Birmingham Dental Hospital

Telephone: 0121 466 5000
Address: St Chad's Circus, Birmingham, B4 6NN
Website: http://www.bhamcommunity.nhs.uk/dental-hospital

3.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 106 ratings for this hospital

General dental treatment

3.5 Stars

3.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 106 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4 out of 5 stars

(101 ratings)

Staff co-operation

3.5 out of 5 stars

(102 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(102 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

3.5 out of 5 stars

(99 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(78 ratings)

Reviews

263 total

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

High Standard Service

I was advised to go here as my own dentist was unable to see me, i absolutely hate the dentist but needed a tooth removed. going to the Birmingham Dental Hospital was the best decision i made. I was in and out within 3 hours. Staff were lovely and everything went well. Highly recommended.

Visited in May 2015. Posted on 07 May 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 11 May 2015

Thank you for your feedback about your recent visit to Birmingham Dental Hospital. It is unclear whether you visited the Primary Care (walk-in) service or whether you were referred to a specific department in the hospital for your extraction, but it is good to know that the service met your expectations.

Thank you again for posting your comments.

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare Trust

Report as unsuitable

Steve parkes gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Visit to periodontics unit

Just returned home to Coventry from visit, could not have been treated better the staff I had the appointment with we're lovely and made me feel very at ease. The X-RAY dept was also excellent I was a bit nervous before hand but it couldn't have been any better

Many thanks

Steve parkes

Visited in April 2015. Posted on 02 April 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 06 April 2015

Dear Steve Parkes,

Thank you for taking time to leave this great feedback about your recent visit to Birmingham Dental Hospital, and for the specific feedback about the x-ray department. Your feedback will be shared with colleagues as it is always helpful to understand when things have gone well for patients as well as when things have not gone so well.

Kind regards
Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience

Report as unsuitable

Amanda Gristwood gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Excellent

I had been referred by my dentist to have 2 teeth extracted and had an appointment for the 20th May 2015. Last week after experiencing some problems i called the hospital to see if i could be seen earlier and was offer an an appointment that day, i was seen and x-rayed and then offered a date the following week for treament.

I arrived on Monday 13th April for treament to be told there was a delay due to someone not turning up but extra staff were coming in. When i was called in for treament the dentist introduced themself, a dental consultant who had been called in to help and the dental nurse.

I am so grateful i was lucky enough to have these two treating me as i couldn't of wished for better, the dental surgeon was the most caring and attentive i could of hoped for and put me totally at ease and calm throughout the hour of extracting 2 very difficult teeth.

The dental nurse was brilliant and even supported my head through the process as well as them both giving me jaw massages during the lengthy process.

To top it off dental surgeon even helped me put my coat on, there are still courteous people around.

I hope these reviews do get forwarded to the relevant departments and staff as once again i cant thank the team enough again and the Dental hospital for their excellent treatment i have received.


Thank you
Amanda

Visited in April 2015. Posted on 14 April 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 15 April 2015

Dear Amanda

Thank you for your feedback which will be forwarded to the team involved in your care and treatment today. I am delighted the staff involved in extracting your teeth gave you the level of care, attention and support you needed and we would expect to see, and have left you with a positive impression of Birmingham Dental Hospital. I can see there are parts of your experience where improvements can be made, and these will be discussed with managers of the service.

Thank you again for taking time to give your feedback and I hope you are now recovering well from your extractions.

Kind regards
Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare Trust

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 1 stars

General customer service

I am outrage that the dental hospital is part of the NHS. I have been referred by my dentist and have called on multiple occasions and left numerous amounts of voice mails which I have not received a single response too. When I finally got an appointment I traveled all the way there waited half an hour for them to tell me the practitioner was sick -absolutely appalling service. I then had to chase them to get another appointment when they stated they would call me straight away with the next appointment. After multiple times of trying to contact them, I then finally received a new appointment which was again cancelled! I am so tired and sick of this service and have been battling with getting treatment for over 9 years.

Visited in March 2015. Posted on 24 March 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 25 March 2015

I am very sorry to read of your disappointing experience, and ask you to please telephone the Customer Service Team on (freephone) 0800 917 2855 at your earliest convenience. A member of the team will be happy to liaise with the hospital on your behalf to ensure your next appointment is arranged very soon and without any further incident. The Customer Service Team can be contacted Monday - Friday 9am - 5pm Regrettably I am unable to resolve this situation without you contacting us in this way, as you have understandably not left your name / contact details in your posting, which would have allowed us to look into the matter immediately.

I do hope you will call the Customer Service Team very soon so that we can resolve this unacceptable situation.

Kind regards

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare Trust

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 4 stars

lorry driver looking for parking as well as dentist.

Whilst delivering in Birmingham I fell and knocked my front teeth causing 1 to move out at an angel.I phoned my local dentist back in Southend on Sea, Essex. They contacted BDH who phoned straight back, a person gave me the post code for a lorry park 5 minutes from the hospital so I could park my 44 tonne lorry safely, so I could be seen. I was seen and dealt with in such a professional way. Within an hour was sorted out and back in my truck on my way back south. It's nice to know that even if you don't come from this area you can get 1st class help, even if it is directions to a lorry park.

Visited in March 2015. Posted on 28 March 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 30 March 2015

Thank you for your feedback and I am delighted to read how helpful the staff at Birmingham Dental Hospital were so that you were able to visit the hospital for treatment. I hope you are making a good recovery.

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare Trust

Report as unsuitable

Miss Smith gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Shocking.

Was refereed here by my 3 year olds daughters dentist to have her tooth out as an emergency as she's had 3 abscesses under it in the space of a couple of months. Arrived there at 7.30AM with a referral letter thinking I'd been seen in a few hours as we was a referral. Come half past 12 my daughter still hadn't been seen by anyone! Having been up since 5, traveling an hour with 2 kids and greeted by a women when asked how many people was in front just be fobbed off with any old number it's safe to say we'd had enough And went home! I'm a very patient person and this place certainly tested mine! I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy. Think the staff should start realising somethings wrong when several people start falling to sleep in the waiting room! Never will I again come to or advise anyone to come to this place. I wouldn't even waste the 3000 letters that the review gives you to write about this place. Good luck to anyone that has to go here you going to need it.

Visited in February 2015. Posted on 18 February 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 19 February 2015

Dear Miss Smith

I am sorry to read of your disappointing experience during your visit to Birmingham Dental Hospital with your daughter. It isn't clear from your feedback whether you attended the Primary Care (walk in) service of the hospital or whether you understood your daughter had been referred by her dentist. If a formal referral had been received, your daughter would have been offered an appointment, but it sounds from your description as though you attended the Primary Care walk-in service for which patients who require urgent dental care attend without a booked appointment, and are seen in the order of registration.

When attending the primary care walk in service, patients are provided with a numbered ticket on arrival and wait to be seen in ticket order. This system allows us to respond to a limited number of patients who require urgent dental treatment each day who attend without a pre-booked appointment. This arrangement can mean that some patients may wait some time to be seen.

I should also explain that other patients also attend the same clinical area for booked follow-up appointments which can give the impression that patients are not seen in ticket order, and can lead to the frustrations you describe. I am very sorry if you were not made aware of the possible waiting time for you and your daughter and of the likelihood of other patients who arrive later than you being seen ahead of you.

We are concerned that your daughter may still not have received the treatment she requires. I urge you to please contact Helen Fisher, General Manager at the hospital by phone on 0121 466 5319 or email helen.fisher@bhamcommunity.nhs.uk Helen Fisher will be happy to arrange a time for your daughter to be assessed. Alternatively you are welcome to contact me, Alison Last, Associate Director of Patient Experience on 0121 466 7128 or email alison.last@bhamcommunity.nhs.uk and I can liaise with the hospital on your behalf to resolve this matter.

Please be assured your feedback and your daughter's dental care and treatment are important to us, and I hope you will contact either Helen Fisher or me at your earliest convenience to resolve this matter.

Yours sincerely
Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

not what I expected

I was referred by the last minute dentist I could find to the dental hospital because his practice could not carry out the xray I needed as I had problems opening my jaw. Saw dentist in September after seeing my GP twice since April but I didn't really expect to wait till January 2015 but had no choice so waited. Anyway the dental hospital was very dated in appearance and procedures but I can say the staff and the help they gave me to get my jaw pretty much back to normal was amazing even if they believe it to be normal service it was 1st class to me. I would like to say thank you to the consultant and his team for their help.

Visited in January 2015. Posted on 20 February 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 01 March 2015

Thank you for letting us know your thoughts about your recent visit to Birmingham Dental Hospital. I am delighted to read that your treatment has been successful and that the service was 'first class' - just as we would want it to be. You may have seen the information displays at the hospital about the new state of the art Dental Hospital being built on the Pebble Mill site, and we look forward to moving to this fabulous new building later this year. In the meantime, your comments have been shared with staff who provided your care and treatment during your recent visit so that they are aware of your appreciation.

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare Trust

Report as unsuitable

Glenn Watkin gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 3 stars

Wisdom Tooth Emoval

I was refered to the Birmingham Dental Hospital by my own dentist who felt i needed the expertise of this hospital for the removal of two wisdom teeth, i was given two appointments as i was having the teeth taken out from opposite sides of my mouth upon my first visit the dentist was a trainee who although was trained enough to remove the tooth their lack of bedside manners did little to put me at ease whilst having the tooth removed.
They at first numbed the area at the back of my mouth but seemed urgent to carry on not giving the anisthetic time to go numb after a couple of tugs i stopped them & they put another dose of anisthetic into my gum i continued to moan ( as they put it ) & was told if i did`nt stop moaning i would be put into another room as i was upsetting the other patients i was given a further 2 injections before i could not feel anything they then broke the tooth & eventually after drilling out the remainder removed the tooth & nerve`s. i was in the dentist`s chair for 3/4 hr
On my second visit i was introduced to a different dentist who has been qualified for over 5 years i asked if they would give me enough anisthetic before they started so as to be able to remove the tooth without to much difficulty or pain & discomfort for me they said they had read the notes from my previous visit & would allow time for the injection to work, but again they had to give me a further 2 injections before i felt no pain, the tooth then broke & again they had to resort to drilling out the remainder of the tooth. After they had removed the tooth they said to the nurse that i should`ve been sedated this time because of the amount of anisthetic they had given me & the amount of time it had took just short of 1 hr due to the tooth being attached to the jaw bone the same as the other tooth.
i have had to return to my own dentist on at least 3 occasions because of infections to both sockets & i have now been refered back to the Birmingham Dental Hospital for a review due to the amount of bone fragments that keep coming through my gums
my 1st visit was in Decamber 2014 & my second visit should have been two weeks later but i postponed it until after the new year in January 2015

Visited in January 2015. Posted on 11 March 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 19 March 2015

Dear Mr Watkin

Thank you for raising your concerns with Birmingham Dental Hospital. Your feedback is very important to us. I am sorry for the delay in responding, which is as a result of the lead clinician needing to look at your clinical records before posting this response.

I am sorry your care and treatment has caused you concern. I have been advised that you will be contacted very soon and offered an appointment. I trust that any questions you have about the issues you have raised will be addressed during your appointment; however should you wish to discuss your concerns in person with me, I can be contacted via email: alison.last@bhamcommunity.nhs.uk

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare Trust

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous reviewed General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital

Can't book an initial appointment

I have become frustrated trying to book an initial appointment for my daughter over the telephone, on the appointment line (0121 466 5555). I was told I couldnt book an appointment until I had a letter, now that I have the letter I have tried calling twice - I've been on hold for 7 minutes on both calls and hung up.

There is no info about where you are in the queue and it feels like nobody is ever going to answer. I kept hearing automated messages, first from a lady, then back to a man's voice - it then starts ringing but goes back to an automated message.

I have even tried ringing the Switchboard and it just rings out.

I still haven't been able to make an appointment for my daughter.

Visited in January 2015. Posted on 06 January 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 06 January 2015

Dear Patient

I am sorry you have experienced difficulties contacting the appointments office of Birmingham Dental Hospital. This is disappointing and I would like to sincerely apologise for the frustration you describe in your comments.

The Customer Services Team will be happy to assist you in contacting the Dental Hospital, and you may wish to contact them by free phone on 0800 917 2855 between 9am and 5pm Monday to Friday. The team have been advised of your feedback and will be expecting your call.

The Dental Hospital is aware that patients have experienced difficulties contacting the appointments office and is working hard to improve the situation. Your feedback has been shared with relevant managers so that they are aware of the ongoing difficulties and resulting dissatisfaction.

Thank you for giving your feedback and I trust the Customer Service Team will be able to resolve the situation for you when you call.

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 3 stars

going back thesame day with different time

We just went there today, been there since 5am to be line up early for emergency treatment but when they already check my husband, he is a cancer patient and they all ready check if he allowed to remove his tooth and he pass for a blood test result but they put us in appointment in afternoon since were place in a line which is no. 1 ticket we just dissapointed,they should be sort him out early since we already there & we spend taxi to get there early and after that that we will going back in afternoon about 3:30 which is long hours to wait so we decide to go back home, its hard to my husband coz he is a cancer patient and easily get tired and aside from that waste of time & money coz we dont have a car to keep us coming back there...

Visited in January 2015. Posted on 09 January 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 19 January 2015

I am sorry you found your wait yesterday at Birmingham Dental Hospital difficult for you and your partner. It is not possible to respond directly to your concerns here as more information is needed to be able to look into why you were recalled for a later appointment on the same day, and not given immediate treatment or asked to return for follow up on a different day. I would welcome the opportunity to talk to you and your partner about your experience, and ask you to email me via Alison.last@bhamcommunity.nhs.uk or telephone 0121 466 7128 and ask specifically for me.

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience

Report as unsuitable

Last updated on 05 September 2011.

Information supplied by Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Trust