Queen's Hospital

01708 435000 Rom Valley Way , Romford, Essex, RM7 0AG
http://www.bhrhospitals.nhs.uk

3 out of 5 stars

Based on 468 ratings for this hospital

3 Stars

3 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 468 ratings for this hospital

Cleanliness

4 out of 5 stars

(446 ratings)

Staff co-operation

3.5 out of 5 stars

(455 ratings)

Dignity and respect

3.5 out of 5 stars

(451 ratings)

Involvement in decisions

3.5 out of 5 stars

(445 ratings)

Same-sex accommodation

3.5 out of 5 stars

(360 ratings)

Reviews

1115 total

  • Page 1 of 112

Anonymous gave Haematology at Queen's Hospital a rating of 1 stars

No answer on phone...ever.

I have been calling to chase results for the last 3 days - every time I call the number we've been given by the hospital, the line has been engaged. Three days. I have called at least 8 times every single day and every single time, the line has been engaged. I have also attempted to use the telephone number provided on the hospital's website and have, just today (not including all the other time I have attempted to call), been waiting for over ten minutes. This presents a serious lapse in patient care, as these results have now been outstanding since November 2016 and with no other way to contact the department, there is no way to obtain these results.

Visited in January 2017. Posted on 11 January 2017

Report as unsuitable

Queen's Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Pain Management at Queen's Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Very poor consultation

Met a pain management consultant who decided to take me off one drug, swap for another, and increase dosage of a second. I foolishly agreed to this, thinking the consultant knew what they were doing. How wrong I was. I gave it a couple of days for the new higher dosage of the second drug to work, but the swapped drug was not enough. After five days I had to ring the palliative care team and leave a message. A different doctor rang, this time the doctor spent a great deal of time working out the total of each drug, and decided I had been told to take drugs that were not equivalent in pain relief as I had been on. The whole point of seeing the first consultant was because my pain levels had been increasing, so I was suffering a huge increase in pain everywhere. The second doctor told me to increase dosage of both new drugs, one has been doubled and the other has now trebled from what I was taking before the first appointment. What a failure in care this has been. It looks like a formal complaint will be going in.

Visited in January 2017. Posted on 12 January 2017

Report as unsuitable

Queen's Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Accident and emergency services at Queen's Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Many thanks from all the family

My mother was admitted to Queens Hospital as an emergency on New Year's Day. The ambulance staff told us that we were going there for the Stroke A and E where we were immediately attended to by a very helpful doctor and nurses and My mother is 87 years old and had suffered a mini-stroke.We were told that she would be admitted but not onto the stroke ward and that there would be a long wait but she was in a hospital bed 4 hours later in the Medical Receiving Unit. While we waited in Majors we were given a drink and snack and staff checked my mother and brought her the commode. The staff on the Medical Receiving Unit were just fabulous- so caring and efficient and always so knowledgeable and professional. My mother moved briefly onto the HASU section in Sahara Ward where the care was just as good.I'm delighted to add that she has made a good recovery and we can't thank the hospital enough for every detail of their care and attention.

Visited in January 2017. Posted on 12 January 2017

Report as unsuitable

Queen's Hospital has not yet replied.

carole h gave Queen's Hospital a rating of 2 stars

Urine collection phlebotomy

There is a urine type collection unit in the bloods area Facing the front in full view which is totally inadequate and has been there for years? whilst the public are waiting for bloods the unit is in full view, this morning whilst I was waiting for bloods an elderly lady could not open it and when she eventually did her container would not fit she struggled and it spilt she visibly Upset and embarrassed she left so,did I as waiting for bloods to long and I had been fasting . The unit is woefully inadequate and why would you put in in full public view? there should be a urine collection station not this embarrassing unit .

Visited in January 2017. Posted on 13 January 2017

Report as unsuitable

Queen's Hospital has not yet replied.

Dee gave Accident and emergency services at Queen's Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Saturday 7th January 2017 7.30ish pm A&E

I had fallen over hurting my wrist very badly. My husband dropped me at A&E, he needed to find a parking space,and I walked into the department to be welcomed to patients complaining very loudly about their wait and lack of treatment. Well all I can say is a very big Thank you to everyone who helped with my treatment,including the receptionists. I could not fault the treatment I received and the length of time it took. I was booked in X rayed pulled and plastered and re xrayed and appointment made for fracture clinic in under 4 hours. Every member of staff I spoke to treated me with respect and I appreciated what they did to help me. Thank you for doing such a wonderful job xxxx

Visited in January 2017. Posted on 13 January 2017

Report as unsuitable

Queen's Hospital has not yet replied.

Grace reviewed Accident and emergency services at Queen's Hospital

Friend discharged from ED with cannula still in his arm

I've just had to inform a friend on the phone how to remove a cannula from her boyfriends' arm which was left in after he attended A+E at Queen's. As a healthcare professional who has worked in A&E myself, surely one of the things on a discharge checklist is to ensure all invasive lines have been removed. Not only is it a direct access point into his veins, it is a potential hazard for infection and trauma to the surrounding tissues. Please can it be highlighted to the A&E staff, both nursing and medical, to be more vigilant when preparing a patient for discharge. Many thanks.

Visited in January 2017. Posted on 14 January 2017

Report as unsuitable

Queen's Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Maternity services at Queen's Hospital a rating of 1 stars

This is a Hospital not a pub

What is going on a gang of men drinking beer on the early assessment ward. When i called the Hospital to let them know someone answered the phone. 3rd world Hospital

Visited in January 2017. Posted on 15 January 2017

Report as unsuitable

Queen's Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Pain Management at Queen's Hospital a rating of 1 stars

Extremely poor quality of appointment

Met with a pain management consultant who changed pain medication, assuring me that it would be much better for me to come off one strong one for a basic one and increase another and add another new medication. It caused me five days of excruciating increasing persistent pain, with no sleep, an inability to move, an inane to bear to be touched to be moved. I gave the new meds time to work as I knew I needed to until I was almost in tears from the relentless pain. I rang the palliative care number and got a call back from thankfully a different doctor who actually calculated the different amounts of pain relief in what I had originally been taking and the new medication. This doctor confirmed that I was actually receiving less pain relief and increased two of the meds with an assurance I could even go higher on the liquid. By following these instructions I became much more comfortable and would not ever want to see the first consultant again as I have absolutely no faith in them

Visited in January 2017. Posted on 17 January 2017

Report as unsuitable

Queen's Hospital has not yet replied.

Nancy gave Sexual health services at Queen's Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Well looked after, welcoming and kind.

Was treated here, can be busy- as can every clinic; but was kept updated by reception, who were all very kind and welcoming. I think people who complain about the wait should understand that these services are very pressed and struggling. The quality of service here was not affected by this busy culture. Was taken through by a sexual health practitioner who was kind, diligent, interested and seemed to care, offering a professional service, and made a usually uncomfortable appointment very comfortable. Highly recommend services here.

Visited in January 2017. Posted on 18 January 2017

Report as unsuitable

Queen's Hospital has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Stroke services at Queen's Hospital a rating of 5 stars

Overwhelmed with the care

Thank you HDU for looking after our nan, mum, sister and great nan. We are so greatful for the care that they did for them.

Visited in January 2017. Posted on 04 January 2017

Report as unsuitable

Queen's Hospital has not yet replied.

  • Page 1 of 112