John Radcliffe Hospital

01865 741166 Headley Way, Headington , Oxford, Oxfordshire, OX3 9DU
http://www.ouh.nhs.uk/hospitals/jr/default.aspx

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 287 ratings for this hospital

Accident and emergency services

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 287 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(280 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(289 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(281 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(283 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(238 ratings)

Reviews

538 total

Matt ( Barry White ) gave Accident and emergency services at John Radcliffe Hospital a rating of 1 stars

If you have a physical medical problem, the JR is ok.

If you have a mental health problem, dementia or any other problem that leaves you mentally impaired ( I am talking about long term issues ). The staff are great, EDPS/Barns unit are the best. Problem comes with heavy handed security. There are some Dr who will try and tell you incorrect information if you go in confused. Mainly this relates to the MCA ( Mental Capacity Assessment). There are guidelines put in place that require minimal or passive use of force by security guards, if this is not enough and an MCA is in place or the patient is aggressive then active C&R can be used.

I have broken ribs for needing the loo. I don't mind that but the body cams were turned on after I was beaten. Fortunately mine was on constantly. but has been damaged by security. I have enough though.

I wish more people would come forward, I have seen an elderly man (he was built well ) be put under incorrect hold for wandering away ( he had dementia, not his fault) . Security went for active holds and did not even try to help him.

I am young and this is the second time in a few years I have been humiliated, I can take it and I may me hurting now but not enough to avoid being in that position again should I have mental issues ( I have Asperger's and PD) .

This needs to stop.

XX

Visited in January 2016. Posted on 30 January 2016

Report as unsuitable

John Radcliffe Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at John Radcliffe Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Thank you for making me feel like a mummy

Yesterday I was told by my GP my son had mumps (he's 2.5 yrs and has had his first MMR) they told me that they didn't know what the swelling on his eye was but to call if it got worse. I followed this instruction and this morning when he woke it was awful - I didn't know what to do as he had mumps and I have 2 other young children who are poorly too with chest infections and tonsillitis. Initially I called 111 who advised I called my doctors so I waited until 8:30 and called them - I was told a doctor would call me at some point during the day. I was not happy with this my baby boys eye was awful but I had no idea what to do, I phoned children's A&E - I was in tears and completely lost, I don't know their name but they were brilliant (thank you so much for calming me down - they will probably say it's her job but it means so much), having sorted out child care for my eldest 2 I headed into Oxford to get him checked - unfortunately parking was a nightmare so I was delicate by the time I got to reception- the receptionist was great, they didn't rush me, was great with him and completely understood me, again I don't know their name and they will say it's their job but thank you.
We didn't wait too long to be assessed again by another wonderful staff member who listened to me and trusted my judgement as a mother.
Then we saw the Dr - they were brilliant, again listened to everything I said, my concerns, my son was relaxed about being examined etc... I was being treated like someone who isn't stupid and my facts and opinions counted. The diagnosis was scary but I was talked through it and trusted to take my little boy home and care for him with the knowledge that I could go back if needed. Dr even took us up to the pharmacy to get the antibiotics. I can't express how much today means- I have felt I'm wasting GPs time when I know there is something wrong. I am sorry that we had to go to A & E and use resources when it could have been dealt with a week ago at my GPs but I am so grateful for the help, support and sensitivity we received today. Keep up the great work, ignore the bad press and thank you so much

Visited in December 2015. Posted on 02 December 2015

Report as unsuitable

John Radcliffe Hospital replied on 22 December 2015

Thank you for your comments regarding your son’s recent visit to Children’s A&E. We are very glad to hear that the staff in Children’s A&E were so helpful and reassuring during what was clearly a difficult time for you and your son. It must have been a very distressing time for you, so it is great to hear that the staff you encountered were able to ensure that you remained calm and reassured, and that they made sure you were involved in the discussions.

It is also wonderful to hear that the consultant took the time to walk with you to the pharmacy to get your son’s medication.

We would be delighted to share your comments with the relevant team and hope that your son is recovering well.

If you would like to take your concerns further regarding your experience with the GP surgery, please do not hesitate to contact the Oxfordshire Clinical Commissioning Group on Freephone 0800 052 6088 or email patient.services@oxfordshireccg.nhs.uk.

Report as unsuitable

Paul gave Accident and emergency services at John Radcliffe Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Very efficient; Excellent care

Arrived 6.00 on a Sunday morning (fortunately a very quiet time in A&E) with 91 yr old father in law in great discomfort/pain as not able to pass urine for 18 hours as he has a catheter which had become blocked due to a urinary infection. Seen straight away at reception then by triage nurse who took history etc & walked us round to 'majors' treatment cubicles. Waited 20 mins then a very kind nurse expertly and gently replaced the catheter allowing the bladder to drain bringing instant relief to the patient. The nurse got us both a cup of tea and generally looked after us very well, making the patient comfortable and getting the antibiotics the dr prescribed. We were out and on our way home 85 mins after arrival.

Visited in December 2015. Posted on 13 December 2015

Report as unsuitable

John Radcliffe Hospital replied on 22 December 2015

Many thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback.

It is great to hear that you and your father-in-law were seen so quickly and that the problem was dealt with efficiently. We encourage our staff to go the extra mile - such as getting patients and relatives a cup of tea - and are glad that your experience was so positive.

We will ensure that your comments are passed on to the relevant team, and wish you well for the future.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at John Radcliffe Hospital a rating of 2 stars

A worry

I was taken to A&E with a possible neck and spine injury and had a neck brace and was strapped to the bed. I was left by the doors of A&E and it was absolutely freezing as the doors kept opening and closing. I was desperate for the toilet and could not get up and had asked the ambulance man to alert the nurse as I could not go of my own accord. I waited and waited until I thought I would just get up and go anyway. My son went and asked and was rudely told that they had much illler patients than me and I would have to wait. I realise they were very busy but it was a 5 minute care need.

Worse of all I had a wrist band put on me and twice asked if I needed pain killers. I said yes both times but never had these nor was I offered any water. When I got home I took the wrist band off and 'it was not me!'. This could have the potential to be a life threatening mistake. Busy or not the right wrist band should go on the right person.

Visited in December 2015. Posted on 16 December 2015

Report as unsuitable

John Radcliffe Hospital replied on 16 December 2015

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience in A&E at the John Radcliffe Hospital. I am very sorry that your care lacked the compassion that we expect all our patients to receive. Please be assured that your feedback will be passed onto the Service Managers responsible for the Emergency Department. We would welcome the opportunity to investigate the issues you have raised and provide you with a response. If you would like us to do this, please do not hesitate to contact the Complaints Department on 01865 221728 or at complaints@ouh.nhs.uk who will be happy to discuss the complaint process with you.

Report as unsuitable

Gerald Nash gave Accident and emergency services at John Radcliffe Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Chest Pains at 0300

I attended the JR A&E dept on the 21st of December with chest pains. Both myself and my wife were very stressed. The staff were courteous, efficient and very professional. I arrived at 0430 and left at 0645 having had two ECG's, blood tests, a chest X ray and my blood pressure checked four times.
Fortunately it was nothing serious and I left feeling a lot better. We had heard a lot of negative things about the JR but found my care them to be superb.

Visited in December 2015. Posted on 31 December 2015

Report as unsuitable

John Radcliffe Hospital replied on 07 January 2016

Thank you so much for taking time to share your feedback with us. We are very sorry to hear of your illness and the difficulties you have experienced. However, it is great to hear that you have experienced the standard of care that we would expect at our hospital, and that our team of clinicians provided the necessary support throughout your short time at the JR.

We are pleased to hear that the cause of your pains were not serious, and wish you the very best for the future.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at John Radcliffe Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Friendly and high quality care

Today I had to go to A&E for son and I was impressed with the quality of care provided by the nurse who assessed him and then the Dr and nurse who superglued his wound. My son is nearly three and they dealt with home in a lovely and caring manner particularly the nurses. It was lovely as it made a potentially difficult and stressful situation so easy really.

