Croydon University Hospital

Telephone: 020 8401 3000
Address: 530 London Road, Thornton Heath, Surrey, CR7 7YE
Website: http://www.croydonhealthservices.nhs.uk/

2.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 100 ratings for this hospital

General Surgery

2.5 Stars

2.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 100 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

3 out of 5 stars

(99 ratings)

Staff co-operation

3 out of 5 stars

(101 ratings)

Dignity and respect

3 out of 5 stars

(101 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

3 out of 5 stars

(101 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

3.5 out of 5 stars

(75 ratings)

Reviews

213 total

Sandy gave General Surgery at Croydon University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Vascular surgery

I had varicose vein stripping operation yesterday. Every member of staff I met was kind, professional and informative. I arrived and didn't wait long to be admitted. When the surgeon marked my leg he told me everything he planned to do. He told me how to care for my leg afterwards. The anaesthetist saw me and explained the procedure in a friendly kind way. Inside the operating theatre the staff I saw were great. When I came round in recovery I was given some water and checked on. This was very reassuring. Once back in day surgery area I was helped to walk to the toilet. I had 2 cups of tea, water and a sandwich
The staff were all so friendly and kind. It made a massive difference to be treated that way. I was so calm and trusted them completely. Ten out of ten to the whole experience. Thank you.

Visited in June 2014. Posted on 18 June 2014

Report as unsuitable

Croydon University Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave General Surgery at Croydon University Hospital a rating of 3 stars

Pre-op and discharge

Shame that the pre-op cannot be done by one nurse, this would save having to see 4 nurses on the day and spending half a day there. When the appointment date was sent, no information enclosed about what was going to happen and what to expect.

Discharge - came out with no guidance on how you should feel, and what to expect. No do's and don'ts. No wonder so many people end up in A&E after being discharged. Was old to have pain killers for 5 days, only given 3days worth, so had to argue with GP surgery to get them urgently. If people were given the correct amounts and guidance, this would save the stress of family members having to get the GP's involved.
Someone should look at nth of the above, which would save a lot of nhs resources!

Visited in July 2013. Posted on 25 September 2013

Report as unsuitable

Croydon University Hospital replied on 01 October 2013

Thank you for getting in touch with us and we’re sorry that you didn’t feel that we gave you enough information about what you should be expecting over the course of your treatment. We’re very sorry that you were discharged without getting enough medication; we have passed your comments on to the Chief Pharmacist at the Trust.

We are making improvements to both the information that patients get when they are coming in to see us and are discharged, and the way in which we prepare prescriptions for discharge. It would be very helpful to us if you could provide us with some more information about your experience with us so that we can look into how we can improve these aspects of our services. You can get in touch through our PALS service on 020 8401 3210 or at talktous@croydonhealth.nhs.uk

Report as unsuitable

michael charles thom gave General Surgery at Croydon University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

your always great mayday hospital and wonderful staff

well ive been admitted to mayday hospital for a few life threatening and also simple hernia repairs over the last 6 years and iam always amazed with the fantastic treatment and care ive received i just cant fault them one bit i also have to visit the phlebotomy clinic every month also for my blood condition which is also a fantastic clinic to be looked after as far as iam concerned mayday is a shining example of our great national health service

Visited in May 2013. Posted on 12 May 2013

Report as unsuitable

Croydon University Hospital replied on 20 May 2013

“Thank you for your kind comments which have been shared with all the teams who cared for you.

We hope your health continues to improve”

Report as unsuitable

Gavin Govinden gave General Surgery at Croydon University Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Wife in pre op for 7 hours

An absolute hellish time at Mayday hospital. My wife was booked in for a 45 minute procedure and she has been waiting for seven hours. The only explanation I have been given is that everyone arrives at the same time and the doctors decide who to see first. I have never seen such a disorganised, mismanaged and entirely unhelpful department in my life, at a hospital or otherwise. Surely a manager could streamline this process To prevent patients having to become unnecessarily stressed and uncomfortable without being able to eat or drink for hours and hours before they are seen for the operation. It is an absolute disgrace that this should be allowed to happen in a modern hospital where there should be a very modern organisational system.

Visited in April 2013. Posted on 15 April 2013

Report as unsuitable

Croydon University Hospital replied on 17 April 2013

First of all we are so sorry you and your wife had such a distressingly long wait.

When people attend for day surgery we are able to stagger their arrival times but with main theatres it is less easy as the order in which operations are carried out depends on a number of different factors. However that is not an excuse and we are working hard at the moment to find a solution which involves “locking down” the theatre list 7 days in advance to allow better planning.

We aren’t at that stage yet and we are sorry that you had such a difficult time. If you would like to talk to someone about it you are very welcome to contact our PALS team on 020 8401 3210 or email TalkToUs@croydonhealth.nhs.uk

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General Surgery at Croydon University Hospital a rating of 3 stars

Five week stay early 2013

I found the majority of the staff were kind ,helpful & thoughtful, Three nurses/ward assistants were either rude, morose belligerent, offhanded or more intent in imposing their own persona. than forming a rapport.
The ward manager was loud both in voice and demeanour. Orders were shouted at staff presumably to make it clear who was in charge. My one contact with them was unpleasant. On the plus side three "Trainee" nurses came across as pleasant , friendly, very keen to help and prompt in responding to requests for assistance. When they qualify I do hope they retain all the good things and don't allow some of the more testing situations sour their principles
.
I think I should say that the "off ward" staff seem more content with life, which, perhaps underlines that pressures on the nursing side are more onerous. It takes a special kind of person o be in the front line. Whilst a resident I'm glad to say I met quite a few .

Finally despite a potential problem, the treatment I received seems to have been a success. I shall find out quite shortly.

Visited in January 2013. Posted on 12 April 2013

Report as unsuitable

Croydon University Hospital replied on 17 April 2013

Thank you for this posting regarding the care you received in our hospital. It is very encouraging to hear that the majority of staff were kind, helpful and thoughtful and that your treatment seems to have been a success.

The attitude and behaviour of staff is an area where the Trust has taken a proactive approach to improve standards of communication with patients, their carers and colleagues.

This year all our staff are attending a compulsory half day training event aiming to further equip them with the necessary skills and knowledge to deliver a first class customer experience.

Staff are encouraged to be intolerant of poor attitude and behaviours and clinical leaders and managers are expected to role model the excellent behaviours they expect of their staff.

It is therefore disappointing to read of this experience with a ward manager.

If you want us to look into it in more details please contact the PALS team on on 020 8401 3210 or email TalkToUs@croydonhealth.nhs.uk

If you prefer not to do that we understand, but can assure you that poor attitude and behaviour is taken very seriously and is addressed by the Associate Directors of Nursing, in conjunction with the Director of Nursing, Midwifery and Allied Health Professionals, who have direct responsibility for nurses and nurse managers.

Report as unsuitable

SriniKrish recommended General Surgery at Croydon University Hospital

World class service , but need lot of time to spend with hospital

What I liked

Treatments are well detailed and throughly examined.

What could have been improved

Waiting time can be reduced...I spend around 8 hours for just consultation alone

Visited in September 2012. Posted on 19 September 2012

Report as unsuitable

Croydon University Hospital replied on 21 September 2012

Thank you for your kind comments but sorry to learn of your long wait to be seen.

We can't tell from your posting which service you were using and why there was a delay. It would help if you could contact us directly with more details. Please can you call the Patient Advice and Liaison team (PALs) on 020 8401 3210 or email TalkToUs@croydonhealth.nhs.uk if you want us to look into the issue for you.

Report as unsuitable

User670011 recommended General Surgery at Croydon University Hospital

A good hospital with occasional lapses, could be excellent with more staff.

What I liked

The vast majority of the staff were caring, good humoured, and explained relevant information clearly.

The food was good - much better than expected, and with a good choice.

What could have been improved

More nurses and healthcare assistants are needed. They are badly overstretched, work long shifts and sometimes are unable to take breaks at the appropriate time. As a result, patient care is not as good as is could be, particularly for older, sicker patients who are less able to demand attention.

Communication between staff could be better. I witnesses a number of instances where a doctor would say something to the patient, but the nurses would appear to know nothing about it.

The ward I was on (Wandle 1) is far too hot, and there doesn't seem to be any way of controlling the temperature.

It would be great if there were bidets in the bathrooms, so that patients who are unable to shower can keep themselves cleaner.

Visited in May 2012. Posted on 25 May 2012

Report as unsuitable

Croydon University Hospital replied on 02 July 2012

Thank you so much for your positive thoughts about things the team did well. We are currently recruiting more staff particularly nurses, midwives and health visitors which will improve matters even more.
Your comments about bathroom facilities and temperature control have been passed onto the estates team

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous did not recommend General Surgery at Croydon University Hospital

Unimpressed, frustrated at poor communication and lack of empathy!

What I liked

Clean reception area.

What could have been improved

a) a received letter with information about where to go, contained inaccurate information about how to access outpatient surgical department, which was confusing and not only delayed our arrival to the unit but also increased level of nerves prior the procedure.
Pl be more specific on where to go!

b) once we arrived, the receptionist was very unprofessional in telling us to go to second floor but did not say where in second floor to go, who to report to etc. Also, why going to a ground floor receptionist just to be told that we have to go upstairs, when we could have gone the the unit straight away. It is only waste of our and staff's time. In addition, the receptionist could learn to smile and welcome many nervous day case patients and their relatives with friendly smile and welcoming manner.

c) Once in the correct unit, my partner was seen by four different doctors who asked EXACTLY the same questions! Each session lasted between 5-10 min with new paper work. As much as I understand that a doctor and a anesthetist must see a patient prior the procedure, could they not see him together? That way, they would come across more professional at join discussion, all sides would know what was being said, that the operating site was marked and the paper forms could be filled in at once without repeated questions and time saved, without irritating a patient by asking again and again same questions. The service would be also quicker and more efficient by having one session, rather then four little ones. I believe that NHS service should be tailored around needs of patient as much as possible and not around needs of health care professional or old habits which seems to cope insufficiently with large numbers of patients.

Any other comments

d) communication between patient, relatives and the staff! My partner was not explained what was to happen prior surgery nor how to look after his wound site or what to observe for! or how to take his pain controls tablets!

Visited in September 2011. Posted on 05 September 2011

Report as unsuitable

Croydon University Hospital replied on 09 September 2011

We are sorry to learn of the problems you had when coming to our hospital. Your comments have already been passed onto the team managing these services but if you contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service on 020 8401 3939 with full details of when you came and who you saw it would help us ensure your feedback reaches all the right people.

We are in the process of revising and updating all our letters to patients to make sure the information about where to go and who to see is clear. We will take your comments on board for the new letters which will be in use soon.

Report as unsuitable

Hamjbe did not recommend General Surgery at Croydon University Hospital

dissapointing and sadenening

What I liked

The few individuals who treated me with care and profesionalism.

What could have been improved

Staff attitude.
I was admitted with a breast absess in considerable pain but made to feel like I was exagerating and had to wait unreasonably long times for analgesia, on one occasion more than an hour.The staff in EAU were without exception miserable and rude.
I trained at Mayday and the whole experience left me saddened. I understand the pressures and constraints of working within an NHS hospital but do not understand why staff must be so rude.
I felt that my condition was not taken seriously and that appropriate referals were not made despite my condition becoming worse ( I became septic and my breast was becoming necrotic ). I was prescribed IV antibiotics but the team I was under prefered a wait and see approach.
After three days of inadequate pain relief I discharged myself and went to another hospital. I feel this was justified by the fact that I was diagnosed with Necrotising fasciitis and had three surgeries over the next three days. This eventually culminated in mastectomy.
I can forgive the fact that a diagnosis was not made ( it is unusual and difficult to spot initially )but I cannot forgive being made to feel like I was exagerating pain.
I also wonder if surgical intervention had been initiated earlier that I may not of lost my entire breast. I was told that I could be treated as an outpatient and was only admitted because of a GI bleed which was caused by taking NSAIDS on an empty stomach because of pain. One of the main symptoms of NF is disproportinate levels of pain which I really felt was not taken into account. In the end I lost a breast because of an insect bite!
The whole experience was made worse by incompassionate nurses who seemed to dislike their jobs so much that they begrudge any request by patients.

Any other comments

Cheer up !
I do not understand why the hospital does not take action against staff who are clearly damaging the organisations reputation .
I am a nurse, and if the day ever comes when I hate my job so much that I am unable to raise a smile I will find a new job in which it is not so important to be compassionate and approachable.
The problem is not just with a few individuals but seems to run deep within the workforce.
Some of the nursing staff made me ashamed of my profession, having said that it was not just nurses other members of the MDT were just as bad.
A smile and a bit of compassion helps patients to feel valued and listened to, and that their opinoins and concerns are valid.

Visited in August 2011. Posted on 17 November 2011

Report as unsuitable

Croydon University Hospital replied on 18 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your story and your views, which have been shared with senior people at the Trust. As you describe it, “a smile and a bit of compassion” is exactly what we expect of our staff and it is deeply disappointing to see that we did not offer that to you.

Would you consider meeting some of our Trust staff so they can hear first-hand about how you felt when you were being treated at Croydon Hospital? Obviously we can’t arrange this through this website, so if you would contact us via our PALS team on 020 8401 3939 they can make the arrangements. Just mention that you have posted a comment on this site and they will know who to put you in touch with.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous recommended General Surgery at Croydon University Hospital

Excellent care and staff - am extremely grateful.

What I liked

I was very nervous about having an operation but I was reassured by my consultant and recieved really kind and professional care at this hospital. The staff went the extra mile and it was exceptionally clean.

What could have been improved

Parts of the building are old but the ward was modern and clean. The signage could be improved to help you find your way around.

Visited in January 2011. Posted on 11 February 2011

Report as unsuitable

Croydon University Hospital replied on 01 March 2011

Thank you for your kind comments which we have passed onto the staff.
You might like to know that we are currently updating our signage on site so we hope this will be improved soon.

Report as unsuitable

Last updated on 18 June 2010.

Information supplied by Croydon Health Services NHS Trust