Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry

0121 466 5000 5 Mill Pool Way , Birmingham (SatNav B5 7SA), B5 7EG
http://www.bhamcommunity.nhs.uk/dental-hospital

3.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 98 ratings for this hospital

General dental treatment

3.5 Stars

3.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 98 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(89 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(90 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(89 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(87 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(60 ratings)

Reviews

344 total

imran akhtar gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry a rating of 5 stars

no complaints

I was referred here by NHS 111 and given an "appointment" for 9am on a Tuesday 6th Dec. On arrival, I had to register and I got the impression that communication between the 111 service and the dental hospital isn't great. 30min after arrival, I was assessed by a lovely dentist and sent for x-ray. The waiting time at x ray was about 45minute after which i was sent back to the clinical area. After 20 or so minutes, I was seen again by the same dentist who studied my xray and explained all my treatment options. They took their time and made sure I was well informed by entertaining questions. Back to the waiting area, I waited for 15min before I was seen to by a 5th year student for actual treatment. Given the training environment, I found this was an understandable repetition of the earlier assessment where my option were explained once again as were the treatment plans. The student then needed to explain their intended course of treatment to a senior dentist prior to proceeding. The student was fantastic and their bedside manner very good though I could see they were slightly nervous. They were also very hungry as I could hear their belly rumble! Post treatment care was also explained very well and the receptionist were helpful on the way out. I left the hospital at 1200. It needs to be said at this point that the hospital serves an extremely large catchment area and I get the impression from the signage and tired staff that this rush is a daily occurrence. Even at 9am, both the main waiting area and later the x ray area seating was busy. With this and the general pressure on the NHS in mind, I think the service I received was excellent and I honestly can not fault it. I'm sorry for the essay.

Visited in December 2016. Posted on 07 December 2016

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry replied on 09 December 2016

Dear Imran Akhtar

Thank you for your comments about the positive experience you had when visiting Birmingham Dental Hospital. The clinical teams at the hospital work hard to see patients in the most timely way possible, and to provide the best possible care they can. Thank you for your patience whilst being seen by a student dentist; the treatment can take a little longer, however the supervision provided ensures that students and their patients are fully supported to get the best possible treatment and outcome.

I wish you a speedy recovery from your treatment.

Kind regards

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Report as unsuitable

John Howlett gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry a rating of 5 stars

My Broken Tooth

i went to my dentist to have a tooth pulled out but on trying to removed it the dentist broke the tooth leaving half of it still in my mouth. so the dentist phoned the Birmingham dental and managed to get me an appointment the next day at 9.30am i arrived at 8.45am i went to the desk to book in and was told to sit in the chairs in the lobby 10 minutes later they called my name i was seen by a dentist had xrays all was explained to me what was going to be done and the affending tooth was removed all within 2 hours the dentist were all excellent the nurses were all very careing friendly and helpful. i would like to say a big thank you to you all

Visited in December 2016. Posted on 16 December 2016

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry replied on 19 December 2016

Dear Mr Howlett

Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback and I am delighted to read of your positive experience when visiting Birmingham Dental Hospital. Your comments have been shared with the team working in the Primary Care Service.

May I take this opportunity to wish you a speedy recovery following your extraction.

Kind regards

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Report as unsuitable

Emma Oneill gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry a rating of 3 stars

My little girl

My little girl had to have two teeth out after treatment on them had not worked. Everything leading up to the operation was great although I had to email the hospital about my appointment as no letter came. The day of the operation came and the nurse that checked us in the dentist and their team were fantastic could I do no more for use. When she went into recovery that was a different story. As she is only 5 she was distressed they gave me a cup of water and a booklet and Left me to it on a chair . They cared more about talking and worrying that they may not finish on time. I felt uncared for and in the way as they kept saying you can go home now even though she was still bleeding and distressed. You had to think long and hard about the treatment in your recovery room as it lets you now

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 09 December 2016

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry replied on 09 December 2016

Dear Emma ONeill

Than you for your feedback and I am sorry your experience was mixed and you felt rushed and uncared for when your daughter was in the recovery phase of her visit. In order to investigate this fully, I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the situation in detail and to make sure that relevant staff receive feedback on your experience, and any necessary changes and improvements are made.

Please do contact me via email Alison.last@bhamcommunity.nhs.uk or phone me on 0121 466 7128

In the meantime I do hope your daughter has made an excellent recovery from her surgery.

I look forward to hearing from you

Kind regards

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry a rating of 4 stars

Orthodontist and X-ray staff were lovely

I was in the orthodontic department today and the dentist was lovely, they explained everything in detail, made sure I wasn't worried about anything, asked me if there was anything else I would like to know or ask and did not rush me at all. I also had some X-rays done and the radiographer was very lovely and kind. The only thing I had a issue with was when I was getting my photographs taken, I noticed the staff rinsed the mirror and other instruments (briefly) that were used so not sure if they were used on another patient before me, I did feel rather sick at this thought but I didn't want to be rude and ask. I do hope this wasn't the case as it's very unhygienic.

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 02 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry replied on 03 November 2016

Dear Patient

Thank you for posting a review about your visit to Birmingham Dental Hospital. We always welcome feedback and it is especially pleasing to read your positive comments about the clinicians working in the orthodontic and x-ray departments. I am sorry you did not feel able to ask questions about the cleanliness of the instruments used in the Clinical Illustration Department. I would like to assure you and any other patients reading this that all instrument trays used in the hospital are sterilised and therefore the instruments used with you were clean.

The Clinical Illustration Team prepare instrument trays prior to the patient arriving in the studio, so that everything is ready to start immediately. The Senior Clinical Photographer has asked me to explain that photographers will wet retractors so they are more comfortable for the patient when retracting the lips for the photographs and will warm the mirror so that patients breath does not steam the mirror up, which allows the best photograph to be taken for the clinical records.

I am sorry if this wasn't explained to you fully at the time. Your comments and concerns have been shared with the clinical illustration team as a reminder that when they wet the instruments they must explain why to each patient. Your feedback has also been shared with colleagues in the Orthodontic and x-ray departments.

Thank you again for your very valuable feedback.

Yours sincerely

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Report as unsuitable

Frank gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry a rating of 5 stars

A really supportive service

Well done to all the staff for a fantastic service.I visited the hospital in desperation after my own dentist couldn't extract a canine tooth because it had cracked beneath the gum line. I asked to be referred to the Birmingham Dental Hospital on the assumption that the hospital is equipped with all the latest facilities. I was suffering with a painful abscess with minor facial swelling. When I tried to use the 111'service to be referred as an emergency, I couldn't get an appointment because the advisor I spoke to was unable to appreciate the urgency of my need even though my problems had begun months before. The nurse that came to discuss my referral initially informed me I would have to arrange a routine appointment for an extraction but then noticed my facial swelling and offered an emergency appointment in the afternoon clinic. I had arrived at the hospital at about 12:15. It was such a relief to get someone to see me and I had a pleasant wait in the café just outside the general dentistry department. I informed the nurse I had to pick my daughter up from school at 16:20.Although I was told I would have to wait to be seen as and when it was possible and to inform the staff I was leaving if I wasn't seen before I had to leave which was fair enough, I was seen 25 minutes after afternoon clinic started at 13:30. I was promptly sent for an x-ray by a very understanding and experienced dentist. I was seen very quickly by the radiographer who was very thorough and a joy to deal with. On return to the general waiting area, I was seen again at about 14:20 by the dentist assessing my case. The dentist agreed I needed an extraction that afternoon and said they would book me in. When I asked them how long the extraction would take, I said it might not be possible for me to have treatment that day even though I really needed it because of the need to collect my 8 year old daughter from after school club at 16:20. I told the person I would have to leave by 15:30. They kindly checked with the dentist and nurse if it was going to be practical to extract that day and came back and said it would. I was called in at 14:50 and treated by two super staff. Both the dentist and nurse made me feel very relaxed about the procedure and within 25 minutes it was all over and I was able to leave to get my daughter 10 minutes before I had planned to leave. It was a good job too as I was still 10 minutes late collecting my daughter. I want to thank all of the staff who dealt with me that day. They were all fantastic and have taken away the excruciating pain I was enduring. I can't praise the department enough. The dentist who extracted my tooth has their own practice but works one day a week at the hospital. Without the commitment of staff there would be no service and I can see that working in the hospital is very demanding because it is always so busy.

Visited in November 2016. Posted on 21 November 2016

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry replied on 21 November 2016

Dear Frank

Thank you for your kind words about your experience visiting Birmingham Dental Hospital. To ensure your feedback reaches the individual staff involved, it would be really helpful if you could contact me with your details or with the names of the staff who you saw in the 3 different areas of the hospital. If you are happy to do this please either phone me on 0121 466 7128 or email Alison.last@bhamcommunity.nhs.uk at your convenience.

In the meantime your comments have been shared with the managers of the Primary Care Service, Oral Surgery Department and x-ray department.

Thank you again for your feedback which is very much appreciated.

Kind regards

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Report as unsuitable

paul m gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry a rating of 1 stars

impossible to contact - never return messages

I am currently under treatment - trying to arrange/rearrange an appointment - spend hours calling - leaving messages. Never had one returned.One of the worst service providers that I have ever come across

Visited in September 2016. Posted on 06 October 2016

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry replied on 06 October 2016

Dear Paul M

I am sorry to read that you have experienced problems contacting the hospital by phone as we have made recent changes to improve the volume of calls we are able to receive every day. I would be grateful if you would call me on 0121 466 7128 or email alison.last@bhamcommunity.nhs.uk with your details so that I can sort out your rearranged appointment with you. Alternatively you may prefer to speak to one of the Trust's Customer Services Team on freephone 0800 917 2855 They will be happy to liaise with the Dental Hospital on your behalf to arrange an appointment.

Please be assured that the the managers of the hospital are working hard to improve our telephony systems, and sincerely apologise to any patients who have experienced problems when calling.

I look forward to receiving your call or email when convenient to you.

Kind regards

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry a rating of 2 stars

Waiting forever for an appointment letter

Had a referral from my dentist and GP, went in to the hospital and spoke to someone from the oral medicine department. I needed a biopsy and the Dr was repeatedly trying to convince me not to go for a biopsy. After having said I've waited nearly 6 months, the Dr said they'd send a letter for a biopsy appointment. It has been nearly 2 months, and I have not heard back from them, even after calling and getting hung up on mid sentence, and no letter has arrived.

Visited in September 2016. Posted on 14 October 2016

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry replied on 24 October 2016

Dear Patient

I am very sorry you have experienced difficulties booking an appointment with Birmingham Dental Hospital. It is important that this is resolved and therefore please do email me on alison.last@bhamcommunity.nhs.uk or phone 0121 466 7128 Please leave a voicemail message if your call is not answered immediately and I will call you back the same day. In order to be able to look into this I will need to know your NHS Number or hospital number (both on the letter from the hospital) or your name, address and date of birth.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry a rating of 5 stars

Excellent service

I visited 15/9/16. I was very impressed by the students who carried out a thorough investigation. This was followed up by the clinician. It was reassuring and whilst professional was also very personal. Clearly standards are very high here. I left feeling very happy with the treatment and whole experience. Thank you

Visited in September 2016. Posted on 17 September 2016

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry replied on 20 September 2016

Dear Patient

Thank you for posting your feedback which has been shared with the Head of Clinical Practice. The standards you experienced are evidence of the importance placed on patient experience whilst training student dentists, dental nurses and dental hygienists. We are proud to be partnered with the University of Birmingham School of Dentistry, which is ranked first in the country for Dentistry in terms of 4* and 3* research, and is recognised as a place for leading scientists, professionals and students who want to achieve a degree in the dental and biomaterials professions.

Thank you again for taking time to give feedback.

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Report as unsuitable

Adrian T gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry a rating of 5 stars

Clean, professional and fast

On the day - v. helpful staff, efficient service, state of the art, short wait time - overall a very smooth visit. My only criticism would be the hospital switchboard were absolutely dire at answering the phone. I needed to rearrange my appointment, calling at a relatively quiet time of day (10am) I ended up being actively put through to complaints on the phone service by an operator elsewhere within the system, who tried for about 15 minutes solidly to connect me, after I'd done the same myself without their aid - no answer the whole time. This aside, it's a great place to receive treatment.

Visited in August 2016. Posted on 15 August 2016

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry replied on 16 August 2016

Dear Adrian T

Thank you for your feedback about your experience of Birmingham Dental Hospital. I am sorry you have had difficulties contacting us by telephone. We have made some changes and improvements to the phone systems but it sounds like you have experienced difficulties since these improvements have been made. In order to address this issue, it would be very helpful to know which numbers you called so we can check where these specific numbers are routed to when the line is busy. I would be very grateful if you could email me, Alison.last@bhamcommunity.nhs.uk, with the details of the numbers called or alternatively please phone me on 0121 466 7128. Please leave a message if I am unable to answer your call in person and I will call you back.

If you still need to contact the hospital about changing your appointment, please call the Customer Service team on 0800 9172855 who will be happy to liaise with the clinic / hospital on your behalf.

Kind regards

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous reviewed General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry

It's about one of my friends

I am upset my friend came to have her teeth fitted.but she was told that they had lost her teeth.it has been 15 months she has been waiting for her teeth. I think that is realy discusting.please pull your finger out please rhank you

Visited in July 2016. Posted on 04 August 2016

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital and School of Dentistry replied on 09 August 2016

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your friend. Please can you ask your friend to contact me and I will liaise with the dental team involved in her treatment. I can be contacted on 0121 466 7128 or email Alison.last@bhamcommunity.nhs.uk

Thank you again and please pass on my apologies to your friend for her disappointing experience.

Alison Last
Associate Director of Patient Experience
Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

Report as unsuitable

Last updated on 19 September 2016.

Information supplied by Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust