John Radcliffe Hospital

Telephone: 01865 741166
Address: Headley Way, Headington, Oxford, Oxfordshire, OX3 9DU
Website: http://www.ouh.nhs.uk/hospitals/jr/default.aspx

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 228 ratings for this hospital

Accident and emergency services

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 228 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(226 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(231 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(225 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(226 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(193 ratings)

Reviews

378 total

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at John Radcliffe Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Treating Mum after a fall

The NHS under extreme strain has delivered a fantastic service. Yes mum had to wait on a trolley for a while in the A&E corridor however I got the real sense that all stafff, nurses and doctors were working well together and providing the best possible service. Mum had X-rays, scans, investigations and assessments in quick fashion and with great kindness by all Thank you NHS OUH

Visited in March 2015. Posted on 04 March 2015

Report as unsuitable

John Radcliffe Hospital replied on 23 March 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us, our staff appreciate knowing they have made a difference to the lives of patients and their families.

It has been a joy to share your thanks with staff working in the Horton Hospital, and with senior nurses and management.

We appreciate your comments and hope that your mother is now fully recovered

Report as unsuitable

Emma G gave Accident and emergency services at John Radcliffe Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Head wound

My father attended A&E this morning for stiches after cutting his head. Gemma Burford- the nurse practitioner couldn't have been more professional and caring and really put us both as ease. I don't think my father could have possibly received better care and we are extremely grateful

Visited in February 2015. Posted on 05 February 2015

Report as unsuitable

John Radcliffe Hospital replied on 23 March 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us, our staff appreciate knowing they have made a difference to the lives of patients and their families.

It has been a joy to share your thanks with staff working in A&E at the John Radcliffe Hospital, and with senior nurses and management.

I hope that your father is now fully recovered from his accident.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at John Radcliffe Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Treatment of elderly patients in A and E

On Sunday February 1st my 93 year old mother in law, Mrs Enid S, had a fall in her residential/nursing home and complained of pain in her hip. The emergency GP didn't come out to see her but the paramedics were called and took her to A and E at about 2.0 pm. By the time we got there, around 3.30pm she'd already had an extensive check up by the doctor who respectfully asked her permission, before he would tell us about his diagnosis. We all agreed that perhaps the visit to hospital had been unnecessary (as she'd been able to walk since the accident and it had given her no pain). But we felt the doctor was far more concerned about the inconvenience it had caused her, arriving in A and E on a busy Sunday afternoon, than any feeling that she might have taken up an emergency bed, or his precious time. The nurse found sandwiches for her and was most patient in getting her from the bed to a chair in the waiting area and then into a wheel chair. I think this has been her third visit to A and E since she moved to Yarnton with her late husband, Victor S, who also visited A and E on two occasions. Each time we have intended to write to say how much we appreciated not only the high standard of medical treatment they each received but also the respect and friendliness with which they were treated by all the staff concerned.
Yours sincerely, Theresa

Visited in February 2015. Posted on 08 February 2015

Report as unsuitable

John Radcliffe Hospital replied on 23 March 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us, our staff appreciate knowing they have made a difference to the lives of patients and their families.

It has been a joy to share your thanks with staff working in A&E at the John Radcliffe Hospital, and with senior nurses and management.

Good to hear that your mother-in-law's fall was not as serious as thought and we hope she is now fully recovered.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at John Radcliffe Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Very unsatisfied.

I was taken to A&E via ambulance as arranged with my GP..
When I arrived the sister was not expecting me so I was waiting in the corridor while she made numerous phone calls to find where I should go.
I was eventually put in a cubicle to wait for the dr.
He did some tests, which he could see were very painful for me, and decided that, yes, I needed an operation but as it was not an emergency within 24 hrs I should go home and wait for a date to be given. I already knew I had a slipped disk.
It was 12.45 am on sat morning as I was told I had to go home. I said I couldn't get hold of anyone as my phone had no signal in A&E.
No help was given at all, no one offered to call anyone. I was just told I had to go.
I had to walk - extremely painful for me, I can only walk a few feet before I have to rest, all the way to the outside door to make a phone call and no one offered me any help!! I walked past numerous staff members who just watched me in tears trying to walk.
I then had to wait by the doors for my lift to arrive, again, no one offered me any sort of help A&E was very quiet that night so they were not busy, most of the staff were just stood/sat around chatting.

Visited in February 2015. Posted on 15 February 2015

Report as unsuitable

John Radcliffe Hospital replied on 24 February 2015

Thank you for your comments regarding your admission to the John Radcliffe Hospital. I am very sorry that your experience in Accident & Emergency did not meet the standard you could expect. We would be very happy to investigate the issues you have raised and provide you with a response. If you would like us to do this, please do not hesitate to contact Sue McNiven, Complaint Coordinator on 01295 224001 or at sue.mcniven@ouh.nhs.uk who will be happy to discuss the complaint process with you.

Report as unsuitable

Emma G gave Accident and emergency services at John Radcliffe Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Head Wound

My father attended A&E this morning for stiches to a cut to the head. The nurse practitioner was extremely professional and compassionate and really put us both at ease. I don't think my father could have received better care and we are very grateful.

Visited in February 2015. Posted on 05 February 2015

Report as unsuitable

John Radcliffe Hospital replied on 23 March 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us, our staff appreciate knowing they have made a difference to the lives of patients and their families.

It has been a joy to share your thanks with staff working in A&E at the John Radcliffe Hospital, and with senior nurses and management.

We hope that your father has now made a full recovery

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at John Radcliffe Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Poor treatment by nurses

I contracted the most intense nerve pain I've ever had in my life and after having visited a doctor, who prescribed me painkillers that had no effect, I was forced to go to JR hospital, as no doctor was available to give me decent painkillers (it was 4am at that point). I had to get myself a taxi there, in worst pain imaginable, to arrive in a completely empty A&E room. After half an hour the nurse came to check up on me and gave me a painkiller, telling me I could get more if this one didn't work. However, when this painkiller had no effect, I tried to find the nurse. he had disappeared to somewhere else, leaving me behind with another nurse who had no idea what painkiller I had taken. She said she'd tell me when he'd come back. After another hour of intense pain, I tried to ask the other nurse for help, who only told me to sit down and wait. I explained to her that the painkillers weren't working and I had been in pain for more than 8 hours now. She refused to help me. I decided to roam the hospital myself to find him but was unable to find him. After another hour he finally returned and gave me a (equally useless) painkiller and a lecture on the fact that they were quite somewhere else as well and he suggested he'd give me a tour to show his other patients.
After that rude encounter I decided it would be easier to call my own GP. It was nearly 9am at this point (I'd been in the hospital for more than 4 hours). We booked an appointment at 9:50 and right when we were about to leave, finally a doctor showed up to say she was ready to see me.
I have been experiencing the worst pain in my life and, while this doctor was actually quite helpful and friendly, no one else was. The nurses were horrible and couldn't care less about my pain, there was no one around (a few other people popped into A&E once in a while, but no doctors) and it was just easier to sit through the night in excruciating pain, waiting for a GP appointment in the morning.

Visited in February 2015. Posted on 05 February 2015

Report as unsuitable

John Radcliffe Hospital replied on 24 February 2015

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent admission to the Johyn Radcliffe Hospital. I am very sorry that your experience in the A&E department did not meet the standard you could expect. We would be very happy to investigate the issues you have raised and provide you with a response. If you would like us to do this, please do not hesitate to contact Sue McNiven. Complaints Co-ordinator on 01295 224001 or at sue.mcnive@ouh.nhs.uk who will be happy to discuss the complaint process with you.

Report as unsuitable

Peter Buckle gave Accident and emergency services at John Radcliffe Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Just to say thank you to the A&E dept

Just to say thank you for the wonderful treatment given to me on Friday 20th Feb.
All of the staff, Doctors and Nurses , were fantastic throughout my stay. Given how busy the A&E dept is these days its quite remarkable how cheerful and respectful the staff remain .
After my initial assessment i was transferred to the observation ward and stayed there for a further 24 hours. I was looked after by two nurses, I would personally like to give a special thank you to theses two people who in my opinion are at the top of their game when it come to bedside manner, they are a credit to our NHS .

