Southmead Hospital

0117 9505050 Southmead Road, Westbury-on-Trym , Bristol, Avon, BS10 5NB
http://www.nbt.nhs.uk

4.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 240 ratings for this hospital

Gynaecology

4.5 Stars

4.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 240 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(245 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(245 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4.5 out of 5 stars

(244 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4.5 out of 5 stars

(242 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(201 ratings)

Reviews

271 total

Emma wood gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Cannot thank the staff enough

This was my fourth procedure on this ward. I was discharged from the cotswold ward last week after being in hospital 11 days, I had to have an emergency hysterectomy and have a very large fibroid removed which was apparently alot more complicated than they had anticipated and had an impact on my bowel and kidney.I was on the ward for 2 days prior to the surgery and needed to stay for quite awhile after the surgery due to being very poorly. I cannot thank everybody that were involved in my team enough, they were all absolutely amazing, from the hca's, nurses, to the Drs. Everybody was so friendly, nothing was to much trouble for them and being so unwell they really raised my spirits, I always felt like I was receiving the best care possible. One hca and one nurse in particular really made my stay a pleasent one and I cannot thank them enough for the way they looked after me and helped me get back on my feet. What an amazing team.

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 18 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 21 August 2017

Dear Emma Wood,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your experience, and for providing your kind comments, which have been shared with the staff concerned. It sounds like you have been through a difficult time with this being your fourth procedure and I do hope that you are now on the road to recovery, and feeling much better. Thank you again for your kind comments, with kind regards, Sue Needs, Deputy Advice & Complaints Team Manager.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 3 stars

Sadly disappointed and confused

I had a hysterectomy on Friday 9/6/17. On Saturday I was told I could go home....and so could every women in my ward. Now the other ladies had an operation that I had before and I was kept in for a minimum of 3 days, with my latest op I expected at least 48 hours in but apparently not. My concerns are this, firstly on leaving I was not given any instructions on how to care for my wounds. On getting home my belly button wound is now full of blood and I am going to have to go into my local GP for help. Secondly, I may have been to the toilet but it isn't all systems working yet. Previously patients weren't allowed to leave because of the damage forcing this action to happen could cause problems to the internal stitches. I just felt that all of us were sent home too early and defiantly without enough aftercare. If you are going to send people home the least that can be done is to give the the right after care BUT I don't think it was right to send someone home after having such operations considering the damage that can be done if we don't take care. I am so scared I have done something to cause this much blood in my belly button and this is going to set back my recovery. I would like to know why we got sent home so early, it wasn't as if they needed the beds. Everyone is horrified that I am Home after 24 hours considering the operation I had and of course it's Sunday so can't even sorry out my belly button until tomorrow when surgery opens. I am so sad that this had haopened because on Friday I had the best staff, they couldn't do enough for us. They looked after us, settled us in but on Saturday they just wanted us gone. I hone stay hope that by coming home this early doesn't set back my recovery or cause any further damage.

Visited in June 2017. Posted on 11 June 2017

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 12 June 2017

Dear Anonymous,

Thank you for feedback, I am sorry to hear that you are experiencing problems since having your operation on Friday. In order to be able to assist you with some advice or help, please can you contact us with your full details at Complaints@nbt.nhs.uk or call on 0117 414 4567. Alternatively, if you have any contact details for the ward you were admitted to, please call them as I am sure they will be able to assist with some advice. In the meantime I have forwarded your feedback to the Gynaecology Department for them to be aware, but so that we can provide you with advice, then we do need your details. We look forward to hearing from you. Yours sincerely, Sue Needs, Deputy Advice & Complaints Team Manager

Report as unsuitable

Chloe gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Lovely staff

Every member of staff I saw was lovely and accommodating. The nurses were very lovely and comforting. My anaesthesits was a Dr who was very reassuring, I explained I really didn't like needles and they were brilliant with me. I felt that I was respected and cared for. There was a delay but with the NHS so stretched they did a brilliant job. I'm very grateful to all staff involved in my operation.

Visited in June 2017. Posted on 24 June 2017

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 26 June 2017

Dear Chloe,

Thank you for you for your very positive feedback and kind comments which has been fed back to the departments concerned. I hope you are now recovering well from your operation and that you will soon be back to full strength. With kind regards, Sue Needs, Deputy Advice & Complaints Team Manager.

Report as unsuitable

A Watson gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 3 stars

this department shoud be in the new building!

