Birmingham Dental Hospital

Telephone: 0121 466 5000
Address: St Chad's Circus, Birmingham, B4 6NN
Website: http://www.bhamcommunity.nhs.uk/dental-hospital

3.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 110 ratings for this hospital

General dental treatment

3.5 Stars

3.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 110 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4 out of 5 stars

(106 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(106 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(106 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

3.5 out of 5 stars

(104 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(80 ratings)

Reviews

279 total

dralex gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

excellent service

Went today due to broken tooth. Made appointment through NHS 111 as changed from walk in 2 days ago.
Seen by dentist who explained options. Had x ray. Opted for extraction which was done straight away.
Tricky extraction but lots of explanation and reassurance throughout.
All staff professional and helpful. Busy hospital but efficient.
Very happy with the service I received today

Visited in August 2015. Posted on 12 August 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 13 August 2015

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback, and I am delighted to read that your experience of the new 111 service was positive. The hospital has changed the way in which patients can access the service in recognition that the previous system in which patients had a long wait at the hospital did not offer a high quality service. Your feedback will be shared with the team involved in your care and treatment and with managers of the hospital.

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Trust

Report as unsuitable

Robert Haywood gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Excellent staff but . . .

I have just returned from Birmingham Dental Hospital after having 2 troublesome molars extracted. The staff - especially the dental surgeon - were very pleasant and, more importantly, extremely competent and professional. This had also been the case when I first went to the hospital for assessment which led to the treatment. But Birmingham Dental Hospital is clearly working under great pressure. It took 2 months from referral from my own dentist before I was given an appointment for assessment - and then another 1 month before I was treated. Mercifully, I suffered no problems with my teeth during the 3 months, but it could have been different. My 2 visits were pretty depressing experiences as the building has become very run-down and scruffy and 2 of the 3 toilets (on different floors!) were closed and taped off. I know the dental hospital is moving to more modern premises at the end of 2015, but I'm sure a better job could be done of holding together basic facilities for patients during the wind-down.

Visited in August 2015. Posted on 22 August 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 23 August 2015

Thank you for your feedback, and I am sorry the facilities were in need or repair when you visited. As you have noted, the hospital is looking forward to relocating to a brand new hospital later this year, and in the meantime is working hard to maintain the existing environment in the lead up to the move. I will ask for the situation with the toilets to be addressed if possible - as I am sure you will appreciate, without details it is difficult to know the extent of repairs required; however I am hopeful that it will be possible to make the necessary repairs (and may already have been). The hospital works hard to see patients within the required referral to treatment time, and rely on patients' own dentists to help manage any symptoms patients have whilst waiting to be seen. I am pleased to see that you did not experience any problems during your waiting for both assessment and subsequently for treatment.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Bham Community Healthcare Trust

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 1 stars

waiting over a hour!

I am absolutely disgusted with this hospital. I have been waiting for over an hour & I'm sitting here still waiting even though I was given an appointment 2 weeks ago.

Extremely disappointed with this hospital, receptionist aren't even apologetic for the wait & just say "duty officer is busy" .

I never in my life want to come back to this disgusting dental hospital. This place looks disgusting, smells disgusting & service is just ridiculous.

I will be making a formal complaint!

Visited in July 2015. Posted on 03 July 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 03 July 2015

I am very sorry you have been waiting for such a long time without any information about the delay. Please do contact our Customer Services Team on 0800 917 2855 who will be happy to note the details of your experience and understand how you wish your concerns to be responded to. They will be happy to liaise with the hospital on your behalf. In the meantime your feedback has been shared with managers and senior clinicians of the hospital, however in the absence of information about which particular department or service you visited it is difficult to investigate the matter fully.

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Bham Community Healthcare NHS Trust

Report as unsuitable

ZeeBlahBlah gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Great service, great staff!

I initially went to the dental hospital on the 2nd of January 2015 after suffering a terrible infection from my bottom left wisdom tooth. I qued from 7am and managed to get a ticket for the afternoon slot. Naturally with a free service you have to expect a certain level of service and to wait around and am quite annoyed with the arrogance of some other reviews that come across as 'diva' mentality. Bottomline is... if your suffering that bad go and pay an extortionate fee and have it done privately and stop giving the hard working staff at the dental hospital a hard time! I was seen about 2hours of waiting and had my consultation, I was promtly taken for x rays and was advised to have my top right wisdom tooth removed due to cheek trauma. Once it was removed i was instantaneously relieved of pain though slightly miffed that the tooth i seeked help for was kept in but sometimes you need to just respect the medical advice your given. I was told that all four of my wisdom teeth would require being extracted which I was and still very grateful to the dental hospital for, knowing personally that I cannot afford to go to my own dentist with a charge at over £300 (private costs)
My second wisdom tooth was removed in May (bottom left) and although I was very satisfied with the level and care in my treatment I suffered greatly with this extraction, it bled after 2hours of leaving the hospital and formed a dry socket (when the blood fails to clot over the extraction site) which is immensely painful and horrendous to go through. I believe this was a result of me being a heavy smoker and the tooth being paticularly troublesome over the years rather then the hospital doing anything incorrect. I have just had my last two wisdom teeth (right side) removed in July and it was a very pleasant experience... I even cracked up laughing probably due to the anesthetic whilst the dentist was trying to remove the bottom tooth and they were very professional and allowed for my hysteria though I can only imagine that made their job a lot more difficult. Since i suffered a dry socket last time on the bottom tooth, thankfully the dentist gave me stitches to help avoid it and I havent had any complications or problems and can already feel and see the benefits these extractions are making to my oral health.
So in short, the guys at the dental hospital are fantastic, efficient very friendly and kind. I Would like to thank them personally but I never took their names and commend them on a job well done. The only blunder was when I seen the consultant, who poorly advised me, that I needed a filling costing me £25 for an x ray from my personal dentist in which I never needed. But £25 for four wisdom teeth to be removed. I know Im very fortunate especially with cutback Cameron at the helm. Ie... use this service before its a thing of the past as NHS dentists are being advised not to refer patients and avoid wisdom teeth extractions!

Visited in July 2015. Posted on 25 July 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 27 July 2015

Thank you for your comments which have been shared with clinical staff at Birmingham Dental Hospital, and thank you for your patience and understanding about the need to queue and wait when attending the Primary Care (walk-in) service at the hospital. As you may have read in other responses to patient feedback on the NHS Choices site, the Dental Hospital is making plans to change how appointments for urgent care are allocated to patients. A new system will be introduced in the next few months in which it is anticipated patients will be given a confirmed same-day appointment before visiting the hospital, and therefore avoiding wasted journeys and long waits.

I am sorry you needed to pay for an x-ray at your own dental practice which subsequently confirmed you did not require a filling, which had been indicated by the clinician at Birmingham Dental Hospital. The dentist at the hospital would have recommended you visit your own dentist for further investigations and treatment based on their initial assessment; however as was the case for you, your own dentist would be expected to undertake their assessment and treat based on their findings. I am pleased that no further treatment was required on that occasion.

Thank you again for your helpful feedback about your visits to the hospital, and I hope you continue to make a full recovery from your recent extractions.

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare Trust

Report as unsuitable

Rumana gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 1 stars

dental nurses bad Attitude

my mother had an appointment at 9am. A dental nurse had come over to my mother & I saying they have not got the results that we were expecting to discuss today, as QE hospital have not written up the report & told me to come back after an hour. I was really upset and asked the nurse why My mother has been called back if they haven't got the results. I told them that this is not right & not my problem to why they don't have the results. The nurse turned replied back "that's not my problem either" with attitude & stared into my eyes. I was really shocked with their attitude, I could not believe they were allowed to speak to me like this. Is it not their job to ensure they have the results a day before or so? Or at least call us & cancel? Instead of us turning up. Why do you have nurses working their that can't speak to the public properly & give attitude? I also explained to them that I will have to yet again pay another £14 for parking if I have to wait any longer. I ended up up waiting 45 mins extra to be seen. I have previously waiting 3 hrs at this dental hospital on a separate occasion. I can't express the disappointment. I contacted the customer service team last time & I got a call back saying they will look into the issue I had but I haven't heard anything back. I strongly recommend people not to visit this place.

Visited in July 2015. Posted on 31 July 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 01 August 2015

Dear Rumana

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback and I am very sorry you had a poor experience when you visited Birmingham Dental Hospital with your mother and that the Customer Service Team did not get back to you as expected when you called on another occasion. I would be grateful if you could give me a call or send me an email to provide me with the details I will need to address these concerns.

Please either call 0121 466 7128 (and leave a message if I am out of the office) or email alison.last@bhamcommunity.nhs.uk Please be assured your feedback has already been shared with senior managers at the hospital and any additional information you provide me with will help us to speak directly to the nurse and customer service officer so they can understand the impact they both had on you.

Once again please accept my apologies for your disappointing experience.

Kind regards

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare Trust

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 2 stars

Better chance of getting into Buckingham Palace

First day got there for 8.30am 'no tickets' but you can wait and see a nurse who maybe able to advise you. Great sat for an hour and half, to be seen by a very arrogant member of staff, who ask a couple of questions, didn't even look in my mouth, and said here's a leaflet we workbook a first come, first serve so bye.....
Following day arrived at 7.35 am ' No Tickets, you can wait to see a Nurse who might be able to advise you.' Yeah thanks no. So all these other review must of been a better man than I. I am from Tamworth, so the drive and parking was awesome.
I attended here a few years back, and got a ticket at around 9am, so they have either had major cut backs or more people have discovered the service.... Another NHS service gone downhill.

Visited in June 2015. Posted on 16 June 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 16 June 2015

I am sorry to read of your disappointing experience, and welcome the opportunity to speak with you to understand the detail behind your description and also to help you to seek a local dentist for your urgent care to avoid the need for repeated journeys to Birmingham Dental Hospital.

As you may have read in other patient feedback on the NHS Choices site, the Dental Hospital is currently looking to change how appointments for urgent care are allocated to patients. A new system will be introduced in the next few months in which it is anticipated patients will be given a confirmed same-day appointment before visiting the hospital, and therefore avoiding wasted journeys and time.

As your feedback is anonymous, I am unable to contact you directly to look into the specific concerns you have raised, and therefore request you please contact me by phone on 0121 466 7128 or email alison.last@bhamcommunity.nhs.uk at your earliest convenience. If you call me and are put through to my voicemail, please leave your contact details to enable me to call you back.

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare Trust

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Filling touching a nerve

I can not praise the professionalism, courtesy and understanding of these guys. I visited today with a filling touching my nerve causing sever pain along with an abyss. I more or less collapsed with the pain and they were fantastic. Reasurring me at all times. They understood my medical intolerance's and explained different options I could take. I for one have now registered with them and they have restored my faith in dentists.

Visited in June 2015. Posted on 16 June 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 17 June 2015

Dear Patient

Thank you for posting feedback about your visit to Birmingham Dental Hospital yesterday. I am pleased to read that your experience was very positive and you found the staff to be understanding, courteous and professional throughout. It is especially good to read that your visit has restored your confidence in attending for dental treatment in the future.

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare Trust

Report as unsuitable

sherry payne gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

a real big thankyou

I would just like to say a big tbankyou to all the staff at this hospital for sorting out the mess my own private so called dentist left me in. Yes we were there very early i was lucky and got seen in the first group in the morning. Had assesment xrays and a follow up to discuss what was going to happen. I was extremley aprehensive after my bad experience with my dentist that removed one of my molar teeth leaving the full root in. i have had a week of pain and called so many dentist in Telford to help me to no a avail.and all the team at your dental hospital were frendly and reassuring throughout and now i am pain free.
A real big thank you everyone. 5*

Visited in June 2015. Posted on 20 June 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 22 June 2015

Dear Sherry

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to Birmingham Dental Hospital. Your comments have been shared with the Primary Care Service (the walk-in service) and I know they will be pleased to read that you are now pain free.

Arrangements for accessing the Primary Care Service at Birmingham Dental Hospital will be changing in the next few months to avoid the need for patients to wait for a ticket / appointment. As soon as the arrangements are confirmed, information will be made available on the NHS CHoices website and on the Trust's own website.

Thank you again for taking the trouble to leave your feedback.

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare Trust

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

High Standard Service

I was advised to go here as my own dentist was unable to see me, i absolutely hate the dentist but needed a tooth removed. going to the Birmingham Dental Hospital was the best decision i made. I was in and out within 3 hours. Staff were lovely and everything went well. Highly recommended.

Visited in May 2015. Posted on 07 May 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 11 May 2015

Thank you for your feedback about your recent visit to Birmingham Dental Hospital. It is unclear whether you visited the Primary Care (walk-in) service or whether you were referred to a specific department in the hospital for your extraction, but it is good to know that the service met your expectations.

Thank you again for posting your comments.

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare Trust

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Pleasant experience

I showed up to the emergency department for a very painful and swollen lower wisdom tooth. I showed up at 7:15 am, there were a lot of people already waiting in the queue for 7:30 am. I got a ticket for the afternoon registration as I was 3rd from the end in line and was told to come back at 1:30. When I got there later that day the line went pretty quickly for registration as there were a lot of patients to be seen. I waited for about 2 hours to be seen for assessment and the dentist apologised for the wait. I was asked if I was allergic to any medication and I said I was allergic to ceclore which is a type of anti-biotic. I knew the dentist wasn't going to know what it was, as most doctors I see today have no idea what it is as it is not very popular anymore. As I suspected the dentist wasn't sure so they took the time to look it up to make sure I was safe (which was very impressive because all the doctors I see say they don't know what it is so they won't give it to me). The dentist assessed me and explained to me very well the problem with my tooth and was and sent me to x Ray.

I was in the x Ray department for about 40 minutes as majority of people who came at the same time also needed x Rays. The dentist explained my x ray to me very well (which I appreciated because I've always gotten diagnosis in the past without any explanation) and that my upper wisdom tooth was causing the problem as it didn't come through properly and was pushing down on the lower tooth. I was given the choice of getting the upper tooth removed or not. The dentist was very kind and apologized again for the wait and made sure I understood properly what was going on. I chose to remove it and I was given an appointment for the next day. I was In emergency for about 3 and a half hours in total. I do not blame the hospital in any way for the long wait as I should have showed up earlier that morning.

When I came back the next day I went straight up to oral surgery department and waited about 10 minutes and was called through. I was very nervous and the dentist and nurse were very understanding and calmed me down quite a bit. I got the injection in my gum and the dentist pulled on my tooth and I was experiencing a bit of pain, the dentist was more than happy to give me another injection to make sure I was comfortable. The extraction happened very quickly and painlessly and I was told what was happening every step of the way. I was able to leave a couple minutes after as the bleeding stopped very quickly. Today is the day after extraction and I am experiencing very little pain and my lower wisdom tooth feels much better as It is not being irritated anymore. Overall I would definately recommend the dental hospital to anybody. I felt very respected and understood by all staff at the dental hospital and didn't feel like just another number, which is the vibe I get by other ticket based clinics. The hospital was very clean and well organised and very professional. I would definately go back for any further treatment.

Visited in May 2015. Posted on 21 May 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 24 May 2015

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback about your recent visit to Birmingham Dental Hospital. It is good to know that the Primary Care Department was able to provide you with help on the day of your visit and an extraction the following day. It is as important for us to know when patients feel we have met or exceeded their expectations, as well as when they feel we have not, and to learn from both. In reading your comments, I can see that the thorough explanation of the cause of your pain and swelling, and of the treatment required, made a real difference to your overall experience, as well as the way in which staff helped to reassure you and calm you before treatment began. I am delighted that you had such a positive experience during your visit and will ensure your comments are shared with the team involved in your care and treatment.

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare Trust

Report as unsuitable

Last updated on 05 September 2011.

Information supplied by Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Trust