Royal Blackburn Hospital

01254 263555 Haslingden Road, Haslingden Road , Blackburn, Lancashire, BB2 3HH
http://www.elht.nhs.uk

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 272 ratings for this hospital

General Surgery

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 272 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4 out of 5 stars

(267 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(271 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(264 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(260 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(236 ratings)

Reviews

788 total

Barbara gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Aneurysm repair

I would like to say thank you for the wonderful treatment my husband Pat received during his stay in Blackburn Royal. A special thanks to the surgeon and their team for their skill and dedication in performing an open AAA operation successfully. He was transferred to the critical care ward B to recover where the care was 1st class. After 2 days he went to ward B20 where again the care was excellent. Thank you to the the NHS and all the people who helped my lovely husband through this difficult time. After he came home he had a bit of a problem which led us to go to A&E where again he was treated very quickly and the Nurses were so kind and reassuring.

Thank you again for everyone involved .

Visited in March 2016. Posted on 21 March 2016

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 22 March 2016

Many thanks for your feedback regarding the treatment your husband received during his stay at Royal Blackburn Hospital and thank you for taking the time to do so. It is lovely to hear that you found the care provided to your husband to be 1st class. I have forwarded your comments onto the teams who will be delighted to hear that your husband’s experience was so positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal and effective care.

We are really keen to hear further about the admission and care provided and what made it so positive so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and using our services. If you and your husband would like to share your story with us please contact me (Melissa Almond) on 01254 734087 or email me on Melissa.almond@elht.nhs.uk

Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes on your husband’s continued recovery.
Melissa Almond, Patient Experience Facilitator.

Report as unsuitable

Angela gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Day case unit Burnley -Thank you

I attended day case at Burnley for a gall bladder removal in March. I received first class care from handing my letter in at reception to being discharged home. Everything felt organised and ran smoothly which gave me confidence. Everyone was kind and helpful. I saw a student talking to an elderly lady and the compassion she displayed made me think she must have very good role models. i had a wobble of nerves and the nurse and anaethetist prevented me possibly losing my dignity by humorously and sensitively reassuring me . Thanks for that, I felt treated like an individual . My discharge was slick but unhurried and I left knowing exactly who to contact if I was worried and where to go the next day for follow up. I would definitely recommend anyone to choose Burnley day case unit

Visited in March 2016. Posted on 13 April 2016

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 15 April 2016

Dear Angela
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent experience on the Day Case Unit at Burnley General Hospital, and thank you for taking the time to do so. It is lovely to receive such positive feedback and I am really pleased that you felt that you received first class care. It is lovely to hear that the nurse and anaesthetist supported you so well and that you were treated as an individual, as we strive to provide safe, personal and effective care at all times. I have forwarded your comments onto the team who I am sure will be delighted to hear that your experience with us was so positive.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this so positive, we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Helen Ritchie) on 01254 734471 or email me on helen.ritchie@elht.nhs.uk

Many thanks and Best wishes on your recovery
Helen Ritchie
Senior patient experience facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Margaret gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Quality of the food

Hi, I have recently come out of Blackburn hospital and was not pleased that the vegetables in my meals were very undercooked and all but raw i.e. cabbage and new potatoes.

Moreover, one or two of the staff (surgical ward) were rude and off hand while others were lovely. My last nurse in ICU was an angel.

Visited in November 2015. Posted on 01 December 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 04 December 2015

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent admission to the Royal Blackburn Hospital and for taking the time to do so. We are very sorry that you were unhappy with the quality of the food provided during your stay and also had some concerns about the attitude of the staff. We will ensure that your comments are brought to the attention of the Catering Manager and Surgical Division.

We are keen that your comments are brought to the attention of the manager for the ward concerned. We would be very grateful if you could contact the Patient Experience Team to confirm which ward you were on during your admission so we can pass on your comments.

If you would like to talk through your admission with one of our Patient Experience team so we can further understand what made this such a negative experience we would welcome this, so that we can try to improve things for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Melissa Almond) on 01254 734087 or email me on Melissa.almond@elht.nhs.uk

If you prefer you can discuss further any concerns you may have about our services with our East Lancashire Hospitals Trust Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further.

If you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Thank you again for commenting.
Melissa Almond, Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 4 stars

ward C18 general surgery

All staff were extremely busy, yet maintained professional, efficient care at all times. The doctor on the General Surgery team was exceptional. Took time and extended unequalled compassion in an extremely upsetting and worrying situation for my family. Our most sincere thanks.

Visited in August 2015. Posted on 25 August 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 25 August 2015

Many thanks for your feedback on your visit to General Surgical Ward -C18 at Royal Blackburn Hospital , and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I have made sure your feedback and appreciation has been passed onto the team. I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.

If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me, Meg Davey on 01254 733698 or email me on margaret.davey@elht.nhs.uk.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Outstanding !

My wife was admitted to C14 for appendenctomy on unfortunately the hottest day of the year !
Obviously an incredibly busy ward !
Her last admission five years ago was dire ! Dirty ward , poor communication , lack of respect and involvement in care
Totally different this time !
Spotlessly clean
Clear system of audits going on
Much better use of ICT
Much better communication
Appears as an outsider to have been a radical culture change. A sick hospital in the past making an amazing recovery - bravo!

Visited in July 2015. Posted on 03 July 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 08 July 2015

Many thanks for your feedback on your wife’s experience on her admission to Ward C14, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your feedback and appreciation is passed onto the team. I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was much more positive than your previous visit as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.

We would be keen to hear more from you about how the ward has changed in your experience. If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me, Melissa Almond on 01254 7340876 or email me on melissa.almond@elht.nhs.uk.

Report as unsuitable

HappyDays2211 gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Worst Experience Ever!

I was sent by my GP to the assessment room for a suspected hernia, pain and because my stomach had blown up that much i looked 6 months pregnant. Once arriving there by ambulance i waited almost an hour before a nurse came along. I wasn't bothered so much about that. Then waited a few hours before a Dr came along. Was told they woud send me for an x-ray. Bearing in mind I have had 8 major operatuons on my abdomen for one reason or another and suffering from multiple adhesions I was a bit bemused as to why an x-ray was called for. Anyway I weht for an x-ray that evening and in the morning was told it was clear. I asked what they were going to do about the hernia, swelling and pain and was told they were sending me home and that I had to come back as an outpatient for a camera test to check for blockages in my bowels. Really? Isn't it the responsibility of the Dr's to thoroughly check patients for any possibility before quickly dismissing them? GP's don't send patients in if they don't feel it warrants it! In between the 1st & 2nd I was seen by 5 different people from team 1(as they called themselves). I have no idea what title they had, it was never disclosed. My hernia was poked and prodded by a trainee surgeon( as i found out later by asking who they were). I was clearly in pain the 1st time they did it. So why they had to do it again is beyond me. I was asked the same questions over and over again. I was told i wasn't in pain by one. Clearly because i wasn't the sort of person who screams at the top of my voice. Not to mention i'm already on morphine for fybromyalgia, multiple adhesions and pain left from previous operations. I was made to look like a fool because i couldn't remember what every operations was for and seemed like the doctor was questionning if in fact i had even had them. (These spanned over a 19 year period) Why can't they be bothered to check patients notes from GP's, which clealy list everything, as mine did. One even asked where the protruding hernia was?? In total i was seen by 6 or 7 different people over a 4 day period. Respect for patients from these Dr's (Apart from the last surgeon i spoke to) is almost non-existant. There is no empathy, I was given no suggestions of what could be wrong. Instead, i was told on 3 different occasions it would be better if I went home. Or if i stayed there was no guarantee on when the hernia would be sorted or when they would do the camera test. In the end I walked out. I'd had enough of being told to go home, spoken to like i was an imbecile and made to look like a hypochondriac, That couldn't be further from the truth! The assessment room was filthy. Crumbs on the tables, blood,fluids and paper on the floor. Tables, sinks and toilets never cleaned. Which is hypocritical seen as they test patients for contaminating diseases when they go on that ward. Visitors(who hadn't been tested) used the same toilets. Nursing staff are clearly understaffed. No more space left, otherwise i would go on.....

Visited in July 2015. Posted on 05 July 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 08 July 2015

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our General Surgical service, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your many concerns are passed onto the team. I am very sorry to hear that your recent experience with us wasn't what you expected as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.

You have already given quite a bit of detail but we would encourage you to contact us to talk more about your experience with one of our Patient Experience team. This will help us to understand the bits of your experience that made this such a poor visit for you - we would really value this so that we can try to improve things for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Meg Davey) on 01254 733698 or email me on margaret.davey@elht.nhs.uk.

If you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Or if you prefer you can discuss further any concerns you may have about our services with our East Lancashire Hospitals Trust Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Day care Surgary, caring for a disabled patient

After experiencing very bad care at Royal Blackburn Hospital in the past. When my disabled daughter was admitted in to the Day clinic for surgery, the care that she received on the day was excellent, especially from staff two members of staff, and all the theatre staff. They went above and beyond to make my Daughter as comfortable as possible. We can't thank you enough

Visited in July 2015. Posted on 14 July 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 20 July 2015

Many thanks for your feedback on your daughter’s on her admission to Day Case , and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your feedback and appreciation is passed onto the team. I am very pleased to hear that your daughter’s recent experience with us was much more positive than your previous visit as we always strive to meet individual needs and deliver safe, personal & effective care.

We would be keen to hear more from you about how the department has changed in your experience. If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me, Meg Davey on 01254 733698 or email me on margaret.davey@elht.nhs.uk.

Report as unsuitable

rob graham reviewed General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital

surgery to have teeth removed

Today i had an appointment in the day surgery to have some teeth removed i turned up on time @7:30 in the morning was taken through to see the surgeon then left until 9:45 wer i was told i would be goin into surgery at10:30 app the nurse came and give me some tablets then at 11:00 i was told it would be another hr at least before i would have my surgery by this point i decided i was going home as i was a nervous patient n that is why i was there I couldnt wait any longer as my nerves got the better of me by this point the nurse thought it would be a good time to ask if i wanted to rebook my app whilst finding it funny then i got a complaints form n number to ring n cant get through

Visited in April 2015. Posted on 28 April 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 28 April 2015

Dear Mr Graham

I can only apologise that you have been unable to get through to the PALS and complaints team- their number is 0800 587 2586 and whilst they do have an answerphone to leave your details on, please be assured it is regularly checked and responded to. I have checked with the team and they do not appear to have a message from you so if at all possible could you ring them again on the number above and they will deal with your concerns?
I am sorry to hear that you feel our care for you has not been appropriate and timely, I can only apologise that as you saying being a 'nervous' patient you were not supported in a sensitive way so that you were able to undergo your procedure today. If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team we would really value this so that we can try to improve care for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 733716 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.
Or if you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes
Wendy Stobbs, Senior Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous reviewed General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital

Great care from the consultant and Ward C18

I was admitted to RBH in March with acute pancreatitis caused by gallstones. The standard of care provided by Ward C18, where I spent most of my stay, was great. The staff were friendly, informative, flexible and caring.

In terms of consultants, I cannot speak highly enough of mine. An excellent manner, going out of their way to make sure that you have all the information that you need and delivers excellent care. Clearly held in high regard by colleagues too and it is easy to see why. They were approachable for patients and close family alike.

Visited in March 2015. Posted on 06 May 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 07 May 2015

Dear Anonymous

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our General Surgery ward C18 at Royal Blackburn Hospital, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team who will be very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.

If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 733716 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.
Or if you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes on your continued recovery
Wendy Stobbs, Senior Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Andrew gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Hernia operation

Saw the doctor on 18th December & considered they were very professional in their manner & treatment. I had to have an ultrasound a few weeks later & a pre op.

Everyone was extremely helpful. I did not hear from the hospital for six weeks so I phoned on two occasions both times it was an answerphone but messages were not responded to. I phoned a third time & my call was responded the next morning. The person I spoke to said I could go just over a week later if I was prepared to go to Burnley which I agreed to.

Staff at Burnley were really good. My only reservation was I was there at 12noon as requested but had to wait till 4p.m. for the op. & had nothing to drink since 9.30a.m.

I was seen by the registrar & the anesethist. Both these people were very through in explaining things as were all the staff when I 'came round'.

Three weeks on I am feeling much better - so thank you.

Visited in March 2015. Posted on 29 March 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 31 March 2015

Dear Andrew

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team, and also your comments about the delay in answering the phone to arrange your operation- which I can only apologise for. I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was in general positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.

If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.
Or if you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes on your continued recovery
Wendy Stobbs, Senior Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Last updated on 18 June 2010.

Information supplied by East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust