Southmead Hospital

0117 9505050 Southmead Road, Westbury-on-Trym , Bristol, Avon, BS10 5NB
http://www.nbt.nhs.uk

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 253 ratings for this hospital

Gynaecology

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 253 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(259 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(258 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(261 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(255 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(206 ratings)

Reviews

694 total

A Watson gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 3 stars

this department shoud be in the new building!

I was disappointed to find a service such as this one in an old outdated building. I arrived on my own and the receptionist hardly even looked up from what they were doing. They gave me the option of two waiting rooms without lifting their head to look at me. It was a bad start.
When I told the receptionist that I would need a nurse should I have an examination, they came back to me in a crowded waiting room with both genders present, to tell me is a loud voice that I would have a nurse with me. I thought their attitude very unprofessional and it was a very bad start to my visit!
Because of this bad start, I was probably on the offensive with the kind surgeon who was seeing me. I'm surprised that these old buildings are being used for such an important and sensitive service. It was like going back twenty years.
Having waited almost three months for this outpatient appointment and being in pain, I sincerely hope that my next appointment for a scan, is handled a little better.

Visited in March 2017. Posted on 14 March 2017

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 15 March 2017

Dear Ms Watson - thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide your feedback about your recent Gynaecology appointment.
I am sorry that you were not welcomed politely and that staff did not appear empathetic, clearly this is not how we wish any patient or visitor to be greeted. Respect for patients privacy should always be respected and I am sorry that you felt that this was not the case when you were shown to the waiting room and informed that a nurse chaperone would be available to accompany you to your appointment. I agree this should have been handled more sensitively and on behalf of the service I apologise for your experience and accept this would not have help put you at ease ahead of being seen.
The Women and Children's quarter of the hospital was included in the site redevelopment, however the buildings were judged to be fit for purpose subject to an upgrade; regrettably, budget considerations were also a factor in the long term planning for the site.
I have shared your comments with the department so they are aware how their attitude affected your perception of the service and to provide the opportunity for changes to be made. As a result I too hope that when you next attend you will have a more positive experience.
Thank you once again for sharing your views.
Kind regards - Steve Sykes
Advice and Complaints Team

Report as unsuitable

Laura gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 2 stars

Disappointing

The reason I felt that I had to rate my experience at Southmead as I did was for any number of reasons.

There was a 2 hour delay from the 11 'o' clock admission time to when I was actually seen or admitted at all in any way as they were short of a bed. I understand that despite this being a planned overnight admission things do crop up though and so was more than happy to to accept this.
When the nurse called me through however they were abrupt and stand-offish. Whist completing the admission paperwork with me they didn't come across as caring in the least despite my anxiety and unfortunately this was mimicked in the care I received by the majority of the nurses during my stay. As a manager myself in the NHS I 100% understand the difficult challenges facing the nursing staff however I must say patient care is my number 1 priority and have never seen a single member of my team treat a patient in this way despite anything going on 'behind the scenes'.

When going into the bay I would be staying in I noted it hadn't been cleaned completely and still had the rubbish in the bag from the previous patient attached to the table.

I hadn't eaten since 5:30 AM and was out of surgery at 6 PM. I returned to the ward at 7PM. It wasn't until I asked at 930 PM if I could have some food that I was told that they would have to check the kitchen to see if there was anything there leftover. I was a planned admission, but again I was being ignored and treated like an inconvenience. There was apparently one ham sandwich in the fridge and that was it. I am not asking for gourmet food but if I knew the financial constraints were that bad at Southmead I would have more than happily brought my own food with me. As it happened I could barely tolerate a bite of the stale sandwich.

Whilst my catheter was being removed three nurses/HCAs walked in to talk to the nurse doing it which was highly embarrassing for me.

The next day when the nurse changed the plasters on the incision points they put on clear sticky adhesive plasters which stuck directly to the sites. As a senior nurse myself I knew this was wrong and was an absolute nightmare to get off at home when they needed changing and actually pulled away some of the healed skin. I wasn't given any advice on post op care on leaving and I'm not looking forward to potentially needing surgery there in the future.

I would report this to the Trust's complaints department but I am doubtful that it will make any difference and therefore do not wish to waste my time doing so.