Visited in November 2015. Posted on 06 November 2015

Report as unsuitable

John Radcliffe Hospital replied on 23 November 2015

Thank you for providing this lovely feedback, we're glad to hear that what must have been a very stressful day was made easier by the staff you and your son encountered. We aim to provide consistently excellent care with compassion so it is great to learn that our aim was met in your experience. Your comments will be passed on to the relevant team.

Report as unsuitable

SamanthaN3 gave Accident and emergency services at John Radcliffe Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Resuscitation Unit

My son was transferred to hospital by ambulance at around 4am on 11/11/15. The ambulance called ahead and on arrival we were greeted by a very helpful nurse who too us through to the resuscitation unit, where a paediatrician and nurses we waiting for us. The!staff were so brilliant, the care they provided was excellent, and they went out of their way to reassure both my son and I and they succeeded in stabilising my son's breathing. I would like to offer a heartfelt thanks to all the team. The work you do is so important and saves lives, and I am just grateful for the care and treatment you gave my son. As well as the excellent reassurance you gave me by keeping me well informed of what was happening at every step.

Visited in November 2015. Posted on 13 November 2015

Report as unsuitable

John Radcliffe Hospital replied on 24 November 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide this welcomed feedback; it must have been a very distressing time for you and your son. We're so glad to hear that the staff you encountered were attentive, thorough and professional, as we would expect. As a Trust, we aim to ensure that both patients and relatives are provided with the highest level of care and treatment, which entails keeping them very well informed about what is happening at each step. Your comments will be passed on.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at John Radcliffe Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Accident and Emergency

I've been to many accident and emergency wards and this is the first I've seen a medical consultant and all the test and treatment done in less than 2 hours.

Visited in October 2015. Posted on 08 November 2015

Report as unsuitable

John Radcliffe Hospital replied on 24 November 2015

Thank you for providing this feedback; we're so glad to hear that you found the care you received in our A&E so efficient.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at John Radcliffe Hospital a rating of 3 stars

telephone systen and staff infomation

Husband admitted early evening Saturday morning, moved from a&e to Say 6D. I left the hospital early hours of Sunday. I tried call to check how he was in the morning. I was greeted with no not here can to ring, this number l had just woke and was very concerned asked to be connected as l had called as soon I woke, was told ' no sorry l am useless with the phone' called main switch to go through the system again, this time told not on the ward will still be in triage, so called yet again to be told not on triage, so not on the ward and not in triage. I then called my husband direct, yes he was on the ward...............while I understand the focus is the patient just checking the system to confirm where he was should not be beyond the staff. So after three calls l still do not know where he is . . by the time l spoke to my husband he was very stressed as l had not call. Please address this for the future.

Visited in October 2015. Posted on 18 October 2015

Report as unsuitable

John Radcliffe Hospital replied on 22 October 2015

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent attempts to telephone via the Main Switchboard. We are very sorry that your treatment was not at the high standard that we expect. We would like the opportunity to investigate the issues you have raised and provide you with a response. If you would like us to do this, please do not hesitate to contact the Complaints Team on 01865 227128 or at complaints@ouh.nhs.uk and we will be happy to discuss the complaint process with you. Kind regards. Complaints Team

Report as unsuitable

Mike Gardener gave Accident and emergency services at John Radcliffe Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Thank you to all the staff

Having been involved in a tragic road accident, I feel the need to express my thanks to all the staff firstly in A & E who treated me on my arrival, then everyone on ward 2a of the trauma department. The care I received was extremely good and made what was a very difficult time for me bearable, considering my family friends were 2 hours away. A big thank you all.

Visited in October 2015. Posted on 20 October 2015

Report as unsuitable

John Radcliffe Hospital replied on 22 October 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to give this feedback. It is really nice to hear that our staff helped you through such a difficult time, especially when away from family and friends. We hope you are recovering well; your comments will be passed on to staff in A&E and on Trauma Ward 2A.

Report as unsuitable

Last updated on 22 January 2016.

Information supplied by Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust