Birmingham Dental Hospital

Telephone: 0121 466 5000
Address: St Chad's Circus, Birmingham, B4 6NN
Website: http://www.bhamcommunity.nhs.uk/dental-hospital

3 out of 5 stars

Based on 104 ratings for this hospital

General dental treatment

3 Stars

3 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 104 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4 out of 5 stars

(97 ratings)

Staff co-operation

3.5 out of 5 stars

(101 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(99 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

3.5 out of 5 stars

(98 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(72 ratings)

Reviews

228 total

Joe gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Every one of You Deserve an Award.

I attended the Hospital yesterday as I had an abscess on my gum, when entering I was met by polite door staff who showed me the sign in area, the signed in quickly and politely all with a smile. The dental team who done the work were polite and always treated you as a person.

Never in my 55 years have I been treated so good anywhere in the NHS.
You are a credit and only if the NHS was run the way you run the Dental Hospital then there would be little complaint, you have restored my faith.
Thanking you with all my heart.
"all the best"
Joe O'Donnell

Visited in September 2014. Posted on 05 September 2014

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 05 September 2014

Thank you for this delightful feedback about your positive experience at Birmingham Dental Hospital. Your feedback has been shared with the reception and clinical staff involved in your visit and with senior clinical colleagues and managers. The staff at the hospital strive to provide an excellent patient experience and we are all grateful to you for taking time to give this feedback.

Report as unsuitable

Mr stuart gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

absolutely superb quality of care

We from the moment I walked in at Birmingham dental clinic every member of staff was polite and helpful in every way. I actually got I tooth out, the only thing waited around four hrs and I was one of the first there but hey the care more than made up for the wait I do it all again and when I got my tooth out there was a team of three one guy two woman what a laugh we had. they were very comforting and respectful polite to me can't fault them well done team superb job if these three was part of a dental team in the real world I would deffently sign up or register with there practise

Visited in September 2014. Posted on 19 September 2014

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 19 September 2014

This is lovely feedback, thank you for taking time to post your comments. We welcome feedback on all of our services, and should you need to visit the Dental Hospital at any time in the future, please do return to the NHS Choices site to tell us of your experience. Thank you.

Report as unsuitable

Emma gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Wonderful service.

I just felt that due to the service I received on the 24th Sept 14, I had to write to say Thank you. I attended the reception dept and was greeted by a lady who checked her PC and their was some confusion with my appointment date. This was not a problem as she contacted a staff nurse who was aware of my case from the contact with my dentist the day previous. I had to wait a while, this was no problem as I could see the staff were very busy. When my turn came I was introduced to a man. He was very good and insured me that I would have my wisdom tooth root extraction today.( music to my ears ). I has been suffering for a long time. I was sent to X-ray. A very efficient lady booked me in and in no time I was seen by a kind lady who explained this procedure to me. After X-ray I went back down stairs so they could check my X-ray. I was then escorted by a kind HCSW . I waited in a room to be called for my oral surgery. When it was my turn a smashing lady introduced herself to me . They also said that I has a dentist who was very good and that I was in safe hands. I felt very confident with the two of them. The full procedure was explained with the consequences of what could happen with nerve pain etc. A student asked permission if it would be alright if she observed, a delightful lady. We had a little chat whilst equipment was being set up. Thank you so much for making what is a unpleasant experience a more pleasant one. I work in the NHS myself and to be a patient and receive outstanding service is great. keep up the good work. The after care advice was great. God bless. A very happy patient. Emma. Xx

Visited in September 2014. Posted on 25 September 2014

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 26 September 2014

Thank you for making time to give us your feedback, which has been shared with the teams you came into contact with. I am always keen to understand what makes the experience especially positive or especially negative for patients so that we can learn and continue to develop and improve. I can see from your feedback the elements which made a difference were that staff took time to introduce themselves, to build trust and explain everything which helped you to feel safe throughout the visit. I will ensure your feedback is used in reflection and training programmes for other staff to learn from. Thank you again, Alison Last, Associate Director of Patient Experience, Bham Community Healthcare Trust.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

my experiance at dental hospital

Having visited the hospital today and had a tooth extracted. I would like to commend all the staff that I had contact with first rate. They where courteous and professional. I had arrived at the hospital at 6.55am and was seen at approx. 10.00 am eventually left at 11.45 am. Which I thought was very good. I think you all do an excellent job. Thank you very much.

Visited in June 2014. Posted on 06 June 2014

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 17 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback about your visit to Birmingham Dental Hospital Primary Care Service. I apologise for the delay in responding to your feedback and sharing it with the team; the delay has been caused by a technical problem which has now been resolved.

Report as unsuitable

Jue_Priest gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Visit on 22/05/2014 to have wisdom tooth extracted.

I visited Birmingham dental hospital on 22/05/2014 to have the rest of my wisdom tooth extracted as an emergency. I was in a lot of pain as my dentist had tried to extract the tooth the day before and could not achieve this, leaving my roots and rest of the tooth exposed, which was very painful. The dental staff and support staff at Birmingham dental hospital were absolutely brilliant and caring with me. They were totally professional and sensitive to the fact I was very nervous as the first attempt by my dentist had failed and left me in pain. The student dental nurses were lovely and so supportive, I am so grateful that they helped me through it. The dental surgeon, (I am sorry I do not know his name) but he carried out the procedure at 2.00 pm on 22/05/14 and my name is Mrs Julia Priestley, was completely brilliant, professional and caring and I cannot thank him enough. I am sure that you are proud to have such a dedicated, professional and kind team at your dental hospital, including all of your students. Thank you so much for helping me out of the pain I was in, please pass on my thanks to all. Thank you.

The only point I would ask you to look at if possible is that whilst I was waiting in the waiting area it did appear to me that some people who were also waiting to see a dentist did not appear to be in pain or discomfort with their teeth. I accept I may be wrong about this, some people hide their pain and discomfort well and I apologise if this is the case. However, I think some system of prioritizing people who are in real pain would be very wise and the right thing to do. Thank you all so much again. Kind Regards, Mrs Julia Priestley. xxx

Visited in May 2014. Posted on 23 May 2014

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 24 May 2014

Thank you for taking time and trouble to give your feedback which will be shared with the team in Primary Care. It is very important to us that patients have a positive experience when visiting Birmingham Dental Hospital and that staff are courteous, professional and caring at all times. We are delighted this was the case during your visit. Thank you for your comments on how the service could be even better for patients. Your feedback will be discussed by the clinical and management team and any improvements possible made as a result.

Report as unsuitable

Patrick H gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 3 stars

Great visit, apart from the dentist herself - very rude

Attended this morning as a filling had broken and was causing me pain.

Altogether a satisfactory visit, very efficient in terms of minimal delays.
The admittals staff were pretty brusque, but perhaps have to be, to limit the numbers trying to force their way in without having to wait like the rest of us in the freezing cold!

Flowed well from one department to another (reception, clinic, xray, back to clinic). Everybody was pleasant and efficient.

But the dentist who assessed me barely acknowledged me. She was very disrespectful, disinterested and cold in manner, not an attitude I have come across in a dentist in my 40 odd year experience. She put me wholly on edge.

In fact I didn't want her to do my treatment as I didn't trust her to do the best job, but only the professionalism of the assistant convinced me to go ahead. To be honest, the junior came across as the senior of the two.

After my tooth was temporarily filled, I wanted to request to start a course of treatment with a student - but her demeanor made her unapproachable and I am now left with instructions to somehow find a dentist myself and get a follow up appointment within a week, which is not what I want at all and not possible under my circumstances.

My previous visit to a dentist resulted in a growth which took 4 years to resolve so you can imagine I wasn't in a rush to go back. But for this to be my first experience when I did return is a mighty shame. All down to one person and their appalling attitude.

Visited in April 2014. Posted on 09 April 2014

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 09 April 2014

Thank you for taking time to give your feedback and I am sorry you found the attitude of one dentist to be poor. It is pleasing to read of the professionalism of their colleague and that you were able to have the treatment you needed. It is extremely important to us that staff behave in a professional and courteous manner at all times, and therefore your feedback will be shared with the team working in the Primary Care Service to enable them to learn and improve where necessary. In order to assist you to find a local dentist to complete your treatment, please contact the Customer Service team on 0800 917 2855 or email contact.bchc@nhs.net and one of the team will pleased to help you.

Report as unsuitable

karen horsburgh gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

holiday toothache !!!!!!!!1

I had the unfortunate experience of toothache whilst on holiday this week , looked online and found the dental hospital , took the advice of the other reviews and turned up early (645 am) , doors opened at 730am , the first 15 ppl are seen in the morning , same in the afternoon , unlucky if ure no16 in the queue ! registration is from 9am , was pretty slow , saw the dentist about 10am , was taken for an xray then back into the waiting room , dental nurse came out , took me upstairs to the "oral surgery" room and thats where i found out myself i was getting a tooth out , perhaps a little more communication would have been better ! saw dentist who told me a student would take the tooth out , tooth got extracted very easily with no problems at all , staff very , very nice .
Overall experience i would say is be prepared for a long wait , i was 5 hrs from start to finish , but as you are getting it free of charge , well worth it ! Thanxs again to everyone who dealt with me

Visited in April 2014. Posted on 17 April 2014

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 19 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback which helps us to review how and when the need for an extraction is communicated to patients. This will be discussed with the clinical team and any improvements made.

Report as unsuitable

Nadia Said gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Thank you so much for excellent treatment & service

I came to get 2 wisdom teeth removed & was really impressed with everyone today- from the receptionist to the radiographer, the dentist & students/ assistants. Everyone was really polite, pleasant & very professional. Also, I was pleasantly surprised that I didn't wait long at all, despite the large number of people & how busy the department seemed. It worked very efficiently. The only downside was that the building is old & dingy, but that isn't up to the staff & the rest of the experience was so positive, it trumped that single downside.

All in all, excellent 5 star service. Thank you.

Visited in March 2014. Posted on 13 March 2014

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 13 March 2014

Thank you for this lovely feedback about your visit to Birmingham Dental Hospital, which has been shared with the clinical team. We are delighted that the plans to build a new Dental Hospital for Birmingham are well underway, and we hope to move services to the new hospital towards the end of 2015. Information about the new hospital can be found using the following URL to the Bham Community Healthcare Trust website http://www.bhamcommunity.nhs.uk/about-us/clinical-services/specialist-services/dental-hospital/new-dental-hospital/faqs/

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Absolute waste of time

Due to being on and off antibiotics for my impacting wisdom tooth, and having booked an appointment for the dental hospital only for a review to be done in 2 months time?! I could not stand the pain any longer I got to the hospital at 6am doors opened at 7.30 i was second in the line. The wait didn't bother me and i was seen around 9am where i was greeted by a dentist in which i thought was a student who rushed through my questions and did not listen to anything i had to say. Being a nurse myself I found myself getting very frustrated as I'd been through so much pain for months and just wanted the tooth out! She would not listen to me and did not even send me to x-ray, instead she looked in my mouth - whacked my tooth to the point it was about to break with a utensil which made me scream in pain. She then went onto explain she'd "clean it" and send me home on antibiotics, again?! As she was speaking all i could do was cry in agony, she then asked me to wait in the waiting room where i was left to cry in public (not taking into account any patient well being) where I then waited 5 minutes to be called in for my clean. When i asked about pain relief i was told to take paracetomol and ibruprofen which obviously i have already been taking for 3 months, thinking she may prescribe me something a bit stronger. So now after having to call in sick from work and losing out on wages my "plan" is to wait till i finish my antibiotics and to go back to my dentist and pay £18 to be put back onto antibiotics when the pain returns (which will be straight away) Why couldn't they just take it out like everyone else? I'm in so much pain I feel like just cutting the thing out myself. Being a nurse myself i am absolutely disgusted that I have been sent home in this much pain!

Visited in February 2014. Posted on 06 February 2014

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 10 February 2014

I am very sorry that you did not feel you were listened to, nor your pain managed as you had expected when you visited Birmingham Dental Hospital. Your feedback has been discussed with the Senior Nurse in Primary Care. The Primary Care Service provides emergency pain relief which may have meant that it was not appropriate to extract the tooth as you had expected. You would have been given emergency treatment (which you described as the clean and prescribing antibiotics) and would be referred back to your own Dentist for on-going pain management. From lyour description of events, we have ooked at our records and understand you have a Consultant appointment in 2 months time.

If you wish to be placed on the cancellation list, which would mean you may be offered an earlier appointment at short notice, when cancelled by another patient, please contact the Appointments Office on 0121 466 5555 who will be happy to assist you.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave General dental treatment at Birmingham Dental Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Dental Referral by GP

First time visit and very impressed with the professionalism, courtesy and support of all I encountered from reception staff through to technicians and dental professionals. They guided me through the treatment and explained my options.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Dental Hospital to others.

Visited in February 2014. Posted on 07 February 2014

Report as unsuitable

Birmingham Dental Hospital replied on 10 February 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback about the service you received when you visited Birmingham Dental Hospital. Your feedback has been shared with colleagues but in order to forward to the team involved in your care and treatment, please contact Alison Last, Associate Director of Patient Experience via email alison.last@bhamcommunity.nhs.uk or phone 0121 466 7128 to provide details about the service you visited.

Report as unsuitable

Last updated on 05 September 2011.

Information supplied by Birmingham Community Healthcare NHS Trust