Queen's Hospital

01708 435000 Rom Valley Way , Romford, Essex, RM7 0AG
http://www.bhrhospitals.nhs.uk

3 out of 5 stars

Based on 468 ratings for this hospital

3 Stars

3 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 468 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4 out of 5 stars

(449 ratings)

Staff co-operation

3.5 out of 5 stars

(460 ratings)

Dignity and respect

3.5 out of 5 stars

(456 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

3.5 out of 5 stars

(451 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

3.5 out of 5 stars

(351 ratings)

Reviews

512 total

Anonymous gave Stroke services at Queen's Hospital a rating of 2 stars

HASU ward

My mother was admitted to this ward back in January. I was immediately told my mother would not survive. In short I had to fight to get her adquate pain relief as doctor was called but did not come two of the nurses went to find him because I kept asking. When you are with your parent or any other close relative who is dying there was no respect at all. Behind a curtain with so much noise being made by the nurses. I did complain and luckily was given aquiet room. I understand there are a limited amount of these but it is unacceptable that a dying person and their relative cannot expect even peace and quiet. An hour after my mother passed I was given a questionnaire asking how I had found service. Unbelievably insensitive and totally inappropriate. I know they are understaffed and some of the nurses were very good but I believe my mother would have had better treatment 30 years ago. Please do not comment telling me you are sorry about my experience and to contact PALS. It seems things just go from bad to worse.

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 03 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

Queen's Hospital replied on 10 August 2017

Please accept my condolences, I know this must be a very difficult time for you and your family. I am so sorry to hear your concerns, I will ensure your feedback gets passed onto the Matron and the Ward Manager so that it is shared with the staff. This is absolutely not the standard that is expected. I note your comment regarding our PALS Service, if you do not wish to speak to PALS you can contact our Complaints Department they can be contacted on 01708 435 032 or by email Complaints@bhrhospitals.nhs.uk.

Yours Sincerely

Caroline Moore
Divisional Nurse Specialist Medicine

Report as unsuitable

Leanne Rolls gave Maternity services at Queen's Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Amazing staff should be paid more! Outstanding behaviours x

I gave birth to my beautiful little girl at queens the staff were second to none, I would like to thank my midwifes on the antinatal ward who provided me with comfort and care before I was taken to the labour ward! These guys helped induce me and ensure I was comfortable. Once transferred to the labour ward I was looked after by a midwife and all I can say is wow wow wow we were do greatfull for them. Giving birth and having contractions is so daunting they stayed with me the whole time reassuring me when things felt terrible they are a credit to queens hospital. Lastly the consultant was at the end of their shift when my pushing become complicated they did not check out and stayed to ensure the safe delivery of our daughter and I can not thank them enough. The staff do not get enough credit for everything they do to ensure babies are delivered safely and mothers are comforted. I can not rate this hospital and staff enough and feel blessed to have had a healthy daughter here. Thankyou to everyone that helped xxx

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 08 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

Queen's Hospital replied on 10 August 2017

I would first like to start by saying congratulations on the birth of your baby. I’m delighted to hear about your experience, thank you for taking the time to comment on your care. It’s wonderful to know that everyone treated you well, I am very proud of everyone in the Maternity Department as they have worked extremely hard to make sure that all our patients we care for get a positive experience. I will ensure that your comments are passed onto them, thank you once again for taking the time to make us aware of your experience.

Kind Regards

Wendy Matthews
Deputy Chief Nurse / Director of Midwifery

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Queen's Hospital a rating of 1 stars

A&E department is a drisgrace!

My son was taken into A& E by ambulance following a road accident. He had been hit by a car whilst cycling. Paramedic roadside response was quick and efficient, but all went downhill from there,
He waited over an hour for an ambulance. Arrived @ A&E a,round 7pm, Then waited almost 2hrs for X-rays (9pm) after admittance to the 'ambulance response unit', which was completely full up. Difficult to assess how many patients were waiting to be seen throughout all the areas of A&E, but I would estimate 150 ?

After X-rays my son was moved into the 'doctor waiting area'. There were no cubicles awavilalbe, so he was transferred from a stretcher to a wheelchair and out into an end cubicle with 6 other people. By 10.30 - and still no sign of a doctor - we were told it could be 'up to 4hrs' before he would be seen!!! We chose to leave and will go to another hospital today, as my son is obviously in acute pain. There were plenty of admin staff standing around chatting, but (seemingly) only 2 doctors on duty to deal with all the patients needs.

One couple - who were in the same cubicle as my son, with their aged father - who they thought had suffered a stoke - had been waiting there since 2.45pm -. 8 hrs!!! They had told staff (several times) that he was diabetic and needed insulin, but they didn't have any in
A& E to give him, and finally found some from ward supplies.

Somtheing needs to be done with this department, and soon, as it's an absolutely disgraceful excuse for a. A & E department.

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 08 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

Queen's Hospital replied on 10 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience, I was very sorry to read of the long wait you and your son encountered in our Emergency Department. Unfortunately, we are not able to determine how many patients are going to access our Emergency Department on any one day and patients that do access the service are triaged based on their clinical need, which can sometimes result in a patient waiting longer than originally anticipated. If however, you would like to discuss your concerns further, please contact our PALS team on 01708 435 454, or by email PALS@bhrhospitals.nhs.uk.

Yours Sincerely

Kim Perry
Divisional Nurse Acute Medicine

Report as unsuitable

Sarah Wesson gave Accident and emergency services at Queen's Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Thank you

I came in with my boyfriend to the A&E with expected appendicitis on Sunday evening. We were in your care for over six hours including waiting for results and for doctors to become free. We witnessed other patients getting short tempered with staff and moaning about their care. We were pleased to see patients sicker than us being prioritised and felt that your staff handled other patients with suitable respect despite their attitudes. We were seen by many nurses, doctors and surgical members during our visit and were eventually discharged with reassurance and instructions to return for scans the following day. Whilst clearly our evening could have been spent in better circumstances we were impressed by the running of the team and felt that six hours to be reassured and seen to thoroughly was a small price to pay.

We returned the next day (14.8.17) for scans in the Ocean B ward and were blown away by all the staff we encountered. I only wish I had noted their names to personally thank them. They were all jovial, helpful and seemed genuinely pleased to help. This time we had been blood tested, scanned and diagnosed and sent home within three hours. Considering the tough time the NHS gets, we were pretty chuffed with this.

Thank you to anyone at Queens who made a stressful and worrying time bearable and as quick as could be.

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 14 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

Queen's Hospital has not yet replied.

Jack Albert gave Accident and emergency services at Queen's Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Appalling treatment in A & E

I have severe stage 4 COPD, and I had an accident where the cannula giving me oxygen caught fire and badly burnt my face and nostrils, Called ambulance, the paramedics were brilliant, treated my face with a cool gel dressing and took me to Queens A & E , arrived 6pm.
When I got there I was seen an hour later, and a nurse wanted to give me an arterial gas blood test in my wrist.I refused it. I said Im not having a breathing problem I came here for attention to my burns. I was then taken to the main A & E ward where I put in a cubicle with curtains drawn around me, and hooked up to the wall mounted oxygen outlet. I was desperate to go to the toilet, and was calling for a nurse to get me an oxygen cylinder so I could be mobile. I was calling for over an hour and no one came. I then got off the bed removed my oxygen, and opened the curtains and there were four nurses opposite my cubicle who totally ignored me. Eventually after raising my voice and complaining I was given a cylinder and was able to go to the toilet.
I was seen by a doctor two hours later. They told me I may need to go to Broomfield Hospital
burns unit at Chelmsford, and then took a picture of my burns and sent it to Broomfield and asked for advice how to treat it. Two hours later , they got a reply, and told me to apply yellow soft paraffin cream when I got home, at no time was I given treatment, or my burns
treated, apart from having my blood pressure taken and my oxygen levels checked. I was then told I could go home. I asked for some transport home, and they then took me to another empty ward, in the Elderly Receiving ward where they left me. I waited and waited and eventually I left the ward, with my oxygen cylinder, found a nurse station, I asked a nurse where my transport was, and they called transport and I was advised they were on the way and coming from Barts hospital. They finally arrived gone midnight, and I got home at 12.45 am - 6.5 hours and a total waste of my time, and I was in pain , and no medication given to me at any time.
The staff there are incorrigible, have a couldnt care less attitude, and this is not the first time I have experienced bad treatment at Queens. I hate calling an ambulance as they always want to take me there it fills me with dread.

Visited in August 2017. Posted on 15 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

Queen's Hospital has not yet replied.

Olga gave Maternity services at Queen's Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Refusal of staff to accept me for childbirth!!!!

complaint about you staff and attitude. On Saturday (15/07/2017) I came with my partners to the hospital to find information on how to transfer me from Chealsea Westminster Hospital hospital to Queens Hospital. The staff (Receptions ) was very rude and not very friendly and helpful, and they told me I has 0 chance to transfer to you hospital. I did not have a right to do so. I got only options - new ham hospital. I went home and complite my online form.
Today, I received a call at 10:22 from your staff member, and also that it is very unlikely that I will be able to get to your hospital, and send me yo new ham hospital.
I do not understand the reason for the refusal.
I got bad experience myself with new ham hospital, and I dont want to got this experience.
I know By law, I have the right to choose a hospital in which I want to give birth and where I feel comfortable.
This communication with you staff makes me nervous and upset. On the last days of pregnancy is not the best option for my physical condition.

And in general the rudeness of the staff is not the best indicator of the hospital!!!!

I am 36 weeks pregnant, and I would like to give birth at Queens Hospital.
I really like this hospital, and I heard very good feedback from my friends, who got this experience. We are just recently move from centre of London, and the Queens Hospital really close to us.

Visited in July 2017. Posted on 17 July 2017

Report as unsuitable

Queen's Hospital has not yet replied.

Sara Gale gave Maternity services at Queen's Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Wonderful experiance

I had my baby at the birth centre and I cannot fault the facilities or the staff at all. It was a wonderful experiance and all staff that we encountered are a credit to the NHS.

Visited in July 2017. Posted on 10 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

Queen's Hospital has not yet replied.

Jacqui Wright gave Neurosurgery at Queen's Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Appauling

Please refer me to supervet I stand a better chance as an animal. Brain aneurysm Right coiled x2 open surgery 09.... also aneurysm on Left side diagnosed 07 ... 10 years no surveillence got my record booked for surgery ... cancelled because ?? I had breakfast NO NO NO

Visited in July 2017. Posted on 14 July 2017

Report as unsuitable

Queen's Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Queen's Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Uncommunicative

The Dr's don't explain the treatment nor do they introduce themselves. Expect when you make a phone call to the ward for that to be cut off and a reluctance for the person answering it to give a name.

Visited in July 2017. Posted on 03 July 2017

Report as unsuitable

Queen's Hospital replied on 10 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience, I am sorry to hear the concerns you have raised. If you would like to discuss your concerns further, please contact our PALS team on 01708 435 454, or by email PALS@bhrhospitals.nhs.uk.

Yours Sincerely

Kim Perry
Divisional Nurse Acute Medicine

Report as unsuitable

Anonymous gave Queen's Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Complaints team are unprofessional & self interested

Worst experience ever trying to make a complaint. They don't treat with any dignity and most certainly they have their own interests at heart. They are not interested in using feedback given to improve their practice but rather they are only interested in their own positions. Bias and subjectivity characterised the whole ordeal. They make a mockery of the process.

I found them a very controlling group of people who enjoy playing power games. They did not involve you in any way with the process and decisions made at any stage.Thankfully I don't have to deal with them anymore. It was agonising and at times felt as if the were bear baiting.They need to remember that some patients aren't 100% well . Health watch need to be informed.

Visited in July 2017. Posted on 02 August 2017

Report as unsuitable

Queen's Hospital replied on 10 August 2017

Thank you for providing us with your feedback, I am sorry to hear the concerns you have raised regarding our Complaints Department. The Complaints and PALS Manager would very much like to explore this with you further, please telephone 01708 435 454 or alternatively by email, PALS@bhrhospitals.nhs.uk and ask to speak to Mrs Leese and she will do everything she can to try and help you.

Kind regards

PALS Team

Report as unsuitable