Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham

Telephone: 0121 627 2000
Address: Mindelsohn Way, Edgbaston, Birmingham, B15 2WB
Website: http://www.uhb.nhs.uk

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 109 ratings for this hospital

Urology

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 109 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4 out of 5 stars

(111 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(111 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(111 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(110 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(91 ratings)

Reviews

156 total

edddy james gave Urology at Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham a rating of 5 stars

5 day stay in urology ward 625

These few words can not express my extreme gratitude to all the staff who worked on ward 625 during my stay on the said ward.From the ever cheerfull cleaning staff,student nurses always seemed to know what how &when to do something i wish you all success in your future ,nurses always on the go, staff nurses trying to organise everything, sisters calming influence itself. May please thank you most deeply for your care & attention during my recent stay with you . Thank you

Visited in July 2014. Posted on 21 July 2014

Report as unsuitable

Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham replied on 05 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience of Urology Services delivered by the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. We are delighted that you have had such a positive experience. Your comments have been passed onto the senior staff responsible for this service; they will ensure your feedback is shared with their team members.
It is a real morale boost for staff to receive feedback like this from patients and their relatives. It means such a lot to know that the hard work, dedication and commitment of our staff is recognised and valued in this way. It is also very satisfying for staff to hear they have made such a difference to patients and made sure your experience under our care has been positive.
At University Hospitals Birmingham we are always keen to receive feedback from our patients and visitors as it helps us to ensure we are delivering the best in care. Please continue to tell us if things went well so that we can share this with the teams who cared for you. If we don’t get it right please let us know so that we can take action to make sure we get it right in the future.
There are a number of ways you can do this, some of which are listed below;
- Fill out our patient experience surveys; we have them for day case or short stay patients, inpatients, and those who attend the Emergency Department. There are general surveys asking about all aspects of your experience as well as others relating to specific aspects of your stay e.g. the operating theatre and food. You may also be contacted by post and given the opportunity to complete a survey relating to your discharge from hospital or your outpatient attendance.
- Fill in a Trust feedback leaflet, displayed in all patient and public areas – please ask staff if they are not easily visible.
- Become a ‘mystery patient’ and tell us about your experience, you can do this just once or each time you attend the hospital.
For further information on these and other ways you can give us your feedback please contact patientexperience@uhb.nhs.uk or telephone us on 0121 371 4491/2

Report as unsuitable

David Docker gave Urology at Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham a rating of 5 stars

Another Operation

Since 2010, I have had 7 Prostate/Bladder Neck Incision related operations. Four of these have been at the Queen Elizabeth. Hopefully I shall not need anymore, but, should it be necessary then the Queen Elizabeth is the only hospital that I want to go to. From the Urology Dept. under the Advanced Nurse Practitioners, Pre-Op's, across the passage to Cystoscopy, the Admissions Nurses, the Anesthetists, Operating teams, recovery room Nurses and 624 the Urology Wards. In fact everyone that you meet is a Professional in every way. You are respected, your are treated with dignity. Having lost my wife, and having a depression, they having ascertained this, ensured that I was seen by the Psychiatric experts, to ensure my peace of mind and safety. What more can a patient ask for. The food was great, Oh! no it wasn't, whilst in recovery I was offered a sandwich. With your mouth dry as a bone, have you ever tried to eat a sandwich. I am smiling writing this because if that is all that I can find to complain about, things can't be too bad. Well don Queen Elizabeth and thank you.

Visited in July 2014. Posted on 31 July 2014

Report as unsuitable

Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham replied on 05 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. We are delighted that you have had such a positive experience and that we have consistently delivered care and treatment of such a high standard over a number of years. Your comments have been passed onto the senior staff responsible for the services that treated you; they will ensure your feedback is shared with their team members.
It is a real morale boost for staff to receive feedback like this from patients and their relatives. It means such a lot to know that the hard work, dedication and commitment of our staff is recognised and valued in this way. It is also very satisfying for staff to hear they have made such a difference to patients and made sure your experience under our care has been positive.
At University Hospitals Birmingham we are always keen to receive feedback from our patients and visitors as it helps us to ensure we are delivering the best in care. Please continue to tell us if things went well so that we can share this with the teams who cared for you. If we don’t get it right please let us know so that we can take action to make sure we get it right in the future.
There are a number of ways you can do this, some of which are listed below;
- Fill out our patient experience surveys; we have them for day case or short stay patients, inpatients, and those who attend the Emergency Department. There are general surveys asking about all aspects of your experience as well as others relating to specific aspects of your stay e.g. the operating theatre and food. You may also be contacted by post and given the opportunity to complete a survey relating to your discharge from hospital or your outpatient attendance.
- Fill in a Trust feedback leaflet, displayed in all patient and public areas – please ask staff if they are not easily visible.
- Become a ‘mystery patient’ and tell us about your experience, you can do this just once or each time you attend the hospital.
For further information on these and other ways you can give us your feedback please contact patientexperience@uhb.nhs.uk or telephone us on 0121 371 4491/2

Report as unsuitable

David Docker gave Urology at Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham a rating of 5 stars

All that I can say is Superb and Thank You

I had, yet again, to go to the Outpatients for Urology. Very promptly I was seen by a Nurse who asserted all the facts about me, took my blood pressure and quizzed me regarding my medications. They had a very pleasant disposition and was very respectful. I then dressed for the Cystoscopy examination that I had come for. Here the nurse, Registrar and Consultant were so warm and welcoming. They did their job with great care,
unfortunately they determined that I need another Bladder Neck Incision, C'est la vie. Never the less, my experience was very positive and I appreciate their skills and professionalism. This professionalism, this time by the Nurse, established the excellence of their Duty of Care. When the welcoming Nurse was taking down the details of my medications, we came to my anti-depressants. I told them that 20 months previously I had lost my wonderful wife, which had devastated me and still had me as suicidal periodically. I then referred that a lifetime friend of 75 years, was riddled with Cancer and had about one month to live. Of course this too was very distressing particularly at my time of life. I then explained to them about my golf. Golf being the mainstay of my life these days. However, as I had not been able to play for 6 months, my fitness levels were very low and I struggled to walk around the course. It is a catch 22 situation. If I don't want to play golf because my performance is so poor, I do not get to walk to raise my fitness. Equally if I do not walk I can't play golf.
Such was the Duty of Care with this Nurse, they made me see the RAID team to ensure that I would be safe going home. They too in A&E were so welcoming, friendly and very professional. It meant that I was at the Hospital for a period of an extra 3 hours. But I cannot complain, I would prefer that, than to go home psychologically unsafe.
All that I can add is thank you Queen Elizabeth Hospital, yet again you have done me proud. I am so glad that I live in the Birmingham area.

Visited in March 2014. Posted on 17 March 2014

Report as unsuitable

Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham replied on 19 March 2014

Dear Mr Docker

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience of the Urology Outpatient Clinic and RAID team at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. We are very pleased that you had such a positive experience during your care and treatment at our hospital. It is always good to hear that our staff have been able to provide such compassionate care to our patients. Your comments and thanks have been passed onto the senior staff responsible for these services; they will ensure your feedback is shared with their team members.

It is a real morale boost for staff to receive feedback like this from patients and their relatives. It means such a lot to know that the hard work, dedication and commitment of our staff is recognised and valued in this way. It is also very satisfying for staff to hear they have made such a difference to patients and made sure your experience under our care has been positive.

At University Hospitals Birmingham we are always keen to receive feedback from our patients and visitors as it helps us to ensure we are delivering the best in care. Please continue to tell us if things went well so that we can share this with the teams who cared for you. If we don’t get it right please let us know so that we can take action to make sure we get it right in the future.

There are a number of ways you can do this, some of which are listed below;

- Fill out our patient experience surveys; we have them for day case or short stay patients, inpatients, and those who attend the Emergency Department. There are general surveys asking about all aspects of your experience as well as others relating to specific aspects of your stay e.g. the operating theatre and food. You may also be contacted by post and given the opportunity to complete a survey relating to your discharge from hospital or your outpatient attendance.

- Fill in a Trust feedback leaflet, displayed in all patient and public areas – please ask staff if they are not easily visible.

- Become a ‘mystery patient’ and tell us about your experience, you can do this just once or each time you attend the hospital.

For further information on these and other ways you can give us your feedback please contact patientexperience@uhb.nhs.uk or telephone us on 0121 371 4491/2

Report as unsuitable

David Docker gave Urology at Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham a rating of 5 stars

Yet another praise for Urology

I arrived at the QE probably 20 minutes prior to my appointment for a flow test. I used the automated arrival machine and went to the waiting area. Within seconds my name came up to go to another waiting area. Before I had sat down the CRN in charge called for me. I had met her before, and had found that she was brilliant. This time I spoke about some mental issues that I had. Sending me to start drinking water, she said that she would phone my GP's Surgery. When I had drank enough I was called to take my flow test. She informed me that she had arranged an appointment for me at my GP's surgery for later that afternoon. She is not aware of the aftermath but resulted in the Psychiatric Hospital phoning me to calm an Anxiety episode. My Blood Pressure was at 193/108 with a heart rate of 92. The Hospital Duty Worker calmed me in about 35 minutes and my blood pressures returned to normal. I would like to thank that CRN for helping me, even though it was towards another branch of the NHS. Thank you Ma'am. Your involvement could well have saved me greater problems.

Visited in October 2013. Posted on 13 October 2013

Report as unsuitable

Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham replied on 26 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. We are very pleased that you had such a positive experience during your visit to the Urology Department. It is good to hear that the service you received was so efficient and that our Clinical Nurse Specialist was able to support you so well. Your comments have been passed onto the senior staff responsible for Urology; they will ensure your feedback is shared with their team members.
It is a real morale boost for staff to receive feedback like this from patients and their relatives. It means such a lot to know that the hard work, dedication and commitment of our staff is recognised and valued in this way. It is also very satisfying for staff to hear they have made such a difference to patients and made sure your experience under our care has been positive.
At University Hospitals Birmingham we are always keen to receive feedback from our patients and visitors as it helps us to ensure we are delivering the best in care. Please continue to tell us if things went well so that we can share this with the teams who cared for you. If we don’t get it right please let us know so that we can take action to make sure we get it right in the future.
There are a number of ways you can do this, some of which are listed below;
? Fill out our patient experience surveys; we have them for day case or short stay patients, inpatients, and those who attend the Emergency Department. There are general surveys asking about all aspects of your experience as well as others relating to specific aspects of your stay e.g. the operating theatre and food. You may also be contacted by post and given the opportunity to complete a survey relating to your discharge from hospital or your outpatient attendance.
? Fill in a Trust feedback leaflet, displayed in all patient and public areas – please ask staff if they are not easily visible.
? Become a ‘mystery patient’ and tell us about your experience, you can do this just once or each time you attend the hospital.
For further information on these and other ways you can give us your feedback please contact patientexperience@uhb.nhs.uk or telephone us on 0121 371 4491/2

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Urology at Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham a rating of 5 stars

Extremely Satisfied at High Standard of Care - Urology

Whilst I rarely write reviews of my own experiences, I feel thoroughly compelled in this instance to convey my gratitude toward the staff of the Queen Elizabeth hospital in Birmingham, following my recent experience of surgery.

Following my consultation with a GP, I was referred to the QE Clinical Decision Unit, in light of a suspected problem of which I was advised would need to be treated within a certain time frame to reduce the likelihood of any permanent damage or loss being sustained.

Unfortunately, the GP with whom I had my consultation did not convey to the CDU when contacting them for my referral, the potential implications of time sensitivity owing to the nature of my suspected condition. This lead to me having to wait for an extended period of time in the waiting room of the CDU, obviously causing a great deal of distress to myself that the time in which I needed to be treated was of the essence.

As a result, I managed to catch the attention of a doctor in the waiting room and was able to explain my situation. Being most understanding, she quickly conveyed to her surgical colleague the nature of my problem, who promptly called me for an examination.

Whilst she was shocked that my GP had not contacted a surgeon directly as an emergency, she was quick to concur that my symptoms suggested the above diagnosis to be correct and recommended that I be taken into theatre following a consultation with the urologist on call. Though slightly overwhelmed at the prospect of surgery, I was hugely impressed by her level of efficiency and professionalism.

The Consultant Urologist, arrived promptly and I was able to discuss undergoing exploratory surgery with the two surgeons, both of whom were extremely informative in explaining the procedure in such a way that I was made to feel at ease.

Having consented to surgery, within 45 minutes of my initial consultation I was prepped and taken to the theatre to be anaesthetised. The team of anaesthetists and porters were extremely pleasant and thorough in their preparations, which gave me confidence in the procedure I was about to undergo.

Upon waking, whilst slightly dazed and confused but in no pain, I was fortunate to be told that no problems were discovered and the surgery was a success. I was taken to a private room by the porters where I was able to sleep of the remnants of the anaesthetic. I was made to feel well cared for by the nurses on the ward who made me comfortable until the doctor arrived in the morning.

My Consultant arrived in the morning to inform of what had been undertaken during my surgery and the success of the operation. His level of professionalism was exuded through the manner in which he was able to convey precise details though medical terminology, which was explained in such a way that could be easily understood a lay man.

Owing to the efficiency of the many members of staff, I was able to be discharged by midday.

Visited in October 2013. Posted on 29 October 2013

Report as unsuitable

Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham replied on 26 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. We are very pleased that you had such a positive experience during the time you were cared for by the Clinical Decision Unit and Urology Services, although we are very sorry that you experienced an initial delay in being seen. Your comments have been passed onto the senior staff responsible for these services; they will ensure your feedback is shared with their team members.
It is a real morale boost for staff to receive feedback like this from patients and their relatives. It means such a lot to know that the hard work, dedication and commitment of our staff is recognised and valued in this way. It is also very satisfying for staff to hear they have made such a difference to patients and made sure your experience under our care has been positive.
At University Hospitals Birmingham we are always keen to receive feedback from our patients and visitors as it helps us to ensure we are delivering the best in care. Please continue to tell us if things went well so that we can share this with the teams who cared for you. If we don’t get it right please let us know so that we can take action to make sure we get it right in the future.
There are a number of ways you can do this, some of which are listed below;
? Fill out our patient experience surveys; we have them for day case or short stay patients, inpatients, and those who attend the Emergency Department. There are general surveys asking about all aspects of your experience as well as others relating to specific aspects of your stay e.g. the operating theatre and food. You may also be contacted by post and given the opportunity to complete a survey relating to your discharge from hospital or your outpatient attendance.
? Fill in a Trust feedback leaflet, displayed in all patient and public areas – please ask staff if they are not easily visible.
? Become a ‘mystery patient’ and tell us about your experience, you can do this just once or each time you attend the hospital.
For further information on these and other ways you can give us your feedback please contact patientexperience@uhb.nhs.uk or telephone us on 0121 371 4491/2

Report as unsuitable

dubba70 gave Urology at Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham a rating of 5 stars

So pleased with my treatment

Having had to visit Spain twicein the past 6 weeks I can only now write my review. I had to have both Urethral and Supra Pubic catheters removed after a succesful operation. The catheters were taken out by Female Nurses, well the very highly qualified ones. I must say they showed me maximum possible dignity, carried out their work in a light hearted manner, which matched my feelings exactly. They were brilliant. Thank you.

Visited in May 2013. Posted on 09 July 2013

Report as unsuitable

Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham replied on 31 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. We are very pleased that you had such a positive experience whilst being cared for by our Urology team.
Your comments have been passed onto the senior staff responsible for the area you visited; they will ensure your feedback is shared with their team members.
It is a real morale boost for staff to receive feedback like this from patients. It means such a lot to know that the hard work, dedication and commitment of our staff is recognised and valued in this way. It is also very satisfying for staff to hear they have made such a difference to patients and made sure your experience under our care has been positive.
At University Hospitals Birmingham we are always keen to receive feedback from our patients and visitors as it helps us to ensure we are delivering the best in care. Please continue to tell us if things went well so that we can share this with the teams who cared for you. If we didn’t get it right please let us know so that we can take action to make sure we get it right in the future.
There are a number of ways you can do this, some of which are listed below;
? Fill out our patient experience surveys; we have them for day case or short stay patients, inpatients, and those who attend the Emergency Department. There are general surveys asking about all aspects of your experience as well as others relating to specific aspects of your stay e.g. the operating theatre and food. You may also be contacted by post and given the opportunity to complete a survey relating to your discharge from hospital or your outpatient attendance.
? Fill in a Trust feedback leaflet, displayed in all patient and public areas – please ask staff if they are not easily visible.
? Become a ‘mystery patient’ and tell us about your experience, you can do this just once or each time you attend the hospital.
For further information on these and other ways you can give us your feedback please contact patientexperience@uhb.nhs.uk or telephone us on 0121 371 4491/2

Report as unsuitable

Donna gave Urology at Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham a rating of 5 stars

Thank you

I just wanted to say how lovely the continance nurse was yesterday. It's really embarrasing having problems with your waterworks, but she was so lovely and just put me right at ease.
Thank you
Donna

Visited in April 2013. Posted on 24 April 2013

Report as unsuitable

Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham replied on 30 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. We are very pleased that you had such a positive experience.
Your comments have been passed onto the senior staff responsible for the Continence Nursing team; they will ensure your feedback is shared with their team members.
It is a real morale boost for staff to receive feedback like this from patients. It means such a lot to know that the hard work, dedication and commitment of our staff is recognised and valued in this way. It is also very satisfying for staff to hear they have made such a difference to patients and made sure your experience under our care has been positive.
If you would like further information on services at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham or would like to discuss any thing in more detail please contact PALS by phone 0121 371 3280, by email PALS@uhb.nhs.uk, via the hospital website http://www.uhb.nhs.uk/pals-form.htm or in person by dropping in between 9am – 4.30pm (Mon-Fri) to the PALS office located to the left of the Information Desk in the main entrance of the new Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham.
Thank you once again for your kind comments.

Report as unsuitable

David Docker gave Urology at Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham a rating of 5 stars

My third visit to the QE

My third visit to the QE in 12 months was very satisfying. The care and concern shown by the admission nurses was very, very nice as was the journey by chair that I had to take with a Porter. A very pleasant man and an interesting conversation. The anaesthetic room was my next port of call. The anaethetists, the nurses and the surgeons were all superb, their professionalism and concern in me, made me feel proud to live in Birmingham. The Recovery nurses as well as the ward staff led by the Ward Sister were a joy. I do not like going into Hospital, but if I have to, the QE would be where I would choose to go.
Well done the QE keep it up. The place was spotless and the food very acceptable. If I were to criticise in any way it would be the architects who would be at the receiving end of comments.
My bedroom was opposite the staff carpark, which was a joke, queueing for seemingly ages. Yet there is a piece of waste ground behind the bus shelter which would accomodate at least 20 cars. Whilst it is so nice to have so many green areas at a hospital, surely the staff well being and ease of car parking is of a greater priority. The staff gain the high ratings for your hospital, if they leave, because of difficulty parking, it would be self defeating.
Again, well done the QE and thank you for your care kindness consideration, shown to me, and above all the sheer professionalism from all the staff.

Visited in April 2013. Posted on 01 May 2013

Report as unsuitable

Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham replied on 03 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. We are very pleased that you had such a positive experience.
Your comments have been passed onto the senior staff responsible for the areas you visited and the staff members you have mentioned; they will ensure your feedback is shared with their teams.
It is a real morale boost for staff to receive feedback like this from patients. It means such a lot to know that the hard work, dedication and commitment of our staff is recognised and valued in this way. It is also very satisfying for staff to hear they have made such a difference to patients and made sure your experience under our care has been positive.
Your observations regarding the issue of staff parking were shared with the PFI Performance Manager who has provided the following information which hopefully you will find useful:
‘Car parking on the Queen Elizabeth Medical Centre (QEMC) is shared between the University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust (UHB), Birmingham Women’s NHS Foundation Trust and Birmingham and Solihull Mental Healthcare Trust. The parcel of land which you referenced belongs to Birmingham Women’s Trust and is used by them as a ‘late shift car park’ which opens at 11.00am in the morning for their staff who start work later in the day.

UHB has over 2,000 staff spaces on the QEMC site and closely monitors demand to ensure these are used effectively. In addition we continue to implement our Green Travel plan to encourage as many staff as possible to travel to work by bus, train or by bicycle to help reduce car park pressures.’
If you would like further information on services at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham or would like to discuss any thing in more detail please contact PALS by phone 0121 371 3280, by email PALS@uhb.nhs.uk, via the hospital website http://www.uhb.nhs.uk/pals-form.htm or in person by dropping in between 9am – 4.30pm (Mon-Fri) to the PALS office located to the left of the Information Desk in the main entrance of the new Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham.

Report as unsuitable

Dubba70 gave Urology at Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham a rating of 5 stars

My first day at the QE, this time

I arrived at 6-30am, very early for the 7-00am admissions. I didn't read my appointment letter sufficiently so I was surprised to find the admissions ward had been moved to the old QE. On entering the Hospital I was politely told of the change and shown the directions. At the admissions ward the sister was most welcoming and assuring. I met the Anaesthetist, the Surgeon etc. and after all the palarva over name birth day, allergies etc. I was soon whisked away,. suitably attired in embolism stockings and a 'smart' dress. I was escorted by an elderly and pleasant man. We arrived at the Anaesthetic ante room when I was put at ease and very soon put under. All of the Theatre staff were very welcoming and reassuring. The surgeons then did their job and two hours later I was coming round in the recovery room. A very attentive sister was monitoring my recovery. Later I was transhipped up to. the ward and met the Consultant Surgeons and learned in detail of what had been done, I might add successfully. The ward sisters and nurses were brilliant. No one likes to go into hospital, particularly for surgery, but I can say that it was a very pleasant experience.
I was shown respect, consideration, kindness, caring and above all, professionalism . What good service from the Nurses, Sisters, Doctors, Anaesthetists. right up to the 'Misters'.Thank you the Queen Elizabeth .Hospital

Visited in February 2013. Posted on 12 February 2013

Report as unsuitable

Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham replied on 18 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. We are very pleased that you have had such a positive experience during your stay.

Your feedback has been passed on to the senior managers of the areas that treated you; they will ensure it is shared with their teams. It is a real morale boost for staff to receive feedback like this from patients. It means such a lot to know that the hard work, dedication and commitment of our staff is recognised and valued in this way. It is also very satisfying for staff to hear they have made such a difference to patients and made sure your experience under our care has been positive.

If you would like further information on services at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham or would like to discuss any thing in more detail please contact PALS by phone 0121 371 3280, by email PALS@uhb.nhs.uk, via the hospital website http://www.uhb.nhs.uk/pals-form.htm or in person by dropping in between 9am – 4.30pm (Mon-Fri) to the PALS office located to the left of the Information Desk in the main entrance of the new Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham.

Thank you once again for your kind comments.

Report as unsuitable

David Docker gave Urology at Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham a rating of 5 stars

Excellence needs to be praised

too many people are prepared to criticise the NHS. I feel that it is equally important to praise the NHS and its staff when applicable. The nurses that I saw at my Pre-op assessment were so welcoming and reassuring. Their professionalism gave me greater confidence to carry me through my intended operation. Well done the Queen Elizabeth. Oh! I could certainly criticise the building, it was certainly not designed by the people who organise the operation of the hospital. Too many very large pillars in the way in the waiting areas. If you sit the wrong side you will not hear your name being called.

Visited in January 2013. Posted on 24 January 2013

Report as unsuitable

Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham replied on 31 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham. We are very pleased that you have had such a positive experience during your visit to the Pre-Assessment Clinic.

It is a real morale boost for staff to receive feedback like this from patients. It means such a lot to know that the hard work, dedication and commitment of our staff is recognised and valued in this way. It is also very satisfying for staff to hear they have made such a difference to patients and made sure your experience under our care has been positive. Your feedback has been passed on to the senior managers of the area that you visited; they will ensure it is shared with their teams.

If you would like further information on services at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham or would like to discuss any thing in more detail please contact PALS by phone 0121 371 3280, by email PALS@uhb.nhs.uk, via the hospital website http://www.uhb.nhs.uk/pals-form.htm or in person by dropping in between 10-4pm (Mon-Fri) to the PALS office located to the left of the Information Desk in the main entrance of the new Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham.

Thank you once again for your kind comments.

Report as unsuitable

Last updated on 29 June 2010.

Information supplied by University Hospital Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust