Southmead Hospital

Telephone: 01179505050
Address: Southmead Road, Westbury-on-Trym, Bristol, Avon, BS10 5NB
Website: http://www.nbt.nhs.uk

3 out of 5 stars

Based on 151 ratings for this hospital

Gynaecology

3 Stars

3 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 151 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4 out of 5 stars

(151 ratings)

Staff co-operation

3.5 out of 5 stars

(150 ratings)

Dignity and respect

3.5 out of 5 stars

(148 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

3.5 out of 5 stars

(147 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(113 ratings)

Reviews

242 total

  • Page 1 of 1

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

cotswold ward

I had a myomectomy for the third time last week in the cotswold ward. The staff are often ran off their feet but could not be any more helpful, I had a student nurse care for me for two of the days I was in there and she was fantastic, she is going to make a excellent nurse and if all of your staff have the same attitude as her then you will have very happy patients. As for the food it was not good at all.

Visited in May 2014. Posted on 03 May 2014

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 12 May 2014

Dear Anonymous – thank you for posting your positive comments about the care you received from the Gynaecology Service and Cotswold Ward at Southmead Hospital. This has been shared with the managers and staff involved.

I am sorry that you found the food was poor. I know that the catering manager takes all feedback very seriously and your comments have also been sent on to the Catering Team for them to be aware of your feedback.

Kind Regards – Steve Sykes
Advice and Complaints Team

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 3 stars

Cotswold Ward

It was sent to surgery without wrist tags or surgical stockings. Felt this could be an accident waiting to happen. same evening blood on sheets just covered over. Next morning a nurse had look of disgust on her face tutted and Changed sheets on bed. When nurse was emptying bladder she was being interrupted by others asking her questions through screen. Not good for her or me. sun 4 staff on duty for 3 patients and only one nurse doing all the work.

I would willingly go on this ward again because I would know the ropes. operation complete success. food excellent. where do you get the bread and can I buy some. Sandwiches best ever.

Mary s

Visited in March 2014. Posted on 14 May 2014

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 15 May 2014

Dear Mary – thank you for your constructive feedback. I am pleased that you found the clinical treatment and food so good, but I was disappointed to learn that you felt the ward staff were not offering the support they should and that your sheets were not promptly changed. Nursing staff do need to find a balance which allows them to fulfil all their duties and I apologise if it appeared that some members of the team were not actively involved in direct patient care all of the time.

The omission of wrist tags is clearly very serious and I have reported this back to the ward for immediate action to be taken. I understand that use of stockings does depend on patient’s individual medical history and I apologise if this was not correctly explained to you at the time.

As mentioned above I have forwarded your comments to the ward and to the catering team.

Kind regards – Steve Sykes
Advice and Complaints Team

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

very happy

i had a operation on the 28 of oct 2013 staff very helpful .good support from recover staff after my opeartoin .The consultant was great as well .a big thank you to all staff at the cotsword
ward

Visited in October 2013. Posted on 01 December 2013

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous reviewed Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital

Overall good, trained nurses please think about infection control.

What I liked

Pleasant light and airy ward, I felt my consultants team were very helpful in answering my concerns.

The majority of the staff were exceptionally polite and helpful. Ward and bathrooms were very clean.

What could have been improved

1. Leaflet given by physio had incorrectly labelled anatomy ie uterus labelled as bladder

2. Advise given on position for use of toilet, no footstool provided in lavatory.

3. Inconsistent advice from nursing staff about mobilising post op

4. Nurses doing the drug round did not wash their hands between patients. Observed nurse giving IV antibiotics did not wash her hands before or after.

5. Had to ask nurse to wash her hands before giving me an injection. Two patients opposite me had infections nurse giving drugs/injections did not wash her hands after dealing with each patient.

6. Had to raise my bed so that the catheter bag did not touch the floor and then stop staff from lowering it!. Are your staff aware of the risks of infections from this route? No catheter bag frames available.

Visited in March 2012. Posted on 17 March 2012

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 20 March 2012

Dear Anonymous

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about the Gynecology Services at Southmead Hospital. I glad you found your treatment and physical environment and the cleanliness of the ward met the standards we would expect.

The improvements you have detailed are very helpful and these have been shared with the appropriate staff in the Women and Children’s Health Department to allow the necessary changes to be made. In particular action will be taken to address the infection control issues you have raised.

I hope that you make a full and swift recovery from your procedure.

Kind regards – Steve Sykes
Advice and Complaints Manager

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous did not recommend Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital

Not impressed.

What I liked

I was taken into The Cotswold ward, Southmead Hospital at 11pm, the doctors and nurses on duty that day were extremely caring and I cannot recommend them highly enough. The Sonographers were also extremely kind.

What could have been improved

I understand that nurses and doctors were busy with surgery in the morning but I was made to feel like I was a burden on the nurse who was supposed to be caring for me.

She didn't once ask me how I was feeling but was extremely attentive to the patient in the next bed because they were friends, she couldn't do enough for her and found plenty of time to talk about the good times that they had enjoyed together, but when I asked for a painkiller she barked at me that they would be round in a minute ( they came 45 mins later ) , I was in a lot of pain and was finding walking difficult yet she instructed me to walk to the scan room alone and wait outside for nearly a quarter of an hour. Even my visitor remarked on her rudeness.

The lunch left a lot to be desired, I had to starve the previous day and for lunch the same nurse plonked a plate onto my table which was a cling filmed piece of dry brown bread, under that plate was a second plate with a single pice of ham. Prisoners are fed more than this !

I was then told they had no idea why I was in so much pain and sent home with painkillers I had already been prescribed from my GP.

Visited in November 2010. Posted on 24 November 2010

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital has not yet replied.

  • Page 1 of 1

Last updated on 18 June 2010.

Information supplied by North Bristol NHS Trust