Birmingham Dental Hospital

0121 466 5000 St Chad's Circus , Birmingham, B4 6NN
http://www.bhamcommunity.nhs.uk/dental-hospital

3.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 102 ratings for this hospital

General dental treatment

3.5 Stars

3.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 102 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4 out of 5 stars

(100 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(99 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(99 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(97 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(74 ratings)

Reviews

296 total

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Oral surgery appointment for removal of broken molar

Please pass on my thanks to the Dental Surgeon and Dental Nurse for my appointment with the Oral Surgery clinic yesterday afternoon (2.30pm).

They were both first class throughout and could not have been any more friendly, professional and caring during my appointment. My tooth was removed which a minimum of discomfort and I have experienced no issues since the extraction.

I was anxious ahead of this visit but there was no need to be. This is the second time I have visited the Oral Surgery clinic over recent years and my experience both times has been first class.

Visited in February 2016. Posted on 05 February 2016

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 05 February 2016

Dear Patient

Thank you for giving this lovely feedback about your visit to Birmingham Dental Hospital yesterday. The dentists and dental nurses working in the Oral Surgery Department will be delighted to read your comments as they always aim to provide the best possible care and treatment to their patients.

I would be delighted to hear more about your visit, and if you have time please do get in touch by email alison.last@bham.community.nhs.uk or phone 0121 466 7128

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Outstanding

I had been suffering from tooth ache for 4 days. After my own dental surgery had declined me as they didn't have any time to see emergency appointments, I went to the dental hospital. The the dentist I saw was incredibly caring and listened to everything I had to say. When I had by x-ray done, I was actually shown the x-ray and felt involved in the decision making. At once point I was seen by 3 dentists all at once, which made me feel very special. They told me that my previous dentist (the one who couldn't see me) hadn't done a very good job of my root canal surgery (which I had only had done a year before). This has led to infection and I had to have the tooth taken out. I began to panic and started to cry, as when I had dental surgery before (root canal) my dentist was awful. The dentist was rude and acted as if it were their way or the highway. It even got to the point where the dentist would put water in my mouth, and wouldn't suck it away leaving me with blood and water in my mouth until I was chocking. But everybody at the dental hospital was very understanding and comforted me. When I had to have my tooth extracted, they were so kind, and talked me though the process and made me feel so involved and safe. So a huge thank you to the the staff at the dental hospital. As someone who has been traumatized by a previous dentist, I felt incredibly safe and cared for. Thank you times a million!!!

Visited in December 2015. Posted on 14 December 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 14 December 2015

Thank you for your feedback about your recent visit to Birmingham Dental Hospital. It is always a pleasure to read patients comments about the great care and treatment they have received, and your comments have been forwarded to the clinical leads in the x-ray and primary care departments to share with colleagues.

I hope you make a speedy recovery following your extraction.

Kind regards

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare Trust

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Excellent care

Had my wisdom tooth removed yesterday. All staff were kind and caring and made me feel at ease during my entire visit. Excellent services .

Visited in November 2015. Posted on 13 November 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 13 November 2015

Thank yor for your lovely feedback which has been shared with the clinical teams at Birmingham Dental Hospital.

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare Trust

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Feel desperate

It been more than 1 month my 4 year old son got pain with his teeth after since 2 dentist as we need to go ssee private dentist first we find he got 2 decades. Letter been sent to the hospital for consultation as my son was in lot of pain I manage to have an appointment early by 111. Now he got a day for his operation to take them out. But he is in lot of pain and I cannot wait any longer I don't understand that if private dentist can't do nothing for children why it rake so long to have appointment in hospital. I feel alone and desperate for my son why need to wait 2 more week for this so in total 2 month. He already went 3 time on antibiotics . Why we cannot do early his operation? Been told by 111 to go back to my dentist as the pain still there

Visited in October 2015. Posted on 08 October 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 09 October 2015

I am sorry to read of your upset and of your 4 year old son's pain. The NHS 111 Service will be able to help you to locate an NHS dentist locally and also any out of hours help you may need if you are unable to see your child's own dentist. Unfortunately these dentists will only be able to help and advise about pain relief if your child requires extractions under sedation or general anaesthetic.

Please call our Customer Service Team on Monday (lines are open Monday to Friday 9-5) and one of the officers will be able to liaise with the dental hospital to see if its possible for you / your son to be offered a cancellation appointment; which may mean your son is seen sooner than two weeks. The Customer Service number is 0800 917 2855.

I do hope your son's pain can be managed whilst waiting for his extractions.

Yours sincerely

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Bham Community Healthcare Trust

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Very good visit

I'm a slightly nervous patient so going to visit a dentist isn't my favourite thing. I had an appointment on clinical practice last week to have some treatment carried out and I couldn't have been happier. The student was excellent in carrying it out and they talked me through everything. There was a nurse assisting as well and they communicated really well and helped me through the treatment and kept me comfortable at all times.

The only downside to the dental hospital is the student has to check with their teachers through each stage of the treatment however at least you know everything is going okay. The building is a little tired however I believe the new building isn't far around the corner which is going to be a lot better.

Thanks to everyone involved with my treatment, if you could pass the message to the floor/department staff on I would be really happy

Visited in October 2015. Posted on 09 October 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 12 October 2015

Thank you for your feedback which has been shared with the colleagues at Birmingham Dental Hospital. The new Dental Hospital is nearing completion and we look forward to moving to the new site by the Spring of 2016 in the meantime staff are working hard to maintain the environment and deliver a high standard of care and treatment.

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare Trust

Report as unsuitable

Chris Gough gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Excellent treatment

Visited yesterday for extraction of two teeth, while procedures were lengthy leading up to treatment (which I understand) everyone was very courteous and apologized many times about delays. Eventually went to second floor and explained how nervous I am, the member of staff who treated me was brilliant explaining what was happening. Unfortunately ended up having three teeth extracted, no pain, no discomfort and very speedy! Didn't get their name but say thanks, keep up the great work!
Unfortunately visited in August and had totally different experience arriving at 7:45am and leaving at 4:30pm following an awful day, reception staff unprofessional, waiting for over four hours to be assessed! Eventually going to second floor to be met by another member of staff who told me they were a doctor, who then continually asked the nurse what instruments to use! When taking my tooth out they slipped with instrument slicing my gum resulting in me having seven stitches but they didn't know if they were dissolvable.
If this had been my first ever experience I would never have come back or recommend the hospital to anyone else.

Visited in October 2015. Posted on 16 October 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 18 October 2015

Dear Mr Gough

Thank you for your feedback, which has been shared with the clinical team on the 2nd floor of Birmingham Dental Hospital. I am sorry your August visit to Birmingham Dental Hospital was less than positive for you, and am pleased that you were willing to continue to attend for your appointment last week, which reads as a positive experience despite 3 extractions. I do hope you have made a full recovery.

Kind regards

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare Trust

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

wisdom tooth extraction

Went to birmingham dental hospital today to have a upper wisdom tooth removed, my appointment was at 10am I was back on the bus home by 10:30am! Dentist was extremely helpful explained everything they were doing, I had two injections to numb the mouth only a slight scratch no pain and the actual extraction took less than a minute. Hardly any bleeding and was given instructions for aftercare. The staff were excellent would highly recommend this hospital

Visited in September 2015. Posted on 15 September 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 16 September 2015

I am delighted to read of your positive experience when you visited Birmingham Dental Hospital. Your feedback has been shared with colleagues at Birmingham Dental Hospital. Thank you for taking time to post your comments to share your good experience with other current and future patients.

Kind regards

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare Trust

Report as unsuitable

dralex gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

excellent service

Went today due to broken tooth. Made appointment through NHS 111 as changed from walk in 2 days ago.
Seen by dentist who explained options. Had x ray. Opted for extraction which was done straight away.
Tricky extraction but lots of explanation and reassurance throughout.
All staff professional and helpful. Busy hospital but efficient.
Very happy with the service I received today

Visited in August 2015. Posted on 12 August 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 13 August 2015

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback, and I am delighted to read that your experience of the new 111 service was positive. The hospital has changed the way in which patients can access the service in recognition that the previous system in which patients had a long wait at the hospital did not offer a high quality service. Your feedback will be shared with the team involved in your care and treatment and with managers of the hospital.

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Trust

Report as unsuitable

Robert Haywood gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Excellent staff but . . .

I have just returned from Birmingham Dental Hospital after having 2 troublesome molars extracted. The staff - especially the dental surgeon - were very pleasant and, more importantly, extremely competent and professional. This had also been the case when I first went to the hospital for assessment which led to the treatment. But Birmingham Dental Hospital is clearly working under great pressure. It took 2 months from referral from my own dentist before I was given an appointment for assessment - and then another 1 month before I was treated. Mercifully, I suffered no problems with my teeth during the 3 months, but it could have been different. My 2 visits were pretty depressing experiences as the building has become very run-down and scruffy and 2 of the 3 toilets (on different floors!) were closed and taped off. I know the dental hospital is moving to more modern premises at the end of 2015, but I'm sure a better job could be done of holding together basic facilities for patients during the wind-down.

Visited in August 2015. Posted on 22 August 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 23 August 2015

Thank you for your feedback, and I am sorry the facilities were in need or repair when you visited. As you have noted, the hospital is looking forward to relocating to a brand new hospital later this year, and in the meantime is working hard to maintain the existing environment in the lead up to the move. I will ask for the situation with the toilets to be addressed if possible - as I am sure you will appreciate, without details it is difficult to know the extent of repairs required; however I am hopeful that it will be possible to make the necessary repairs (and may already have been). The hospital works hard to see patients within the required referral to treatment time, and rely on patients' own dentists to help manage any symptoms patients have whilst waiting to be seen. I am pleased to see that you did not experience any problems during your waiting for both assessment and subsequently for treatment.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Bham Community Healthcare Trust

Report as unsuitable

kelly gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 1 stars

complaint of service

Absolutely disgusting service I visited the dental hospital in july and was told by the consultation that a letter would be sent to my dentist within six to eight weeks of what treatment I needed to have done after waiting this long I found out today 6/10/2015 off my dentist that no letter has been sent so I had to phone the dental hospital up to see what was going on and the lady said that the letter is still on my notes to be printed off and signed now ive gotta wait another few weeks before I can have this treatment done in which time my problems just getting worse I am not happy about how i have been treated as a patient and the service you provide which needs to be sorted out and fast

Visited in July 2015. Posted on 05 October 2015

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 08 October 2015

Dear Kelly

I am sorry you have experienced a longer wait than expected for a letter to be sent to your dentist detailing your treatment needs. I can see you are understandably keen to have the necessary treatment as soon as possible. The timescale you were advised of at the time of your visit is the timescale letters are usually sent in. However delays may have happened due to annual leave by members of the team over the summer period, or due to the clinician not being at the hospital to make any amendments before the letter can be signed and sent. If either of these were the reason, it may have been possible to predict a delay and you could have been informed of this at the time of your appointment. Without more details it is not possible to explain the delay here.

If you wish to contact me, I am happy to find out more detail about the situation and confirm how soon the letter will be sent to your dentist. I can be contacted by email alison.last@bhamcommunity.nhs.uk or by phone on 0121 466 7128

Please accept my apologies for the unexpected delay in sending the letter to your dentist, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare Trust

Report as unsuitable

Last updated on 05 September 2011.

Information supplied by Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Trust