Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry

0121 466 5555 5 Mill Pool Way , Birmingham (SatNav B5 7SA), B5 7EG
http://www.bhamcommunity.nhs.uk/dental-hospital

3.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 92 ratings for this hospital

General dental treatment

3.5 Stars

3.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 92 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(84 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(85 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(84 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(83 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(57 ratings)

Reviews

352 total

Clare wakelam gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry a rating of 5 stars

Wisdom tooth removal

Booked in for 9am for wisdom tooth removal.
Absolutely brilliant staff. Swift,efficient.
Called me in bang on 9am, sat me down and got to work so fast I didn't have time to be nervous.
Talked through the aftercare and I was all finished by 9.15am!

Serve complain is, the hospital leaflet I was given ...the sat nav postcode ref is incorrect . Had me driving down pebble mill road in very bad rush hour traffic. I was nearly in tears thinking I would miss my appointment.
To add to that I didn't see one road sign for dental hospital.
Then the car parking system/machines are horrific
Really difficult to use (had to ask someone) and basically just a hospital profit making scheme in my opinion.
You have to guess how long you need to park for or risk getting finned.
I had no idea so paid £4.50 for 4 hours.
I was out in 40 mins!

Visited in February 2017. Posted on 08 February 2017

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry replied on 10 February 2017

Dear Ms Wakelam

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback, which is very valuable to us. I am delighted to read of your positive experience of the clinical care and treatment you received. I would like to look into the matter of the incorrect satnav information as our leaflets have been updated recently, and would be grateful if you could get in touch with me (my details are below) so I can find out more.

Your comments about the lack of road signs will be discussed with the Trust Estates Team to see how the local authority can support us with better road signage.

We are aware of patients' concerns about the pay and display car parking arrangements and are currently investigating the possibility of installing a different system to allow patients to pay only for the specific time used.

I look forward to speaking with you about the leaflet you received, and I apologise for the anxiety you experienced when approaching and parking at the hospital.

Yours sincerely

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Report as unsuitable

Emily 810 gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry a rating of 5 stars

Emergency visit February 2017

The service was fantastic, from reception to assessment to x-ray and extraction. Have been in pain since October, went to my own dentist, doctors, had blood test the whole lot but still in severe pain. Went to Dental Hospital as a last resort as I just wanted pain to stop. The staff doing assessment never stopped until they located what was causing these severe pain, x-ray staff were super quick. I then had the extraction which I was very nervous about as I have never had an extraction before but no need to worry once again the staff member was absolutely brilliant talked me through what was happening kept reassuring me during the extraction, the nurse assisting was also very reassuring, took about 90secs to get the tooth out. I am now pain free was back at work that afternoon. After not sleeping well for over 4 months I finally got a good night's sleep. I would definitely recommend the Dental Hospital, you may have to wait a while but once in the system you will get excellent treatment. Nothing but praise and respect for all the staff at Birmingham Dental Hospital and the NHS.

Visited in February 2017. Posted on 11 February 2017

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry replied on 11 February 2017

Dear Emily

Thank you for taking time to post feedback about your recent visit to Birmingham Dental Hospital. I am pleased to read of your positive experience. Your comments will be shared with the staff involved in your care and treatment.

Thank you again for getting in touch.

Yours sincerely

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Report as unsuitable

Pincher Martin gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry a rating of 5 stars

Fast, effective, kindly treatment

I had a broken tooth which my local dentist could not remove and he referred me to the Dental Hospital. I got a appointment quite quickly and attended. The dentist and their assistant were both very kind - I do not like injections! The dentist was able to remove the tooth without making any incision in my jaw. Now, four days later, my mouth is back to normal.

I am very happy with the treatment I received.

Pity the parking meters did not work well - wouldn't take cards. Fortunately my wife found enough coins to pay for our parking.

Visited in February 2017. Posted on 12 February 2017

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry replied on 13 February 2017

Dear Mr Pincher

Thank you for your feedback about Birmingham Dental Hospital. I'm sorry your experience at the car parking meters was disappointing, and I will ask the company which manages the car park whether all 3 of the payment machine card readers were not functioning or whether your feedback relates to one machine which requires attention.

I am delighted to read that you are now fully recovered from your treatment. I will also pass on your feedback about your care and treatment to the Oral Surgery Team.

Kind regards

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Report as unsuitable

imran akhtar gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry a rating of 5 stars

no complaints

I was referred here by NHS 111 and given an "appointment" for 9am on a Tuesday 6th Dec. On arrival, I had to register and I got the impression that communication between the 111 service and the dental hospital isn't great. 30min after arrival, I was assessed by a lovely dentist and sent for x-ray. The waiting time at x ray was about 45minute after which i was sent back to the clinical area. After 20 or so minutes, I was seen again by the same dentist who studied my xray and explained all my treatment options. They took their time and made sure I was well informed by entertaining questions. Back to the waiting area, I waited for 15min before I was seen to by a 5th year student for actual treatment. Given the training environment, I found this was an understandable repetition of the earlier assessment where my option were explained once again as were the treatment plans. The student then needed to explain their intended course of treatment to a senior dentist prior to proceeding. The student was fantastic and their bedside manner very good though I could see they were slightly nervous. They were also very hungry as I could hear their belly rumble! Post treatment care was also explained very well and the receptionist were helpful on the way out. I left the hospital at 1200. It needs to be said at this point that the hospital serves an extremely large catchment area and I get the impression from the signage and tired staff that this rush is a daily occurrence. Even at 9am, both the main waiting area and later the x ray area seating was busy. With this and the general pressure on the NHS in mind, I think the service I received was excellent and I honestly can not fault it. I'm sorry for the essay.

Visited in December 2016. Posted on 07 December 2016

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry replied on 09 December 2016

Dear Imran Akhtar

Thank you for your comments about the positive experience you had when visiting Birmingham Dental Hospital. The clinical teams at the hospital work hard to see patients in the most timely way possible, and to provide the best possible care they can. Thank you for your patience whilst being seen by a student dentist; the treatment can take a little longer, however the supervision provided ensures that students and their patients are fully supported to get the best possible treatment and outcome.

I wish you a speedy recovery from your treatment.

Kind regards

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Report as unsuitable

John Howlett gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry a rating of 5 stars

My Broken Tooth

i went to my dentist to have a tooth pulled out but on trying to removed it the dentist broke the tooth leaving half of it still in my mouth. so the dentist phoned the Birmingham dental and managed to get me an appointment the next day at 9.30am i arrived at 8.45am i went to the desk to book in and was told to sit in the chairs in the lobby 10 minutes later they called my name i was seen by a dentist had xrays all was explained to me what was going to be done and the affending tooth was removed all within 2 hours the dentist were all excellent the nurses were all very careing friendly and helpful. i would like to say a big thank you to you all

Visited in December 2016. Posted on 16 December 2016

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry replied on 19 December 2016

Dear Mr Howlett

Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback and I am delighted to read of your positive experience when visiting Birmingham Dental Hospital. Your comments have been shared with the team working in the Primary Care Service.

May I take this opportunity to wish you a speedy recovery following your extraction.

Kind regards

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Report as unsuitable

Emma Oneill gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry a rating of 3 stars

My little girl

My little girl had to have two teeth out after treatment on them had not worked. Everything leading up to the operation was great although I had to email the hospital about my appointment as no letter came. The day of the operation came and the nurse that checked us in the dentist and their team were fantastic could I do no more for use. When she went into recovery that was a different story. As she is only 5 she was distressed they gave me a cup of water and a booklet and Left me to it on a chair . They cared more about talking and worrying that they may not finish on time. I felt uncared for and in the way as they kept saying you can go home now even though she was still bleeding and distressed. You had to think long and hard about the treatment in your recovery room as it lets you now

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 09 December 2016

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry replied on 09 December 2016

Dear Emma ONeill

Than you for your feedback and I am sorry your experience was mixed and you felt rushed and uncared for when your daughter was in the recovery phase of her visit. In order to investigate this fully, I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the situation in detail and to make sure that relevant staff receive feedback on your experience, and any necessary changes and improvements are made.

Please do contact me via email Alison.last@bhamcommunity.nhs.uk or phone me on 0121 466 7128

In the meantime I do hope your daughter has made an excellent recovery from her surgery.

I look forward to hearing from you

Kind regards

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry a rating of 3 stars

Shame about the lack of staff communication!

I attended following a referral from my dentist for wisdom tooth extraction. Was initially seen promptly about 15 minutes after my scheduled time. Dentist was very pleasant but taken aback and seemed a bit flustered that I was a doctor. Sent for an xray, waited about 45 minutes to go through for x-ray but radiographer was pleasant enough and let me look at my film. Then went back to the area where I saw the dentist and gave the receptionist. This is where my main issue happened. I sat there for just over an hour watching people go in and out waiting to be called. I know how busy NHS places can be so I didn't want to be "that person" that complained. After an hour I went and asked again at the desk how long it would be, they just shrugged at me, but fortunately a Sister overheard me and went straight in to see what was happening. The receptionist hadn't informed anyone I was back, I could have been seen an hour ago. The sister and dentist were very apologetic, but no apology from the receptionist. From then, plain sailing, booked appointment for extraction on the spot and that's coming up this week! The parking cost an absolute fortune, but it always does at hospitals.....

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 08 February 2017

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry replied on 13 March 2017

Dear Patient

Thank you for your feedback about your experience, and I am very sorry for your disappointing experience in your dentist not being alerted to your return following x-ray. Your comments have been passed to the Oral Surgery and x-ray departments and I have asked the manager for the reception staff to speak with the team about your comments, but to be sure the correct staff are spoken with I would be grateful if you could email Alison.last@bhamcommunity.nhs.uk to confirm if it was the main reception area staff you spoke with or whether it was the clinic reception staff.

I look forward to hearing from you, and thank you again for taking time to give your feedback which is very valuable to us.

Yours sincerely

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry a rating of 4 stars

Orthodontist and X-ray staff were lovely

I was in the orthodontic department today and the dentist was lovely, they explained everything in detail, made sure I wasn't worried about anything, asked me if there was anything else I would like to know or ask and did not rush me at all. I also had some X-rays done and the radiographer was very lovely and kind. The only thing I had a issue with was when I was getting my photographs taken, I noticed the staff rinsed the mirror and other instruments (briefly) that were used so not sure if they were used on another patient before me, I did feel rather sick at this thought but I didn't want to be rude and ask. I do hope this wasn't the case as it's very unhygienic.

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 02 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry replied on 03 November 2016

Dear Patient

Thank you for posting a review about your visit to Birmingham Dental Hospital. We always welcome feedback and it is especially pleasing to read your positive comments about the clinicians working in the orthodontic and x-ray departments. I am sorry you did not feel able to ask questions about the cleanliness of the instruments used in the Clinical Illustration Department. I would like to assure you and any other patients reading this that all instrument trays used in the hospital are sterilised and therefore the instruments used with you were clean.

The Clinical Illustration Team prepare instrument trays prior to the patient arriving in the studio, so that everything is ready to start immediately. The Senior Clinical Photographer has asked me to explain that photographers will wet retractors so they are more comfortable for the patient when retracting the lips for the photographs and will warm the mirror so that patients breath does not steam the mirror up, which allows the best photograph to be taken for the clinical records.

I am sorry if this wasn't explained to you fully at the time. Your comments and concerns have been shared with the clinical illustration team as a reminder that when they wet the instruments they must explain why to each patient. Your feedback has also been shared with colleagues in the Orthodontic and x-ray departments.

Thank you again for your very valuable feedback.

Yours sincerely

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Report as unsuitable

Frank gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry a rating of 5 stars

A really supportive service

Well done to all the staff for a fantastic service.I visited the hospital in desperation after my own dentist couldn't extract a canine tooth because it had cracked beneath the gum line. I asked to be referred to the Birmingham Dental Hospital on the assumption that the hospital is equipped with all the latest facilities. I was suffering with a painful abscess with minor facial swelling. When I tried to use the 111'service to be referred as an emergency, I couldn't get an appointment because the advisor I spoke to was unable to appreciate the urgency of my need even though my problems had begun months before. The nurse that came to discuss my referral initially informed me I would have to arrange a routine appointment for an extraction but then noticed my facial swelling and offered an emergency appointment in the afternoon clinic. I had arrived at the hospital at about 12:15. It was such a relief to get someone to see me and I had a pleasant wait in the café just outside the general dentistry department. I informed the nurse I had to pick my daughter up from school at 16:20.Although I was told I would have to wait to be seen as and when it was possible and to inform the staff I was leaving if I wasn't seen before I had to leave which was fair enough, I was seen 25 minutes after afternoon clinic started at 13:30. I was promptly sent for an x-ray by a very understanding and experienced dentist. I was seen very quickly by the radiographer who was very thorough and a joy to deal with. On return to the general waiting area, I was seen again at about 14:20 by the dentist assessing my case. The dentist agreed I needed an extraction that afternoon and said they would book me in. When I asked them how long the extraction would take, I said it might not be possible for me to have treatment that day even though I really needed it because of the need to collect my 8 year old daughter from after school club at 16:20. I told the person I would have to leave by 15:30. They kindly checked with the dentist and nurse if it was going to be practical to extract that day and came back and said it would. I was called in at 14:50 and treated by two super staff. Both the dentist and nurse made me feel very relaxed about the procedure and within 25 minutes it was all over and I was able to leave to get my daughter 10 minutes before I had planned to leave. It was a good job too as I was still 10 minutes late collecting my daughter. I want to thank all of the staff who dealt with me that day. They were all fantastic and have taken away the excruciating pain I was enduring. I can't praise the department enough. The dentist who extracted my tooth has their own practice but works one day a week at the hospital. Without the commitment of staff there would be no service and I can see that working in the hospital is very demanding because it is always so busy.

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 21 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry replied on 21 November 2016

Dear Frank

Thank you for your kind words about your experience visiting Birmingham Dental Hospital. To ensure your feedback reaches the individual staff involved, it would be really helpful if you could contact me with your details or with the names of the staff who you saw in the 3 different areas of the hospital. If you are happy to do this please either phone me on 0121 466 7128 or email Alison.last@bhamcommunity.nhs.uk at your convenience.

In the meantime your comments have been shared with the managers of the Primary Care Service, Oral Surgery Department and x-ray department.

Thank you again for your feedback which is very much appreciated.

Kind regards

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Report as unsuitable

Peter Smith reviewed General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry

Dental implant failure,appointment failure.

My name is Peter Smith, I have gone thru a lot of treatment over the years for bite issues, it eventually turned out I needed a mandibular pushback and ginoplasty, after time I eventually had implants and bridge work done, all this work was done at the University hospital of wales, I then moved to Birmingham were I went to the old dentist hospital in Birmingham, after one consultation they said they needed to get my records from Cardiff, and I would hear from them for further appointments as the months went by I had one appointment in which they said what they were going to do, I never heard anything back and when I did ring they told me I would receive an appointment by post, I never did, now I went to the new Birmingham dental hospital in October and seen a dentist regarding the implant failure and an infection I had in that area, the infection was treated and healed but damaged teeth in the implant area. I seen at that time an oral surgeon who apologised for past appointment issues in the old hospital but they would get the ball rolling and get my issues sorted out, I was more than happy with their positive feedback at that time, but now as months have gone by and after again numerous phone calls and being told I would here back with an appointment, the same issues have happened again, no appointment , no phone call back as promised and now I am having issues eating properly, I face the public on a daily basis and I feel embarrassed that when I talk you can see where the teeth are missing and even worse when people ask the question about my teeth. I am feeling very, very let down by the NHS dental service and its come to this and making a formal complaint to the relevant department. I understand that there is a back log of appointments, but not to hear back at all is so annoying. I am about to phone again regarding my appointment and if the same happens again I will in no doubt be writing on here again.

Visited in October 2016. Posted on 03 February 2017

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry replied on 05 February 2017

Dear Mr Smith

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry you have not heard from Birmingham Dental Hospital as expected. We have spoken about your concerns, and one of my colleagues is currently working with you to resolve these issues. However, if you are still dissatisfied with how your dental care is being addressed do please get back in touch.

Kind regards

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Report as unsuitable

Last updated on 19 September 2016.

Information supplied by Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust