Want to help us improve NHS Choices?

Find out more and sign up to our user research panel

Southmead Hospital

Telephone: 01179505050
Address: Southmead Road, Westbury-on-Trym, Bristol, Avon, BS10 5NB
Website: http://www.nbt.nhs.uk

3.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 314 ratings for this hospital

Gynaecology

3.5 Stars

3.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 314 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4 out of 5 stars

(310 ratings)

Staff co-operation

3.5 out of 5 stars

(308 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(307 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

3.5 out of 5 stars

(301 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(232 ratings)

Reviews

473 total

Lynette Bower gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Brilliant Care and treatment

I recently attended the Cotswold clinic following a referral from my GP and yesterday attended the Cotswold ward for a hysteroscopy under general anaesthetic. I cannot speak highly enough of the care and treatment I received from both the clinic and the hospital ward. Everyone from the initial phone call to the final discharge did their utmost to treat me like a person with respect, I was well informed about what was happening at every stage and given a detailed result of all tests and procedures. Systems were well thought-out and extremely efficient. It was obvious there was an element of understaffing but everyone I encountered was working 100+% to make up for this.
I would like to thank all the staff working there for making my visits as pain-free as possible and reassuring me and indeed all those who were on the ward. No question or request was treated as silly or insignificant and the ward sister in particular found time to constantly check patients and make themself available to their every need even though they were running the ward single handed.
Fortunately I was given the all clear but if I had required further treatment I would have felt confident and happy to return to the Cotswold ward.

Visited in July 2015. Posted on 24 July 2015

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 24 July 2015

Dear Lynette – thank you for taking the time and trouble to relate your experiences of the Cotswold clinic. I am pleased that you have the found the service to be consistently professional and for your kind endorsement of the service. Please be assured your comments will be shared with the staff concerned as you have requested.

Kind Regards – Steve Sykes
Advice and Complaints Team

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Excellent care from beginning to end.

I do not usually write reviews but feel compelled to do so on this occasion even though it is only day 5 post Op. I was admitted to the Cotswold ward at the end of January 2015 requiring an emergency blood transfusion ,followed a couple of days later by a Hysteroscopy. Results proved that a hysterectomy would be the best plan of action for me and an appointment swiftly followed.I was provided with excellent information to read beforehand which proved invaluable . I have now had the operation and at home recovering well. I wish to thank all of the staff for their professionalism and their excellent care from beginning to end. They all do a remarkable job for which I and no doubt many others truly appreciate. ThankYou.

Visited in March 2015. Posted on 31 March 2015

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

cotswold gynaecology ward

Went in to Cotswold gynaecology as a day patient on 6th February. Was a very good experience. Staff were friendly and helpful. Consultants and anethitis happy to explain and answer any questions. Overall a very good experience

Visited in February 2015. Posted on 06 February 2015

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital has not yet replied.

L R gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

My appreciation as an outpatient for the dedication of Gynae

I would like to show my appreciation and express my thanks to the gynaecology and calposcopy teams at Southmead hospital. The teams are professional and their efforts admirable. The skill of the consultant was impressive, she was diligent and thorough, was able to give me confirmatory diagnostic tests, detailed explanation, prognosis, and treatment plans during my first appointment.
This prompt and immediate approach I find thoughtful and reassuring. The result of my treatment was apparent very soon after. I made 2 more visits, was discharged today, so thank you again to the Welcome team, the Reception, the Nurses and the Doctors.

Visited in January 2015. Posted on 29 January 2015

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

full abdominal hysterectomy

I received excellent care during my stay on Cotswold Ward even though the nurses were understaffed ,special thanks to Sharon who was very helpful.
The food portions were more than adequate but the choices were limited especially if you are a vegetarian(I ate salads during my stay).
I would recommend Southmead Hospital to anyone and cannot thank them enough, my only complaint would be the hospital car parks, there are just not enough spaces and you end up driving around for a long time looking for a space. I would have caught a bus if I was on a direct service but I'm not.
Thank you all

Visited in December 2014. Posted on 22 March 2015

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital has not yet replied.

browneyes gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Improvements all round