Visited in December 2016. Posted on 21 February 2017

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 23 February 2017

Dear Laura,

Thank you for your email, I am sorry that you have had such a poor experience when you attended for your procedure at Southmead Hospital. Clearly, what you have described is not what we would want or expect for any of our patients. Please be assured that your concerns have been shared with the Gynaecology Department for them to be aware of how poor your experience was. Please be assured that lessons will be learnt. Please don't feel that you would be wasting your time making a formal complaint, we are always appreciative of patients providing feedback about our services so that we can learn and where possible make changes so that this can provide a more positive experience for future patients. If you would like us to investigate your concerns as a formal complaint, please contact us at Complaints@nbt.nhs.uk. Once again please accept our sincere apologies that you were made to feel so unwelcome. Kind Regards, Sue Needs, Deputy Advice & Complaints Team Manager.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Excellent service

I had a laparoscopic left salpingoophrectomy (25.10.16). I was admitted at 07:00hrs and discharged at 19:00hrs. From the moment I arrived to my discharge time, the care and attention from all of the staff I came into contact with (nurses, receptionists, health care assistants, domestics, anaesthetists, doctors, consultant surgeons) was exceptionally professional. Many thanks to you all again. Viva la NHS!

Visited in October 2016. Posted on 26 October 2016

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 28 October 2016

Dear Anonymous - thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your views of Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital. I was pleased to learn that you were treated so positively by all staff and that you received excellent care. I have passed on your kind comments to the teams concerned and wish you a speedy recovery.
Kind Regards - Steve Sykes
Advice and Complaint Team

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous reviewed Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital

Cash Stolen from purse whilst lead in theatre

I am disappointed to have to write this review, but I feel that the matter has not been dealt with professionally. I did not get offered a locker for my valuables, which I didn't know was available until after the incident had happened. When I went down to theatre the nurse and health care assistant advised me that my valuables would be ''safe'' in the ward cupboard, as nobody else would be in the room. I arrived back to the ward after theatre when I said to my husband that there is some cash in my purse that he could use for parking, when he went to get the cash out, it had gone. I had £75 stolen from me which the security took seriously and was so say going to check CCTV, but I have tried to contact the sister nurse for over a week now and it would appear that the sister is avoiding speaking to me.

Visited in September 2016. Posted on 24 October 2016

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 27 October 2016

Dear Anonymous – I was sorry to read of your distressing experience. I was sorry to learn that you have had trouble contacting the Sister concerned, which could be for a number of reasons, shift pattern, etc. but one of her colleagues should have been able to take the call and assist you. Please be assured that I have passed your comments on the Women and Children’s Health Directorate to make them aware. If the matter has still not been resolved and you would like to pass on your details to enable contact to be make please contact us via complaints@nbt.nhs.uk (and quote ref NHSC67) and we will arrange for you to receive a call from the sister concerned.
Kind Regards – Steve Sykes
Advice and Complaints Team

Report as unsuitable

RachelB gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 3 stars

No response

I had a hysterectomy back in 2009 and the care i received was outstanding. I had an appointment in June of this year as it seems all of my endometriosis has returned and the Consultant wants to do another laparoscopy to see what going on. They advised that I would be in July/August. I called 2 days ago and left my name, nhs number and contact number just for an update. As yet i have had no response. I am in severe pain (i understand others are too) but just a call back is always appreciated!

Visited in June 2016. Posted on 08 September 2016

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 13 September 2016

Dear Rachel – thank you for taking the time and trouble to post the details of your experience of contacting the Gynaecology team at Southmead Hospital. I am sorry that your call was not returned and that the answerphone message did not give details of when the messages would be reviewed and a return call made. This is contrary to the policy of the Trust. If you have not yet receive a return call please contact the Advice and Complaints Team at complaints@nbt.nhs.uk with your full details and we will be happy to direct the questions you have to the correct area and ensure a response is made.
Kind Regards – Steve Sykes
Advice and Complaints Team

Report as unsuitable

Emm gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Excellent Care, especially as a coeliac sufferer

I had a hysterectomy on Cotswold Ward on Friday 26 February 2016. The care I received from all the staff involved was excellent, all were friendly, helpful and informative and very caring. They ensured that gluten free food was sent over from the main hospital for me as I have coeliac disease. I saw the consultant who performed the operation before I left on the Saturday and was given good aftercare advice on discharge. All the staff I came into contact with were excellent. Thank you for making my time more bearable and as stress free as possible.

Visited in February 2016. Posted on 29 February 2016

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 22 March 2016

Dear Emm – thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your views of professional service provided by the Gynaecology Teams at Southmead Hospital. Your views and thanks have been shared with the teams concerned. I hope that you are making good progress after your surgery and that you are soon fully recovered.

Kind Regards – Steve Sykes
Advice and Complaints Team

Report as unsuitable

Majorell gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 1 stars

A long wait

I have been waiting since February for the laporoscopy I was promised. I phoned once in April and I was told I'd hear something by July. Well it's the end of July and I have heard nothing. I have called on numerous occasions and left voicemails with all my details for them to get back to me. Nothing. Not only is my pain unbearable but being treated like this is too. Thanks for nothing guys.

Visited in February 2016. Posted on 26 July 2016

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 27 July 2016

Dear Majorell – I was very sorry to read of your poor experience and for the pain and distress you are suffering. Regrettably, without more details I cannot initiate an investigation.
To allow us to take swift action please contact the Advice and Complaints Team (ACT) by emailing complaints@nbt.nhs.uk quoting reference “NHSC36”. Please provide your date of birth, address and if you have it your hospital number and ACT will take up the issue of your wait for your procedure and try and ascertain why your messages have not been returned as they certainly should have been.
I apologise for the unsatisfactory service you have been given and I look forward to receiving your email so ACT can provide the necessary assistance to resolve the problems you have encountered.
Kind regards – Steve Sykes
Advice and Complaints Team

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 2 stars

Poor care

I recently had to stay over night after having a hysterectomy care before going down to surgery was excellent.
How ever after I had surgery was put back on ward in the evening care became poor I was vomiting quite badly after anaesthetic and was left with no help.
Around 2.30am I pressed my buzzer as needed to go to the toilet and was told to go again no help very unsteady on my feet and had to make several trips to the toilet as I bladder kept feeling it was full.
1 nurse who was dealing with a lady next to me asked if I was ok around 3,30am I told the nurse that I can't stop being sick and the nurse asked if I had been given any food since my surgery my answer was no have not eaten anything since 5.45am of the morning of my surgery the nurse then went to get me some ginger biscuit to try and settle my stomach.
I feel I would have had care at home with my family taking care of me.
Surgeon came to see me first thing to discuss op and said I could go home was not spoken too by anyone about aftercare once I went home I've had to look it all up myself .
I've been in several times and had surgery as a day case and never had to complain care was excellent.
During my stay I also witnessed an elderly lady sat in her own feces and was ignored 3 times when asked for help it's appalling I get that the nursing staff are under a lot of pressure today but that should not effect there quality to care about the patience as they do not choose to be there.

Visited in January 2016. Posted on 11 January 2016

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 20 January 2016

Dear Anonymous – thank you for taking the time and trouble to post details of your experience in the Gynecological Department at Southmead Hospital. I was pleased that initially your care was excellent. However, I was sorry to learn of your poor experience after your surgery – clearly this is not the standard of care that we would expect for any patient. I also apologise that your care after your discharge was not clearly explained to you. I cannot comment of the failure to respond to the help requested by the elderly patient, but apologise for any distress caused.
Please be assured your concerns have been fed back to the Women and Children’s Directorate to ensure that we are able to learn from your poor experience.
I hope that you are now making a good recovery from your operation.

Kind Regards – Steve Sykes
Advice and Complaints Team

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Excellent Care

I stayed on the Cotswold ward for a few hours after an emergency MVA and the care I received was exceptional with all staff being so friendly and helpful. They staff from both the Cotswold ward as well as the Early Pregnancy Clinic went out of their way to explain everything and took extra time to make sure I was OK after miscarrying. The efficiency and speed with which I was treated was also excellent - thank you so much.

Visited in December 2015. Posted on 27 December 2015

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 30 December 2015

Dear Anonymous – I was very sorry to hear of your sad loss and I wish to thank you for posting your positive comments about your care on Cotswold Ward, at what must be a difficult time. I have shared these with the staff concerned.
Please also accept my best wishes for 2016.

Kind Regards – Steve Sykes
Advice and Complaints Team

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Brilliant

I've recently had an operation and I was in the Cotswold Ward afterwards. The care I got was second to none and it felt like they really cared. They're obviously very busy but I never felt like I was causing them more work. Being in hospital can be very stressful but they were just brilliant.

Visited in November 2015. Posted on 06 November 2015

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 12 November 2015

Dear Anonymous,

Thank you for your very kind comments, which we will ensure are shared with the Gynaecology Team and Cotswold ward staff. It is always heartening to receive positive feedback and I am sure they will be delighted to receive your comments.

I hope you are now feeling much better after your operation. Kind regards, Sue Needs, Deputy Advice & Complaints Team Manager

Report as unsuitable

Last updated on 18 June 2010.

Information supplied by North Bristol NHS Trust