rather go home to wait. If this had been a week day you could have contacted your daughters' GP and asked for an emergency appointment and would have probably had to wait for at least 2 hours.MIU will see every patient with a minor injury without an appointment.

We are sorry to see that you were dissatisfied with your experience at the Minor Injuries Unit and for any confusion caused. Your feedback will inform the development of this service going forward. The Urgent Care and Adult Services Manager would be happy to speak to you to discuss this further should you wish. Alternatively, you could contact your local Healthwatch organisation for assistance. Contact details can be found on our website www.berkshirehealthcare.nhs.uk Please contact me if I can assist further.
Yours Sincerely,
Trevor Lyalle
Patient Advice & Liaison Service
Berkshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
Tel: 0118 9605027 e mail: bht@berkshire.nhs.uk

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous reviewed Phlebotomy services at West Berkshire Community Hospital

Booking blood tests.

This is an appalling service. It is almost impossible to get through on the phone. 17 attempts on one day. The on line booking system only books a week ahead and it's not possible to get through to the following week. If you are a warfarin patient this is no help at all. The answer to this problem is to come in before 10.00 and wait. Great for the people who have got appointments. The "we will return your call within 48 hours" isn't exactly helpful. I have found that the only guaranteed method is to go in and make an appointment in person. I feel very sorry for the receptionists who are trying to cope, but what is the manager doing to try to improve matters? CAE.

Visited in March 2016. Posted on 03 March 2016

Report as unsuitable

West Berkshire Community Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Phlebotomy services at West Berkshire Community Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Poor blood services.

Poor treatment for people on Warfarin. A little more understanding for them from receptionists wouldn't go amiss.

Visited in March 2016. Posted on 10 March 2016

Report as unsuitable

West Berkshire Community Hospital has not yet replied.

Barry gave Phlebotomy services at West Berkshire Community Hospital a rating of 3 stars

Booking a blood test at West Berkshire Community Hospital

Two weeks ago I tried to book a blood test. I phoned and left my details I still have not received a reply. My son now needs a blood test so with no faith in the telephone booking system I decided to have a go at the online booking. The message on the telephone system gives incorrect information. I tried to phone to complain to services manager but both the landline and mobile were on answerphone. I have left messages. I eventually got onto the online booking to find that the next available appointment I can attend will be 2 weeks away. In my opinion the new blood test booking procedure is a complete failure and the turn up and wait system was far better. The longest I usually had to wait was 30 minutes. I look forward to hearing why after such a long time the new system is not working properly and why the phone message gives the wrong online booking details and finally why there is simply not a link to follow on the website.

Kind Regards

Barry

Visited in February 2016. Posted on 04 February 2016

Report as unsuitable

West Berkshire Community Hospital has not yet replied.

Caroline Russell gave Phlebotomy services at West Berkshire Community Hospital a rating of 3 stars

Blood test debacle

the phone line is permanently engaged. If you are fortunate enough to get through and leave a message and someone does call back (which doesn't always happen) you can guarantee it's at a time that you can't get to the phone. then they ask you to call back....The message with the website link sounds like sandex

The earliest appt I could get today is 3rd March. Main reception are aware of all the issues and say they told the unit weeks ago that the website address isn't legible on the answer machine.

Also this review site keeps loosing the review text!

Why can't we just wait again!!!! Ggggrrrrr...

Visited in February 2016. Posted on 25 February 2016

Report as unsuitable

West Berkshire Community Hospital replied on 08 April 2016

Hello,
Thank you for your posting. Firstly, I would like to apologise for the delay in replying to your comments, and that you've had such an unsatisfactory experience in trying to book your blood test at West Berkshire Community Hospital. I have been in touch with the Phlebotomy Service Manager and we have been struggling with the volume of calls we receive. and we had envisaged that more patients would use the online booking system. Unfortunately, this was not the case, and we continued to struggle, even when we allocated another member of staff to the reception desk in the interim until we could find a viable solution.
However, since your comments were made , we have implemented an automated telephone appointment system to book your blood tests, which is available to any patient who has previously booked a blood test, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. As long as your details are in the Sangix system, and your date of birth and contact telephone number have been entered when you booked your first blood test with the Receptionist, you should be able to make your appointment via the automated system by following the instructions and keying in your date of birth and contact telephone number when prompted, via the telephone keypad and then follow the instructions. Any new patients will still need to go through to the Receptionist to register and book their first appointment, but will then be able to use the automated system for any subsequent blood tests requested.

If patients use this new automated system, it will eventually allow us to take back one of our Phlebotomists who has been covering the Reception Desk/Appointment Line, as the volume of work was too great for one Receptionist. This will enable us to provide more appointments, as the Phlebotomist will be back doing her main duty, which is taking blood from the patients.

With regard to the Online Booking System, we have now had a web page created on the Berkshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust website, with a link to the online booking system.We have also re-recorded the answerphone message a number of weeks ago due to the issue you described.

Once again we are sorry that your experience of booking a blood test was not good, and hope that booking a blood test will be a more straightforward experience for you in the future. Please feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss this further. Alternatively, you could contact your local Healthwatch organisation for assistance. Contact details can be found on our website, www.berkshirehealthcare.nhs.uk
Yours Sincerely,
Trevor Lyalle
Patient Advice & Liaison Service
Berkshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
Tel: 0118 9605027 e mail: bht@berkshire.nhs.uk

Report as unsuitable