Visited in February 2015. Posted on 23 February 2015

Report as unsuitable

John Radcliffe Hospital has not yet replied.

will Alexander gave Accident and emergency services at John Radcliffe Hospital a rating of 5 stars

A&E visit

I attended a and e on the 19th Jan with a broken wrist. The paramedics where excellent, the staff in a and e where brilliant! Extremely impressed with the hospital! If only my local hospital was as good! Thank you for looking after me so well

Visited in January 2015. Posted on 23 January 2015

Report as unsuitable

John Radcliffe Hospital replied on 05 March 2015

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

I am sorry to hear about your wrist, but I am glad that you received such great treatment, both from the paramedics, and the A&E staff.

It has been a pleasure to share your thanks with teams working in A&E at the John Radcliffe Hospital, and with senior nurses and management.

I hope that you are recovering well!

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at John Radcliffe Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Who took the care out of caring proffession

My elderly mother had a fall and broke her ankle, the a/e dept staff were absolutely fantastic, thus where the good ends.

Having waited in a corridor for seven hours a bed was found for her on a ward.my mother is a very confused lady although every member of staff seemed unable to realise my mother couldn't comprehend things-although it is very obvious.

We were told that she would need to go to a community hospital although this changed to a care bed, 3 weeks later we are still waiting.

While I have a lot of praise for most of the staff in light blue uniforms, not sure of their title I find the staff nurses and sisters to be uncaring and uninterested in not only my mother but other elderly people that have been in the same ward.

It is not my mothers fault that she is blocking a bed, but a more hands on or a friendly word to these older patients could go a long way. To be referred to by bed number on the phone is very indicative of the attitude shown.

They are certainly not understaffed on her ward and whilst they can talk about boyfriends or big brother with each other surely they could pass a couple of words to patients.

Unfortunately I come from a family with nursing backgrounds and they would be appalled by the lack of care shown, even the sisters that sit at the desk could spare eye contact with family simply asking for news.

As a prior auditor with the nhs, I have to conclude that I hope never to have to be in a ward at the JR.

Visited in January 2015. Posted on 07 February 2015

Report as unsuitable

John Radcliffe Hospital replied on 24 February 2015

Thank you for your comments regarding your mother's admission to the John Radcliffe Hospital. I am very sorry that yours and your mother's experience on the ward did not meet the standard you could expect. We would be very happy to investigate the issues you have raised and provide you with a response. If you would like us to do this, please do not hesitate to contact Sue McNiven, Complaints Coordinator on 01295 224001 or at sue.mcniven@ouh.nhs.uk who will be happy to discuss the complaint process with you.

Report as unsuitable

Haldene gave Accident and emergency services at John Radcliffe Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Great service and consideration

Great service on 2cnd January.
Am from New Zealand visiting family and had need for checking my condition...rang 111 who advised going to JR as soon as possible..triaged in 30 minutes,X-ray and ECG and bloods done and discharged with a prescription in just over 2 hours...
All done in busy environment .
Had thought NZ had a great health service but this experience of mine shows you have a great service....my possible concern was that I needed to go to a A&E And not local gp?
Amazed that no charges were made as although we have reciprocal arrangements between countries some charge may stop some " unnecessary" time involvement for minor situations which could be sorted by say a pharmacist.

Visited in January 2015. Posted on 07 January 2015

Report as unsuitable

John Radcliffe Hospital replied on 05 March 2015

Thank you so much for taking time to share such a positive experience.

I am glad that the care you received was such an excellent standard, that you were seen and treated quickly. I am pleased that you were impressed with the care that the UK’s NHS provided, we strive to provide excellent, and compassionate care .

It has been a joy to share your thanks with staff working in A&E at the John Radcliffe Hospital, and with senior nurses and management.

I hope that your treatment is progressing well.

Report as unsuitable

Last updated on 06 March 2015.

Information supplied by Oxford University Hospitals NHS Trust