What I liked

I have Just returned home from Cotswold Ward.
The NHS often get bad press but I can't fault the treatment I have received; from my pre-op which took place in the brand new hospital at Southmead to my final discharge. The staff were kind and considerate, the place was spotlessly clean (and I wasn't even in the new part of the hospital during my 3 day stay). The beds were modern and fully automatic for comfort and with four patients to a room, fairly quiet, we were even able to turn off the bright overhead lights to aid sleep. There were lovely large clean bathrooms with modern shower facilities.
The biggest improvement was the tasty food, served piping hot, on hot plates with delicious desserts and my icecream was still frozen even after eating my main course. Portion size was extremely generous. The women I sat with in the dining room expressed how pleasantly surprised they were with the quality and quantity of the food - well done! Thank you NHS for an excellent stay in hospital with the support of such dedicated and well trained staff, from the cleaning staff to the lovely mannered surgeon who performed the operation - you all know who you are - a great team!
My only negative comment is lack of parking on-site which I believe will be rectified next year with a multi-storey car park.

Visited in November 2014. Posted on 15 November 2014

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Cotswold, Hysteroscopy

From my initial appointment at end of July until my operation at the beginning of October, every member of staff I have seen have been fantastic, the waiting times for my op were amazingly quick, I wanted the operation done under a local anaesthetic & they tried to initially do it this way, unfortunately it wasn't possible as it was more complicated once they were able to rake a proper look, so had to go on waiting list, I thought this would be months, instead it was 2 weeks. The doctor & 2 nurses at my 1st operation were really lovely, kind & caring, the 2nd operation we had a lovely nurse on the Cotswold ward looking after us, the doctor & anaesthetist were friendly and put you at your ease. I can't fault the care from the doctors or nurses in any way & thank them all, you really were fabulous!!
I would definitely recommend this hospital to anyone

Visited in October 2014. Posted on 05 October 2014

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

cotswold ward

I had a myomectomy for the third time last week in the cotswold ward. The staff are often ran off their feet but could not be any more helpful, I had a student nurse care for me for two of the days I was in there and she was fantastic, she is going to make a excellent nurse and if all of your staff have the same attitude as her then you will have very happy patients. As for the food it was not good at all.

Visited in May 2014. Posted on 03 May 2014

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 12 May 2014

Dear Anonymous – thank you for posting your positive comments about the care you received from the Gynaecology Service and Cotswold Ward at Southmead Hospital. This has been shared with the managers and staff involved.

I am sorry that you found the food was poor. I know that the catering manager takes all feedback very seriously and your comments have also been sent on to the Catering Team for them to be aware of your feedback.

Kind Regards – Steve Sykes
Advice and Complaints Team

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 3 stars

Cotswold Ward

It was sent to surgery without wrist tags or surgical stockings. Felt this could be an accident waiting to happen. same evening blood on sheets just covered over. Next morning a nurse had look of disgust on her face tutted and Changed sheets on bed. When nurse was emptying bladder she was being interrupted by others asking her questions through screen. Not good for her or me. sun 4 staff on duty for 3 patients and only one nurse doing all the work.

I would willingly go on this ward again because I would know the ropes. operation complete success. food excellent. where do you get the bread and can I buy some. Sandwiches best ever.

Mary s

Visited in March 2014. Posted on 14 May 2014

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 15 May 2014

Dear Mary – thank you for your constructive feedback. I am pleased that you found the clinical treatment and food so good, but I was disappointed to learn that you felt the ward staff were not offering the support they should and that your sheets were not promptly changed. Nursing staff do need to find a balance which allows them to fulfil all their duties and I apologise if it appeared that some members of the team were not actively involved in direct patient care all of the time.

The omission of wrist tags is clearly very serious and I have reported this back to the ward for immediate action to be taken. I understand that use of stockings does depend on patient’s individual medical history and I apologise if this was not correctly explained to you at the time.

As mentioned above I have forwarded your comments to the ward and to the catering team.

Kind regards – Steve Sykes
Advice and Complaints Team

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

very happy

i had a operation on the 28 of oct 2013 staff very helpful .good support from recover staff after my opeartoin .The consultant was great as well .a big thank you to all staff at the cotsword
ward

Visited in October 2013. Posted on 01 December 2013

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital has not yet replied.

Last updated on 18 June 2010.

Information supplied by North Bristol NHS Trust