Royal Blackburn Hospital

Telephone: 01254 263555
Address: Haslingden Road, Haslingden Road, Blackburn, Lancashire, BB2 3HH
Website: http://www.elht.nhs.uk

3.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 325 ratings for this hospital

General Surgery

3.5 Stars

3.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 325 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4 out of 5 stars

(328 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(328 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(326 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(321 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(283 ratings)

Reviews

677 total

rob graham reviewed General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital

surgery to have teeth removed

Today i had an appointment in the day surgery to have some teeth removed i turned up on time @7:30 in the morning was taken through to see the surgeon then left until 9:45 wer i was told i would be goin into surgery at10:30 app the nurse came and give me some tablets then at 11:00 i was told it would be another hr at least before i would have my surgery by this point i decided i was going home as i was a nervous patient n that is why i was there I couldnt wait any longer as my nerves got the better of me by this point the nurse thought it would be a good time to ask if i wanted to rebook my app whilst finding it funny then i got a complaints form n number to ring n cant get through

Visited in April 2015. Posted on 28 April 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 28 April 2015

Dear Mr Graham

I can only apologise that you have been unable to get through to the PALS and complaints team- their number is 0800 587 2586 and whilst they do have an answerphone to leave your details on, please be assured it is regularly checked and responded to. I have checked with the team and they do not appear to have a message from you so if at all possible could you ring them again on the number above and they will deal with your concerns?
I am sorry to hear that you feel our care for you has not been appropriate and timely, I can only apologise that as you saying being a 'nervous' patient you were not supported in a sensitive way so that you were able to undergo your procedure today. If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team we would really value this so that we can try to improve care for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 733716 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.
Or if you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes
Wendy Stobbs, Senior Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous reviewed General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital

Great care from the consultant and Ward C18

I was admitted to RBH in March with acute pancreatitis caused by gallstones. The standard of care provided by Ward C18, where I spent most of my stay, was great. The staff were friendly, informative, flexible and caring.

In terms of consultants, I cannot speak highly enough of mine. An excellent manner, going out of their way to make sure that you have all the information that you need and delivers excellent care. Clearly held in high regard by colleagues too and it is easy to see why. They were approachable for patients and close family alike.

Visited in March 2015. Posted on 06 May 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 07 May 2015

Dear Anonymous

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our General Surgery ward C18 at Royal Blackburn Hospital, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team who will be very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.

If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 733716 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.
Or if you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes on your continued recovery
Wendy Stobbs, Senior Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Andrew gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Hernia operation

Saw the doctor on 18th December & considered they were very professional in their manner & treatment. I had to have an ultrasound a few weeks later & a pre op.

Everyone was extremely helpful. I did not hear from the hospital for six weeks so I phoned on two occasions both times it was an answerphone but messages were not responded to. I phoned a third time & my call was responded the next morning. The person I spoke to said I could go just over a week later if I was prepared to go to Burnley which I agreed to.

Staff at Burnley were really good. My only reservation was I was there at 12noon as requested but had to wait till 4p.m. for the op. & had nothing to drink since 9.30a.m.

I was seen by the registrar & the anesethist. Both these people were very through in explaining things as were all the staff when I 'came round'.

Three weeks on I am feeling much better - so thank you.

Visited in March 2015. Posted on 29 March 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 31 March 2015

Dear Andrew

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team, and also your comments about the delay in answering the phone to arrange your operation- which I can only apologise for. I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was in general positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.

If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.
Or if you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes on your continued recovery
Wendy Stobbs, Senior Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Julie George gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Thank You

I'd just like to thank the staff at both Blackburn Royal and Burnley General for the care l received from investigations into my carpal tunnel syndrome, the operation, and after care. At all of my appointments l was seen within 15minutes of my appointment times, and in some cases l had been seen and was out of the hospital before my appointment time. The clinics and wards were very clean and orderley, and all staff, on every department were pleasant, polite and professional. I don't think many people bother to express their gratitude nowadays, rather they are very quick to criticise. I would like to say a very big thank you to all staff l met

Visited in February 2015. Posted on 02 March 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 13 March 2015

Dear Ms George

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our General Surgery service at Royal Blackburn and Burnley General Hospitals, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the teams concerend who will be very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.

If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471/ 01254 733704 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.
Or if you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes on your continued recovery
Wendy Stobbs, Senior Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Day surgery ward

I received a phone call on the 23rd Dec would I be available for surgery tomorrow Christmas eve, I accepted as I wanted to get the problem sorted. I was concerned that I would be home the same day but the care and attention I received was first class from the receptionist to my surgeon. I would recommend anyone to choose this facility.Thank you
PS I rate the coffee after my op

Visited in December 2014. Posted on 25 December 2014

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 29 December 2014

Dear Anonymous
Many thanks for your feedback on your experience (and the coffee!) of our General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital, and thank-you for taking the time to do so at what I am sure is a busy time with Christmas and recovering from an operation. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team and I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471/ 01254 733704 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.
Or if you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk
Many thanks once again and best wishes for the New Year and your continued recovery
Wendy Stobbs, Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

PEP gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 2 stars

Unresolved complaint

I have been in contact with the Complaints Department since February and this is another attempt at getting a response regarding the theft of my property by a staff member (the item "disappeared" in an area where no members of the public would go)

Visited in December 2014. Posted on 24 June 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 26 June 2015

Dear PEP

Many thanks for your comment and I am sorry to hear that you feel you have had no resolution to your on-going complaint, I have passed on your comment to the complaints manager but would also suggest that you contact them directly through the PALS telephone too in order to address your concerns- their number and details are below.
PALS
Tel: 0800 587 2586
E-mail: PALS@elht.nhs.uk

Or if you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk
Many thanks again for commenting and I do hope your concern is resolved soon to your satisfaction
Wendy Stobbs, Senior Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Tilly gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 5 stars

day surgery ward

I have been on the day surgery ward 4/5 times. I have found the staff to be so brilliant, kind, listen to worries, empathise with us all, same with theatre staff reception staff and cleaners, I cannot speak highly enough of them all. the tea and toast is so welcome too thank you one & all. You are all angels!!!

Visited in September 2014. Posted on 28 September 2014

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 29 September 2014

Dear Tilly
Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the teams concerned. I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience with our day surgery ward that have made your visits there so good we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.
Many thanks once again for commenting
Wendy Stobbs, Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Gareth Warbrick gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 5 stars

The very best

On the 5th of Augest 2014 I was admited into S.A.D.U at royal blackburn hospital for routine surgery to have a large number of my teeth taken out and as you can imagine I was very very scared.
From the moment I walked into the hospital I was made to feel so welcome and made to feel at ease.
From the Theatre Technichen to my Aneastiesist and my wonderful Surgeon they made sure I was safe.
Being a needle phobic I was unable to be put to sleep via the normal route of a cannula and as a result of this I was allowed to have gas instead, Even at this point the aneasthetist was still there to comfort me and was the first person I saw when I came round from theatre. If that was not enough he also came to see how I was doing the next day when I was on ward B20.
The staff on ward B20 really went out of their way to help me with every little thing and all the staff were there and no matter how much stress they were under each and evey one of team from S.A.D.U TO Ward B20 and in between took the time to say hello and just give you a comferting smile.
There is one person above all who I feel I owe a shed load of thanks to.
Massive thanks to each and every one of you.
Keep up the great work

Visited in August 2014. Posted on 09 August 2014

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 27 August 2014

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our General Surgery SADU service, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team. I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care; but it is lovely to hear how caring and sensitive our staff were to you.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.
Many thanks again for taking the time to comment and hope you are recovering well
regards
Wendy Stobbs, Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Aalowe33 gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Hospital stay

After suffering horrendous stomach pain I went to the royal blackburn hospital a&e where after being diagnosed I was taken to the surgical ward to await a scan to confirm the earlier diagnosis,which, showed an inflammed gall bladder. After consultation it was agreed to remove the gall bladder the following day. In all the time i was at the hospital (3wards in total) I received nothing but totally excellent care from all nurses and surgical staff involved.
It's too easy for everybody to complain I hope this review goes some way to redress the balance.
Once again a big thank you to the staff at Royal Blackburn Hospital.

Visited in May 2014. Posted on 20 May 2014

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 21 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback on your recent experience within our Trust.

I will of course ensure that the full team have sight of your feedback which will undoubtedly provide them with a sense of pride and achievement in making your experience such a positive one.

Thank you

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Disgusting Treatment

I wouldn't know were to begin! Pushed from pillar to post, terrible communication between members of staff. Shortage of beds, shortage of staff and shoddy treatment.
Very poor aftercare post op which leads to further treatment and additional problems.

Visited in April 2014. Posted on 04 April 2014

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 01 August 2014

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our General Surgery service, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your concerns about the lack of communication, staffing and aftercare are passed onto the team. I am very sorry to hear that your recent experience with us wasn't what you expected as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a poor visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to improve things for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.
Or if you prefer you can discuss further any concerns you may have about our services with our Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further.
Once again many thanks for commenting and apologies that it has taken some time to respond

Report as unsuitable

Last updated on 18 June 2010.

Information supplied by East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust