St Thomas'

Telephone: 020 7188 7188
Address: Westminster Bridge Road, Westminster Bridge Road, London, SE1 7EH
Website: http://www.guysandstthomas.nhs.uk

4 out of 5 stars

Based on 67 ratings for this hospital

4 Stars

4 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 67 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4 out of 5 stars

(65 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4 out of 5 stars

(66 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(65 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4 out of 5 stars

(65 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(49 ratings)

Reviews

151 total | 8 found in Maternity service Show all reviews

  • Page 1 of 1

Anonymous gave Maternity service at St Thomas' a rating of 5 stars

5 star Maternity care

Having recently delivered my first child at St Thomas' I can't thank the antenatal, delivery and post natal staff enough. I can not fault the nursing staff (the post natal receptionist is another matter; the women working on the afternoon of 8/3/14 was extremely rude to patients, visitors and verging on disrespectful to our midwife) they were amazing, the continuity of care was fantastic. People in general are too quick to criticise our maternity services and you never hear enough people championing a great experience, which is exactly what I had.

The facilities, rooms and clinics were spotlessly clean, modern and welcoming. A real breath of fresh air! I came away feeling elated and well cared for.

Visited in March 2014. Posted on 20 March 2014

Report as unsuitable

St Thomas' replied on 25 March 2014

We were absolutely delighted to receive your positive feedback and will ensure it is shared with department staff. We were however, very sorry to hear about the postnatal receptionist on duty at the time and will ensure this is looked into. We would be grateful if you could contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) via pals@gstt.nhs.uk or by calling 0207188 8801 so we can investigate this matter further.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Maternity service at St Thomas' a rating of 5 stars

fantastic maternity services

2 weeks ago I gave birth to my first baby at st Thomas hospital. The antenatal care I received was second to none especially as this wasn't the easiest of pregnancies! I had 4 home visits from the surrey quays midwives during my labour and when I was ready we went to hospital.
The care I received in the maternity unit was awesome. I had a fairly long labour which involved using the pool room, the home from home centre, the birth centre and the theatre. Eventually our baby was delivered via forceps and all went very well. The care I received after the birth whilst on the post natal ward was also great.
To top all of this off, I have received better aftercare than I could ever imagine. The home visits from the midwives has been great.
Special mentions go to 3 of the surrey quays midwives; and also to the doctor who delivered our gorgeous baby girl.
Thank you all so very much!!!
Nicola, Michael & baby Scarlett xxx

Visited in January 2014. Posted on 21 January 2014

Report as unsuitable

St Thomas' replied on 17 February 2014

Thank you for the fantastic feedback.  We were very pleased to hear you had such a positive experience both in the hospital and at home.  We will share your feedback in our weekly directorate newsletter and also share with the team.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Maternity service at St Thomas' a rating of 5 stars

Really surprised

I gave birth to my first child here 48hours ago (I'm still here in fact)
I never leave a review and usually see myself as a harsh critique but I feel obliged to do so this time just because I truly deeply thankful all the staff who took care of the baby, myself and my family members.

I'm very surprised at the level of care, services and the standard of the staff since all I heard about NHS until now has not been something I wanted to experience myself. Contrary to my expectation, however, the entire experience was just so much better than I expected that I actually thought maybe I'm mistaken with somebody else who was important!

Even my mother, who is used to the highest standards of services (not necessarily medical) in Japan, was astonished and very grateful for the care that I probably could not have had anywhere else.

The reason for the 4 stars for the defision making is that there was one health care taker who I found was rather rude and would not listen how I felt and forced my baby to feed while he was quite upset (10min earlier a midwife told he was not ready for a feed at the time) but when I asked another midwife for her opinion as there were lots of conflicting information, she explained thoroughly and I didn't see that particular care taker afterwards.

I do not know how a private maternity clinic is but would happily pay for services like this and staff like those who were there for me are worth a million. I'm sure I will return to the hospital though it is 2 hours drive away from my house to thank all the brilliant midwives and care takers.

Visited in October 2013. Posted on 22 October 2013

Report as unsuitable

St Thomas' replied on 24 October 2013

Thank you for this lovely feedback about our maternity unit. We were delighted to hear that your birth experience was made even more special by the care provided by our staff. We have a weekly newsletter in the department that we use for sharing 'good news' and will include your comments in a future copy.

Report as unsuitable

Iria gave Maternity service at St Thomas' a rating of 1 stars

This hospital is the last place on earth to give birth!

Treatment I received while being in labour and after is ..shocking! I was due 4th of May 2012, I passed that date and supposed to be induced on 16th.. hostpital did not call that day, so I called myself. They said "we are too busy, no room for you; call in few hours".. I was on phone all day, no one even tried to give me any information.. so next day I just went there myslef.. was waiting half a day for a room.. for all my stay I was induced by three different medicines.. after 30hrs and first one [that didnt work]they told me i need to be transfered to birth centre as i ve passed 42 wks and home birth cant deal with me anymore..but first i had to wait for a free room in birth centre.. and that was when my water were already broken..they transfered me in the middle of a night to birth centre and i was left for nearly an hour on my own with leaking waters and growing contractions.. i was going outside of the room to look for any midwife, anyone who could take care of me.. when midwife came, i told her i had contractions and she said "no, you dont, cause you wouldnt be albe to talk!" :O .. i had to beg her to take me on c-section as my baby didnt respond on any drip/medicine.. and she said that " c-section is out of option"... in teh morning iw as transfered agan to new room , the "dlivery ".. over there another midewife couldnt care for anything, she didnt even talk to me!.. she put me on drip [another medicine] and said "this one never fails!" .. i was asked to not eat [havent eaten for more than 10 hrs anyway].. and when i complaint she said "im lucky as i m already in hospital, other women have to go through this at home!".. really??! after anther hours, pain got stronger, i was examined by many ..many other midwives, doctors, they didnt know am i 7 cm or less.. they just didnt know.. heart beat of my son since begining was beatng not regulary, so they now , after nearly 40 hours decided to check is he ok.. so they put a sharp object into my vagina, to scrap his head to get a blood cells to check if there is enough O2 in his blood.. after that, i got nearly 40 deegres temperature, his heart stopped beating at one point, i screamed to do a c-section now.. so I ended up having emergency c-section, with infection and high temp.. he was born 30 min later, after nearly 72 hours of labour.. at post natal, he didnt refused to drink my milk, so i had to ask every midwife which was on the shift to give me a formula.. some of them would say "i dont know, i need to ask your midwife".. some others would say "yes, sure you are mother you have a right to decide"..so literally every single time when he was hngry i had to stress out if midwife is going to make a problem for my son to be fed or not..
Now, after a year, my son is healthy boy.. and I just founf out im pregnant... This hospital is the last place on earth where im going to give birth.. Period.

Visited in May 2012. Posted on 25 June 2013

Report as unsuitable

St Thomas' replied on 01 July 2013

We are very sorry to hear that you had a poor experience in our post natal ward. We would like to investigate this to see what went wrong and learn how we can improve our service to avoid a similar situation occurring in future. Please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 020 7188 8801 or email pals@gstt.nhs.uk so that we can discuss your concerns.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Maternity service at St Thomas' a rating of 1 stars

Shocked at how badly I was treated in the postnatal ward

I have been left upset by how badly I and the women on my ward were treated by some of the 'professionals' in the postnatal ward at St Thomas' hospital. I had the misfortune to spend over a week there and while there were a few caring and professional midwives - the majority of the staff I came across were rude and unhelpful and some were downright cruel verging on abusive.

While the antenatal care I received via St Thomas' was excellent, the postnatal ward could not be more of a contrast. I feel that the experience contributed to me developing post natal depression, given what a terrible start me and my baby had there. I was repeatedly in tears and felt that as a new mum I was not offered the support and help that I needed, particularly given I had been through major surgery.

The following is a summary of some of the things which happened (not all as too many to list):
Due to being stuck in bed because of c -sec,developing a heat rash on my back and being refused antihistamines until 2 days later.
Being told there was no vegetarian food left when selecting my meal choice and my husband having to go downstairs to buy me food (happened several times)
Being told off for asking for water, as it had been offered earlier.
Being told my baby was starving as I hadn't given him formula (I was trying to breast feed) and having my baby taken away and given formula
People turning my buzzer off and then no-one returning to help me breast feed when my baby was having trouble feeding and had been re-admitted for significant weight loss.
Being scolded and told i was damaging my baby for not warming expressed milk when no-one had told me i had to or where I could actually do this.
Being told the was i was breast feeding my baby was unacceptable - but not being shown a better way or explained why by this midwife.
Having my baby taken off me when he was crying by a midwife who then told me off for trying to feed him.

Visited in February 2013. Posted on 04 May 2013

Report as unsuitable

St Thomas' replied on 28 May 2013

We are very sorry to hear that you had a poor experience in our postnatal ward. We would like to investigate this to see what went wrong and learn how we can improve our service to avoid a similar situation occurring in future. Please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 020 7188 8801 or email pals@gstt.nhs.uk so that we can discuss your concerns.

Report as unsuitable

Piluskam gave Maternity service at St Thomas' a rating of 5 stars

Home from Home centre - high recommendation

I have delivered my daughter at home from home centre and despite of fact I have stayed only for 12h I was very satisfied with all midwives. All of them were very friendly and professional.

Visited in February 2013. Posted on 23 April 2013

Report as unsuitable

St Thomas' has not yet replied.

Feedback Line4 reviewed Maternity service at St Thomas'

staff have been great

The staff in the maternity and triage unit have always been great and I would like to thank them for all their support.

Visited in March 2013. Posted on 21 March 2013

Report as unsuitable

St Thomas' has not yet replied.

NHS Feedback Line 10 reviewed Maternity service at St Thomas'

Worries about my baby in Intensive Care 2011

When my daughter was born she was taken to intensive care and the service I received was very poor. There was zero communication between myself and the doctors. There was no advice given to me on the medication that my daughter was receiving. When I asked questions to the doctors it was frowned upon and they were not helpful.

The service I have had from this hospital over many years has been excellent. However on this occasion it was bad.


Visited in December 2011. Posted on 05 March 2013

Report as unsuitable

St Thomas' replied on 03 April 2013

We are very sorry to hear about the treatment you received while your daughter was in intensive care. Please contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 020 7188 8801 or email pals@gstt.nhs.uk so that we can investigate the matter further.

Report as unsuitable

  • Page 1 of 1