I was disappointed to find a service such as this one in an old outdated building. I arrived on my own and the receptionist hardly even looked up from what they were doing. They gave me the option of two waiting rooms without lifting their head to look at me. It was a bad start.
When I told the receptionist that I would need a nurse should I have an examination, they came back to me in a crowded waiting room with both genders present, to tell me is a loud voice that I would have a nurse with me. I thought their attitude very unprofessional and it was a very bad start to my visit!
Because of this bad start, I was probably on the offensive with the kind surgeon who was seeing me. I'm surprised that these old buildings are being used for such an important and sensitive service. It was like going back twenty years.
Having waited almost three months for this outpatient appointment and being in pain, I sincerely hope that my next appointment for a scan, is handled a little better.

Visited in March 2017. Posted on 14 March 2017

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 15 March 2017

Dear Ms Watson - thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide your feedback about your recent Gynaecology appointment.
I am sorry that you were not welcomed politely and that staff did not appear empathetic, clearly this is not how we wish any patient or visitor to be greeted. Respect for patients privacy should always be respected and I am sorry that you felt that this was not the case when you were shown to the waiting room and informed that a nurse chaperone would be available to accompany you to your appointment. I agree this should have been handled more sensitively and on behalf of the service I apologise for your experience and accept this would not have help put you at ease ahead of being seen.
The Women and Children's quarter of the hospital was included in the site redevelopment, however the buildings were judged to be fit for purpose subject to an upgrade; regrettably, budget considerations were also a factor in the long term planning for the site.
I have shared your comments with the department so they are aware how their attitude affected your perception of the service and to provide the opportunity for changes to be made. As a result I too hope that when you next attend you will have a more positive experience.
Thank you once again for sharing your views.
Kind regards - Steve Sykes
Advice and Complaints Team

Report as unsuitable

Laura gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 2 stars

Disappointing

The reason I felt that I had to rate my experience at Southmead as I did was for any number of reasons.

There was a 2 hour delay from the 11 'o' clock admission time to when I was actually seen or admitted at all in any way as they were short of a bed. I understand that despite this being a planned overnight admission things do crop up though and so was more than happy to to accept this.
When the nurse called me through however they were abrupt and stand-offish. Whist completing the admission paperwork with me they didn't come across as caring in the least despite my anxiety and unfortunately this was mimicked in the care I received by the majority of the nurses during my stay. As a manager myself in the NHS I 100% understand the difficult challenges facing the nursing staff however I must say patient care is my number 1 priority and have never seen a single member of my team treat a patient in this way despite anything going on 'behind the scenes'.

When going into the bay I would be staying in I noted it hadn't been cleaned completely and still had the rubbish in the bag from the previous patient attached to the table.

I hadn't eaten since 5:30 AM and was out of surgery at 6 PM. I returned to the ward at 7PM. It wasn't until I asked at 930 PM if I could have some food that I was told that they would have to check the kitchen to see if there was anything there leftover. I was a planned admission, but again I was being ignored and treated like an inconvenience. There was apparently one ham sandwich in the fridge and that was it. I am not asking for gourmet food but if I knew the financial constraints were that bad at Southmead I would have more than happily brought my own food with me. As it happened I could barely tolerate a bite of the stale sandwich.

Whilst my catheter was being removed three nurses/HCAs walked in to talk to the nurse doing it which was highly embarrassing for me.

The next day when the nurse changed the plasters on the incision points they put on clear sticky adhesive plasters which stuck directly to the sites. As a senior nurse myself I knew this was wrong and was an absolute nightmare to get off at home when they needed changing and actually pulled away some of the healed skin. I wasn't given any advice on post op care on leaving and I'm not looking forward to potentially needing surgery there in the future.

I would report this to the Trust's complaints department but I am doubtful that it will make any difference and therefore do not wish to waste my time doing so.

Visited in December 2016. Posted on 21 February 2017

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 23 February 2017

Dear Laura,

Thank you for your email, I am sorry that you have had such a poor experience when you attended for your procedure at Southmead Hospital. Clearly, what you have described is not what we would want or expect for any of our patients. Please be assured that your concerns have been shared with the Gynaecology Department for them to be aware of how poor your experience was. Please be assured that lessons will be learnt. Please don't feel that you would be wasting your time making a formal complaint, we are always appreciative of patients providing feedback about our services so that we can learn and where possible make changes so that this can provide a more positive experience for future patients. If you would like us to investigate your concerns as a formal complaint, please contact us at Complaints@nbt.nhs.uk. Once again please accept our sincere apologies that you were made to feel so unwelcome. Kind Regards, Sue Needs, Deputy Advice & Complaints Team Manager.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Excellent service

I had a laparoscopic left salpingoophrectomy (25.10.16). I was admitted at 07:00hrs and discharged at 19:00hrs. From the moment I arrived to my discharge time, the care and attention from all of the staff I came into contact with (nurses, receptionists, health care assistants, domestics, anaesthetists, doctors, consultant surgeons) was exceptionally professional. Many thanks to you all again. Viva la NHS!

Visited in October 2016. Posted on 26 October 2016

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 28 October 2016

Dear Anonymous - thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your views of Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital. I was pleased to learn that you were treated so positively by all staff and that you received excellent care. I have passed on your kind comments to the teams concerned and wish you a speedy recovery.
Kind Regards - Steve Sykes
Advice and Complaint Team

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous reviewed Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital

Cash Stolen from purse whilst lead in theatre

I am disappointed to have to write this review, but I feel that the matter has not been dealt with professionally. I did not get offered a locker for my valuables, which I didn't know was available until after the incident had happened. When I went down to theatre the nurse and health care assistant advised me that my valuables would be ''safe'' in the ward cupboard, as nobody else would be in the room. I arrived back to the ward after theatre when I said to my husband that there is some cash in my purse that he could use for parking, when he went to get the cash out, it had gone. I had £75 stolen from me which the security took seriously and was so say going to check CCTV, but I have tried to contact the sister nurse for over a week now and it would appear that the sister is avoiding speaking to me.

Visited in September 2016. Posted on 24 October 2016

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 27 October 2016

Dear Anonymous – I was sorry to read of your distressing experience. I was sorry to learn that you have had trouble contacting the Sister concerned, which could be for a number of reasons, shift pattern, etc. but one of her colleagues should have been able to take the call and assist you. Please be assured that I have passed your comments on the Women and Children’s Health Directorate to make them aware. If the matter has still not been resolved and you would like to pass on your details to enable contact to be make please contact us via complaints@nbt.nhs.uk (and quote ref NHSC67) and we will arrange for you to receive a call from the sister concerned.
Kind Regards – Steve Sykes
Advice and Complaints Team

Report as unsuitable

RachelB gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 3 stars

No response

I had a hysterectomy back in 2009 and the care i received was outstanding. I had an appointment in June of this year as it seems all of my endometriosis has returned and the Consultant wants to do another laparoscopy to see what going on. They advised that I would be in July/August. I called 2 days ago and left my name, nhs number and contact number just for an update. As yet i have had no response. I am in severe pain (i understand others are too) but just a call back is always appreciated!

Visited in June 2016. Posted on 08 September 2016

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 13 September 2016

Dear Rachel – thank you for taking the time and trouble to post the details of your experience of contacting the Gynaecology team at Southmead Hospital. I am sorry that your call was not returned and that the answerphone message did not give details of when the messages would be reviewed and a return call made. This is contrary to the policy of the Trust. If you have not yet receive a return call please contact the Advice and Complaints Team at complaints@nbt.nhs.uk with your full details and we will be happy to direct the questions you have to the correct area and ensure a response is made.
Kind Regards – Steve Sykes
Advice and Complaints Team

Report as unsuitable

marcella naylor gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

treatment at the Cotwold Clinic

Thank you to the doctor and all the team at The Cotswold clinic. I was referred by my Gp after having received no treatment at the BRI other than being told I could have a full hysterectomy. A fibroid was causing such heaving bleed that I was regularly having to take time off work, which was putting my job at risk and I had become very unwell with anaemia.

The doctor treated me with compassion and respect as did all the staff. The doctor offered me a non invasive treatment which works! The word hysterectomy was never used.

I can not thank the doctor and their team for greatly improving the quality of my life.

Visited in May 2016. Posted on 02 April 2017

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 10 April 2017

Dear Marcella Naylor,

Thank you for your very kind comments relating to the care you received by the doctor and team at the Cotswold clinic, which have been shared with them. You must have been very relieved to be able to be treated with non invasive treatment and that it has worked to improve the quality of your life. With all best wishes, and kind regards, Sue Needs, Deputy Advice & Complaints Team Manager

Report as unsuitable

Emm gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Excellent Care, especially as a coeliac sufferer

I had a hysterectomy on Cotswold Ward on Friday 26 February 2016. The care I received from all the staff involved was excellent, all were friendly, helpful and informative and very caring. They ensured that gluten free food was sent over from the main hospital for me as I have coeliac disease. I saw the consultant who performed the operation before I left on the Saturday and was given good aftercare advice on discharge. All the staff I came into contact with were excellent. Thank you for making my time more bearable and as stress free as possible.

Visited in February 2016. Posted on 29 February 2016

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 22 March 2016

Dear Emm – thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your views of professional service provided by the Gynaecology Teams at Southmead Hospital. Your views and thanks have been shared with the teams concerned. I hope that you are making good progress after your surgery and that you are soon fully recovered.

Kind Regards – Steve Sykes
Advice and Complaints Team

Report as unsuitable

Last updated on 18 June 2010.

Information supplied by North Bristol NHS Trust