Croydon University Hospital

020 8401 3000 530 London Road , Thornton Heath, Surrey, CR7 7YE
http://www.croydonhealthservices.nhs.uk/

2.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 139 ratings for this hospital

General Surgery

2.5 Stars

2.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 139 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

3.5 out of 5 stars

(142 ratings)

Staff co-operation

3 out of 5 stars

(141 ratings)

Dignity and respect

3.5 out of 5 stars

(141 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

3 out of 5 stars

(138 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

3.5 out of 5 stars

(109 ratings)

Reviews

362 total

Anonymous gave General Surgery at Croydon University Hospital a rating of 1 stars

an embarrassment to the proffession

being a nurse myself I had certain expectations of our recent experience in CUH. I found the nurses to be uncaring, work without competence and most definitely have no idea about communication. not one nurse introduced themselves, and they gave us no courage in what they did, seeming unsure and uncaring at all times. I would not recommend the unit we were in to anyone and I pray and hope the other wards are much better than DSU.

Visited in March 2016. Posted on 17 March 2016

Report as unsuitable

Croydon University Hospital has not yet replied.

Diana Voinea gave General Surgery at Croydon University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Surgery for ectopic pregnancy

I m very pleased to write the review for you guys ,I had a surgery on Monday I was in a very bad condition with lots of pain and when I heard that I have ano ectopic pregnancy I felt that the sky it s falling down on me,the anesthesiologist has cheered me up and I left my life in their hands.After the surgery when I woke up 3 members of staff were sitting next to me telling me that everything was alright and they kept asking me if I feel OK and if I m in pain. I felt safe.
The doctors were visiting me everyday to check how I m feeling ,they provided the right treatment,now I m home and everything looks alright.
Now I want to tell you the bad parts of my experience so maybe you can change something for other women so they can safe their tubes and lifes.
When I found out that I was pregnant I went to the hospital for a scan to assure myself that is in the womb as I had some strange bleeding but they said that it s too small to see something at the scan.if they were trying at least to scan me they could see that is nothing in the womb and I could saved my tube with an injection.
So what I mean is that maybe we can have an early scan as 5 weeks pregnant,please try to sort this out for us.
Second thing it s the parking ,it is very hard to find a space to park the car and when I had the surgery my husband being stressed he forgot to pay for more hours and they put a penalty charge notice..and the parking it s too expensive, he had to pay around £15 each day to visit me ..we don't want to be in a hospital so you don't need to take this as an advantage for you so you can charge lots of money for parking.
Anyway ,I wrote the bad parts maybe someone will check these problems and they may have the power to make a change. .otherwise I just want to thank you for saving my life and caring about me !thank you to all the nurses from queens 1 and all the doctors!

Visited in December 2015. Posted on 05 December 2015

Report as unsuitable

Croydon University Hospital replied on 05 January 2016

Dear Diana

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience, as I can appreciate that this must have been a very anxious and upsetting time for you.

I am pleased to learn that all of our clinical teams were able to provide reassurance at this distressing time and I have passed on your kind words to the teams and their managers.

You also highlighted two points where you think we could have done better and I assure you that all feedback is taken seriously and passed on to our services so that they can consider how we can improve the experience of our patients.

I understand that the early diagnosis of an ectopic pregnancy by scans is very difficult as, even with the best equipment, it is hard to see a pregnancy less than 6 weeks and just as difficult to see an ectopic pregnancy. For this reason, blood tests are commonly used to measure increases in hormone levels because, whilst in normal pregnancy the level of hormone nearly doubles about every two to three days in the early weeks, in an ectopic pregnancy the levels climb slowly or remain static.

The cost of parking at Croydon University Hospital was last reviewed in 2013, having remained unchanged for the previous ten years. At that time, the Trust reviewed car parking charges made by the London Borough of Croydon and other local health providers, and retained the most common band (up to 4 hours) whilst introducing a one hour short stay charge. The system is not meant to be punitive and we have attempted to make the tariffs as flexible and as fair as possible for everyone visiting the Trust, whilst at the same time keeping charges to a minimum. The proceeds generated from car-parking are used for the benefit of the hospital and improving services for patients, users and visitors.

Unfortunately, the hospital site is limited in size and often very busy, which does place pressure on the car parking available. Regular visitors of long stay patients are able to apply for a special parking dispensation, through the ward on which the patient is being treated and there are no car-parking charges for valid blue badge holders on all our sites.

Kind regards

Graham Richardson, Deputy Manager, PALS and Complaints

Our Patient Advice and Liaison Service office can be contacted on 020 8401 3210 or at ch-tr.pals@nhs.net

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General Surgery at Croydon University Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Cancelled surgery twice

Never gonna use the nhs. Mayday was by far the worse hospital. All the surgeons are constantly cancelling and discharging patients. I was in the waiting room in a gown awaiting surgery. Kept waiting for over 3 hours for them to tell me they will not proceed with surgery. Another 4 patients in the same room had been cancelled. This is appalling service. We pay taxes but get no service from nhs. I've got an appointment next Wednesday at Shirley oaks. I'm hoping you get what you pay for

Visited in December 2015. Posted on 08 December 2015

Report as unsuitable

Croydon University Hospital replied on 05 January 2016

Dear Anonymous

I am very sorry that you had such a frustrating experience. We try very hard to avoid cancelling planned surgical procedures, as we fully appreciate the additional disruption and anxiety this causes patients and their families.

There are occasions when this becomes necessary, most commonly because complications during procedures mean that operations take longer than expected or because emergency cases take clinical priority. Theatre staff will do their best to keep waiting patients informed about delays and will endeavour to arrange additional theatres/staff where possible. Where a cancellation is needed, we will then try to ensure that this is rearranged as soon as possible.

Kind regards

Graham Richardson, Deputy Manager, PALS and Complaints

Our Patient Advice and Liaison Service office can be contacted on 020 8401 3210 or at ch-tr.pals@nhs.net

Report as unsuitable

Edyta gave General Surgery at Croydon University Hospital a rating of 4 stars

My gallbladder surgery

I got it my gallbladder surgery on 04/12/15, my surgery been performed by a Consultant Surgeon and an assistant, later on I been care by another team and all of them done fantastic job in looking after me. Have to say my surgeon was such a professional person which make me feel relaxed and sure that I'm in good hands. After procedure they came to me and said that everything went well and there was no any complication. My recovery going so well and I belive that is due to all people who was looking after me and of course especially my surgeon.Thank you so much.

Visited in December 2015. Posted on 12 December 2015

Report as unsuitable

Croydon University Hospital replied on 05 January 2016

Dear Edyta

I am pleased that your surgery and recovery have progressed well and I thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I will ensure that your kind words are passed on to the medical and nursing teams involved in your care.

Kind regards

Graham Richardson, Deputy Manager, PALS and Complaints

Our Patient Advice and Liaison Service office can be contacted on 020 8401 3210 or at ch-tr.pals@nhs.net

Report as unsuitable

Julz gave General Surgery at Croydon University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Very caring

Had operation yesterday and I can only commend the staff. They were very respectful and treated me with total respect and made all patients aware of times of order for theater. Although was there at 7.30 I didn't go for op till 3 to which they looked after myself.
I can only say thank you to all the staff that cared for me.
Keep up the great work 😁

Visited in October 2015. Posted on 01 October 2015

Report as unsuitable

Croydon University Hospital replied on 06 October 2015

Dear Julz

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience. It is very pleasing to learn that our staff looked after you well and I will ensure that your kind words are passed on to the teams involved in your care.

Kind regards

Graham Richardson, Deputy Manager, PALS and Complaints

Report as unsuitable

Jenny gave General Surgery at Croydon University Hospital a rating of 1 stars

it never gets any better.

I am disabled and I have a blue badge today no spaces left so I had to park in the road that in itself is not unusual but to close off disabled parking with building materials is not right .so after a very long walk that was made longer by the lift not working but I shouldn't have worried as I then had a two hour wait to be seen !!

Visited in October 2015. Posted on 17 October 2015

Report as unsuitable

Croydon University Hospital replied on 16 November 2015

Dear Jenny

I am very sorry that you had difficulty parking on your recent visit to Croydon University Hospital. We do have a number of 'blue badge' car parking spaces across the hospital site and some of these have been moved because of work being carried out in preparation for the construction of our new Accident and Emergency department. Where parking has been relocated there should be signs for drivers and if you can contact our PALS office with details of where you tried to park, I will ask our Estates department to ensure that this is clearly visible. I am alos sorry that you subsequently experienced a delay in your outpatient appointment. Delays most commonly arise because the medical team have been involved in urgent medical treatment but the clinic staff should have kept you informed, and I hope that this happened.

Kind regards

Graham Richardson
Deputy Manager, PALS and Complaints

Please contact our PALS office on: 020 8401 3210 or at ch-tr.pals@nhs.net

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General Surgery at Croydon University Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Day Surgery

In the light of how much negative press our NHS recieves in current times, I felt compelled to leave some feedback on my recent experience of Day Surgery at Croydon University Hospital. Although there were some minor issues - it was unclear on which department I had to arrive at (but I was swiftly redirected), it was a shame that a relative could not be there when I came round from surgery or could stay with me whilst in recovery and there was a slight mix up with my discharge prescription - overall, the swiftness, professionalism and care and compassion received from every member of staff attached to looking after me was faultless.

As a white British woman, I did notice that the majority of the hospital staff, from staff nurses to porters, were foreign workers and all did their jobs professionally and with great care; there were unfortunately some language to language issues but ultimately it is almost immediate to see that without these people, wanting to work in our NHS, the service as a whole would suffer tremendously; having workers from overseas who come and do their jobs so well is something as a patient I am very grateful for.

From the moment I arrived at my appointment to the minute I left, I was cared for, communicated with and tended to in a considerate and straight forward manner with every question answered and every request seen to.

Although there was one quite chatty and loud nurse on the recovery ward, which made it difficult to rest at times, there was a nurse who dealt with the women in recovery with such dignity and respect it was actually very humbling, what a lovely person, I wish I had been lucid enough to ask their name.

Still in recovery from a very painful procedure I wanted to write and say that my care could hardly have been any better. Thank you Croydon University Hospital for my treatment, the speed at which I saw my consultant, had my pre op assessment and had the actual op was less than four weeks and every member of your team again, were both professional, knowledgeable and compassionate.

I would be very happy if the staff involved (perhaps via my notes) could be identified and praised. Thank you again very much.

Visited in September 2015. Posted on 10 September 2015

Report as unsuitable

Croydon University Hospital replied on 14 September 2015

Dear Anonymous

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience and for your kind comments. I will ensure these are passed on to the managers and staff in our Day Surgery unit. I will also ask the team to look at your feedback about the problem with your discharge medication and the noise levels in the recovery ward to see if those aspects can be improved.

You also mentioned that relatives are not allowed in the recovery ward, and our Day Surgery matron has explained that this is a national practice, unless the patient is a child. This is because the area is considered a critical care area, where patients are brought immediately after surgery, and they may be agitated/drowsy/confused. Patients usually need one to one attention for a short while, until they are ready for transfer to a ward or discharge, but in certain cases, if the patient's stay becomes longer than expected, we do allow relatives for a very short period.

I hope that your recovery continues well.

Kind regards

Graham Richardson, Deputy Manager, PALS and Complaints

pals@croydonhealth.nhs.uk 020 8401 3210

Report as unsuitable

Dissatisfied gave General Surgery at Croydon University Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Would never want to be inpatient again.

I have had the misfortune to be an inpatient at CUH twice & both occasions were frightening in the lack of care I experienced on the wards. Communication is poor between departments & there is an over-riding sense of chaos & a lack of safety with the 'care' given on the wards. Medication rounds are infrequent & on both occasions I was left in pain with essential medication not given or late. There is no 'care' given & actually experienced staff who were intimidating, rude & incompetent. I felt very vulnerable, unsafe & would never willingly be admitted to the Hospital again.
I have made an official complaint stating the serious details that I want addressed however over 7 weeks later I still have not received a reply or had my phone call returned.

Visited in August 2015. Posted on 13 October 2015

Report as unsuitable

Croydon University Hospital replied on 15 October 2015

Dear Dissatisfied

I wish to assure you that the Trust takes all feedback from our patients very seriously and I am therefore very sorry that you have experienced problems during your stays at this hospital and that you have not received a full response to the concerns you have raised with us. We aim to acknowledge all concerns within 3 working days and to complete any investigation and provide a written response for the majority of complaints within 35 working days. If a complaint involves a number of different services or other NHS organisations, the investigation may take longer, but this should be explained at the time, and we should also keep you informed of any delays. I sincerely apologise if this has not happened and if you contact me, on 020 8401 3000 extension 5990 or at ch-tr.complaints@nhs.net, I will be happy to investigate and provide you with an update.

Kind regards

Graham Richardson, Deputy Manager, PALS and Complaints

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General Surgery at Croydon University Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Utterly Disgraceful 'Care' Service!

I'm in the process on writing several complaints to various bodies regarding this 'healthcare' service following a relatives admission. I wont go into specifics as these will be in my complaint but a relative in here received atrocious treatment from the nurses who were rude, abrupt, aggressive, offensive and intimidating. We as a family received no information from DR's regarding our relatives progress or plans to get them well. They seem to dish out medication on whims without any clear justification to do so. to get a Dr to speak with you you have to ask several times. We had relatives there constantly and no one updated us at all. There is a lack of communication and nurses along with Dr's blame other people taking no responsibility for anything which I find utterly disgraceful. Be prepared to be told 'its not in my remit' a lot. This service is continuously in the press for its poor service and I can see why its voted one of the worst NHS services in the UK. If you can ask to be seen elsewhere as you wont get much 'care' here. Wards are dirty, i saw a pile of sick by an elevator with just a caution wet floor sign and never saw a cleaner. even guests toilets by the main entrance is vile. Staff all have a bad fed up attitude and seem to be in the wrong line of work. Whilst there are some great successes in the NHS and some very admirable services like Royal Marsden in Particular who are exceptional, this service is in a dire, gloomy, dirty , unprofessional service.

Visited in June 2015. Posted on 29 July 2015

Report as unsuitable

Croydon University Hospital has not yet replied.

Mandy P gave General Surgery at Croydon University Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Day Surgery for ERPC

I began my day feeling very fearfull of the operation in question along with the final stage to remove any sign that i was ever pregnant, which i was feeling very emotional about.

On entering i was met by a very helpfull and informative member of staff at reception, i then went onto the ward and the realisation hit me hard and i just couldnt stop crying.
The nurses and other members of staff where brilliant, very kind and compasionate too which left me at ease. The anesthetist met with me and explained what their part in my op would be, again very detailed and allowed me to feel comfortable in asking any questions, a familiar face when i finally got to that point. The surgeon came to see me, again very detailed and kind with their words making me feel relaxed knowing i was in capable hands. I cannot praise the staff enough, the staff morale was fantastic it was nice to hear people speaking and laughing at such a tense time. The hospital porters where kind and happy and confident in their jobs. I didnt have to wait long at all and i was home by lunch time, keep up the good work guys.

Visited in May 2015. Posted on 13 May 2015

Report as unsuitable

Croydon University Hospital has not yet replied.

Last updated on 18 June 2010.

Information supplied by Croydon Health Services NHS Trust