Southmead Hospital

0117 9505050 Southmead Road, Westbury-on-Trym , Bristol, Avon, BS10 5NB
http://www.nbt.nhs.uk

3.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 365 ratings for this hospital

Gynaecology

3.5 Stars

3.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 365 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4 out of 5 stars

(364 ratings)

Staff co-operation

3.5 out of 5 stars

(360 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(360 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

3.5 out of 5 stars

(352 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(277 ratings)

Reviews

579 total

Emm gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Excellent Care, especially as a coeliac sufferer

I had a hysterectomy on Cotswold Ward on Friday 26 February 2016. The care I received from all the staff involved was excellent, all were friendly, helpful and informative and very caring. They ensured that gluten free food was sent over from the main hospital for me as I have coeliac disease. I saw the consultant who performed the operation before I left on the Saturday and was given good aftercare advice on discharge. All the staff I came into contact with were excellent. Thank you for making my time more bearable and as stress free as possible.

Visited in February 2016. Posted on 29 February 2016

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 22 March 2016

Dear Emm – thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your views of professional service provided by the Gynaecology Teams at Southmead Hospital. Your views and thanks have been shared with the teams concerned. I hope that you are making good progress after your surgery and that you are soon fully recovered.

Kind Regards – Steve Sykes
Advice and Complaints Team

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 2 stars

Poor care

I recently had to stay over night after having a hysterectomy care before going down to surgery was excellent.
How ever after I had surgery was put back on ward in the evening care became poor I was vomiting quite badly after anaesthetic and was left with no help.
Around 2.30am I pressed my buzzer as needed to go to the toilet and was told to go again no help very unsteady on my feet and had to make several trips to the toilet as I bladder kept feeling it was full.
1 nurse who was dealing with a lady next to me asked if I was ok around 3,30am I told the nurse that I can't stop being sick and the nurse asked if I had been given any food since my surgery my answer was no have not eaten anything since 5.45am of the morning of my surgery the nurse then went to get me some ginger biscuit to try and settle my stomach.
I feel I would have had care at home with my family taking care of me.
Surgeon came to see me first thing to discuss op and said I could go home was not spoken too by anyone about aftercare once I went home I've had to look it all up myself .
I've been in several times and had surgery as a day case and never had to complain care was excellent.
During my stay I also witnessed an elderly lady sat in her own feces and was ignored 3 times when asked for help it's appalling I get that the nursing staff are under a lot of pressure today but that should not effect there quality to care about the patience as they do not choose to be there.

Visited in January 2016. Posted on 11 January 2016

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 20 January 2016

Dear Anonymous – thank you for taking the time and trouble to post details of your experience in the Gynecological Department at Southmead Hospital. I was pleased that initially your care was excellent. However, I was sorry to learn of your poor experience after your surgery – clearly this is not the standard of care that we would expect for any patient. I also apologise that your care after your discharge was not clearly explained to you. I cannot comment of the failure to respond to the help requested by the elderly patient, but apologise for any distress caused.
Please be assured your concerns have been fed back to the Women and Children’s Directorate to ensure that we are able to learn from your poor experience.
I hope that you are now making a good recovery from your operation.

Kind Regards – Steve Sykes
Advice and Complaints Team

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Excellent Care

I stayed on the Cotswold ward for a few hours after an emergency MVA and the care I received was exceptional with all staff being so friendly and helpful. They staff from both the Cotswold ward as well as the Early Pregnancy Clinic went out of their way to explain everything and took extra time to make sure I was OK after miscarrying. The efficiency and speed with which I was treated was also excellent - thank you so much.

Visited in December 2015. Posted on 27 December 2015

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 30 December 2015

Dear Anonymous – I was very sorry to hear of your sad loss and I wish to thank you for posting your positive comments about your care on Cotswold Ward, at what must be a difficult time. I have shared these with the staff concerned.
Please also accept my best wishes for 2016.

Kind Regards – Steve Sykes
Advice and Complaints Team

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Brilliant

I've recently had an operation and I was in the Cotswold Ward afterwards. The care I got was second to none and it felt like they really cared. They're obviously very busy but I never felt like I was causing them more work. Being in hospital can be very stressful but they were just brilliant.

Visited in November 2015. Posted on 06 November 2015

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 12 November 2015

Dear Anonymous,

Thank you for your very kind comments, which we will ensure are shared with the Gynaecology Team and Cotswold ward staff. It is always heartening to receive positive feedback and I am sure they will be delighted to receive your comments.

I hope you are now feeling much better after your operation. Kind regards, Sue Needs, Deputy Advice & Complaints Team Manager

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous reviewed Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital

Urgent stay on Cotswald ward

Following a visit to A and E I was transferred for an over night stay, although it was the early hours of the morning the doctors and nurses couldn't help me enough. They were so kind and made me feel more comfortable in a very stressful situation.

I have been here for outpatients reviews and the care has been satisfactory, they have always helped but have been very busy and you can be left for a while at a time of your appointment is late. However upon this visit , although urgent and unplanned the doctors, nurses and HCA's were lovely.

Visited in October 2015. Posted on 29 October 2015

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 06 November 2015

Dear Anonymous – Thank you for taking the time to post your views on your experience at Southmead hospital.
I am glad that despite the increasing demands on the hospital as a whole you have found the care to be satisfactory and that when matters are urgent staff have been able to reach appropriately. I hope that you are now feeling much better.
Kind regards – Steve Sykes
Advice and Complainants Team

Report as unsuitable

Tina davies gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Staff

I came in on 14 sep for a hysterectomy had a very bad time in surgery but when I came round I cannot praise the staff enough nothing was to much trouble very happy and cheerful nothing was to much trouble amazing people deserves a big pay rise thank you very much for all your help on cotswold ward??

Visited in September 2015. Posted on 04 October 2015

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 20 October 2015

Dear Ms Davies – I am sorry to hear that your surgery was difficult. However, I am pleased that despite this the staff on Cotswold Ward made you feel looked after and delivered such outstanding care.
Steve Sykes
Advice and Complaints Team

Report as unsuitable

Lynette Bower gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Brilliant Care and treatment

I recently attended the Cotswold clinic following a referral from my GP and yesterday attended the Cotswold ward for a hysteroscopy under general anaesthetic. I cannot speak highly enough of the care and treatment I received from both the clinic and the hospital ward. Everyone from the initial phone call to the final discharge did their utmost to treat me like a person with respect, I was well informed about what was happening at every stage and given a detailed result of all tests and procedures. Systems were well thought-out and extremely efficient. It was obvious there was an element of understaffing but everyone I encountered was working 100+% to make up for this.
I would like to thank all the staff working there for making my visits as pain-free as possible and reassuring me and indeed all those who were on the ward. No question or request was treated as silly or insignificant and the ward sister in particular found time to constantly check patients and make themself available to their every need even though they were running the ward single handed.
Fortunately I was given the all clear but if I had required further treatment I would have felt confident and happy to return to the Cotswold ward.

Visited in July 2015. Posted on 24 July 2015

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 24 July 2015

Dear Lynette – thank you for taking the time and trouble to relate your experiences of the Cotswold clinic. I am pleased that you have the found the service to be consistently professional and for your kind endorsement of the service. Please be assured your comments will be shared with the staff concerned as you have requested.

Kind Regards – Steve Sykes
Advice and Complaints Team

Report as unsuitable

SAE gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Caring staff from beginning to end

I had a hysteoscopy in the Cotswold clinic and I was very grateful for the treatment I received. From the person who took the trouble to phone me back late on a Friday afternoon when I was trying to change my appointment, to the nurses who were very kind and chatted to me throughout the procedure and especially the consultant who explained everything beforehand and put me at my ease, I could not have been in better hands. The procedure was slightly uncomfortable, not painful, and the nurses were experts in allowing me to maintain some dignity! Thanks to everyone involved.

Visited in July 2015. Posted on 27 August 2015

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital replied on 09 September 2015

Dear SAE – I am pleased to learn that you received excellent care from the Cotswold Clinic and from the supporting administrating staff. I am glad that you were put at ease and that this helped you with the overall experience. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your thoughts. Your feedback will be shared with the teams concerned.
Kind regards – Steve Sykes
Advice and Complaints Team

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Excellent care from beginning to end.

I do not usually write reviews but feel compelled to do so on this occasion even though it is only day 5 post Op. I was admitted to the Cotswold ward at the end of January 2015 requiring an emergency blood transfusion ,followed a couple of days later by a Hysteroscopy. Results proved that a hysterectomy would be the best plan of action for me and an appointment swiftly followed.I was provided with excellent information to read beforehand which proved invaluable . I have now had the operation and at home recovering well. I wish to thank all of the staff for their professionalism and their excellent care from beginning to end. They all do a remarkable job for which I and no doubt many others truly appreciate. ThankYou.

Visited in March 2015. Posted on 31 March 2015

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Southmead Hospital a rating of 5 stars

cotswold gynaecology ward

Went in to Cotswold gynaecology as a day patient on 6th February. Was a very good experience. Staff were friendly and helpful. Consultants and anethitis happy to explain and answer any questions. Overall a very good experience

Visited in February 2015. Posted on 06 February 2015

Report as unsuitable

Southmead Hospital has not yet replied.

Last updated on 18 June 2010.

Information supplied by North Bristol NHS Trust