Royal Surrey County Hospital

01483 571122 Royal Surrey County Hospital, Egerton Road , Guildford, Surrey, GU2 7XX
http://www.royalsurrey.nhs.uk

4.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 307 ratings for this hospital

4.5 Stars

4.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 307 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4.5 out of 5 stars

(306 ratings)

Staff co-operation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(307 ratings)

Dignity and respect

4.5 out of 5 stars

(307 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

4.5 out of 5 stars

(301 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

4.5 out of 5 stars

(233 ratings)

Reviews

522 total

john gave at Royal Surrey County Hospital a rating of 5 stars

friday night 1900-2200

from moment ambulance arrived at our house until having OK to take wife home(she had slipped & fallen down stairs) she was dealt with objectivity,gentleness,kindness &all actions explained.
A supreme example to rest of the world.
tnx to all A&E staff on duty that night

Visited in December 2015. Posted on 14 December 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Surrey County Hospital replied on 14 December 2015

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Here at Royal Surrey County Hospital we aim to provide safe and high quality care that is delivered by compassionate and respectful staff. We are pleased to hear that your wife received excellent care on Friday night and we will pass your feedback onto A&E, so the staff they receive the recognition they deserve.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Royal Surrey County Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Brain injured patients are humans too!!!!!

Whilst I have been told that cancer treatment patients receive excellent service from Guildford Hospital, the same cannot be said for patients suffering from brain injuries. One such patient is a friend of mine and the treatment he has received so far has been absolutely appalling. ........

A member of his family had this to say about the care or, better still the lack of care he is receiving .

................quote
" Something's been troubling me about the doctor's response to my complaints about his care. My husband wrote yesterday that all he wants is to walk, speak, eat and drink, go to the toilet and go home of course. He's not been getting any help with any of the above, and the doctor's response... "He's lucky to be alive". Whilst I agreed with her yesterday, it is ME who's lucky he's still alive, I'm not sure he would agree with that right now. It's the most awful thing to see your husband cry.
Re Sunday's nurse... after I left our son told her my husband needed something and her response was "What now!". .... Unquote

I could cite many other incidents showing how Guildford hospital is consistently failing their most vulnerable patients.
You have been warned.

Visited in December 2015. Posted on 14 December 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Surrey County Hospital replied on 15 December 2015

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to highlight your concerns. We strive to provide the best care anywhere and are disappointed we do not appeared to have delivered that on this occasion. In order for us to investigate this matter further, please could you ask your friend to contact us directly. The best email address is rsc-tr.communications@nhs.net. In the meantime, we have already passed your comments onto our director of nursing and patient experience.

Report as unsuitable

Laura Stephen gave Children's & Adolescent Services at Royal Surrey County Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Professional, compassionate care

My six week old baby was admitted to Hanscombe ward overnight due to bronchiolitis. The care that we received was absolutely first rate. We were seen and assessed very promptly by caring and clearly highly capable doctors / nurses. We were treated with respect and compassion throughout.

One nurse in particular was incredible - everything you want to see in the NHS. They clearly adored babies and treated my son with a touching level of genuine care. They also showed a huge degree of empathy towards me and my husband and our feelings as first time parents with a sick baby. The way we were treated by this nurse (and the other staff members) made so much difference to us in making a traumatic experience as easy as possible. I am very, very grateful.

Visited in December 2015. Posted on 19 December 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Surrey County Hospital replied on 21 December 2015

Good morning,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. All of the staff here at Royal Surrey work incredibly hard and it is always a pleasure to read such positive feedback. I have shared your message with the matron on Hascombe Ward, who will pass it onto the team.

I hope your newborn is now recovering well and you will all be able to enjoy his/her first Christmas.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Ear, Nose & Throat at Royal Surrey County Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Brilliant and very attentive staff!

I was taken to hospital for glandular fever late last month, stayed over night, the staff were absolutely brilliant, cannot fault. Kept me informed and made sure I was comfortable during my stay.

Visited in November 2015. Posted on 15 December 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Surrey County Hospital replied on 15 December 2015

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is great to hear that you had such a positive experience and we will share your comments with the relevant staff. I hope that you are recovery well.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave at Royal Surrey County Hospital a rating of 5 stars

A Service to be Proud of

My 82 year old wife was taken ill at 3.15 am and I had to call an ambulance which arrived very quickly. She was taken to RSCH and seen within minutes. The efficiency, caring approach and appropriate humour by the ambulance staff was just incredible. Once at the hospital she was treated with great understanding and kindness by every member of staff whilst an exhaustive number of tests, XRays and scans were carried out. These involved being moved to the Emergency Assessment Unit where the staff were so very caring. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them. There were delays of course. We had to wait to be taken to various departments and for results of the scan and tests to be obtained and for the doctors to examine them. Eventually after a long and most helpful consultation with a consultant we were given a choice of my wife staying in hospital overnight or returning home that evening. This was discussed fully with us and we decided to come home since when we have received a follow up appointment with the consultant. I have spent many years in senior positions in commerce and industry and I can honestly say that if our high street banks, shops and other businesses had staff whose level of customer service was anywhere near the level of patient care by every member of staff we came across in the RSCH they would be far more successful and probably make a great deal more money. I think everyone who works at this superb hospital can walk with their heads held high because they are members of a service of which they can be truly proud. We are so thankful to them

Visited in November 2015. Posted on 20 November 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Surrey County Hospital replied on 23 November 2015

Good morning,

We are delighted that you had such a positive experience and thank you for taking the time to write a review. This is great news and I will be sure to pass your kind words onto the department to share amongst colleagues.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Gynaecology at Royal Surrey County Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Proffesional

My next of kin has received highly proffesional care starting in the short stay unit to ITU from all the doctors a nurses evolved.

Visited in November 2015. Posted on 21 November 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Surrey County Hospital replied on 23 November 2015

Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. We're glad you had a positive experience. We will pass your message onto the correct department to share among colleagues.

Report as unsuitable

B.B. reviewed Royal Surrey County Hospital

Out of hours service with a toddler

We visisted the out of hours service with our 2 years old on 22nd (Sunday) November 2015. Our appointment was for 4:10 pm. I would like to say thank you to the lovely and really polite receptionist and the doctor who helped us. Even though it was quite late in the afternoon with several patient in the waiting room, being the only doctor available they treated our daughter with respect during the examination, listened my explanation about the symptoms and gave us opportunity to choose between medicines. This sounds simple and fair, but what it made wonderful was the doctor's manner how they talked, treated and listened to us. The doctor should teach this kind of behavior in school for junior doctors. I hope this review will reach them.

Visited in November 2015. Posted on 23 November 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Surrey County Hospital replied on 24 November 2015

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is great to hear that you had such a positive experience and we will share your feedback with the staff in out of hours.

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at Royal Surrey County Hospital a rating of 2 stars

It's quicker to walk!!

What a complete mess the car 'parking' facility is for visitors and patients. I arrived some 50minutes early with my son for his OPD appointment. Over 1 hour later I was still rotating around the various tiny parking areas in the vague hope that a fellow visitor would return to their car adjacent to where I was waiting. This never happened. I sent my son ahead, not a satisfactory thing to do. Having phoned the hospital switchboard, a very helpful person put me through directly to the person in charge of the department who, was obviously very used to this problem, told me what to do and where I may try to park. I eventually joined my son, and we were seen 20 minutes late.

This is no way to run a business. It should not be acceptable to expect patients to arrive 90 minutes before their appointment. I am grateful for my son that we were accommodated by the OPD, but something needs to be fine NOW to resolve the parking issues. What about off site parking with a 15min shuttle bus? This is no way to treat ill people, or people who may be needing to be with an ill loved one, and can't get parked.

Today, having the need to be visiting another 'local NHS' hospital, I arrived early, parked effortlessly, and am now enjoying a cup of coffee before my appointment.

Poor management of resources.

Visited in November 2015. Posted on 27 November 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Surrey County Hospital replied on 30 November 2015

Good morning,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are aware that car parking can be an issue on the site and have been working very hard behind the scenes to improve this. One of the main challenges we face is the hospital’s proximity to the A3. We have been working closely with Guildford Borough Council, Surrey County Council and Highways England to find a permanent solution and are awaiting the decision on a pre-planning application for an 800 space multi-storey car park. In the interim, we have very actively implemented a Travel Plan to encourage staff to use alternative modes of transport, and this has already allowed us to convert around 60 staff spaces to visitor/patient parking spaces. We apologise that on this occasion you struggled to find a bay and agree that it is not acceptable for patients to arrive on site 90 minutes before their appointment. We are glad to hear that OPD were able to accommodate your son. I have passed your comments onto the relevant department.

Report as unsuitable

John Turnbull gave Orthopaedics at Royal Surrey County Hospital a rating of 5 stars

The Bramshott Watd A Team was fabulous

The Bramshott Ward Team was fabulous, all of them are dedicated, caring, patience of angels and they cannot be praised to highly.

Visited in November 2015. Posted on 27 November 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Surrey County Hospital replied on 27 November 2015

Good afternoon,

We are glad you had a positive experience and thank you for taking the time to post a review. I have passed your comments onto the matron of Bramshott Ward so that she can share them with the staff.

Report as unsuitable

Mandy gave General Surgery at Royal Surrey County Hospital a rating of 5 stars

ENT surgery

just wanted to thank every one in the ESU on friday, i had a routine op but i was a little scared, the doctor and all the nurses were so kind and caring, i had a great experience and i am feeling so well today. thankyou all you wonderful people xxx

Visited in November 2015. Posted on 30 November 2015

Report as unsuitable

Royal Surrey County Hospital replied on 01 December 2015

I am glad to here that you are recovering well from your surgery. We are very proud of the team at Royal Surrey and it is always nice to read such fantastic feedback from our patients. I will pass your comments onto the staff in ESU.

Report as unsuitable