Royal Blackburn Hospital

Telephone: 01254 263555
Address: Haslingden Road, Haslingden Road, Blackburn, Lancashire, BB2 3HH
Website: http://www.elht.nhs.uk

3.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 322 ratings for this hospital

General Surgery

3.5 Stars

3.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 322 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4 out of 5 stars

(326 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(326 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(323 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(317 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(280 ratings)

Reviews

695 total

Anonymous gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Outstanding !

My wife was admitted to C14 for appendenctomy on unfortunately the hottest day of the year !
Obviously an incredibly busy ward !
Her last admission five years ago was dire ! Dirty ward , poor communication , lack of respect and involvement in care
Totally different this time !
Spotlessly clean
Clear system of audits going on
Much better use of ICT
Much better communication
Appears as an outsider to have been a radical culture change. A sick hospital in the past making an amazing recovery - bravo!

Visited in July 2015. Posted on 03 July 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 08 July 2015

Many thanks for your feedback on your wife’s experience on her admission to Ward C14, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your feedback and appreciation is passed onto the team. I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was much more positive than your previous visit as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.

We would be keen to hear more from you about how the ward has changed in your experience. If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me, Melissa Almond on 01254 7340876 or email me on melissa.almond@elht.nhs.uk.

Report as unsuitable

HappyDays2211 gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Worst Experience Ever!

I was sent by my GP to the assessment room for a suspected hernia, pain and because my stomach had blown up that much i looked 6 months pregnant. Once arriving there by ambulance i waited almost an hour before a nurse came along. I wasn't bothered so much about that. Then waited a few hours before a Dr came along. Was told they woud send me for an x-ray. Bearing in mind I have had 8 major operatuons on my abdomen for one reason or another and suffering from multiple adhesions I was a bit bemused as to why an x-ray was called for. Anyway I weht for an x-ray that evening and in the morning was told it was clear. I asked what they were going to do about the hernia, swelling and pain and was told they were sending me home and that I had to come back as an outpatient for a camera test to check for blockages in my bowels. Really? Isn't it the responsibility of the Dr's to thoroughly check patients for any possibility before quickly dismissing them? GP's don't send patients in if they don't feel it warrants it! In between the 1st & 2nd I was seen by 5 different people from team 1(as they called themselves). I have no idea what title they had, it was never disclosed. My hernia was poked and prodded by a trainee surgeon( as i found out later by asking who they were). I was clearly in pain the 1st time they did it. So why they had to do it again is beyond me. I was asked the same questions over and over again. I was told i wasn't in pain by one. Clearly because i wasn't the sort of person who screams at the top of my voice. Not to mention i'm already on morphine for fybromyalgia, multiple adhesions and pain left from previous operations. I was made to look like a fool because i couldn't remember what every operations was for and seemed like the doctor was questionning if in fact i had even had them. (These spanned over a 19 year period) Why can't they be bothered to check patients notes from GP's, which clealy list everything, as mine did. One even asked where the protruding hernia was?? In total i was seen by 6 or 7 different people over a 4 day period. Respect for patients from these Dr's (Apart from the last surgeon i spoke to) is almost non-existant. There is no empathy, I was given no suggestions of what could be wrong. Instead, i was told on 3 different occasions it would be better if I went home. Or if i stayed there was no guarantee on when the hernia would be sorted or when they would do the camera test. In the end I walked out. I'd had enough of being told to go home, spoken to like i was an imbecile and made to look like a hypochondriac, That couldn't be further from the truth! The assessment room was filthy. Crumbs on the tables, blood,fluids and paper on the floor. Tables, sinks and toilets never cleaned. Which is hypocritical seen as they test patients for contaminating diseases when they go on that ward. Visitors(who hadn't been tested) used the same toilets. Nursing staff are clearly understaffed. No more space left, otherwise i would go on.....

Visited in July 2015. Posted on 05 July 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 08 July 2015

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our General Surgical service, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your many concerns are passed onto the team. I am very sorry to hear that your recent experience with us wasn't what you expected as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.

You have already given quite a bit of detail but we would encourage you to contact us to talk more about your experience with one of our Patient Experience team. This will help us to understand the bits of your experience that made this such a poor visit for you - we would really value this so that we can try to improve things for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Meg Davey) on 01254 733698 or email me on margaret.davey@elht.nhs.uk.

If you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Or if you prefer you can discuss further any concerns you may have about our services with our East Lancashire Hospitals Trust Customer Relations team on 01254 733700 or complaints@elht.nhs.uk who can advise you of your options in raising these concerns further.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Day care Surgary, caring for a disabled patient

After experiencing very bad care at Royal Blackburn Hospital in the past. When my disabled daughter was admitted in to the Day clinic for surgery, the care that she received on the day was excellent, especially from staff two members of staff, and all the theatre staff. They went above and beyond to make my Daughter as comfortable as possible. We can't thank you enough

Visited in July 2015. Posted on 14 July 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 20 July 2015

Many thanks for your feedback on your daughter’s on her admission to Day Case , and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your feedback and appreciation is passed onto the team. I am very pleased to hear that your daughter’s recent experience with us was much more positive than your previous visit as we always strive to meet individual needs and deliver safe, personal & effective care.

We would be keen to hear more from you about how the department has changed in your experience. If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me, Meg Davey on 01254 733698 or email me on margaret.davey@elht.nhs.uk.

Report as unsuitable

rob graham reviewed General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital

surgery to have teeth removed

Today i had an appointment in the day surgery to have some teeth removed i turned up on time @7:30 in the morning was taken through to see the surgeon then left until 9:45 wer i was told i would be goin into surgery at10:30 app the nurse came and give me some tablets then at 11:00 i was told it would be another hr at least before i would have my surgery by this point i decided i was going home as i was a nervous patient n that is why i was there I couldnt wait any longer as my nerves got the better of me by this point the nurse thought it would be a good time to ask if i wanted to rebook my app whilst finding it funny then i got a complaints form n number to ring n cant get through

Visited in April 2015. Posted on 28 April 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 28 April 2015

Dear Mr Graham

I can only apologise that you have been unable to get through to the PALS and complaints team- their number is 0800 587 2586 and whilst they do have an answerphone to leave your details on, please be assured it is regularly checked and responded to. I have checked with the team and they do not appear to have a message from you so if at all possible could you ring them again on the number above and they will deal with your concerns?
I am sorry to hear that you feel our care for you has not been appropriate and timely, I can only apologise that as you saying being a 'nervous' patient you were not supported in a sensitive way so that you were able to undergo your procedure today. If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team we would really value this so that we can try to improve care for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 733716 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.
Or if you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes
Wendy Stobbs, Senior Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous reviewed General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital

Great care from the consultant and Ward C18

I was admitted to RBH in March with acute pancreatitis caused by gallstones. The standard of care provided by Ward C18, where I spent most of my stay, was great. The staff were friendly, informative, flexible and caring.

In terms of consultants, I cannot speak highly enough of mine. An excellent manner, going out of their way to make sure that you have all the information that you need and delivers excellent care. Clearly held in high regard by colleagues too and it is easy to see why. They were approachable for patients and close family alike.

Visited in March 2015. Posted on 06 May 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 07 May 2015

Dear Anonymous

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our General Surgery ward C18 at Royal Blackburn Hospital, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team who will be very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.

If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 733716 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.
Or if you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes on your continued recovery
Wendy Stobbs, Senior Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Andrew gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Hernia operation

Saw the doctor on 18th December & considered they were very professional in their manner & treatment. I had to have an ultrasound a few weeks later & a pre op.

Everyone was extremely helpful. I did not hear from the hospital for six weeks so I phoned on two occasions both times it was an answerphone but messages were not responded to. I phoned a third time & my call was responded the next morning. The person I spoke to said I could go just over a week later if I was prepared to go to Burnley which I agreed to.

Staff at Burnley were really good. My only reservation was I was there at 12noon as requested but had to wait till 4p.m. for the op. & had nothing to drink since 9.30a.m.

I was seen by the registrar & the anesethist. Both these people were very through in explaining things as were all the staff when I 'came round'.

Three weeks on I am feeling much better - so thank you.

Visited in March 2015. Posted on 29 March 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 31 March 2015

Dear Andrew

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team, and also your comments about the delay in answering the phone to arrange your operation- which I can only apologise for. I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was in general positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.

If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.
Or if you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes on your continued recovery
Wendy Stobbs, Senior Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Julie George gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Thank You

I'd just like to thank the staff at both Blackburn Royal and Burnley General for the care l received from investigations into my carpal tunnel syndrome, the operation, and after care. At all of my appointments l was seen within 15minutes of my appointment times, and in some cases l had been seen and was out of the hospital before my appointment time. The clinics and wards were very clean and orderley, and all staff, on every department were pleasant, polite and professional. I don't think many people bother to express their gratitude nowadays, rather they are very quick to criticise. I would like to say a very big thank you to all staff l met

Visited in February 2015. Posted on 02 March 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 13 March 2015

Dear Ms George

Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our General Surgery service at Royal Blackburn and Burnley General Hospitals, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the teams concerend who will be very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.

If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471/ 01254 733704 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.
Or if you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk

Many thanks again for commenting and best wishes on your continued recovery
Wendy Stobbs, Senior Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Day surgery ward

I received a phone call on the 23rd Dec would I be available for surgery tomorrow Christmas eve, I accepted as I wanted to get the problem sorted. I was concerned that I would be home the same day but the care and attention I received was first class from the receptionist to my surgeon. I would recommend anyone to choose this facility.Thank you
PS I rate the coffee after my op

Visited in December 2014. Posted on 25 December 2014

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 29 December 2014

Dear Anonymous
Many thanks for your feedback on your experience (and the coffee!) of our General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital, and thank-you for taking the time to do so at what I am sure is a busy time with Christmas and recovering from an operation. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the team and I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience that made this such a good visit for you we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471/ 01254 733704 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.
Or if you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk
Many thanks once again and best wishes for the New Year and your continued recovery
Wendy Stobbs, Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

PEP gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 2 stars

Unresolved complaint

I have been in contact with the Complaints Department since February and this is another attempt at getting a response regarding the theft of my property by a staff member (the item "disappeared" in an area where no members of the public would go)

Visited in December 2014. Posted on 24 June 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 26 June 2015

Dear PEP

Many thanks for your comment and I am sorry to hear that you feel you have had no resolution to your on-going complaint, I have passed on your comment to the complaints manager but would also suggest that you contact them directly through the PALS telephone too in order to address your concerns- their number and details are below.
PALS
Tel: 0800 587 2586
E-mail: PALS@elht.nhs.uk

Or if you would like to share your experience in confidence with an independent organisation please contact Healthwatch BwD on 01254 504985 or info@healthwatchblackburnwithdarwen.co.uk
Many thanks again for commenting and I do hope your concern is resolved soon to your satisfaction
Wendy Stobbs, Senior Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Tilly gave General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital a rating of 5 stars

day surgery ward

I have been on the day surgery ward 4/5 times. I have found the staff to be so brilliant, kind, listen to worries, empathise with us all, same with theatre staff reception staff and cleaners, I cannot speak highly enough of them all. the tea and toast is so welcome too thank you one & all. You are all angels!!!

Visited in September 2014. Posted on 28 September 2014

Report as unsuitable

Royal Blackburn Hospital replied on 29 September 2014

Dear Tilly
Many thanks for your feedback on your experience of our General Surgery at Royal Blackburn Hospital, and thank-you for taking the time to do so. I will make sure your appreciation is passed onto the teams concerned. I am very pleased to hear that your recent experience with us was really positive as we always strive to deliver safe, personal & effective care.
If you would like to talk through your visit to us with one of our Patient Experience team so we can understand the bits of your experience with our day surgery ward that have made your visits there so good we would really value this so that we can try to make it like this for every patient visiting our hospitals and services. You can either contact me (Wendy Stobbs) on 01254 734471 or email me on wendy.stobbs@elht.nhs.uk.
Many thanks once again for commenting
Wendy Stobbs, Patient Experience Facilitator

Report as unsuitable

Last updated on 18 June 2010.

Information supplied by East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust