Want to help us improve NHS Choices?

Find out more and sign up to our user research panel

Leeds General Infirmary

Telephone: 0113 243 2799
Address: Great George Street, Leeds, West Yorkshire, LS1 3EX
Website: http://www.leedsth.nhs.uk

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 113 ratings for this hospital

Orthopaedics

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 113 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(113 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(114 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(114 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(113 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(95 ratings)

Reviews

228 total

jackbob gave Orthopaedics at Leeds General Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

waiting time

Hi think all your staff in fracture clinic are very helpful, my consultant very kind and thought full. Just one little anxiety I have got I've been in a boot for 12 weeks was supposed to have operation Fri but was cancelled as ct scan was needed had scan done but I'm lost to.what happens now .Do I get another appointment my. ..i/s my operation still going ahead? .I've rung to find out but getting nowhere ...help

Visited in April 2015. Posted on 18 May 2015

Report as unsuitable

Leeds General Infirmary replied on 26 June 2015

Dear Jackbob,

I was very happy to read that your contact with our staff members has been pleasant and that you have found them helpful, however was very sorry to read that you have been left feeling anxious, we would certainly be able to look into this for you if this has not already been resolved.

If you contact the trusts Patient, Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively you can email them at patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net they will be able to assist you with this matter.

With kind regards
Rosie
Senior Nurse
Patient Experience

Report as unsuitable

Rosie reviewed Orthopaedics at Leeds General Infirmary

Fractured humerus

I fractured my humerus on Dec 29 in Shropshire but the only way I could get into the Leeds system was to go to A&E, despite being asked not to use them if absolutely necessary. Have doctors/consultants heard of email? Since then I have seen 5 different consultants/registrars but have received virtually no information about how to manage my fracture. At my 8 week visit I was asked if I could move my arm above my head and out to the side at 90 degrees - this after being told to keep the arm in a sling! I was referred for physio at this point (although I had asked for this much earlier) & finally got an appointment at the 13 week mark. All the information I've found on other UK hospital websites suggests this is much to late to start physio. It's now nearly 16 weeks since the break & the use of my arm is still limited and painful & I can't drive which is the most frustrating aspect. I don't see either consultant or physio for another two weeks.
I have found the consultants, with one exception, to have no customer care skills & an assumption that the patient knows what to do. I asked one consultant why there were no FAQs regarding this fracture & was told every one is different. I appreciate this but there are some generic things that surely could be included, e.g. Can I take the sling off by a certain date; how long do I have to sleep sitting up; normally how long before I can drive?
I am a great believer in the NHS & my GP is brilliant however my experience at the Fracture Clinic has been very poor. All I wanted was some useful information that would enable my arm to heal in the best possible manner. I'm now wondering if I'll ever have a straight arm & be able to drive again.
I've also not been referred for a bone scan which is a worry as I'm 60 plus.

Visited in January 2015. Posted on 08 April 2015

Report as unsuitable

Leeds General Infirmary replied on 11 May 2015

Dear Rosie,

Thank you for taking the time to raise your concerns.

I was very sorry to read that you feel you have had such a poor experience whilst in our care, therefore have passed your comments onto the Matron and the Head of nursing for the Fracture Clinic at Leeds General Infirmary so that they can address the issues you have raised.

If you wish to discuss these matters further please do not hesitate to contact the Trust’s Patient Advise and Liaison Service (PALS).

You can contact PALS on 0113 206 6261 or alternatively you can email patientexperience.leedsth@nhs.net

Once again let me thank you taking the time to write to us and post your views.

Kind regards

Rosie
Senior Nurse
Patient Experience

Report as unsuitable

John Moreland gave Orthopaedics at Leeds General Infirmary a rating of 1 stars

Go in with low expectations you will not be disappointed

I was unfortunate enough to have been a patient on Ward L50 for 2 nights just prior to christmas 2014. This was an appalling experience for not only myself but others in my bay. This ward should be called the manjana ward as the response is it will either be done later or tomorrow resulting in abject failure.
I witnessed appalling examples of basic failures of hygiene and sheer incompetence in the treatment of patients. I was upset that an elderly man fasting all day being sent for surgery in the afternoon and returning to the ward as a basic e.c.g had not been conducted and no canula had been fitted. Of course he was promised that he would go down later but this never happened and it was not until the next day was he was operated upon. I suppose the hospital saves on their food budget as this is certainly no isolated incident. I witnessed needles being inserted that missed veins resulting in a poor mans wrist ending up like an elephant. He was told to hold it up in the air.
Don't expect any member of the nursing team to insert a new canula if one breaks down as non are competent to insert a needle into your arm. Instead you have to wait 3 hours 10 mins for a doctor to appear resulting in your care being compromised as a dose of anti biotics was missed. More savings made. When you do actually get them the doses they are that late you end up getting them in the early hours but who cares if he patient gets no sleep.
Who cares if a nurse wipes up liquid from the floor after knocking a glass over resulting in a dirty towel being handled. But who cares if he can't be bothered to wash his hand after doing it and continues to take blood pressure from patient and as that patients table is now wet he decides to use my table and move my water glass and water jug by the spout where the water is poured. I can tell you did care and the nurse was requested to go wash his hands and change the jug and water.
Who cares if an elderly man does not get the food that he wanted and whilst telling this he is then informed nothing to do with her s not her normal ward. Off she walks into the sunset and if you think we were then all provided with a hot drink then think again. The catering budget must be making massive savings.
I asked a cleaner for an exchange of bed side table as the wheel was broken. But how silly of me to ask as it was nothing to do with her. It wasn't her job.
A request for headphones for the expensive tv resulted in a 35 minute absence of the nurse and a result of Can't find any. A request to go and try again resulted in some being found a few yards away on the next ward. Hope he does not play hide and seek with his children. I could go on and on but frightened that all the typing may result in an injury and a recall.
Got transferred to Chapel Allerton Hospital and I would liken it to being moved from 1 tar to 5 star. If they can do it why can't this ward?

Visited in December 2014. Posted on 23 December 2014

Report as unsuitable

Leeds General Infirmary replied on 29 January 2015

Dear John Moreland,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.
I was very sorry to read that you feel you have had such a poor experience whilst in our care and I apologies that we did not deliver care that met your expectations.
I have passed your comments on to the Business manager and Matron for Orthopaedics to look into; it would be very helpful and beneficial for our services and the care of future patients If you would discuss these issues further with the Trust’s Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS). This would also allow us to look into the matters you have raised in further detail and see what lessons we could learn from your experience.
Please call our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 2067168 or alternatively email patient.relations@leedsth.nhs.uk .
Rosie
Senior Nurse
Patient experience

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Orthopaedics at Leeds General Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

LGI Fracture Clinic

I attended the fracture clinic on 10/11/14. My appointment was for 9.30am and I was pleased that a consultant called me at exactly that time , there was very little waiting around. The appointment was for an ankle broken a week earlier. The consultant was patient, explained every aspect of the break clearly, explained the treatment plan and answered all my questions in a very professional and reassuring manner.
I was prescribed a walking boot. The staff fitted the boot within 10 minutes of the end of my consultation and provided me with some very useful advice - and I was ready to leave at 10.10 am , much earlier than I expected. The quality of the service was excellent throughout.

Visited in November 2014. Posted on 10 November 2014

Report as unsuitable

Leeds General Infirmary replied on 01 December 2014

Dear Anonymous

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your experience at the Fracture Clinic. I was very pleased to read that you were so happy with the care you received. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the staff in the Fracture Clinic

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

With kind regards

Scott
Senior Nurse Patient Experience

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Orthopaedics at Leeds General Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

Trauma & Outpatients

Following an accident, I had surgery and a 3 night stay at the trauma ward in Jubilee Wing. From paramedics, to surgeons, x-ray, plastics, nurses and porters I had the best treatment from the most genuine and kind people. 5 weeks on and after many trips to the orthopedic outpaitents clinic, the care, kindness and good humour continues. Even the clinic receptionists are pleasant... maybe my GP's receptionist should take note !
I have unfortunately seen a different consultant during each outpatient visit, however I received the upmost of care and attention from each. Thanks and gratitude also to the very efficient and friendly lady in the plaster room whose knowledge and passion for her job are undeniable. My care will contiinue for a number of months yet ... and all this for free. Thank you.

Visited in October 2014. Posted on 11 November 2014

Report as unsuitable

Leeds General Infirmary replied on 01 December 2014

Dear Anonymous

Thank you for your comments regarding the care received in Orthopaedics at the Leeds General Infirmary. I will pass these on to the staff concerned.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write with your feedback.

With kind regards

Rosie
Senior Nurse Patient Experience

Report as unsuitable

Nath gave Orthopaedics at Leeds General Infirmary a rating of 1 stars

A catalogue of miscommunication and indifference

I recently broke both my wrists in an accident at work. I am self employed and in a job which requires full use of my hands and arms, which is therefore extremely important to my livelihood.
After initially being treated quite brilliantly in St.James' A&E I was then sent to
LGI and since then I have been baffled by the treatment.
My first cause for concern was when after having a CT Scan I was informed that I would be contacted by the fracture clinic that next day. There was no call and so I made the call myself to LGI later that day to be told that they would find out and call back. The day after that I was called by LGI to be informed that although one of my wrists was of concern, that it would not be treated by the specialist hand team but by another doctor that came in once a week. Alarm bells did ring at this point but I had no means of knowing who the doctor was or how the system worked. The nurse who called couldn't explain anything to me because she wasn't qualified and the doctor who was treating me wouldn't be available for a week, although had been there the previous day.
At this point I accepted that my only option was to take an appointment with the doctor a week later and go from there.
This week I returned to LGI in the general orthopaedics dept for my appointment. On walking into orthopaedics I was gobsmacked by the amount of people, at one point they had to go get more chairs for a room that couldn't really take anymore. Staff looked stressed but to their credit they were very professional and dealt with elderly people and children who had been waiting there if like me for over 2 hours after their appointment time. Waiting is not an issue to myself as I understand that A&E patients understandably take priority. My issue is that within this strained department mistakes will be made.
The mistakes that I believe in my case are as follows:
My consultant for my wrist was a foot and ankle specialist
My consultant advised me he couldn't refer me for a second opinion to the hand clinic and that I must go through PALS or my GP. On contacting PALS they rightly advised me that this was not their role to refer but my consultant should have done this or go through GP. I fail to understand why I would be given such advice.
My GP advised me that he couldn't refer me for a second opinion because the referral would take me pretty much back to the fracture clinic that advised me to go to my GP, making a circle that I was struggling to get out of. To be fair to the GP he said he would try contacting the hand specialist but I wasn't fully sure how he would do this.
The return card for my ct scan was not sent through for the following days appointment, which meant a member of staff on the CT ward wasted 45 minutes contacting orthopaedics who had no doctor to confirm this because he comes in one day a week.
All in all it would seem that this particular part of the NHS is either flawed or intentionally is flawed in it's own ability to communicat

Visited in August 2014. Posted on 14 August 2014

Report as unsuitable

Leeds General Infirmary replied on 27 August 2014

Dear Nath

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I was very sorry to read of the catalogue of problems that you have experienced and I have forwarded your comments to the Matron so that she can look into the issues you have raised.
Given the number of issues and the complex nature of your case it would be useful to discuss your experience in more detail. Please contact the Trust’s Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 2067168 or email patient.relations@leedsth.nhs.uk and we will try to help you sort this out.

Kind Regards

Scott
Senior Nurse Patient Experience

Report as unsuitable

Sandra Beresford gave Orthopaedics at Leeds General Infirmary a rating of 1 stars

Broken wrist

My son was treated for a broken wrist. When he went back to have a cast put on he was told it was a complex break in 4 places which needed surgery. More than a week later he had heard nothing after a phone call or 4 he was told he had been discharged without the operation or any further treatment. He is in agony and his wrist feels wrong. The person who told him he was discharged couldn't make an appointment for him to see anyone because he was discharged but would try to sort something out . I find this absolutely disgusting and my faith in the NHS dwindling. Matthew has to work otherwise he will not get paid and to work in pain is just not acceptable.

Visited in June 2014. Posted on 08 July 2014

Report as unsuitable

Leeds General Infirmary replied on 06 August 2014

Dear Sandra Beresford

The experience you describe is not accepatable and must be very distressing for both you and your son. We have forwarded your comments to the Matron for Orthopaedics so that she can look into the issues you have raised.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail please contact the Trust’s Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 2067168 or email patient.relations@leedsth.nhs.uk

Kind regards

Scott
Senior Nurse Patient Experience

Report as unsuitable

Sandra Beresford gave Orthopaedics at Leeds General Infirmary a rating of 1 stars

Broken wrist

My son broke his wrist 6 weeks ago and is still waiting for treatment! He was supposed to have an operation but after several phone calls it turns out he has been discharged! supposedly he has already had the operation. The staff say they are going to ring him to tell him what is happening and a week later he is still waiting. I am not medically trained but even I can see that his wrist is badly out of shape. We have tried complaining but absolutely nothing is happening and we just don't know where to turn. I no longer have any faith in the NHS.

Visited in June 2013. Posted on 22 July 2014

Report as unsuitable

Leeds General Infirmary replied on 23 July 2014

Dear Sandra Beresford

The experience you describe is not acceptable and must be very distressing for both you and your son.

We have forwarded your comments to the Matron for Orthopaedics so that she can look into the issues you have raised.

If you would like to discuss this in more detail please contact the Trust’s Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 0113 2067168 or email patient.relations@leedsth.nhs.uk

Scott
Senior Nurse - Patient Experience

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Orthopaedics at Leeds General Infirmary a rating of 3 stars

Fracture clinic - dislocated shoulder

Attended the fracture clinic twice. Both times, I did not have to wait long. However the first time, the practitioner I saw hardly showed me the exercises I needed to do and gave me no advice on pain relief. I left feeling he just wanted to get me in and out as quickly as possible and I ended up downloading a leaflet from the NHS Choices website which has proved very helpful.
On the second visit, the x-ray staff and practitioner I saw to review my x-ray were much more friendly and personable.
However I have been left with a sense of being on a production line passed from one person to the next. If the coordinating/support staff were more friendly and smiled, I am sure the experience would be improved.

Visited in April 2013. Posted on 22 April 2013

Report as unsuitable

Leeds General Infirmary has not yet replied.

john2882 gave Orthopaedics at Leeds General Infirmary a rating of 5 stars

excellent

Never met staff like it fast and efficient from when I first arrived in ambulance to leaving to go to surgical ward really don't have a bad word to say about them

Visited in April 2013. Posted on 08 July 2013

Report as unsuitable

Leeds General Infirmary has not yet replied.

Last updated on 18 June 2010.

Information supplied by Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust