Wexham Park Hospital

Telephone: 01753 633000
Address: Wexham Street, Slough, Berkshire, SL2 4HL
Website: http://www.heatherwoodandwexham.nhs.uk

3.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 186 ratings for this hospital

Orthopaedics

3.5 Stars

3.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 186 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4 out of 5 stars

(192 ratings)

Staff co-operation

3.5 out of 5 stars

(197 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(195 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

3.5 out of 5 stars

(191 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(156 ratings)

Reviews

312 total

  • Page 1 of 1

Shelley H gave Orthopaedics at Wexham Park Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Resent Stay at WExam park hospital

With all the negative press lately I thought I would tell you about my experience .
I visited A@E on the 5 th of January with a damaged ankle from a fall from when i entered i had fantastic service and found all your nurses doctors, this was also the case in xray .I was admitted to trauma ward 1 b and remained there till i was discharged on the 16 th January .I can not praise all the nurses on this ward enough there commitment to nurseing and caring for the patients was obvious the way they cared for the elderly paitients was fantastic taking time to sit and feed them not only food but there drinks this you may say is what is expected and yes i agree but i have never seen it done with so much care there are so many of them to mention as it did not matter what shift was on the care was constant .You should be very proud of this nursing team on this ward they really show what care means.
Please pass on my thanks and praise.

Visited in January 2014. Posted on 28 January 2014

Report as unsuitable

Wexham Park Hospital replied on 05 February 2014

Thank you for giving us your feedback of your recent stay on our orthopaedic ward following your fall. The nursing care that you describe is the standard that we expect and it is a pleasure to hear how well the ward staff as a team have performed. We will ensure your comments are shared with the Matron and her team, as well as our A&E staff.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Orthopaedics at Wexham Park Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Ward 1B

I was admitted to your hospital via ambulance and A & E on Thursday 17 October and I'm writing to thank you for the exceptional treament I received in your care.

From start to finish I was treated with great kindness, efficiency and care and I can't thank you enough. From A & E I was admitted to Ward 1B with a trauma to my knee. I was operated on at 10 am on Friday 18 October and was able to be discharged in the early evening of that day.

The staff on Ward 1B were just so kind and helpful and an amazing team. I was particularly impressed with the care they gave to an elderly, very confused lady who didn't speak English. They calmed her down and afforded her great dignity.

Please pass on my thanks to ward 1B.

And, by the way, I thought the food was just fine given the scale of the catering operation!

Visited in October 2013. Posted on 21 October 2013

Report as unsuitable

Wexham Park Hospital replied on 22 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your experience during your admission. It is really pleasing to hear first hand how impressed you were by the staff especially in their care for youself and others. We will ensure that it is shared with the teams concerned, which will undoubtedly be gratefully received. We also hope that you have made a good recovery.

Report as unsuitable

Vivdora gave Orthopaedics at Wexham Park Hospital a rating of 3 stars

Ward 1B Trauma Unit

This ward is excellent , everybody I have come into contact with has given good care or service. The staff work as a team and they work hard doing long hours but they are always willing to help the patients.

I think that the ward is understaffed sometimes and that puts a strain on the staff which is unfair. This ward only has 16 beds but at times that's more like 26 because of the high turnover of patients and the amount of organisation that involves. There are also some elective cases as well as trauma and consequently there must be enough staff to go to theatre and recovery.

The cleanliness is of a high standard and the people who serve the drinks and those who take the food orders are friendly and helpful. On the subject of food I cannot be so enthusiastic. I don't eat meat ( I do eat fish) and I have a confirmed lactose intolerance. The never changing menu ( tedious if you are a patient for long) has some vegetarian choices but they are all cheese on cheese with a cheese sauce. I have been allied to have one meal a day from the hospital canteen but the vegetarian options are also cheese. I put on weight when I'm in hospital as there is so much carbohydrate in the food and not enough protein or fresh fruit and vegetables. I know the food budget is small but I have had experience of a catering manager who was given the same budget as other hospitals and managed to provide excellent food with extras such as freshly made omelettes for patients who had missed meals or wanted something light. If you take the service station Tebay at Shap as an example you can see how a different method can make an amazing difference.

I mustn't forget the drs, porters, theatre staff, admin staff, anyone I've forgotten.

Finally, please get some new bed curtains and or rails, they are in a bad state and make it hard for everybody concerned as well as looking shabby. if they were pulled down ( accidentally on purpose) thus closing the bed availability, something would be done immediately wouldn't it?

I would also like to commend the hip unit where I have been treated before.

I would recommend ward 1 though.

Visited in September 2013. Posted on 18 September 2013

Report as unsuitable

Wexham Park Hospital replied on 04 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your experience during your admission. We will ensure that it is shared with the teams concerned, which will undoubtedly be gratefully received and is helpful for us to identify areas for further improvement. We also hope that you have made a good recovery.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Orthopaedics at Wexham Park Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Went to A&E with broken wrist

16 july broke my wrist in Manchester they patched me up and told me to go to my own A&E as I needed an operation. Went to Wexham Park 18 july at 11:00 by 12:00 I was awaiting confirmation of a bed and was subsequently operated on late that afternoon. After the operation I was moved to Ward one where the staff were brilliant . I was discharged the next day with follow up appointments all organised.

I could not fault any part of my experience with this hospital

Visited in July 2013. Posted on 22 July 2013

Report as unsuitable

Wexham Park Hospital replied on 24 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your positive feedback on your experience during your admission. We will ensure that it is shared with the teams concerned, which will undoubtedly be gratefully received. We also hope that you have made a good recovery.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Orthopaedics at Wexham Park Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Excellent front line staff

I recently spent six days in Wexham Park and was extremely impressed with the quality of care provided by the front line staff. I came off my bike and sustained broken bones in my arm and pelvis and in every part of the NHS I was provided with skilled care, dignity and respect from the Ambulance Service, A & E, the Trauma Unit of Ward 1, the Operating Theatre and the Plaster Room.

I am concerned that Government Ministers are currently over-emphasising the very small number of failings in the NHS and I fear the damage that this will do to the morale of the hard-working staff. I therefore want to highlight the excellent service I was given and to thank all those involved

Visited in April 2013. Posted on 07 May 2013

Report as unsuitable

Wexham Park Hospital replied on 04 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your positive feedback on your recent experiences following your accident. We will ensure that it is shared with the teams concerned, which will undoubtedly be gratefully received. We also hope that you have made a good recovery.

Report as unsuitable

Dorneyed reviewed Orthopaedics at Wexham Park Hospital

Tactical situations are managed well, strategic planning needs some improvement!

What I liked

I came into Wexham after breaking my femar, and rushed through A&E, and straight from there to ward 1C. I was stabilised. Here for 24 hours and operated on next day. All of the services I received during this period was certainly acceptable, but I don't believe I was in much of a position to provide any feedback, however over the next, I certainly noted a few things that could be considered for service improvements.

The commitment shown by 'the nurses', (Health Care assistants and Nurses), can be exceptional, given that they are so short of staff, equipment, beds, etc, etc.

What could have been improved

Having observed the various duties that the different grades of 'nurses' have to undertake, and some of the tasks that they are not, it should be seen a miraculous that things are kept 'on track' at all.
I experienced evening 'shift change', when there was only one 'proper nurse' in charge of just over 26 patients! This meant that overnight, she had to review / handout the meds, complete the obs, coordinate any bed moves, etc.

These nurses are being put under unbelievable pressure, whilst trying to do the job / vocation that they love, however, due to cost cutting / priority changes, they are now finding this almost impossible.

A few observations - whilst the nurses are trying to deal with their regular shift duties, they get involved in conversations about, broken equipment, catering, moving patients, etc. Yes, these tasks need to be dealt with, but why use the teams with the lowest number of resource??

We've also heard about cases when patients can't reach their water / emergency button, etc - I experienced this also. The catering team deliver their meal / drink whatever it is, then leave. If you don't realise immediately, you have to call the nurse to sort it out!!

Any other comments

From my professional position as a Business Improvement Manager, looking at the services I experienced and observed, there certainly seemed to be a number of opportunities for improvements.

'Doctors' - there seemed to be endless number of 'doctors' coming ward to see patients. I'm aware that the all doctors are 'not equal', however, they often cause the same amount of chaos to the ward staff!
- If the doctors visits could be better coordinated, the impact upon the ward staff and patients, could be significantly reduced.

Nursing responsibilities - it seems that there is a clear definition of who can do what, when it comes to handing out medicine, and there should be, but a review of other associated responsibilities should be considered. You have many Health Care Assistants (green & cream) uniforms, who are more than capable.

Planning for 'The shift'
This is the real 'known unknown'. 'How many beds do we have?', 'has anyone found that other wheelchair?', did we get the 'obs' sorted out', 'has that new patient arrived yet from recovery', etc (this is only a minute example of what these guys do, ranginjg from bed washes, through to providing medication and giving life saving drugs.
These are examples of tasks that throw off any schedule that the nurses had for shift, and things like this happen every shift, so they aren't exceptions, and should therefore be planned for.

To summarise my position, the nursing staff I experienced in Wexham, were outstanding, given the additional tasks that they had to carry out, so support the rest of the hospitals processes and ways of working.
One of the patients in my ward 'passed away' whilst I was there, and the nurses worked tirelessly with the gentleman to do all the could for him. It was a fantastic example of what motivated / driven nurses will do to ease the lives of their patients, it's just a pity that the the rest of the organisation didn't show the same drive in improving general working practices!!

Visited in December 2012. Posted on 06 January 2013

Report as unsuitable

Wexham Park Hospital replied on 17 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, which is very constructive and most helpful. We will ensure that this is shared with the teams concerned, especially in relation to your kind words about the nursing staff. We also hope that you are making a good recovery.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Orthopaedics at Wexham Park Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Complete lack of respect, care and dignity - a

Mother admitted with suspected mini stroke - kept in overnight for observation.
Called by hospital the next day to say mother had sustained a fall. Arrived at hospital to she had a broken hip and wrist but no one can account for how it happened.

Moved to orthopaedics after surgery but they were more concerned with moving her back to the stroke ward but would not admit to it saying that the stroke ward were insisting on her return even though her priority care now was focussed on her rehabilitation following her op. When stroke ward asked what the rush was to move her back told that they hadn't asked for her move and that orthopaedics had insistent on it.

Constant failing of care ever since, us a relatives afforded no courteousy. Prime example is today - called at 215p to come in for 3pm as mother being moved to another hospital for her rehab. Told them it's not possible as have to pick up son from school as wife at work but she can go there after work. Drop wife at hospital at 350pm - it is now 906pm - over 5 hours later and the move has still not happened. No feedback from nursing staff other than it will happen when it happens.

Visited in December 2012. Posted on 23 January 2013

Report as unsuitable

Wexham Park Hospital has not yet replied.

V Rudd recommended Orthopaedics at Wexham Park Hospital

I could not have had better care and attention, all of your staff were amazing

What I liked

Whilst out shopping I had a fall and was taken to Wexham Park Hospital A&E dept. and then stayed in the hospital for 3 days.
From the moment I arrived until the moment I left, I was treated with the utmost care in the most proffessional way, everything was explained so clearly and simply to me.
Thank you to A&E Reception, Registration, Xray dept. and the Doctor and his assistant that tried so hard to manipulate my arm to avoid it being operated on, the amazing Surgeons and their team, and to all the staff in ward 20 who were always there to help and care for every need.
Thank you also to everyone working in the after clinic. It was so helpful that the predicted waiting time was written up on the board, (as I am sure, we have all thought, have I got time to quickly get/do this etc.)
also to the Plasteroom team for the care and art in getting me so well plastered without any hangover!

For me it is so important that I am writing this, of course to thank you all, but to also help other people like me, because ever since I can remember, I have always been absolutely terrified of Doctors, Hospitals and Operations.
"So thank you Wexhax Park Hospital for taking my lifelong fears away all because of your magical care.

With kind and sincere regards

Visited in January 2012. Posted on 29 February 2012

Report as unsuitable

Wexham Park Hospital has not yet replied.

Barry Hawkes recommended Orthopaedics at Wexham Park Hospital

Sympathetic understanding of a frightened patient.

What I liked

I checked in for a knee replacement operation at Heatherwood Hospital, Ascot. I then had a type of panic attack and decided after consultation with the surgeon to postpone the operation. I expected the staff to be angry and accuse me of wasting their time. Quite the contrary. The surgeon, anaesthetist and nursing staff were so considerate and professional. It was not my finest hour and I wish my behaviour could have been as dignified as that of the staff. I now, having pulled myself together, wish to apply for re-entry into the procedure. I hope they will have me back - the prodigal's return!

What could have been improved

My own behaviour

Any other comments

Non - except to say that frequently underused word - 'sorry'.

Visited in December 2011. Posted on 06 January 2012

Report as unsuitable

Wexham Park Hospital has not yet replied.

  • Page 1 of 1

Last updated on 18 June 2010.

Information supplied by Heatherwood and Wexham Park Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust