Birmingham Dental Hospital

Telephone: 0121 466 5000
Address: St Chad's Circus, Birmingham, B4 6NN
Website: http://www.bhamcommunity.nhs.uk/dental-hospital

3 out of 5 stars

Based on 94 ratings for this hospital

General dental treatment

3 Stars

3 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 94 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4 out of 5 stars

(85 ratings)

Staff co-operation

3.5 out of 5 stars

(89 ratings)

Dignity and respect

3.5 out of 5 stars

(90 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

3.5 out of 5 stars

(87 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(52 ratings)

Reviews

198 total

Patrick H gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 3 stars

Great visit, apart from the dentist herself - very rude

Attended this morning as a filling had broken and was causing me pain.

Altogether a satisfactory visit, very efficient in terms of minimal delays.
The admittals staff were pretty brusque, but perhaps have to be, to limit the numbers trying to force their way in without having to wait like the rest of us in the freezing cold!

Flowed well from one department to another (reception, clinic, xray, back to clinic). Everybody was pleasant and efficient.

But the dentist who assessed me barely acknowledged me. She was very disrespectful, disinterested and cold in manner, not an attitude I have come across in a dentist in my 40 odd year experience. She put me wholly on edge.

In fact I didn't want her to do my treatment as I didn't trust her to do the best job, but only the professionalism of the assistant convinced me to go ahead. To be honest, the junior came across as the senior of the two.

After my tooth was temporarily filled, I wanted to request to start a course of treatment with a student - but her demeanor made her unapproachable and I am now left with instructions to somehow find a dentist myself and get a follow up appointment within a week, which is not what I want at all and not possible under my circumstances.

My previous visit to a dentist resulted in a growth which took 4 years to resolve so you can imagine I wasn't in a rush to go back. But for this to be my first experience when I did return is a mighty shame. All down to one person and their appalling attitude.

Visited in April 2014. Posted on 09 April 2014

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 09 April 2014

Thank you for taking time to give your feedback and I am sorry you found the attitude of one dentist to be poor. It is pleasing to read of the professionalism of their colleague and that you were able to have the treatment you needed. It is extremely important to us that staff behave in a professional and courteous manner at all times, and therefore your feedback will be shared with the team working in the Primary Care Service to enable them to learn and improve where necessary. In order to assist you to find a local dentist to complete your treatment, please contact the Customer Service team on 0800 917 2855 or email contact.bchc@nhs.net and one of the team will pleased to help you.

Report as unsuitable

Nadia Said gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Thank you so much for excellent treatment & service

I came to get 2 wisdom teeth removed & was really impressed with everyone today- from the receptionist to the radiographer, the dentist & students/ assistants. Everyone was really polite, pleasant & very professional. Also, I was pleasantly surprised that I didn't wait long at all, despite the large number of people & how busy the department seemed. It worked very efficiently. The only downside was that the building is old & dingy, but that isn't up to the staff & the rest of the experience was so positive, it trumped that single downside.

All in all, excellent 5 star service. Thank you.

Visited in March 2014. Posted on 13 March 2014

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 13 March 2014

Thank you for this lovely feedback about your visit to Birmingham Dental Hospital, which has been shared with the clinical team. We are delighted that the plans to build a new Dental Hospital for Birmingham are well underway, and we hope to move services to the new hospital towards the end of 2015. Information about the new hospital can be found using the following URL to the Bham Community Healthcare Trust website http://www.bhamcommunity.nhs.uk/about-us/clinical-services/specialist-services/dental-hospital/new-dental-hospital/faqs/

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 1 stars

orthodonics

After waiting for over a year for an appointment, leaving my condition to get worse after the constant changes to my appointment date, sometimes notifying me the day before! I was met by bafflement by what i thought would be a simple diagnosis of jaw malocclusion after seeing 4 different dentists i was met by a consultant who had no interest in what i had to say and when i was not happy with the treatment offered it i was met with 'either have it or don't'. I am still left waiting 2 months later for any response! though I didn't expect any less from the NHS. My health is my priority and i do not want to have any treatment i deem to be unnecessary or harmful and should at least be given a second opinion and not be treated as though I'm just a patient who doesn't know anything.

Visited in January 2014. Posted on 04 March 2014

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 05 March 2014

I am sorry to read of your experience and hope you will contact the Trust Customer Service Team (0800 917 2855) to be able to provide more information so that we can support you to seek a second opinion as you wish.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Pleasant visit

Hi,

Just wanted to say thanks for the people at the B'ham dental hospital. My visit was amazing.

The three girls who extracted my wisdom tooth were better than my dentist!

Thanks,

Visited in February 2014. Posted on 18 February 2014

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 03 March 2014

Thank you for this delightful feedback which has been shared with the clinical team.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Dental Referral by GP

First time visit and very impressed with the professionalism, courtesy and support of all I encountered from reception staff through to technicians and dental professionals. They guided me through the treatment and explained my options.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Dental Hospital to others.

Visited in February 2014. Posted on 07 February 2014

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 10 February 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback about the service you received when you visited Birmingham Dental Hospital. Your feedback has been shared with colleagues but in order to forward to the team involved in your care and treatment, please contact Alison Last, Associate Director of Patient Experience via email alison.last@bhamcommunity.nhs.uk or phone 0121 466 7128 to provide details about the service you visited.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Absolute waste of time

Due to being on and off antibiotics for my impacting wisdom tooth, and having booked an appointment for the dental hospital only for a review to be done in 2 months time?! I could not stand the pain any longer I got to the hospital at 6am doors opened at 7.30 i was second in the line. The wait didn't bother me and i was seen around 9am where i was greeted by a dentist in which i thought was a student who rushed through my questions and did not listen to anything i had to say. Being a nurse myself I found myself getting very frustrated as I'd been through so much pain for months and just wanted the tooth out! She would not listen to me and did not even send me to x-ray, instead she looked in my mouth - whacked my tooth to the point it was about to break with a utensil which made me scream in pain. She then went onto explain she'd "clean it" and send me home on antibiotics, again?! As she was speaking all i could do was cry in agony, she then asked me to wait in the waiting room where i was left to cry in public (not taking into account any patient well being) where I then waited 5 minutes to be called in for my clean. When i asked about pain relief i was told to take paracetomol and ibruprofen which obviously i have already been taking for 3 months, thinking she may prescribe me something a bit stronger. So now after having to call in sick from work and losing out on wages my "plan" is to wait till i finish my antibiotics and to go back to my dentist and pay £18 to be put back onto antibiotics when the pain returns (which will be straight away) Why couldn't they just take it out like everyone else? I'm in so much pain I feel like just cutting the thing out myself. Being a nurse myself i am absolutely disgusted that I have been sent home in this much pain!

Visited in February 2014. Posted on 06 February 2014

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 10 February 2014

I am very sorry that you did not feel you were listened to, nor your pain managed as you had expected when you visited Birmingham Dental Hospital. Your feedback has been discussed with the Senior Nurse in Primary Care. The Primary Care Service provides emergency pain relief which may have meant that it was not appropriate to extract the tooth as you had expected. You would have been given emergency treatment (which you described as the clean and prescribing antibiotics) and would be referred back to your own Dentist for on-going pain management. From lyour description of events, we have ooked at our records and understand you have a Consultant appointment in 2 months time.

If you wish to be placed on the cancellation list, which would mean you may be offered an earlier appointment at short notice, when cancelled by another patient, please contact the Appointments Office on 0121 466 5555 who will be happy to assist you.

Report as unsuitable

betterpatientservice gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 1 stars

why do i have to phone umpteen times

so i get a text saying i have an appointment at the outreach centre which i phone up and speak to the very pleasant receptionist who informs me that the appointment is in fact for the dental hospital.

The text message even said phone 0121 466 5050 but for the first hour the phone is ringing out and now its engaged.

i wouldn't mind if i booked the appointment in the first place but i haven't. seems like they like to randomly add appointments and then send you reminders, what type of service are they running here.

clearly they need to get the text service right, infact be great for the managers to answer the phones, make them useful.

Visited in January 2014. Posted on 13 January 2014

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 20 January 2014

We are aware that some patients have recently found it difficult to contact Birmingham Dental Hospital to book their appointments. This matter has been escalated to the Senior Management Team to address. In the meantime, if you have not yet been able to speak to anyone to book your appointment, please do contact the Customer Services Team on 0800 917 2855 and they will be happy to assist you.

Report as unsuitable

Jess gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Awful

I went with my boyfriend today to the dental hospital, I rang the night before and asked what time to get there to be guaranteed an appointment. The man on the phone said between half 7 and 9, we arrived at just before half eight and the receptionist was very rude and unsympathetic, telling us to leave and come back at half one despite my boyfriend being in agony. So we went back at half one, and we waited four and a half hours from registering to actual treatment. The waiting room is cramped and several screaming children, I know this isn't the hospitals fault and it is inevitable, but they should consider putting a rule into place where parents take their child outside if they are crying as there are a lot of people in pain and I'm sure that's the last thing that they want to hear. My boyfriend had to have his tooth removed, and when we was called up into the room for this to happen, I was shocked because they are just open bays with a stool and a desk, there is no curtain for privacy. The whole process took a ridiculous amount of time, and the few times you would see staff they were mostly miserable, especially the students! Overall, I am not impressed with this service, but I am glad that my bf got the treatment he needed, even if it did take the whole day!

Visited in January 2014. Posted on 10 January 2014

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 13 January 2014

I am sorry the Primary Care Service was not as responsive as you had anticipated, and uderstand from your feedback that you arrived when the morning appointments had all been allocated, with some afternoon appointment slots still available. The Primary Care Service offers a limited number of appointments for patients from Monday to Friday with treatment provided often undertaken by dental students under supervision.
The clinical area is designed to ensure students can be readily observed by supervisors whilst patients are seated such that they are not observing other patients during treatment. I am sorry if the layout of the clinic was not explained to you at the time.

Appointments are allocated on a first-come, first -served basis, so it is always recommended to arrive early with doors opening at 7.30am. We are unable to guarantee there will be sufficient appointments for all who attend on a given day. Registration for people with tickets (ie who will be seen) starts at 8.30am and patients are advised they could wait up to four hours once they are registered. It is important to note this service is not intended as a substitute for regular care provided by a general dental practitioner.

I am very sorry you found staff attitude and demeanour to be unacceptable on the day of your visit, and your feedback will be shared with the receptionist and the primary care team so they have an opportunity to consider the impact of their communication and style on others.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 1 stars

An absolute joke!

I had an appointment around 3 weeks ago. I attended but arrived 45 minutes late, this was due to an accident on the motorway which I had no idea of at the time. I asked the receptionist for an appointment he just told me to ring up. I have now been doing so every single day, all I get off the phone is ' we are receiving a high volume of calls'. I left my details as asked and still had no call back. I received a letter saying I must make an appointment as the dental hospital won't be responsible for my braces!
I contacted the switchboard and they transferred me to the manager so I could complain. Now I'm waiting for a letter or phonecall in the next week. It has taken all this to try and get an appointment. Something needs sorting!

Visited in December 2013. Posted on 09 January 2014

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 28 January 2014

I am sorry Birmingham Dental Hospital has not responded to your call and I trust the manager has contacted you as expected to address the situation with you. Without more detail it is not possible to know if this has now been resolved, however, if you have not yet been contacted, please contact the Customer Services Team on free phone 0800 917 2855, who will liaise with the hospital manager on your behalf.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 1 stars

An absolute joke!

I had an appointment around 3 weeks ago. I attended but arrived 45 minutes late, this was due to an accident on the motorway which I had no idea of at the time. I asked the receptionist for an appointment he just told me to ring up. I have now been doing so every single day, all I get off the phone is ' we are receiving a high volume of calls'. I left my details as asked and still had no call back. I received a letter saying I must make an appointment as the dental hospital won't be responsible for my braces!
I contacted the switchboard and they transferred me to the manager so I could complain. Now I'm waiting for a letter or phonecall in the next week. It has taken all this to try and get an appointment. Something needs sorting!

Visited in December 2013. Posted on 09 January 2014

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 20 January 2014

I am very sorry to read of your experience of booking an appointment at Birmingham Dental Hospital and trust that this matter has been resolved by speaking to the duty manager. If this is not the case, please call the Customer Services Team on 0800 917 2855 and they will be happy to assist you.

Report as unsuitable

Last updated on 05 September 2011.

Information supplied by Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Trust