Royal Blackburn Hospital

01254 263555 Haslingden Road, Haslingden Road , Blackburn, Lancashire, BB2 3HH
http://www.elht.nhs.uk

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 269 ratings for this hospital

General Surgery

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 269 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4 out of 5 stars

(264 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(269 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(262 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(259 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(232 ratings)

Reviews

847 total

Anonymous gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Unorganised & Unprofessional

Lack of good level of communication with the patients, patronising and condescending. Short staffed, long waiting times. Poor management. shortage of beds.

Visited in September 2016. Posted on 28 September 2016

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 28 September 2016


Thank you for your comments regarding the General Surgery Department at Royal Blackburn Hospital and thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I am very sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your recent experience as we always strive to deliver safe, personal and effective care. I will make sure that your comments are passed on to the team.

If you would like us to look into the matter further for you, please could you contact me to provide more details. You can contact me (Melissa Almond) on 01254 734087 or alternatively you can email me at melissa.almond@elht.nhs.uk or at patientexperience@elht.nhs.uk

If you prefer you can discuss further any concerns you may have about our services with our East Lancashire Hospitals Trust Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further.

If you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Kind regards
Melissa Almond
Senior Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Sharron Robinson gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Surgical Triage

I have just spent 4 days with my 16 year old daughter who was experiencing severe abdominal pain on the Surgical Triage Unit . I would like to thank the consultant and their team for the wonderful care and attention that we received.

Visited in July 2016. Posted on 05 July 2016

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 07 July 2016

Dear Sharron
Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of the Surgical Triage Unit at Royal Blackburn Hospital and thank you for taking the time to do so. I do hope your daughter is recovering well following her admission.
I am so pleased that you experienced such wonderful care and attention following your daughters admission and I will ensure your comments are shared with the team who I am sure will be delighted to hear such lovely feedback.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Helen Ritchie) on 01254 734471 or email me on Helen.ritchie@elht.nhs.uk
Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes
Helen Ritchie
Senior Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Mr & Mrs Sneddon gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Diagnosis and Emergency Operation on a Sunday

We experienced excellent NHS teamwork at Royal Blackburn Hospital - from the ambulance transfer, Clitheroe GP Unit to A&E, then the Surgical Assessment Unit and the Theatre team. The surgeon still made time to talk to us at 11.50pm at the end of a long Sunday, after operating on our daughter. All the staff were kind and caring, from admission to the post-operative care on Ward C18.
Thank you all for being there and doing a fantastic job, every day.

Visited in June 2016. Posted on 04 July 2016

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 07 July 2016

Dear Mr and Mrs Sneddon
Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of the Ambulance service, GP Unit at Clitheroe, and the A&E, Surgical Assessment Unit, Theatre and C18 at Royal Blackburn Hospital and thank you for taking the time to do so. I do hope your daughter is recovering well following her operation.
I am so pleased that you experienced such excellent teamwork and that all the staff were kind and caring. I will ensure your comments are passed onto the teams who I am sure will be delighted to receive such lovely feedback.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Helen Ritchie) on 01254 734471 or email me on Helen.ritchie@elht.nhs.uk
Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes
Helen Ritchie
Senior Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 5 stars

This is a Special Hospital

After months of being unwell I had a pre-arranged CT scan on 27th April at Royal Blackburn Hospital. Staff were friendly and professional and the procedure took a matter of minutes. I was reassured that the scanners were new machines rather than the old style claustrophobic tunnels. The only negative point I would make was waiting in a hospital gown in a small waiting area with other patients of both sexes.
Soon after I returned home I was contacted by a consultant who informed me that the scan had identified a bowel blockage and asked me to return to hospital. The nurse and student nurse looking after me on the surgical assessment ward were brilliant. Likewise all the staff in ward C18 were friendly, professional and reassuring. The auxiliary staff and cleaners were also courteous and helpful. The wards were modern, clean & comfortable.
The on call Registrar, the anaesthetist, the surgeon and all the ward staff who cared for me during my stay were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Following my operation the staff in recovery, POCU & intensive care were so caring and reassuring. Throughout my time in hospital all the procedures and risks were fully explained to me by the clinical staff who took time to explain what was happening and answer any questions I had.
I couldn’t even fault the much maligned hospital food. There was a variety of choice on the daily menu and the food was always served hot.
I would like to add that my admission coincided with a day of the junior Doctors strike, which gave me cause for concern. However my admission and subsequent care could not have been more considered, efficient and professional. I am so grateful to everyone who helped me.

Visited in April 2016. Posted on 09 May 2016

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 10 May 2016

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your experience of care with us here at East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust and thank you for taking the time to do so.
I am sorry to hear that you have been unwell for some time, but am so pleased that you have now received your operation and hope you are recovering well. I am also sorry for your experience in the waiting room whilst waiting for your CT Scan and will bring this to the attention of the Department.
I am so pleased that you found the staff to be friendly, professional and reassuring and that you found the wards modern, clean and comfortable. It is good to hear that you enjoyed the food also. It is heartening to hear that your admission and subsequent care could not have been more considered, efficient and professional as we strive to provide safe, personal and effective care at all times.

If you would like to talk through your experience with one of our Patient Experience team so we can further understand the aspects of your admission that made this such a good experience for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and using our services. You can either contact me (Helen Ritchie) on 01254 734471 or email me on Helen.Ritchie@elht.nhs.

Many thanks and Best wishes
Helen Ritchie
Senior Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Barbara gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Aneurysm repair

I would like to say thank you for the wonderful treatment my husband Pat received during his stay in Blackburn Royal. A special thanks to the surgeon and their team for their skill and dedication in performing an open AAA operation successfully. He was transferred to the critical care ward B to recover where the care was 1st class. After 2 days he went to ward B20 where again the care was excellent. Thank you to the the NHS and all the people who helped my lovely husband through this difficult time. After he came home he had a bit of a problem which led us to go to A&E where again he was treated very quickly and the Nurses were so kind and reassuring.

Thank you again for everyone involved .

Visited in March 2016. Posted on 21 March 2016

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 22 March 2016

Many thanks for your feedback regarding the treatment your husband received during his stay at Royal Blackburn Hospital and thank you for taking the time to do so. It is lovely to hear that you found the care provided to your husband to be 1st class. I have forwarded your comments onto the teams who will be delighted to hear that your husband’s experience was so positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal and effective care.

We are really keen to hear further about the admission and care provided and what made it so positive so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and using our services. If you and your husband would like to share your story with us please contact me (Melissa Almond) on 01254 734087 or email me on Melissa.almond@elht.nhs.uk

Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes on your husband’s continued recovery.
Melissa Almond, Patient Experience Facilitator.

Report as unsuitable

Angela gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Day case unit Burnley -Thank you

I attended day case at Burnley for a gall bladder removal in March. I received first class care from handing my letter in at reception to being discharged home. Everything felt organised and ran smoothly which gave me confidence. Everyone was kind and helpful. I saw a student talking to an elderly lady and the compassion she displayed made me think she must have very good role models. i had a wobble of nerves and the nurse and anaethetist prevented me possibly losing my dignity by humorously and sensitively reassuring me . Thanks for that, I felt treated like an individual . My discharge was slick but unhurried and I left knowing exactly who to contact if I was worried and where to go the next day for follow up. I would definitely recommend anyone to choose Burnley day case unit

Visited in March 2016. Posted on 13 April 2016

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 15 April 2016

Dear Angela
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your recent experience on the Day Case Unit at Burnley General Hospital, and thank you for taking the time to do so. It is lovely to receive such positive feedback and I am really pleased that you felt that you received first class care. It is lovely to hear that the nurse and anaesthetist supported you so well and that you were treated as an individual, as we strive to provide safe, personal and effective care at all times. I have forwarded your comments onto the team who I am sure will be delighted to hear that your experience with us was so positive.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this so positive, we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Helen Ritchie) on 01254 734471 or email me on helen.ritchie@elht.nhs.uk

Many thanks and Best wishes on your recovery
Helen Ritchie
Senior patient experience facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Margaret gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Quality of the food

Hi, I have recently come out of Blackburn hospital and was not pleased that the vegetables in my meals were very undercooked and all but raw i.e. cabbage and new potatoes.

Moreover, one or two of the staff (surgical ward) were rude and off hand while others were lovely. My last nurse in ICU was an angel.

Visited in November 2015. Posted on 01 December 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 04 December 2015

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent admission to the Royal Blackburn Hospital and for taking the time to do so. We are very sorry that you were unhappy with the quality of the food provided during your stay and also had some concerns about the attitude of the staff. We will ensure that your comments are brought to the attention of the Catering Manager and Surgical Division.

We are keen that your comments are brought to the attention of the manager for the ward concerned. We would be very grateful if you could contact the Patient Experience Team to confirm which ward you were on during your admission so we can pass on your comments.

If you would like to talk through your admission with one of our Patient Experience team so we can further understand what made this such a negative experience we would welcome this, so that we can try to improve things for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Melissa Almond) on 01254 734087 or email me on Melissa.almond@elht.nhs.uk

If you prefer you can discuss further any concerns you may have about our services with our East Lancashire Hospitals Trust Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further.

If you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Thank you again for commenting.
Melissa Almond, Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 4 stars

ward C18 general surgery

All staff were extremely busy, yet maintained professional, efficient care at all times. The doctor on the General Surgery team was exceptional. Took time and extended unequalled compassion in an extremely upsetting and worrying situation for my family. Our most sincere thanks.

Visited in August 2015. Posted on 25 August 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 25 August 2015

Many thanks for your feedback on your visit to General Surgical Ward -C18 at Royal Blackburn Hospital , and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I have made sure your feedback and appreciation has been passed onto the team. I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.

If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me, Meg Davey on 01254 733698 or email me on margaret.davey@elht.nhs.uk.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Outstanding !

My wife was admitted to C14 for appendenctomy on unfortunately the hottest day of the year !
Obviously an incredibly busy ward !
Her last admission five years ago was dire ! Dirty ward , poor communication , lack of respect and involvement in care
Totally different this time !
Spotlessly clean
Clear system of audits going on
Much better use of ICT
Much better communication
Appears as an outsider to have been a radical culture change. A sick hospital in the past making an amazing recovery - bravo!

Visited in July 2015. Posted on 03 July 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 08 July 2015

Many thanks for your feedback on your wife’s experience on her admission to Ward C14, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your feedback and appreciation is passed onto the team. I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was much more positive than your previous visit as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.

We would be keen to hear more from you about how the ward has changed in your experience. If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me, Melissa Almond on 01254 7340876 or email me on melissa.almond@elht.nhs.uk.

Report as unsuitable

HappyDays2211 gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Worst Experience Ever!

I was sent by my GP to the assessment room for a suspected hernia, pain and because my stomach had blown up that much i looked 6 months pregnant. Once arriving there by ambulance i waited almost an hour before a nurse came along. I wasn't bothered so much about that. Then waited a few hours before a Dr came along. Was told they woud send me for an x-ray. Bearing in mind I have had 8 major operatuons on my abdomen for one reason or another and suffering from multiple adhesions I was a bit bemused as to why an x-ray was called for. Anyway I weht for an x-ray that evening and in the morning was told it was clear. I asked what they were going to do about the hernia, swelling and pain and was told they were sending me home and that I had to come back as an outpatient for a camera test to check for blockages in my bowels. Really? Isn't it the responsibility of the Dr's to thoroughly check patients for any possibility before quickly dismissing them? GP's don't send patients in if they don't feel it warrants it! In between the 1st & 2nd I was seen by 5 different people from team 1(as they called themselves). I have no idea what title they had, it was never disclosed. My hernia was poked and prodded by a trainee surgeon( as i found out later by asking who they were). I was clearly in pain the 1st time they did it. So why they had to do it again is beyond me. I was asked the same questions over and over again. I was told i wasn't in pain by one. Clearly because i wasn't the sort of person who screams at the top of my voice. Not to mention i'm already on morphine for fybromyalgia, multiple adhesions and pain left from previous operations. I was made to look like a fool because i couldn't remember what every operations was for and seemed like the doctor was questionning if in fact i had even had them. (These spanned over a 19 year period) Why can't they be bothered to check patients notes from GP's, which clealy list everything, as mine did. One even asked where the protruding hernia was?? In total i was seen by 6 or 7 different people over a 4 day period. Respect for patients from these Dr's (Apart from the last surgeon i spoke to) is almost non-existant. There is no empathy, I was given no suggestions of what could be wrong. Instead, i was told on 3 different occasions it would be better if I went home. Or if i stayed there was no guarantee on when the hernia would be sorted or when they would do the camera test. In the end I walked out. I'd had enough of being told to go home, spoken to like i was an imbecile and made to look like a hypochondriac, That couldn't be further from the truth! The assessment room was filthy. Crumbs on the tables, blood,fluids and paper on the floor. Tables, sinks and toilets never cleaned. Which is hypocritical seen as they test patients for contaminating diseases when they go on that ward. Visitors(who hadn't been tested) used the same toilets. Nursing staff are clearly understaffed. No more space left, otherwise i would go on.....

Visited in July 2015. Posted on 05 July 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 08 July 2015

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our General Surgical service, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your many concerns are passed onto the team. I am very sorry to hear that your recent experience with us wasn't what you expected as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.

You have already given quite a bit of detail but we would encourage you to contact us to talk more about your experience with one of our Patient Experience team. This will help us to understand the bits of your experience that made this such a poor visit for you - we would really value this so that we can try to improve things for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Meg Davey) on 01254 733698 or email me on margaret.davey@elht.nhs.uk.

If you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Or if you prefer you can discuss further any concerns you may have about our services with our East Lancashire Hospitals Trust Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further.

Report as unsuitable

Last updated on 18 June 2010.

Information supplied by East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust