Derriford Hospital

Telephone: 01752 202082
Address: Derriford Road, Crownhill, Plymouth, Devon, PL6 8DH
Website: http://www.plymouthhospitals.nhs.uk

3.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 219 ratings for this hospital

3.5 Stars

3.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 219 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4 out of 5 stars

(219 ratings)

Staff co-operation

3.5 out of 5 stars

(223 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4 out of 5 stars

(222 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

3.5 out of 5 stars

(220 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4 out of 5 stars

(188 ratings)

Reviews

374 total

Rono gave Ear, Nose & Throat at Derriford Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Left impressed and delighted at results of visit

Appointment at Audiology 10.15a.m. Thursday 21st May, 2015, to sort out and finalise ongoing problems with Digital Hearing Aids supplied in 2013.

The Audiologist for this appointment was very thorough in ascertaining the causes of my concerns. Their manner was attentive, caring, courteous and they then proved extremely capable of dealing with the situation. My ears were checked, filters were changed, to my knowledge, for the first time since new, a faulty Aid was changed and both re-programmed and checked, a new mould fitted, tubes replaced, everything carefully tested, whilst ensuring that I was clear on what had been done and how to use and care for the Aids.
I was offered an appointment for the situation to be monitored in three months time, to ensure that all was well and I left really impressed and delighted at being able to comfortably wear the Hearing Aid in my right ear, as well as the left, for the first time in months and hearing better than I have in years.

Having attended Audiology periodically for many years, I can truthfully say that todays visit was exceptional. First impressions were of a clean, updated, smooth running, efficient and well staffed Department, which were completed by the impressive and caring manner of the Audiologist concerned.

Well done Derriford Hospital and Audiology - credit where credit is due.

Visited in May 2015. Posted on 21 May 2015

Report as unsuitable

Derriford Hospital has not yet replied.

Maureen shepherd gave Gynaecology at Derriford Hospital a rating of 5 stars

My stay on Norfolk after my operation

My planned operation on 15/05/2015.The staff on Fal ward made me feel very at ease because of the thought of my operation Vaginal Prolapse.Member of staff walked me down to the Theatre.The after care from Norfolk ward was everything you expect it to be,constantly checking on my pain and to make sure I felt comfortable.Day and Night staff were excellent and very understanding,listening to all your concerns,staff nurse that looked after me is from the old school of nursing who have a very gentle bed side manner and understanding.Please pass on my thanks to all the staff.All the domestic staff take a pride in there work the ward is spotless.Derriford should be proud of all staff on this ward for there hard and dedicated work,very smart in there uniforms,this ward is very warm and professionally run.Again many thanks to Derriford.110%.M.Shepherd.

Visited in May 2015. Posted on 22 May 2015

Report as unsuitable

Derriford Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Derriford Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Endoscopy Procedure

The service I was given was excellent, all the staff were professional along with being kind and friendly making me feel at ease as I was anxious at the procedure which was going to take place. Everything was explained to me before and after my treatment and at the end there was a welcome cup of tea and biscuits.

Visited in May 2015. Posted on 24 May 2015

Report as unsuitable

Derriford Hospital has not yet replied.

Tony ciotta gave Neurosurgery at Derriford Hospital a rating of 3 stars

Spinal surgery

I recently had spinal surgery for a second time after a long wait performed by my surgeon and their team. While I have no complaints about the surgery I do have concerns about the after care I received. I went in for op at 09.30 and was not back on the ward until 18.00. The next morning whilst being extremely groggy, a physiotherapist appeared at my bed and did a few little exercises with me. I was in extreme pain which I wasn't asked about. The physiotherapist then said I could go home. I felt rushed to go home. I had just had major surgery and I had an hour and a half car journey to contend with. I had to ask several times for my dressings to be changed. The nurse would agree but then disappear and not come back. Shift changes the nurses are informed but it still isn't done. I had a cleaner around my bed on one occasion. I had bled quite a lot on the actual bed frame and I had to point it out to them as they didn't see it, then wiped with a wet rag, rinsed it out then continued to clean other surfaces with it. The toilets are not to a high standard. Three out of five were out of action. Hope these problems can be sorted as it is not a nice experience.

Visited in May 2015. Posted on 27 May 2015

Report as unsuitable

Derriford Hospital has not yet replied.

Graham Garrish reviewed Children's & Adolescent Services at Derriford Hospital

Childrens ward

My 17 month old grandson was brought to the hospital on friday 22 May. He had squirted kitchen cleaner into his face during the afternoon. His parents live in Bridgwater, but had planned to see us in Plympton. The cleaner was out of reach, but he dragged his small chair over to reach it. His mother immediately held him under the shower for a while. He seemed better so she travelled down. During the evening his eye became very red, and he was listless. He was showered at our house, and again seemed to improve slightly. The red eye did not improve, and he would not drink - normally he drinks well. We brought him to A&E where we waited in the children's section. A&E were exceptionally busy and we had a long wait, during which he was violently sick. This prompted the doctor to see him, and advised that he would be in the children's ward overnight, and his eye syringed. I left my daughter, in what I thought was capable hands, taking the sick covered clothes with me. The plan being to wash and dry clothes and return in the morning.
In the event his eye was not syringed. At 4 in the morning my daughter was told that he was being sent home. She does not know Derriford hospital, nor its strange arrangement where the main entrance is on level 6. The staff appeared not to understand her request for assistance. The only bit she was acquainted with was A&E, and assumed this was the normal entrance. When she found a taxi phone she requested it for A&E. It took her about 20 mins wandering around with a baby only clad in a nappy , and her cardigan to find A&E
Surely it would noty have been too much trouble for somebody to direct her to a normal phone, when she could have called her parents, and helped her to the entrance. This undermines all my previous good experiences with Derriford

Visited in May 2015. Posted on 27 May 2015

Report as unsuitable

Derriford Hospital has not yet replied.

H5 reviewed Derriford Hospital

My excellent care

I got tacken up to shaugh ward with a infection in my knee going through my leg. From the time I got on shaugh ward till the time I left the staff were fantastic. They were kind friendly, funny, and always were there to help even tho they were always busy. From the matron down to the cleaners they were brilliant. Hospital is never a nice place to stay but the staff made it comfortable, and relaxed. The care was top notch too. Would definitely recommend it if you needed excellent care. Thanks very much shaugh ward

Visited in April 2015. Posted on 20 April 2015 using Patient Opinion

Report as unsuitable

Review provided by:

Patient Opinion Logo

Derriford Hospital has not yet replied.

Terry Winter gave Neurosurgery at Derriford Hospital a rating of 5 stars

My Stay

I went into Derriford on Tusesday for a spinal neck operation, I got there at 0700hrs and was welcomed by a team of nurses and Doctors
They immediately made me feel that I was in the best possible place and that they were the best people to deal with my problem,
I was consulted although the final tests before the operation, The waiting room was large with a big TV bolted to the wall and various
books and magazines spread about. The place was spotless as where the loos ect,The staff were very busy with patients coming and going,
They were at all times cheerful and made time to sit and talk to you.I was the taken by the anithatist to the theatre were again it was explained
to me what was going to happen. they took great care in explaining what they were doing as they inserted various needles and thing into my hand,
All the time still reassuring me that every thing was going to be OK.I was asked to say my address I think I said 7 then woke up in the recovery room,
were again I has a dedicated nurse who stayed with me until I was fully aware of were I was and that I had had my op and It was a success.
I was then moved onto a special ward again with a nurse who was looking after 3 patients I was checked every hour on the hour by the nurse who was also
looking after the other 2 people.this carried on through the night, and never in the time I was there did I hear one word of complaint about how busy they were,
Again the ward and loos were spotless, they were proud of the service that they had given me and always had a smile and kind word. I think that our
nurses and Doctors are the best on the planet, and I would like you to thank them on my behalf.

Visited in April 2015. Posted on 30 April 2015

Report as unsuitable

Derriford Hospital has not yet replied.

R Anslow gave Plastic surgery at Derriford Hospital a rating of 4 stars

Hand surgery

Attended the freedom unit for an operation to my hand in april and found the staff and doctors very helpful and informative . The procedure was explained to me and I found all the aftercare really good . Thanks to all on the unit for making my operation a success

Visited in April 2015. Posted on 13 May 2015

Report as unsuitable

Derriford Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Derriford Hospital a rating of 5 stars

ThankYou

Thank you to all the nursing and medical staff on Erme/Fal recovery and Post bridge wards for all the wonderful care I received.

Visited in April 2015. Posted on 09 April 2015

Report as unsuitable

Derriford Hospital replied on 20 April 2015

I hope you are continuing to recover well from your recent procedure.

Thank you for advising us on NHS Choices of the wonderful care that you received whilst attending Fal/Erme and Postbridge.

I will ensure your lovely comments are passed onto the department manager.

With best wishes

Genny

Report as unsuitable

TW gave Gynaecology at Derriford Hospital a rating of 5 stars

unexpected stay

I went in as a day case (OBS/Gynae) but a 50% risk of a small complication arose and I spent longer in theatre and subsequently 4 days on Norfolk ward. The staff were amazing! Gentle, kind, considerate and very professional in their care despite it being a very busy ward with lots of fairly seriously ill patients. Can't thank my consultant, the surgeon who repaired me, the nursing staff, hcas, serco staff enough. And the kind anaesthetist who phoned my husband to explain why I wasn't yet out of theatre.

Visited in April 2015. Posted on 13 April 2015

Report as unsuitable

Derriford Hospital replied on 20 April 2015

Thank you for taking the time to comment on NHS Choices website.

I am so please to hear that you had such a good experience with Norfolk ward where you felt the staff was amazing following your unexpected stay.

I will ensure that your kind comments are feedback to the department.

Wishing you well with your continued recovery

Best wishes

Genny

Report as unsuitable