Leeds General Infirmary

Telephone: 0113 243 2799
Address: Great George Street, Leeds, West Yorkshire, LS1 3EX
Website: http://www.leedsth.nhs.uk

4.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 96 ratings for this hospital

Orthopaedics

4.5 Stars

4.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 96 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(96 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(95 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4.5 out of 5 stars

(96 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(95 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(79 ratings)

Reviews

163 total

  • Page 1 of 1

Nath gave Orthopaedics at Leeds General Infirmary a rating of 1 stars

A catalogue of miscommunication and indifference

I recently broke both my wrists in an accident at work. I am self employed and in a job which requires full use of my hands and arms, which is therefore extremely important to my livelihood.
After initially being treated quite brilliantly in St.James' A&E I was then sent to
LGI and since then I have been baffled by the treatment.
My first cause for concern was when after having a CT Scan I was informed that I would be contacted by the fracture clinic that next day. There was no call and so I made the call myself to LGI later that day to be told that they would find out and call back. The day after that I was called by LGI to be informed that although one of my wrists was of concern, that it would not be treated by the specialist hand team but by another doctor that came in once a week. Alarm bells did ring at this point but I had no means of knowing who the doctor was or how the system worked. The nurse who called couldn't explain anything to me because she wasn't qualified and the doctor who was treating me wouldn't be available for a week, although had been there the previous day.
At this point I accepted that my only option was to take an appointment with the doctor a week later and go from there.
This week I returned to LGI in the general orthopaedics dept for my appointment. On walking into orthopaedics I was gobsmacked by the amount of people, at one point they had to go get more chairs for a room that couldn't really take anymore. Staff looked stressed but to their credit they were very professional and dealt with elderly people and children who had been waiting there if like me for over 2 hours after their appointment time. Waiting is not an issue to myself as I understand that A&E patients understandably take priority. My issue is that within this strained department mistakes will be made.
The mistakes that I believe in my case are as follows:
My consultant for my wrist was a foot and ankle specialist
My consultant advised me he couldn't refer me for a second opinion to the hand clinic and that I must go through PALS or my GP. On contacting PALS they rightly advised me that this was not their role to refer but my consultant should have done this or go through GP. I fail to understand why I would be given such advice.
My GP advised me that he couldn't refer me for a second opinion because the referral would take me pretty much back to the fracture clinic that advised me to go to my GP, making a circle that I was struggling to get out of. To be fair to the GP he said he would try contacting the hand specialist but I wasn't fully sure how he would do this.
The return card for my ct scan was not sent through for the following days appointment, which meant a member of staff on the CT ward wasted 45 minutes contacting orthopaedics who had no doctor to confirm this because he comes in one day a week.
All in all it would seem that this particular part of the NHS is either flawed or intentionally is flawed in it's own ability to communicat

Visited in August 2014. Posted on 14 August 2014

Report as unsuitable

Leeds General Infirmary replied on 27 August 2014

Dear Nath

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I was very sorry to read of the catalogue of problems that you have experienced and I have forwarded your comments to the Matron so that she can look into the issues you have raised.
Given the number of issues and the complex nature of your case it would be useful to discuss your experience in more detail. Please contact the Trust’s Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 2067168 or email patient.relations@leedsth.nhs.uk and we will try to help you sort this out.

Kind Regards

Scott
Senior Nurse Patient Experience

Report as unsuitable

Sandra Beresford gave Orthopaedics at Leeds General Infirmary a rating of 1 stars

Broken wrist

My son was treated for a broken wrist. When he went back to have a cast put on he was told it was a complex break in 4 places which needed surgery. More than a week later he had heard nothing after a phone call or 4 he was told he had been discharged without the operation or any further treatment. He is in agony and his wrist feels wrong. The person who told him he was discharged couldn't make an appointment for him to see anyone because he was discharged but would try to sort something out . I find this absolutely disgusting and my faith in the NHS dwindling. Matthew has to work otherwise he will not get paid and to work in pain is just not acceptable.

Visited in June 2014. Posted on 08 July 2014

Report as unsuitable

Leeds General Infirmary replied on 06 August 2014

Dear Sandra Beresford

The experience you describe is not accepatable and must be very distressing for both you and your son. We have forwarded your comments to the Matron for Orthopaedics so that she can look into the issues you have raised.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail please contact the Trust’s Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 2067168 or email patient.relations@leedsth.nhs.uk

Kind regards

Scott
Senior Nurse Patient Experience

Report as unsuitable

Sandra Beresford gave Orthopaedics at Leeds General Infirmary a rating of 1 stars

Broken wrist

My son broke his wrist 6 weeks ago and is still waiting for treatment! He was supposed to have an operation but after several phone calls it turns out he has been discharged! supposedly he has already had the operation. The staff say they are going to ring him to tell him what is happening and a week later he is still waiting. I am not medically trained but even I can see that his wrist is badly out of shape. We have tried complaining but absolutely nothing is happening and we just don't know where to turn. I no longer have any faith in the NHS.

Visited in June 2013. Posted on 22 July 2014

Report as unsuitable

Leeds General Infirmary replied on 23 July 2014

Dear Sandra Beresford

The experience you describe is not acceptable and must be very distressing for both you and your son.

We have forwarded your comments to the Matron for Orthopaedics so that she can look into the issues you have raised.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail please contact the Trust’s Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 2067168 or email patient.relations@leedsth.nhs.uk

Scott
Senior Nurse - Patient Experience

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Orthopaedics at Leeds General Infirmary a rating of 3 stars

Fracture clinic - dislocated shoulder

Attended the fracture clinic twice. Both times, I did not have to wait long. However the first time, the practitioner I saw hardly showed me the exercises I needed to do and gave me no advice on pain relief. I left feeling he just wanted to get me in and out as quickly as possible and I ended up downloading a leaflet from the NHS Choices website which has proved very helpful.
On the second visit, the x-ray staff and practitioner I saw to review my x-ray were much more friendly and personable.
However I have been left with a sense of being on a production line passed from one person to the next. If the coordinating/support staff were more friendly and smiled, I am sure the experience would be improved.

Visited in April 2013. Posted on 22 April 2013

Report as unsuitable

Leeds General Infirmary has not yet replied.

john2882 gave Orthopaedics at Leeds General Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

excellent

Never met staff like it fast and efficient from when I first arrived in ambulance to leaving to go to surgical ward really don't have a bad word to say about them

Visited in April 2013. Posted on 08 July 2013

Report as unsuitable

Leeds General Infirmary has not yet replied.

NHS Feedback Line11 reviewed Orthopaedics at Leeds General Infirmary

above and beyond

After being seen at St James Hospital A&E I was then transferred to the LGI for treatment and the good service continued, the care there is above and beyond the call of duty, all the staff are tremendous.

Visited in February 2013. Posted on 26 February 2013

Report as unsuitable

Leeds General Infirmary has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Orthopaedics at Leeds General Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Knocked down by car

I am a student and was run over whilst crossing the road in Leeds. I was promptly taken to LGI where I had the absolute best care and was looked after extremely well throughout my stay. I had to have a pretty serious operation and lots of after care due to further implications from the accident. Not only were the staff great with me, but also with my parents who were obviously besides themselves. Forever grateful.

Visited in February 2012. Posted on 16 January 2014

Report as unsuitable

Leeds General Infirmary has not yet replied.

  • Page 1 of 1

Last updated on 18 June 2010.

Information supplied by Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust